Manhattan Beach house rental - Beachfront Seating, with ocean views and a jacuzzi tub ready for you!
Beachfront Seating, with ocean views and a jacuzzi tub ready for you!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Manhattan Beach House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 6 adults (+ children)

Oceanfront 2-level home!

3 bedrooms/ 2 full bath

(1 King and 2 Queen Beds-- two beds overlook the ocean),

sleeps up to 6 adults.

50 inch Plasma TV with DVD, Blue Ray, HD cable and the ultimate surround sound speakers;

High Speed Internet Access;

2 Patio Spaces: one with hot tub, and one with outdoor shower;

Fully stocked kitchen with all new appliances (coffee maker, espresso maker, blender, spice rack, and dishwasher);

Steps to Manhattan Beach's North End, with shopping, dining, and nightlife.

We are the proud owners of this beautiful property! Our names are John and Aurora Dugan. The main contacts on this listing are Sandra & Shawn. Just ask either of them for our phone number and we will be happy to talk with you. We have lived in Manhattan and Hermosa Beach for over 30 years and we love it here. Aside from owning and managing vacation rentals we also own a high-end antique store Toulouse Antigues located in Manhttan Beach. You can now view up-to-date availability and SECURELY BOOK THIS PROPERTY ONLINE at bit.ly/p0wa6Y (just copy and paste the link in your browser to view our booking calendar).

Aurora & John purchased this house in 2007

We have always loved Manhattan Beach! It is one of the best kept secrets in Los Angeles. So close to everything yet with such a unique beach culture that is so different from the rest of Los Angeles. We have traveled around the world and we think this is the best place on earth!

29 Reviews of Property 179925 in Manhattan Beach, California

Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 29 reviews
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
1

Narrow driveway on a hill

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Think hard about the parking. We stayed at this house for less than an hour. We requested a refund as soon as we left on a Friday and we didn't receive an email until Sunday. The owner called Monday and refused to give us a refund. I had requested a refund of 2 of the 3 days booked.

The driveway was extremely narrow and on a hill. It was a nightmare going down and even worse going back up. We got out before the other tenants came to park because if we hadn't we would have been stuck.

The back exterior of the house is shabby. As you pull in you park next to the outdoor washer and dryer that are shared with the tenants in the back unit. There are no doors just a wooden 3 sided shelter. You enter into the back door. The door is an old no panel door that is deteriorating from moisture with holes at the bottom. Just a real bad start and it didn't get better. The inside of the house was decent but not up to par for the price. The hot tub was cold.

It might work for college kids, providing they all arrive in one very small vehicle. There is much better out there to rent for what you pay here. It There a terrible experience and a waste of a lot of money.
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
5

Boys weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Had a great time with my 2 teenage sons! They loved the location and hot tub!! This place is very close to everything and it is very clean!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
California
5

Our 2nd time staying at The Strand House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Thank you for opening up your home - we enjoyed our stay tremendously!

I made Thanksgiving dinner there and brought most of the food down from the Bay Area, the kitchen worked very well to feed my family and a few friends on Thanksgiving.

The hot tub is a big plus because my kids surf and needed to warm up after being in the ocean.
The gas grill is very important to the way we cook.
Bikes are good although we did not use them this time.

The new code/lock and no keys is very good - I worried about losing the keys last time.

The four big beach towels were great this time - not sure if you had them two years ago.

Kitchen dishes/supplies were about right for our family of 6.

Washer/dryer is great to have.

Beds were very comfortable and the sheets were comfortable since the night air was cool.

The chairs and bar on the outside porch are so inviting - the kids did homework, ate and relaxed out there a lot.

The large TV was great for watching college football and movies.
Bocce ball was nice to have - don't think that was available two years ago.

Of course, being right on The Strand is amazing - the ocean is so beautiful


Possible changes:
1.With three kids in college and one in high school, the kids prefer to sleep separately. So if you ever need to replace the sofa in the room where the bikes are stored, to replace it with a daybed would be good. We did see the air mattress and I also brought one down - but did not use them. One son slept on the living room sofa with sheets.
2. Netflix? We wanted to start watching Christmas movies like "Elf" and assumed it would be on. Possibly having a movie subscription would be nice but not necessary.

Again, thank you for opening up your home to us - it is an experience that I would not have ever expected our family to have and now we've done it twice!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
Pleasanton, Ca
1

Look elsewhere!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed here back in August, and my husband just reminded me I never wrote a review!

The positives: The location is what's great about this house. MB is a cool city w great restaurants & shops. The "strand" is awesome, we took walks down to the pier everyday and loved enjoying the beautiful ocean views. The house is located right in front of the beach, but the pictures are a bit misleading in that there is a parking lot between the house and the beach. The photos make it look as if the house is right on the beach. This is not a terrible thing, but just wanted to point it out as it was something I didn't realize till we arrived.
Negatives:
The layout of the house is very cramped, chopped up, and weird. There is not a great place to hang out in a big group as the "living room" is oddly L-shaped, and you can't really enjoy the views while sitting on the couch or watching TV. Again, I feel the pictures are misleading because you can't quite grasp how odd the layout is from the photos.
The house is very cheaply furnished. Most of the furniture I recognized from Ikea. The kitchen was builder-grade at best. The floors were the cheapest laminate known to man.
When we arrived, the house was absolutely FILTHY. I have 2 children (a toddler, and a baby who was crawling at the time) so maybe I noticed more than the average person, but the first day we got there, I looked at my babies hands and knees and they were black from the filth on the floors. This really freaked me out, so I started wiping up and sweeping and the more I looked, the more dirt, dust, and grime I found. There were dishes in the kitchen that were dirty (they were put away as if clean, but when we got them out to use them, they were clearly greasy/dirty.) This was the deal breaker for me. I was pretty pissed off, because we had to pay a cleaning deposit! Either the owners are trying to take advantage by collecting a cleaning deposit and not getting the place cleaned, or they have the WORST cleaners on the planet.
To sum up, I felt that the pics and description were purporting the house to be something that it simply wasn't. If this was my place, and I was being honest, I would call it a beach bungalow and charge on the low end of the properties in the area. It could be a good fit for the right crowd, just know what you're getting into. However, the lack of cleanliness was absolutely INEXCUSABLE and is the reason why I would never recommend this place to anyone. Sorry, peeps, look elsewhere.
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
Brecksville, Ohio
5

We will definitely be back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We certainly enjoyed our stay at your lovely rental. Your quick
response to the issues we had was appreciated. We enjoyed the
beautiful sunsets and the beach and Strand being so accessible. Also
the hot tub was a real plus. We all said that we would love to
return. Thank you.~~~MaryAnn
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary Ann,

Thank you for your response. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back as guests! Have a wonderful Summer!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
Elmhurst, Illinois USA
4

Beach house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The location and views of this property are magnificent. The rental was easy and professional, though the price is a little steep and the cleaning fee is ridiculous. You pay for location.
The bikes were worthless. But you can walk right out onto the Strand. You can sleep with the sliding doors open and hear the waves crashing all night. The hot tub is wonderful and the front patio with the bar top is also a great place to snack, watch the beach and see the people.
The parking is difficult. A very narrow entry. You cannot make it with a large vehicle.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy Daniel had an overall positive stay with us. To our knowledge, our cleaning fee is in line with standard cleaning fees (and cost for such service) in the area. The cleaning fee ensures that our property will be spotlessly clean for the next renter. We recently used the bicycles, and they worked just fine. However, we will check on them, and if they are need of repair or replacement, we will do so. So many guests thank us for the bicycles, so we want to make sure they are in adequate condition for all! Also, it is true that the initial section of the driveway is narrow, but I have personally driven a Cadillac Escalade in and out of the parking space multiple times without trouble. If one plans to come with a larger vehicle, just please be sure to take your time and enter the driveway carefully, especially the first time.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
los angeles, ca
5

Beatutiful beachhouse!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Great Stay!! Owners/agent were very responsible and accomidating. The house is exactly as it looks online with amazing views of the ocean. Very comfortable with all the amenities. The main patio is great for a leisurely breakfast or to watch the sunset. Will definitely consider a repeat visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Olga! We are working on a property video right now so that potential guests can have an even better idea of the property without physically seeing it. You were a great guest, and we hope to see you again some day soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
Oregon
5

Great stay at The Strand House in Manhattan Beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Excellent vacation rental in Manhattan Beach! The location is perfect as it is directly on the strand and oceanfront. Good size bedrooms and a great outside deck looking at the ocean with a hot tub, breakfast counter and grill as well. Shawn the property manager was very responsive and a pleasure to rent from. Great trip to MB, will return again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Paul, I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of all the property has to offer. Until next time...
-Shawn
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
Pueblo, CO
5

We had a wonderful time.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Great place to celebrate our youngest son's graduation from the L.A.P.D. Academy. We're so proud that he now protects this beautiful city. Thank you for allowing us to share your lovely home.

The Chamberlains
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bright, Oceanfront House on 'The Strand' + Jacuzzi + BBQ
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179925
+1 3105299122
Manhattan Beach Los Angeles County
Seattle
5

Amazing spot.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2009
Best three days in ages. You have an amazing spot. Thanks for sharing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2