Philadelphia condo rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Philadelphia Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 queen beds, 1 bed in Bedroom, 1 queen day bed in 2nd bedroom , Sleeps 5

Welcome to the Chestnut Lofts. Located at 2nd and Chestnut.

A boutique condominium building centrally located 3 blocks from the Liberty Bell, Independence hall and 1 block from Penns Landing and the waterfront. Step out your door to dine at cafes and restaurants or explore Old City in a horse drawn carriage. If visiting for a trade show, we are just a short walk to the convention center as well.

Our 900 square foot condo has granite counter tops, brand new stainless steal appliances, exposed brick walls and beautiful exposed wood beams. This condo also has Wifi. The building is a certified historic landmark and is a unique blend of both new and old. If you’re coming to Philadelphia to experience the history or enjoy the fine dining you could not ask for a better location.

My grandfather purchased this building in 1930 using it as his furniture store. My father developed the building into 20 offices and 16 condos selling off several while keeping this penthouse unit for himself.

Josh Russell purchased this condo in 1990

28 Reviews of Property 179041 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
average rating of 4.821429 based on 28 reviews
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
4

Perfect location, clean and comfortable!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We really loved being in the heart of everything. We got to bring our kid, and our friend got to bring his dog which made it super easy and fun to take a quick weekend get away from Brooklyn. The owners were really nice and helpful (when we locked ourselves out with our son's coat still inside!), and we definitely plan on coming back. The only thing I would note is that this really is A LOFT. In the description they mention a wall being put up to make a separate room but we were surprised to find that the room with the privacy, IS NOT THE MASTER. It is a small second room for a kid or close friend. It was a little startling at first but I must say, it all turned out fine (more than fine! lovely). Just be sure you aren't that concerned about two separate private rooms. Oh and there is laundry , coffee machine, snacks, and pretty much everything you need to be comfortable.
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Longview, Washington
5

A Great Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed here for a week in early October, 2013 and were totally happy with the condo. It is exactly as described and the pictures are accurate. Chestnut street is a busy narrow street but this condo is in the back of the condo building and is very quiet. We were never bothered with traffic noise (the windows face a parking garage and a bit of a view beyoind...we liked the privacy). The kitchen and bath had everything you would need...the master bed was very comfy...and the living area was very spacious and comfortable. We liked the second bedroom with a table/desk facing the windows..it provided the perfect spot to set up our tablet and use the internet. The building felt secure to us and we really enjoyed the neighborhood, with lots of nearby restaurants. We would highly recommend this condo to anyone wanting to stay in Philadelphia in the historic neighborhood. We walked to the historic sites on 6th (liberty bell, Independence Hall), and we also walked to the Capitol Building but it was a long walk and you can easily avoid it by catching the Phlash bus just a block or so away from the condo. We highly recommend doing the Big Bus hop on/hop off tour of Philly your first full day to get the lay of the land. Go to the Plough, just around the corner on 2nd for Haddock fish and chips..yum! P.S. we did not have a car for this week and did not feel we needed one EVER.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
4

Location, location, location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Excellent location! We parked our vehicle across the street in a lot and were able to walk, cab or catch a bus everywhere we wanted to go. Appreciated the ample supply of toiletries and cleaning supplies. Condo was well maintained and upscale furnishing. We would definitely rent again for a true downtown vacation experience. Note, when we stayed the second bedroom/loft was not 100% private. It only had a half-wall. It worked out ok but we had to alter our planned sleeping arrangements.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Dallas, TX
5

Perfect Philly Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed in Philadelphia for 4 days on a recent vacation. This apartment is beautiful and the location is fantastic. There were 4 of us; 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We were very comfortable in the loft-the kitchen is stocked with very nice appliances and staple items if you decide to do meal preparation in the loft. The bathroom is also nicely stocked with some toiletries as well. It is located in a historical neighborhood that is within walking distance to many city attractions including Independence Hall, Home of Betsy Ross and Ben Franklin's grave. It is also very close to public transportation to get to places that are a little further away. One thing that I wish I would have known ahead of time: Pennsylvania does not sell liquor or wine on Sundays. You can still buy beer from a beer distributor on Sunday, but you can't buy anything less than a case. (No 6-packs) We didn't know this and ended up buying a case of beer on a Sunday afternoon and leaving most of it when we left Monday morning. We didn't find a big grocery store close by, so all the groceries were bought at a convenience store around the corner that was a little more expensive than we had planned. We did not do a lot of food preparation in the apartment-there are a lot of little restaurants all around the apartment with lots of variety. There is a good deli around the corner where we got some good sandwich stuff. All in all-it was a fantastic trip with delightful amenities-we will definitely book this property again! Thank you Josh-it was perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
5

Perfect location for exploring Philadelphia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My 84 year old mother and I just recently returned from a week in the Chestnut Street condo. It proved to be the best possible location for our purposes. Set in the heart of Old Town, on a lively street of restaurants, cafes and bars, I never had reason to be concerned about safety even at 11 o’clock at night. We had no car, but found we could walk (Mom in wheelchair) nearly anywhere we wanted to go. The condo is within four blocks of Penn’s Landing, Arden Theater, Christ Church, Old City Tavern, Independence Hall, Betsy Ross’s House and the beautiful residential area of Society Hill. There are several small grocery stories, wine and beer merchants, drug stores, and movie theaters near by. Public transportation is easily accessible.

On the day of our arrival we were about ten minutes early and the key was not in the designated location. A woman next door came out to see about us and was very helpful. As it turned out the gentleman cleaning the condo was just finishing and escorted us up. The condo is on the top floor at the back of the building, away from the street noise. We found it to be very comfortable, clean, and well equipped. I appreciated the small stock of spices left on the shelves and was pleased to discover the dishwasher. The new room created by the partition gave each of us privacy and the cooling system worked well. The internet connection was strong and reliable.

We had occasion to contact the owner over a cable connection to the TV. Although he was out of town, he couldn’t have been more responsive or helpful.

Mom and I have been taking summer trips together for the last five years. We look for a place to call home in each of the locations we visit. We certainly felt that way about the Chestnut condo.

Thank you, Josh.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Maine
5

Terrific urban way to experience Philly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Condo was very comfortable and in a perfect location for walking almost everywhere we wanted to go. We took public transportation only to art museums and to ballpark. Grocery, wine, and drug stores all within easy walking distance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Bozeman Mt
5

Would Stay Again

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The instructions from Josh about arrival and departure were clear, accurate and helpful.
The home was perfect: clean, comfortable and well equipped with every amenity that we needed. It smelled good, the bed was comfortable, the sheets were good quality, there were enough towels and also good quality. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare breakfast and dinner in the apartment. The sofa was comfy and the TV was great to have.
The location was perfect, there are great restaurants and a movie theater within walking distance, not to mention the some of the countries most historic sites. We took the subway to a Phillies ballgame with out any problem.
It is really a perfect place to stay in Philadelphia.
One word of warning, do not park your car for one minute on the street without paying the parking fee, there is someone on foot out there who will ticket you in a heartbeat.to Philly. Try this place, you won't regret!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
NYC
5

Nice Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I was really stressed out in the past 2 weeks, and finally get a weekend off, so I decided to go somewhere to relax and enjoy myself. I looked everywhere online, and I finally found this place on Home away.com,, which is affordable and at great location in Philly. I decided to give it a try. I am really glad that I gave a try, this condo is not only beautiful ( brick house with nice wood floor), , but convience ( it has everything you can think of - include free wifi, refrigerator, microwave, nice big plasma TV, dinnng table and etc). Don't even mentioned the clean folded towel in the bathroom, it totally like a 5 star hotel ( believe me, I travel to almost 20 countries up to now, this is the best I had!) I would recommend this place for anyone who need a business trip or family trip
to Philly. Try this place, you won't regret!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Tampa, Florida
5

Nice Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The spot was perfect, and I really appreciate the attention of the owners when I needed to contact them on a couple of occasions. I broke the coffee pot on the granite counter (oops!) and a new one was by the front door the next morning! Great service! Comfortable, well equipped and good value. Nice neighbourhood and great access to public transit. Great dining in the area and lots to do. If you are in to art, check out the Barnes Collection and the Rodin Museum. All good!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p179041
Philadelphia Greater Philadelphia area
Seattle, Washington
4

Very Unique and Cool Apartment

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This place was cool. The brick and the harwood floors were amazing, really neat space and nicely decorated, (even had a washer dryer). Location was close to all the historic sites and the building was safe.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Linda, hope we can host you again in the future, thank you for staying with us.
Helpful votes: 7/8