New Bern house rental - Sandy Point House
Sandy Point House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

New Bern House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedroom, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 8

**SPECIAL, HALF PRICE MONTHLY RENTALS (month costs the same as 2 weeks)! **

New dock and as always free use of kayaks, canoe and rowboat.

'SANDY POINT' is a well-appointed, very comfortable, and very clean home(as are all of our cottages). It has 2,800 sq. ft. of living area consisting of 4 bedrooms, 3 ceramic tiled bathrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen, and a lovely foyer with a hand painted mural. This home sleeps 8 comfortably.

The home is directly on the Neuse River just a mile across from the downtown New Bern historic district. 'SANDY POINT' is nautical and fun with a large screened porch. You can sit on the screened porch and watch the seagulls, pelicans, geese, and ducks, or the waterman pulling up his crab pots. The living room, dining room, and kitchen are very tranquil with their shades of blue and yellow, and hardwood and ceramic floors throughout.

New Bern is a beautiful, historic, small town. There are all of the historic sights, as well as, the natural beauty of the area. 'SANDY POINT' brings the two together in harmony. The home is located right on the Neuse with abundant wildlife at your sandy shoreline and was on the New Bern 'River Homes Tour' in 2002. And the Neuse River is a natural for boating and fishing. There is a dock at the home for your use, along with a canoe and kayaks. Just across the river is the town itself with its many interesting destinations including The Tryon Palace, museums, restaurants, theater, and shopping.

As if there were not enough to do in New Bern itself, the ocean and beaches are less than an hour away, and the quaint waterfront towns of Beaufort and Morehead City are even closer. The Croatan National Forest, is just outside of New Bern and, offers hiking and nature observing.

'SANDY POINT' is a great base to explore New Bern, and Eastern Carolina, but a lot of our guests prefer not to leave the large screened porch and sandy beach once they get here. So come see what 'SANDY POINT' and New Bern have to offer!!

We do ask that you leave your cigarettes and pets outside (or at home). And remember to bring your own bed linens, unless you'd like to use and wash ours. (We provide pillows, comforters, quilts, towels, beach towels, kitchen towels and sheets. But if you use ours they need to be washed, folded, and put away before you leave!!)

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 179271 in New Bern, North Carolina

'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
NC
5

Charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We had a wonderful time, and I just wanted to let you know how
much we enjoyed staying in your lovely house. It was so comfortable for
us, another couple and our 12 y/o son and his friend. The house is so
beautifully decorated, and the landscaping is charming! We enjoyed many
activities both inside and out. It was a great launching spot for us to
explore the coast in our boat as well.
I hope we will get a chance to return some time.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Stuttgart, Germany
5

Simply beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house was beautiful and the owners were very nice. I flew over from Germany and met my mother, grandmother and two early twenties brothers. We all took turns finding shark teeth and taking the kayaks out. The house was equipped with everything we needed, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean. My grandmother said if it was her house she'd never leave! :) We would defiantly go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. So nice getting families together here. Hope you'll come again someday!
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Richmond, VA
5

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Sandy Point is truly a lovely getaway! Our family has stayed at Nick and Missy's other property, The Sandy Garden, a couple of times and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. This year we stayed at the larger Sandy Point Cottage and had a ball. The house is gorgeous and has everything you'll need - definitely a home away from home. We cooked inside and grilled outside; played foosball, ping pong, and pool; took advantage of the kayaks and canoe; and enjoyed the waterfront with the kids! We look forward to going back next year to either cottage - both are delightful and perfect for a memorable family vacation on the water in quaint New Bern, N.C.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Indiana, PA
5

FABULOUS!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Sandy Point is everything promised and more. Beautifully decorated, comfortable, quiet, relaxing. A great spot for reconnecting with family and friends. Big enough for everyone to have their own space, but cozy enough to enjoy.

Nick, Missy and Zak are fabulous hosts and the setting is stunningly beautiful.

We enjoyed day trips to a variety of locations within an hour's drive, and came home each day to swim, kayak, or just play in the water. The kitchen is well equipped, and we enjoyed preparing a meal on the grill each evening, and eating on the screened porch.

We hope to return to Sandy Point.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks L & D. We really enjoyed having you as guests. And we can't wait til you come and visit us again!!
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Sugar Hill, GA
5

What a GEM!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We arrived at night on the 4th of July weekend, and I have to admit, its not an easy find when the sun is down, but once inside, we were blown away with the amount of space that greeted us. From the open foyer with a wooden bench and pillows to the adequately sized country kitchen and living room that has a gorgeous view of the Neuse River literally in the backyard of the house. The neighborhood is calm and serene, so perfect for a relaxing weekend for two, or big enough for a three-couple getaway.

On the 4th of July, my father and I got some fishing in from the pier in the back, and caught a few crabs in the traps supplied by the owners. Thanks. My wife told me later that she almost cried from watching my father and I fish, then brought my son out watch us amateurs attempt to catch some fish. The pool table, ping pong table, and Foosball table helped pass the time.

Overall, my family and I were highly satisfied with the house. It was a great gem. Thanks again to the owners for supplying us with a wonderful place to rest our heads in a clean and comfortable environment.

Next time I'm in New Bern, I know where I'm staying. Sandy Point!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your visit. We really enjoyed meeting your family and hope to see you again soon!! Missy & Nick
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Albany, NY
5

Getaway fom the the late northeast autumn chill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
With my wife being ill for the whole summer, we were not looking forward to the late autumn chill and dampness in upstate New York. We decided to head south to NC where we have a few relatives and could get away from the "four walls" we had looked at all summer.

So, we spent a month in New Bern. Even though it has a Southern charm, a quaint downtown, a history, and the amentities of everyday America, New Bern does not have many reasonably priced vacation rentals.

This site located on the Neuse River (one mile across the river from downtown New Bern) was a real find. Spacious, clean, well maintained, and quiet it was just the atmosphere we needed.

The proprietors attention to detail is obvious. With all types of recreation alternatives offered, from sitting on the dock, to kayaking (kayaks provided), to playing pool (or foosball) in the recreation room, to sitting on the porch on a rocking chair, your relaxation is clearly what they have in mind.

Take it all in. Enjoy the restaurants and shopping downtown, the view, and the ambience. This is a true getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Greensboro, NC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I highly recommend Sandy Point for a family vacation. Our family had the best time here. The kids, ages 4 – 16, kayaked, canoed, fished, played pool and ping pong, sailed... We never even had a chance to ride the bikes. We also did a sailing excursion with Nick which was a lot of fun. The house is very nice and clean. It’s a nice size for two families. We plan to return to Sandy Point.
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Greensboro, NC
5

Guestbook Comment

I highly recommend Sandy Point for a family vacation. Our family had the best time here. The kids, ages 4 – 16, kayaked, canoed, fished, played pool...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I highly recommend Sandy Point for a family vacation. Our family had the best time here. The kids, ages 4 – 16, kayaked, canoed, fished, played pool and ping pong, sailed... We never even had a chance to ride the bikes. We also did a sailing excursion with Nick which was a lot of fun. The house is very nice and clean. It’s a nice size for two families. We plan to return to Sandy Point.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Greenville, nc
5

Something for everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
This was a super special experience. My brother rented this place for a week and we had a grand time. The place is super clean and we had a blast sailing and riding bikes. We even spotted some porpoises in the river.
We liked it so much we booked it a year in advance for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'~Sandy Point House~' *Waterfront* Free dock and boats to use!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179271
New Bern Coastal North Carolina
Garner, NC, USA
5

Relaxing Weekend at Sandy Point

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
We had an absolutely wonderful time! The house was so lovely and comfortable for our stay. The kids really enjoyed the game room and playing in the water at the dock. My sister and I got to relax and ride bikes while our husband's fished off the dock. We spent every evening watching the sunsets from the screened back porch. It was a great location with easy access to New Bern and Tryon Palace. The owners were easy to make rental arrangements with and very nice. We definitely would like to stay at Sandy Point again. It was a memorable weekend that we all enjoyed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4