Traverse City condo rental - Living Area
Living Area
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Traverse City Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Newly furnished FUN spacious condo (1235 sq. ft). Walk to downtown Traverse City's full array of specialty shops, fine restaurants, galleries, nightspots, and the Traverse City Film Festival. The Blue Heron is located directly across the street from Grand Traverse West Bay and the beach at Sunset Park. The ten mile T.A.R.T. trail starts right out your door.

Watch the air show and fireworks during Cherry Fest from the condominium community. A great city park with multiple grills and play scape is one minute out your front door.

A short drive away you can enjoy wineries on Old Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas, casinos, Interlochen Center for the Arts, numerous golf courses and boating opportunities.

Fall color tours are fantastic as well as the various hiking trails within the area. Hikes overlooking Lake Michigan are truly spectacular and Sleeping Bear Dunes are not to be missed.

The Blue Heron has two bedrooms on the top floor, one with side view of West Bay from the balcony. Each bedroom has a queen bed and its own bathroom. A queen sofa sleeper with a half bath is on the entry level of this two-story retreat. The Blue Heron also features 2 HI-Def TVs, DVD players and Wi-Fi internet access. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience.

Enjoy the outdoor decks, sipping your latest discovery from the local wineries. You will never want to leave the ambiance of the Blue Heron or Traverse City. Google Map address: 100 Hope St. Traverse City, Michigan

Keywords: Traverse City Downtown Condo

More Details
Hide Details

My brother and I bought this condo because we have fallen in love with the Traverse City area. We are from Texas and our summers are insufferable. Our favorite memory of TC is watching the Fourth of July fireworks along West Bay in sweat pants and jackets! That is not something you can ever do in Texas. Our condo is decorated in a nautical style reminiscent of our homes in Texas. We have taken great care to outfit our condo in a style that showcases our concern for the discriminating traveler. Please enjoy our home as much as we do. Frederick Carroll and Carolyn Strand

Carolyn Strand purchased this condo in 2008

We chose this location because it is the best of all worlds. We are a short walk down beautiful tree-lined streets filled with wonderful Victorian houses to some of our favorite downtown restaurants. The shopping is fantastic as well. But then we are across the street from Sunset Beach Park along West Bay where the sunsets are phenomenal. Go in the opposite direction and F&M Park awaits you with grills, a gazebo where there is always entertainment, and beautiful flowers. The TART Trail begins right out our door where you can bicycle along the bay or all throughout town.

20 Reviews of Property 179623 in Traverse City, Michigan

Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 20 reviews
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Cleveland OH
5

What a Wonderful Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I spent three nights with another couple at this absolutely delightful condo and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The location description was accurate. The photos, although also accurate, do not truly reflect the hominess, comfort, cleanliness, and the decorative touches throughout. As for amenities... none of us had ever stayed in a condo that was even close to being as well equipped as the Blue Heron. We truly felt as if we were visiting a friend's home! Carol, the owner, was so easy to deal with and very prompt with her replies. Lisa, the property manager, and her husband, Scott, were very helpful and accommodating during our arrival and departure and with any questions we had. In regards to Traverse City, our husbands had fun salmon fishing, my friend and I shopped downtown (Fustini's was so good), we all had a great time at the Chateau Fontaine wine tasting, followed by a fantastic supper at Georginas. We all thoroughly enjoyed Traverse City and would definitely recommend the Blue Heron and would definitely look forward to staying there again next time we visit Up North!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Perfect Condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We've used vrbo for years and this was by far the most welcoming place we've rented! The condo was spotless, warm, cozy, beautifully decorated, and so well stocked we didn't have to go to the store for anything! The location was fantastic - we could walk to the beach, great restaurants, breweries, and tons of downtown shopping! The condo owner and manager were wonderful. Traverse City was beautiful and so much fun - having the perfect place to stay made it an amazing vacation!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Toledo, OH
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent a week here and cannot wait to get back. I have never been at a rental unit that offered SO MANY amenities. The location was great and the condo was spotless. There were so many homey touches that we felt right at home. We ride bicycles and only used our car twice. The photos reflect how the condo looks and both the owner and concierge could not have been more helpful. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable, well-maintained place to stay. There are so many things to do and places to eat it would be impossible to list them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Shelby Twp., MI
5

What a fantastic experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We absolutely loved our stay at the Blue Heron. The location is great -- we walked downtown several times for shopping and going out to eat. The beach and park are so easily accessible. The condo is decorated so cute and we really apprciate all the attention to details. Everything from the complimentary bottle of wine and nuts, to the shampoo and conditioner in the showers, the fully stocked kitchen complete with paper products and even a variety of coffee! There were menus from local restaurants, games, puzzles, and much, much more! We absolutely loved our stay there and would highly recommend it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Soooo Comfortable !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Wonderful time made even better by the convenience and amenities of this condo. I have rented from Home Away several times with each rental being a little different from the rest, however The Blue Heron has all the little extras that make staying in a condo possible and not painful. Some examples: salt, pepper, oil, body wash, movies, games, local brochures of activities, internet connection, wine openers, sharp knives........
Thank you for a lovely winter vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Perfect Pick in Traverse City

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had an absolutely lovely stay at the Blue Heron even though it was chilly November! Upon arrival we were immediately greeted and given a tour by Lisa who does the housekeeping and was very helpful in recommending restaurants, etc. The condo was immaculately clean, spacious, updated,and thoughtfully deocorated. Not to mention, a bottle of wine and nuts were set out and the kitchen was even stocked with several food items (I was happy to find peanut butter that i had on my bagel one morning). Also, there were 2 varieties of Starbucks coffee grinds for guest use - very nice touch! The decor is really something to see - the beach/nautical theme runs throughout and is so tastefully done. There is a variety of really great Traverse City related artwork thorughout that is really special. Now on to the location - superb! We walked down Front St. every day and went to shops, restaurants, breweries, the theatre, etc. It was cold and even snowed one night but we were close enough that it didn't stop us from walking to and from town. Perfect. Now I just can't wait to hopefully return in a warmer month so we can take advantage of enjoying a glass of wine on the 2 balconies and also the beach! We did, however, have lots of fun playing different board games and card games that were on stock. As for the person who wrote the review below stating the condo is not as offered...we did not feel that way AT ALL. Our expectations were not only met but exceeded. Yes, there is a McDonalds across one of the streets but we saw that as a bonus and walked there to get coffee a couple mornings (tried not drink all the starbucks in the fridge)! Also, the woman below said the bedrooms are on the third floor but this is not true. The condo is a 2-story (which we also saw as a bonus) on the second floor of the complex to be accurate. We found it delightful and can't wait to return! Thank you, Carolyn!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time. Because this is often our home, we try to make it feel like a home to our guests as well. Please come stay with us again in the warmer months. Carolyn
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Mattawan, MI
5

Great stay at the Blue Heron

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Warm and cheery in the Blue Heron on a cold and dreary November weekend in Traverse City. TImely, accurate communiation from the start, great location. Walk to downtown in 5 minutes. Clean spacious condo with a very nice kitchen arrangement and washer and dryer upstairs. Rental agent very timely to meet for key exchange, and that was the beginning of a great stay. Thank you Carolyn for providing such nice service and well appointed condo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
1

NOT AS OFFERED.....

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We were extremely disappointed to enter the condo and find that the direct view from the first floor balcony was of MacDonald's back parking lot and homes and yards next to the above. NOT AS ADVERTISED AND SHOWN IN YOUR AD and not taken from this condo's balcony. The only view of a park, boat and water must be achieved by hanging over the balcony and turning your head to the left -- it is a very small view indeed. NOT AS ADVERTISED We also discovered that both bedrooms are on the third level. NOT AS ADVERTISED What we did see was clean, but not as fresh and clean as your pictures indicate. After driving for over 5 hours to reach Traverse City, your agent managed to arrange for accommodations at a local hotel and we appreciated her help. Glad to see you re-wrote your description of your condo Carolyn. Now you need to do away with the "View from your balcony" shot. The rest of our stay in Traverse City and surrounding areas was wonderful. J B
Owner's Response: We have been renting our home out for almost 5 years and this is our first negative review. Fortunately over the years, we have had many satisfied guests and several have made my home theirs, 3-4 times. We strive to make sure our guests have the best possible rental experience. And as you can see from our past reviews, we have been very successful at achieving this goal. But every once in awhile you find that you cannot please everyone even when you give it your best effort. This was our first unhappy customer and when she told us she was not happy with the layout or location, we immediately gave her a Full Refund. We also took the time to help her book a hotel that better fit her needs. Yet she still felt it necessary to give us a negative and inaccurate review. In our description of the condo, we do note that the bedrooms are on the top floor of our two story unit. The photo accurately portrays what can be seen from the balcony, however, it is not the only view from the balcony. Obviously nothing we could have done would have made this guest happy. If anyone has questions about this review, please do not hesitate to contact me. Carolyn Strand
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Lovely condo.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What a delightful condo. Our group of two couples needed a place to stay so we could explore the Traverse City area for four days. The condo has two private baths and two queen beds so that was perfect. The decor is very tasteful and it is furnished with everything you could ever need. The location is great also. The owner, Carolyn, is easy to communicate with and very prompt. If we ever go back to Traverse City we will definitely try to use this condo.
business
Blue Heron- Downtown-Traverse City Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179623vb
(512) 372-9678
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Fantastic Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
There are many things that make a fantastic vacation - the area, the weather, the "locals" and the accommodations. Traverse City was far better than we had imagined, the weather was great, the "locals" were friendly and the condominium was perfect. We have stayed in a number of properties around the world and this one was probably the first that met all expectations. It is situated in a great location next to the beach and close to downtown. It is spacious and the furnishings are in excellent condition with no sign of wear. In addition, it was the best stocked unit that really meets your every need. Finally, it would be remiss of me not to mention the many fine restaurants in the area. In particular, the food at Chez Peres was so good that we went back the next night.
Helpful votes: 1/1