Uvita villa rental - Enjoy views to the Osa Peninsula from the infinity pool......
Enjoy views to the Osa Peninsula from the infinity pool......
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Uvita Villa Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Set in a 60 acre private reserve, 3 minutes above beautiful Playa Hermosa, tropical modern Lattice House enjoys spectacular ocean views from every room. Completed August 2007, custom-designed finishes and furnishings were imported from Bali. Lattice House has been featured in the Feb. 2008 issue of the Costa Rican architecture magazine, Su Casa, and in the recently published book 1000 X Architecture of the Americas.

Lattice House is conveniently located half-way between Dominical and Uvita, right off the coast highway. You won’t have to spend your valuable vacation time driving up and down mountain roads to enjoy incredible views and privacy. The reserve encompasses large park-like spaces and even more area maintained as jungle--primary rain forest and old secondary. In any direction, you see only white water coastline, mountains, or rain forest. On any given day, you may see (and hear) howler and white-face monkeys, coaties, tayras, agouties, sloths, toucans, aracaries, hummingbirds, parrots, and dozens of other bird species, all from the house decks.

The master bedroom (king) and bedroom/office (double daybed) and two full baths are on the main level; two bedrooms (one queen, two twins) and a full bath are on the lower level. There are two sofas in the living room that can be used as additional beds.

Lattice House has all the amenities you expect in a luxury home and much more: partially covered total infinity pool with heated jacuzzi; four covered patios and decks; air conditioning in all the bedrooms; slate and marble floors and bathrooms; lattice work and hardwoods from Bali; outdoor master bath with copper soaking tub; copper and stone sinks; high end, fully equipped, stainless steel kitchen; beautiful furnishings, artwork and accessories.

Lattice House is a unique house in a very special property, and we look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 144776 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
New York
5

so fantastic it made me cry!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
This is going to take awhile.....I have so much to say about this stunning property. Following the homeowners very specific directions, you come upon the driveway into the property and it looks hidden and non descript. You turn off the coastal road and enter the property through a simple gate.......then you're eyes start to buldge because you can't believe this is where you have come to stay. A beautiful upward curving manicured tropical drive is lined with palm trees. This goes on for a good half of a mile as you ascend the reserve-like (I think it is a reserve - 50 acers) property. Then you see the house. Wow. I said to myself, "All my hard work in finding the perfect house for the perfect family vacation (my parents included) and I DID IT!" The house is soooo perfect. The photos say it all. It should be in architectural digest (remember David Bowie's house in Bali - this is as close as you'll come to it without traveling over the pacific). The views are stunning and dramatic. This is a great location for a photo shoot. I am an architectural designer and this was nirvana! I took soooo many pictures and hope to put them up on this site if there is a way to share them. Stop your search, I have done it for you (40 hours of house hunting - no kidding!) This is the place for you! The house itself is peaceful and secluded. Several mornings I woke up early and hiked up behind the house into the ancient forest to discover tree frogs, monkeys and toucans The dining is great in the dominical area and grocery shopping is 10 mins down the road. The caretakers are very enthusiastic and a wealth of information. Dominical is the place to go because it is still the unspoiled true Costa Rica. This may be over the top as far as a review but when you have a vacation this great after putting in so much time and energy you feel like you've won the Oscar for travel planning.

The small print: I am in no way related to or knew the homeowners when I booked this house. I just loved it in the photos and made the contact!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Overwhelmingly beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A vacation at Lattice House begins far before you arrive.  From the moment you see the pictures, you are hooked.  When you hear from the owner Pat, you understand what an incredibly special place it is.  

The enquiry and booking process was professional, with Pat answering all of our questions and making much appreciated suggestions.  As our vacation approached we also exchanged e-mails with the property manager Ana on final arrival details and she was a pleasure to deal with.

Ana arranged our transportation from the San Jose airport to the house and to have our rental car brought to the house the next day.  We definitely recommend this approach as it made our arrival very relaxed. The drive from the airport was about 3.5 hours and our driver Mariano made the drive quite enjoyable, including a stop at a bridge to check out the crocodiles.

We were greeted at the house by Ana, who gave us a walk through of all the things we needed to know about the house.  As a thoughtful touch, there was also a welcome basket of all the makings of a lovely breakfast, including fresh local fruit.

The house and location simply can't be described because words can not do it justice.  It is one of the most overwhelmingly beautiful places we have visited.  The house itself has every convenience you could imagine, and is very well appointed.  The grounds are naturally beautiful, with perfectly positioned places to admire the wildlife.

For us our time at Lattice House was spent enjoying the home and grounds.  In fact, we did very little outside Achiote other then replenish our fridge and pantry.  We wanted to enjoy every minute of the views, the pool, the wildlife and the house.

We tried to ensure we took in everything Lattice House had to offer.  We swam.  We had a fire in the fire pit.  We watched the toucans.  We listened to the howler monkeys.  We soaked in the copper tub.  We walked in the orchard.  We sat in the meditation garden. We watched the sunrise.  We hiked to the waterfall in the rain (making memories that will last forever). 

Lattice House is truly a special place.  We feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to experience all that it is.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Vacation in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It is hard for me to put into words just how special our recent stay at Lattice House was. It is clear from the other reviews on this page that the house speaks for itself. It is a beautifully appointed home set on a gorgeous property. Every inch of the house was designed with intent and it is evident. From the second you begin to meander up the drive past the gate you get the sense that you have indeed “arrived” but when you step out of the car and get to see the views that the property boasts you know you’ve made it to paradise. Toucans, hummingbirds, monkeys and tree frogs are just some of the critters that seem to welcome you into the fold of rainforest life and immediately allows you to forget about everything else.

After you have settled into the accommodation of Lattice House you can then set your sights on the activities/ adventures that the area has to offer. Weather it is zip lining, horseback riding, surfing, yoga or getting a massage there is plenty to do in the area and all of the activities provide a great experience. No matter what you choose, it will not disappoint.

The house is great, the activities are awesome and the location can’t be beat- but there is another piece to Lattice House that puts it above the rest, and absolutely must be mentioned. Ana, the property manager is nothing short of a true gem! From the day I booked the house (8 months prior) right through until the last minute of our stay she was phenomenal. She was great with answering questions, setting up our activities and giving advice, all of which was spot on. When we arrived she had our plans for the week printed and ready to go all complete with maps and directions for how to get there. I cannot say enough about how important of a piece Ana was to making our stay top notch. You will not find this anywhere else.

Others reviewing the home have said it, and I am going echo them by saying that if you are anything like me and have been scrutinizing over properties in the area trying to figure out which one is best suited for your vacation, look no further. Pat the homeowner, Ana the property manager and the Lattice House itself are a winning combination and you will absolutely not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Wyoming
5

Enchanting Property in Uvita, Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My extended family of five stayed at Lattice House for two weeks in March of 2013. We have traveled all over the world on vacations, and this experience was definitely up there. Our initial impressions of the property were impressive. The driveway is long, and very steep, similar to many properties in this part of Costa Rica. The house sits on roughly 60 acres of manicured grounds, with tons of flowering plants and fruit trees. The house has a beautiful view of the ocean, and although it seems further away, you can hear the surf. Otherwise, the house is surrounded by jungle, which we all loved. So many beautiful birds, and the howler monkeys were definitely a family favorite. We made several hikes to the nearby waterfall....so secluded, and just beautiful. If you go, you've got to take a swim!
The house itself is gorgeous. We have been to Bali several times, and we love the architecture, which is one of the reasons we chose Lattice House....little slice of Bali in Central America.
The house is beautifully decorated, and left us wanting for nothing. Although you can't walk to the beach, it is only about 3-5 minutes by car. It is centrally located between Uvita and Dominical, so driving wasn't a big deal at all. We made a point of going to the beach daily, but also tried some fishing, canopy tour, as well as a day trip to Corcovado to snorkel and sight see. So much to see and do, but we always loved coming back to the house and relaxing.
Costa Rica is a beautiful country, and the people are very friendly. There are so many things to do, but the house is great if you just want to relax. Ana, the property manager, is wonderful, and an absolute "laser". She was very helpful in setting up activities, making suggestions, etc.
I make very few guarantees in life, but I can pretty much guarantee that any family or group that rents this property will be very, very happy. I just can't think of any negatives. If and when I return to Costa Rica, I will absolutely try to rent this property again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Toronto
5

Modern Luxury in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We are Costa Rica regulars, this being our tenth trip to this magnificent country. We have rented houses many times before including ones in Dominical. Lattice House is simply a spectacular property - modern luxury with breathtaking views. A great base for sun, relaxation, adventure, hiking and everything you might expect from a part of Costa Rica that remains unspoiled. The outdoor patio and pool were an oasis from the heat at any time of day. Wonderful trails and an orchard on a 65 acre private reserve that is meticulously maintained. Great restaurants of various cuisines and price ranges all within a 15 minute drive. It is clear that Pat the owner and Ana the manager are committed to ensure that your stay is memorable. A wonderful Tico meal prepared by Alexandra on our first night after a long day of travel. I can sum this review with one single phrase: “We are returning next year, without a doubt!”
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
5

Lattice House doesn't disappoint!

Lattice House doesn't disappoint!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Nothing can dash vacation enjoyment more quickly than unrealistically high expectations. Yet Lattice House, with its 65 acre private reserve and its stunning views of the south Pacific coast, is even more gorgeous than the pictures. Arriving after sunset after an all-day trip from New England, we had to wait until dawn to appreciate the loveliness of the vacation home my wife and I, with three other couples, had rented for eight days. When we awoke the first morning and walked outside, our jaws dropped at the prettier-than-a-postcard vista that stretched before us: Playa Hermosa in the foreground, Whale’s Tail just beyond, and the Osa Peninsula on the horizon.
Lattice House offers a spectacular home base from which to enjoy Costa Rica’s south Pacific coast. Its open concept brings the outside in, yet provides sufficient privacy for four couples to comfortably share space. The private reserve offers P.Y.O. citrus orchards, manicured gardens, hiking trails, and its own waterfall. Playa Hermosa is close enough to serenade you to sleep with the sound of its surf.
Within 15 minutes of the house, we swam, walked out to Whale’s Tail, and kayaked through a mangrove forest. One of the best coral reefs for snorkeling is a 90 minute boat ride away. And the cloud forest of San Gerardo de Dota is close enough for a comfortable day trip. Several well-stocked grocery stores are 10 minutes away, and numerous restaurants are nearby (although we enjoyed eating in the house so much that we dined out in the evening only once).
What made this vacation especially memorable was the on-site attention of the property manager Ana. She made us feel like honored guests from the time we booked the reservation until after we departed, offering us services that got us into vacation mode the moment we arrived. She pre-stocked the pantry, arranged for regular house cleaning and laundry services, scheduled our transportation to and from the airport, arranged for delivery of our two rental cars, and scheduled a local chef – Alexandra – to prepare a delicious Tico meal for us upon our arrival. (We liked Alexandra’s cooking so much that we invited her back two more times during the week.) These services reduced the drudgery that accompanies every vacation to almost nothing.
For the record, I have no business connection with Lattice House. My glowing review is a heart-felt expression of appreciation for a vacation that more than met our soaring expectations.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Central Florida
5

Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
If you are reading this than you already know you have discovered an amazing property, but you just can’t believe it’s true so you’re looking over the reviews. We visited the second week of August. From San Jose it's an easy 2 & 1/2 hour drive on all new paved roads. The location is great 10min to either Uvita or Dominical with shops and plenty of restaurants. The house and property itself, well it may be hard to believe but the pictures don’t even do it justice. We all had extremely high expectations after looking at the website and were blown away by the fact that our expectations were exceeded significantly. The house is absolutely stunning and its design implements outdoor/indoor living beautifully. If you don’t enjoy the outdoors or nature, you might not appreciate this special home. The hike to the waterfall was beautiful and the fact that it is all completely private was fantastic. We walked out onto the whale’s tail (Moses Passage) which was really neat. This has been the only vacation where I was disappointed to be going home. The property manager, Ana, was extremely helpful and friendly. The owner, Pat, was a pleasure to work with. We were so grateful that Pat is willing to share this magnificent home and will most definitely be returning. Don’t hesitate another minute, reserve this home and book your trip ASAP you will not regret it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Milwaukee
5

Stunningly Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
It is hard to say what was best about Lattice House and our vacation there. The setting is superb, the house beautifully designed, the furnishings handsome, simple and comfortable, the kitchen well- equipped, the pool inviting. The first view wowed us and banished that tiny worry of whether we’d chosen the right house, the best house, for our vacation with family and friends. It more than met our expectations—really a very special place. Pat, the owner and Ana, her on-site manager could not have been more accommodating. They have really thought of everything—before we arrived we received notes on the house, on activities and restaurants in the area, on the best place to shop for groceries, on what to bring ---and as a result felt at home and relaxed immediately. Ana was always available to answer any and all questions once we were there. Our favorite restaurants were in Ojochal: Citrus for lunch and Exotica for dinner. The Osa Canopy Tour delivered an exciting zip-lining adventure and the Farmers Market in Uvita was a fun source for fabulous breads from a Frenchman and great cocktail sauce from the Pickle Sisters. We bought fresh-from-the-sea shrimp and fish from Randall in Ojochal on Tuesday and Friday mornings—he sells from a cooler on the right side of the road as you enter Ojochal—fabulous! Whatever else we did we tried to be back to the house by 5:00 for "The Magic Hour” when the jungle comes alive—the sounds are nothing short of amazing and a perfect backdrop to cocktails on the deck, pool play with our granddaughters and grilling Randall’s shrimp. It was all awesome—and I hope we have the good fortune to return to this beautiful country and to Lattice House one day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Switzerland
5

BREATHTAKINGLY BEAUTIFUL!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My husband and I both agree that we had the best, most relaxing vacation ever at Lattice House. Also the nicest house we've ever rented with the most beauitful view ever, we're still dreaming about it. The house is in perfect harmony with the incredibly beautiful surrounding nature and wildlife. We did a few things while staying there, Sierpe boat trip and Manuel Antonio Park, fishing trip which were all wonderful, I'm in a wheelchair and though things aren't always too accessible in beautiful Costa Rica the people and guides were always very helpful and kind and will go out of their way to help. Mostly we just stayed at the house though and never tired of the beautiful views, awesome relaxing infinity pool and abundant wildlife there was to see. We loved the many Toucans, saw a whole troop of Capuchins monkeying all around the trees surrounding the house, howler monkeys, so many beautifully colored birds and butterflies, Coatis, just endless beauty! My husband loved using the big BBQ outside and the kitchen has everything you need too. On top of all that there is Ana who lives up the road who's so kind and helpful for anything you need, just great, we loved her! We definitely want to come back in the near future and highly recommend this house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Morrison, Colorad
5

Lattice House is Amazing, Incredible and All that we had hoped for and more!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Have wanted to visit the "Villa" for at least 3 years. Have seen many pictures and descriptions, but they don't tell the whole story. You try to envision a vacation and hope it turns out good. This one turned out much higher than my best expectation!! My 'mother in law' met us at the front door (we were late arriving) and she said thank you 5 times and stated that I was "back in the Will". You can literally stay on the 65 acre grounds and see a lot of animals and birds that you drive to the parks for. A truly GREAT place.
Spend at least 30 minutes on the meditation bench, it will chenge your life..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway