Dresden cottage rental - Private Dock in the Morning
Private Dock in the Morning
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Dresden Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Full Modern Bathroom, Full Modern Kitchen, Sleeps 6 comfortable

Welcome to the coziest cottage on Seneca's west side. This cottage is in a very private and quiet setting. Enjoy the awesome views from the hot tub overlooking the lake. There is large screen cable TV and high speed wireless Internet. The front of the cottage has an awesome view of the lake through a mostly glass wall. That view is accessible from most of the cottage. Dinner with the family or breakfast at sunrise can be enjoyed on a large dock, or on the covered front porch. Has gas grill and fire pit by the water. Very large bedrooms, including a king master. Modern new appliances in kitchen - new ceramic tile bathroom. Very well decorated and exceptionally clean. 2 ytennis courts nearby. 3 golf courses within 15 minutes. In-cottage massages and limo tours at door available. There are only a few stairs down to the lake and even a small beach for children. We are in a VERY central location which puts us close to most of the regions premier wineries and nearby towns. We are 6 miles from shopping, groceries, gas, restaurants, and movie theaters. 8 miles from state boat launch and boat rentals. Road open year round and easily accessible in winter. Walking distance to the Outlet Trail for hiking and biking between Seneca and Keuka lakes. Cottage is modern and exceptionally clean. Award for Excellence every year by Trip Advisor. Excellent rental for those with pets [fenced in yard]. Easily accessible all year, including winter.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family has had a cottage nearby since 1930, and since has added 3 more in the same vicinity. When these latter cottages were purchased, we knew from years of experience that this location is one of the most desireable on any of the Finger Lakes. Our cottage is very accessible year around, has ease of access to the water, enjoys peace and solitude, as well as privacy, and has beautiful views of the lake. The area behind the cottage is lawn and woods, which is also very scenic. We found the cottage to have a real, quaint lake front cottage feeling. It is cozy with lots of windows and light. We also liked the fact that the bedrooms were very large for a cottage, unlike many cottages we had seen. There are no big drop offs at the water, so our children and our grandchildren can enjoy playing in the water without fear. It was the nicest of all the cottages we looked at, and our family loves it.

20 Reviews of Property 179114 in Dresden, New York

Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 20 reviews
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
Horseheads, NY
5

Best Vacation Close to Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful and clean cottage with a perfect view of Seneca Lake. We brought our dog and he also loved it! We had a relaxing time and enjoyed the many books they keep available for visitors. It is a very quiet location and the lake is right outside the door and down the steps. We highly recommend this cottage and would absolutely love to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
4

Great location, quaint place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We planned this trip as a quiet getaway after our wedding and it was exactly what we needed. It was smack dab in the middle of the wineries on the west side of Seneca Lake with easy access to Geneva, Watkins Glen, and Penn Yan. You really can't beat the location and proximity to everything.

The house itself was very cute. The kitchen is on the small side but it has everything you need to cook full meals. We stayed for 3 nights and cooked dinner 2 of the nights. We had breakfast at the house and didn't have any problems cooking eggs on the pans provided. The ovens worked great to roast brussel sprouts and even baked up cinnamon rolls nicely.

The bedrooms were nice and the bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable. We don't know about the second bedroom because we had no need to use it. The bathroom was small but wasn't cramped by any means. The hot tub outside looking out over the lake was incredible! The views and the chill in the air made it perfect for a dip.

There were only two things that I wish were changed. The first one was that the fireplace didn't work while we were there. There was a note on it that said we shouldn't try to turn it on because it was broken. Unfortunately, the note looked like it had been there a while. The second was that the seating wasn't too comfortable. As a newly married couple, I had hoped for some snuggle time on a couch while we watched tv or watched the sun go down. The two loveseats in the living room were comfortable enough but there were no ottoman's to make it "cozy". To be able to stretch out to relax and even read a book comfortably, we had to each be in a loveseat separate from each other. If there were a loveseat recliner, I would have been in heaven - maybe something for the owners to think about?

That being said, those were the only negatives I could come up with about the cabin. Everything else was great. I should mention that since we went in November, it was too cold to go in the water or stay by the water for too long with the wind so I can't comment on the dock or beach.

Thank you for a wonderful time!
Owner's Response: We appreciate all your complementary comments and suggestions. This is a lovely cottage and we strive to keep it very clean and well maintained. We're sorry about the gas fireplace, but this is the second one to be mishandled and broken. The cost to get it fixed is about the same as buying a new one, and we are not certain we want to buy a 3rd one. Your observations and suggestions about the couches are well taken and we intend to do as you suggest and replace them with the type you mentioned. Thank you for that. Hopefully you will return and find everything to your satisfaction. We're sure future guest will benefit from your suggestions. Again - thank you for taking the time to comment. We found it very helpful.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
Austin, Texas
4

Great Vacation Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This Seneca Lake Cottage was a great place to stay, nice and quiet. Very Clean. Good water pressure and very cozy. The week we stayed, was very hot, the AC in the living room area cooled the whole place and made it very comfortable. The location is awesome, close to wineries and Watkins Glen. The owners were awesome and very helpful. Would recommend highly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
5

Arrowhead cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at the cottage for 4 nights and had the most amazing time there. The cottage was spacious and clean and everything I had hoped it would be. It had a very friendly and homely atmosphere and had everything we needed for our stay. When we arrived at the savannah house inn we were greeted by pat who was lovely and helped us with all out queries by giving us phone numbers for boat hire companies nearby and told us a bit about the area. We really enjoyed having our own pier, and were able to eat out on it a few times for breakfast which was great. The cottage itself was really quirky and obviously very well loved! We unfortunately got the check out time wrong and ended up leaving an hour late, meaning the cleaning lady was waiting for an hour outside in her car, but still, pat was really nice about it and didn't make a fuss at all which he was definately entitled to do as we had wasted an hour of their time. Overall we had a very pleasant experience in this lovely peaceful town, in the most beautiful location. I would definately recommend the cottage to anyone.
Owner's Response: Kate and family are very nice people, and we could see that they appreciated our cottage very much. The slight overstay was an honest mistake and Kate's family did a great job picking up, which helped the housekeeper. We are very pleased that they enjoyed their stay so much, as we take great care to present it to each new guest in a manner that hopefully makes them feel that they are the first people to ever stay there. Thank you Kate for your gracious comments and the care in which you used our cottage. Please come again. Pat and Brenda
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
5

Girls Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Our party was a group of seven 30-something women in need of a relaxing weekend getaway. We booked the hour massage and wine tour package along with our weekend stay at the cottage. We had a terrific time. We had 2 perfect fall days to enjoy at the lake. The cottage was very clean with more than enough pillows, towels and blankets provided. The kitchen and bathroom were also very clean and stocked with all of the essentials. We slept very comfortably and had plenty of room to socialize. The gas fireplace in the living room was the perfect touch on the fall nights as we drank wine and shared lots of laughs! The location is perfect if you're looking to go on a wine tour. All in all we were 7 very happy women!
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having another girls getaway, and we're delighted that they had such a good time. We do a lot of these getaways at our cottages and our motel, and they are always a challenge for the one organizing the group. In this case, the girls were well organized and a pleasure to deal with. We hope they and their significant others return often.
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
leominster, ma
1

watch out!!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
this was not at all what the ad says and we had a awful experience. the photos are not at all a fare representation of the place. to describe it i would use the following words, run down, musty, smells, dirty, and the property the cottage sits on is overgrown un kept, and just unpleasant. if you go pack as if you are going camping in a tent out in the woods cause you will need to bring everything including toilet paper. don't plan on bringing a swimsuit you can't go into the water, like the neighbors on either side of you are. they rake the weeds in the water this owner of this cottage does not. and don't plan to go onto the dock in the photo, it is unsafe and ready to fall apart it is BAD. don't even think of eating at the table on the dock HAAA HAAA holy cow the chairs are covered with scaly barnacles it is GROSS! thats is if you don't kill yourself walking to the dock on the multi level stairs leading to the water they are rotted and run down so be careful walking on them. and bring your own grill, cause the grill that's there is absolutely disgusting, the steaks i brought were worth more money than the grill i am pretty sure it has never been cleaned and the burner is rotted out so one side is low and the other section is a giant yellow flame so you can't cook anything with out standing there watching it every second. and oh yeah don't plan on sitting on the porch awith out putting a hat on the bugs/cobwebs/dirt/paint chips/ect... will creep you out if you look at them. and you will look up cause the 1960's table and chairs haven't been cleaned so you will want to look up at what else isn't cleaned. and bring a set of golf shoes so you can tackle the mossy covered stairs off the deck otherwise you will fall and break your neck. oh and the a/c HAAA HAAA HAAA! yeah that doesn't work you will sweat like a pig if you try to use it. and its no wonder when you look at it. bring a couple of movies cause the cable doesn't work in the summer. bring something to sit on cause the 2 love seats are gross. and oh yeah most importantly bring some money to go get a hotel room so you can take a shower cause the water doesn't have any pressure. NOT LOW pressure its NO pressure, don't let the owner kid you with his "that's how all the lake houses are" explanation that is NOT true at all. he doesn't want to put a decent water pump in and real filter set up in fact if the filter he has gets clogged he will come rinse it out for you. this was the biggest rip off ever!
Owner's Response: We feel our consistently great reviews over a period of 3 years speak for themselves. Also - we are at a loss as to why this guest waited about 8 months to provide this review. This guest came to us during their stay with a list of a few concerns - nothing like the list in this review - some of which we felt were overstated. All guests are advised up front that once the water filter begins to fill up, the system will lose pressure - and when that happens to please call us right away and we will quickly replace it - within 15 minutes - not wash it as this person stated. This guest waited until the filter was completely blocked. We have since replaced the filter with a much bigger one, which lasts a lot longer. Our water pressure is excellent. The dock is 3 1/2 years old, and was structurally "overbuilt" to handle large groups of people. It is far from the condition described by the guest. One of the chairs that go with the table on the end of the dock, fell in the lake during the winter and was unretrieveable for about 6 months. Once we pulled it out of the lake, we set it aside so it wouldn't be used by the guests until we could replace it. Apparently someone chose to use it. The steps to the beach are strong and safe - not as the guest described. We live by a lake and bugs can be plentiful. We routinely remove cob webs, etc, but they come back pretty readily. This is the first we have heard about the gas grill. No other guest has mentioned this, even though there were at least 25 different rentals after this one. As for consumables like toilet paper, we advise our guests at the time of reservation, that anything consumable is their responsibility. Upon arrival, we always see that there is toilet paper for our guests. Our impression was that the real purpose of this guest was actually to get some sort of a refund on the money they had paid us, because that was the first thing they requested. It was so evident, we could only assume that these guests probably routinely used this sort of tactic to get the cost of their vacation stays reduced. Even though we didn't agree with their complaints - and later determined that some were groundless - we did give them a partial and sizeable refund. They expressed their appreciation and we heard nothing more from them until this review. We have 4 cottages that we list on this site, and they all consistently have 5-star ratings/reviews. In retrospect, we wouldn't do anything differently in this instance.
Helpful votes: 6/11
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
Hatboro, PA
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This was our first time in the Finger Lakes and we thought the central location of the cottage was perfect. There is so much to do in the area and we loved the state parks, the wineries and exploring the area, which included a day trip to Niagara Falls. The cottage was very comfortable and clean. We spent many hours on the porch, enjoying the beautiful view of the lake. I must admit, I was very nervous after reading “Mary’s July 8th" review, but most of what was written, seemed to be exaggerated. I believe the steps to the lake are common for these types of cottages and we did not have any trouble navigating them. As a matter of fact, we fished off the dock every day. We also found the cottage to be very clean, with no smell of mildew (and I have asthma). Our only negative comment would be the low water pressure, which we are told is typical for homes that get their water from the lake. It was a wonderful week vacation and we look forward to returning in the future.
Owner's Response: We appreciate this guest's comments and the fact that they enjoyed our cottage so much. Since this guest stayed with us, we redid our water system once we found a remedy for the unpredictable pressure. Since then the pressure has been excellent - much better than before, and each of our subsequent guests have commented on how well the system performs.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
Baltimore, Maryland
1

Very rustic-Many items were missing or misleading

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This home was 22 steps from the lake- not the few stated in the ad. Very dangerous decent to the lake. Don't worry- the furniture found there was so moldy and without an umbrella that you won't want to go down the windy staircase to get there. I sat on the front porch, and paint chips fell into my glass of wine. The home had no sofa but just 2 love seats making relaxing a bit difficult. The mildew smell was overwhelming and the water pressure terrible. Bottled water was provided since the cabin uses filtered lake water through the pipes. We never found the bikes, the restaurant guide, the activity guide, ceiling fans, fax machine, coffee grinder, ice maker, or the beach for children. The microwave and alarm clock didn't work. The bed was very comfortable, the cabin was very clean, and the view was beautiful, but for the price, we were expecting more than the basics covered. The owners invited renters on the welcome paper to a Sat. evening cookout and outdoor movie at their local B and B, which would have been a great chance to learn about the area since the activity and restaurant guides were not present. However, the check in time was 4 PM and the RSVP time was 10 AM. We left the cabin a day early since we couldn't handle the smell and lack of comfortable seating, decent TV (18 inch with very poor satellite service with no local channels) and easy access to the lake. I gave the owners a chance to change their Home Away ad and to respond to my concerns, but I haven’t heard from them. We did love our time exploring the Finger Lake area, but none of our joy came from this house.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: This review is obviously completely contrary to every other review for the last 2 1/2 years. By lake standards, 22 steps to the beach is very few, compared to cottages with 200 or more steps, and sometimes elevators. The cottage is well maintained and exceptionally clean, and has never had any mold. It is a cottage, nevertheless, and while it is modern by anyone's estimate, it is a lake front cottage and does not have city water - which is true of nearly all cottages. The renters are advised up front that when the filter begins to clog, we will gladly replace it in short order. This renter did not ask us to replace the filter. We offer bikes for rent - not complementary with the cottage - nor do we advertise having a fax machine, coffee grinder, or ice maker [because the water line comes from the lake]. Seneca Lake does not have 'beaches', as it is a glacier formed lake with shale shoreline. All of our children and grandchildren have learned to swim here without difficulty. In order for guests to be included in our complementary cookouts, we need to know early in the day if they are coming, in order to know how much food to buy. Guests are aware before they come that there is a cookout, and for a guest to wait until around 500pm the day of the cookout to advise us of same, is a bit unreasonable [the food is purchased around midday].The cottage is provided with information about local restaurants that we find of good value, along with thorough instructions about things guests need to know about staying at the cottage, because it is so different from living in a normal residence in the city. Most guests do not watch much TV, and the one provided is fine for all previous guests - but once the foliage comes out in late spring, we lose contact with the satellite that carries local programming. There is nothing we can do about this. Unlike just about any other cottage rental, we provide quite an assortment of books to read, which most guests have told us is unexpected and enjoyed - and is more of use then the TV. Generally, guests rave about their stay here, comment on how well the cottage is decorated, how peaceful and private and convenient it is.This guest, contrary to her comments, did talk with me on the phone about the above concerns, and because we do not believe our ad is misleading [no other guest has found it so - in fact they usually say that it is even nicer than the ad and photos], we feel no need to change it. All our reviews support my comments.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
West Seneca, N.Y.
5

cozy, relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
My husband and I and another couple, "our best friends" participated in our third annual "deck the halls" weekend in november and staying at Arrowhead made it the best ever! It was so nice to enjoy the wineries and then come back to this beautiful cottage with its awesome views. The first night we went out for dinner, thank you Pat and Brenda, for the excellant recomendations, and the second night we were able to cook a great meal at the cottage. It was nice to know we had every thing we needed. Thanks again, Karen P.S. You should have a guest book at the cottage, we would love to leave you a note. God willing, we'll be back this November.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Karen - you were a wonderful guest and we appreciate your comments. Your suggestion for a guest book is a great one, which we would like to implement. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Seneca Lake Waterfront Escape/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179114
+1 607 243-7787
Dresden Seneca Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Ideal Weekend

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I stumbled upon your site when searching for a weekend getaway. I thought the pictures of the Arrowhead Cottage were gorgeous. Of course, we were skeptical because we’d been burned by internet pictures in the past. But we decided to take a chance. Well, we couldn’t have been more pleased. The cottage was exactly what we wanted. The shabby chic décor was artfully executed, the colors and fabrics so soothing. I wouldn’t change a thing. The setting was even more breathtaking than the pictures. It was the ideal weekend for us. We sat on the porch gazing at the water for hours (and we’re from the Jersey Shore )! It was hard to leave the cottage. Thanks for an amazing adventure.
Helpful votes: 1/1