Mauna Kea estate rental - Living room with a view on the second floor off the main kitchen
Living room with a view on the second floor off the main kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Mauna Kea Estate Rental Photos and Description
6 bedroom, 6 full bathrooms, 2 half bathrooms, sleeps 12

Located on the fifth fairway of the championship Mauna Kea golf course, this magnificent 6 bedroom estate overlooks the Pacific Ocean on the Big Island of Hawaii. Breathtaking vistas sweep in every direction with spectacular sunsets over the ocean and views of the snow-capped Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa and the Kohala range. Upon opening the gates, the sights and sounds of the fabulous water gardens transport visitors to another dimension. Brimming with exotic species of water lilies and colorful flashes of huge Japanese Koi, it is these gardens that provided the home its name, Lilio Lana I Ka Wai, which translates as 'the home of the water lilies.' Features include fruit orchards, indoor and outdoor jacuzzis, media room and excellent whale watching on the balcony! Treat yourself to our library, our pool recliners, our gym equipment and our unifying group lanai lounge area. Pick fruit from our orchards - there are so many lemons you will want to make lemonade. Drive to Puako for papaya

House details: Full time caretaker, 2 full kitchens, media room, house guests have full use of the Hapuna Prince Hotel including golf at guest rates. The newly renovated Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is also available. 2 world class resorts await you. The historic Luau at the Mauna Kea, Hawaiiana arts and crafts for adults and children offered for all guests. Special theme dinners include Chinese New Year, family clambakes and more. Snorkeling supplies available at the beach. Transportation to nearby beach for windsurfing and whale-watching. House has koi fish ponds and fruit orchard out back. Guests will enjoy the island feel of the home with indoor/outdoor living on the lanaii area. Unique koa wood asian inspired architecture and furnishings. Relax in the open air lanai on our day bed, enjoy the endless rim pool, watch whales from our jacuzzi, enjoy the island with both mountain and ocean views!

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 179177 in Mauna Kea, Hawaii

Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
average rating of 4.8 based on 7 reviews
business
Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179177
617 489-5585
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Connecticut
5

What a vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We just returned from paradise. Extended family stayed at large home that was more than we expected. The caretaker was so helpful, led us to a great fishing spot for our 7 year old son. We will heartily recommend this to any large groups. Yoga at the Hapuna was another highlight of our visit. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and grand. Too bad we had to come home!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Future renters, we can only hope your vacation at our house is as pleasurable as this past renter. We are especially pleased that our caretaker was able to provide all of the services necessary to ensure a wonderful experience for these renters. Please contact us with any questions.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179177
617 489-5585
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
San Francisco
5

Perfect family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wonderful home. Perfect for a group of 12. Large enough for everyone to have their own space. Perfect for a family reunion. I am a grandmother and I have booked for next year. My children and grandchildren loved this home. Can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179177
617 489-5585
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Sacramento, CA
4

Great home for our family reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented this beautiful home for an Uncle's 60th birthday with several families. The house was perfect for the occasion and large enough with several different sitting areas that everyone had their own space. We would definitely consider renting again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179177
617 489-5585
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Pasadena, CA
5

An Unforgettable Week in Glorious Surroundings for our 45th Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
12 of our 16 family members & baby sitters were able to stay for a beautiful week at this stunning house.
With upstairs and downstairs gathering areas, plus upstairs and downstairs kitchens, and a media room for watching movies, as well as an infinity pool & jacuzzi just outside the downstairs gathering area, children and adults of all ages had endless activities available to us.As it all that weren't enough, the Mauna Kea's beautiful beach and varied eating areas were right down the hill, making it incredibly easy to keep everyone entertained and happy 24/7!
The extremely helpful caretaker was able to provide us with local resources for shopping, dining out, etc.-- never a dull moment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179177
617 489-5585
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Pasadena, CA
5

An Unforgettable Week in Glorious Surroundings for our 45th Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
12 of our 16 family members & baby sitters were able to stay for a beautiful week at this stunning house.
With upstairs and downstairs gathering areas, plus upstairs and downstairs kitchens, and a media room for watching movies, as well as an infinity pool & jacuzzi just outside the downstairs gathering area, children and adults of all ages had endless activities available to us.As it all that weren't enough, the Mauna Kea's beautiful beach and varied eating areas were right down the hill, making it incredibly easy to keep everyone entertained and happy 24/7!
The extremely helpful caretaker was able to provide us with local resources for shopping, dining out, etc.-- never a dull moment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always delighted when our guests have a great time. So glad your large family gathering was enhanced by our vacation rental home! We find that events like yours are perfect for our home - a great place for all to relax and connect, while also allowing easy access for many activities at both hotels. We love the surroundings too - the views of both beach and snow-capped mountains. Hope to see you visit our home again! And thanks for the recent referral of a close friend.
business
Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179177
617 489-5585
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Juliet, our family had a wonderful time here on the Big Island and enjoyed your lovely villa!! It's 4pm on Tuesday, 3/30 and all of our children and grandchildren have left for home. Only Sandie and I are here and we want to say that this vacation home was perfect. Please feel free to use me as a reference should the need arise.

I called the caretaker today and left a message suggesting that if they wanted to clean the other bedrooms today or tomorrow morning, it would be ok with us.

Everything is in order and there were no accidents.

Your internet service works great -- I'm in the lanai area now.

One question-- is that your mother with you and your sister? Which one is you -- reclining or standing?

Sincerely,

Bob and Sandie
business
Kohala Coast Golf-front Mauna Kea Resort villa - roomy sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179177
617 489-5585
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

A recent email we received from a happy guest

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Juliet, our family had a wonderful time here on the Big Island and enjoyed your lovely villa!! It's 4pm on Tuesday, 3/30 and all of our children and grandchildren have left for home. Only S and I are here and we want to say that this vacation home was perfect. Please feel free to use me as a reference should the need arise.

Everything is in order and there were no accidents.
Your internet service works great -- I'm in the lanai area now.

One question-- is that your mother with you and your sister? Which one is you -- reclining or standing?

Sincerely, BB
Helpful votes: 1/1