Playa Hermosa house rental - Casa Barracuda
Casa Barracuda
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Playa Hermosa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Welcome to paradise! This luxury air-conditioned home with private pool on the beach is a mere shell's toss away from some of the best surf in Costa Rica.

Our spacious home has three bedrooms (two rooms have one twin bed and one queen bed in each, and the master suite has a king bed) as well as two full baths.

Several restaurants and bars are a leisurely barefoot stroll in the soft sand to the north. To the south, wander down to the turtle rescue sanctuary. Along the way, you'll think you're on your own private beach, with a few surfers scattered about in the waves. The sunsets are breathtaking!

Playa Hermosa ('Beautiful Beach') is a world famous surfing beach just a few miles south of the bustling beach town of Jaco, which boasts hundreds of restaurants, shops, bars, casinos...you name it!

We have local guest managers to assist you during your stay.

Hello, from Jack & Beth!

We're both from the midwest USA and currently reside in central Ohio. We're recently retired and we spend all the time we can in Costa Rica.

Beth & Jack purchased this house in 2005

We've been drawn to the ocean as long as we can remember...I think most people are. Our attraction to the sea began when we purchased and kept a 40 foot cabin cruiser in Fort Myers Beach, Florida back in the early to late 90's, and we've dreamt of retiring on the ocean ever since. Well, we finally got to retire, but our retirement cruiser, the 'Dolphin', met an untimely death in the Atlantic gulfstream, so we decided to look for something built on dirt (or sand), instead. Fewer water leaks.

We ended up travelling a bit further south than Florida to find something warmer year-round on the ocean, and thankfully landed in Costa Rica, the 'Little Switzerland', on the central Pacific Ocean in a beachhouse that we love. We know you will, too, and we'd like to share it with everyone. Our goal is for all of our guests to have a great vacation, and we'll certainly do our best to ensure that happens! Give us a call, and Pura Vida (roughly translated as 'Life is Good', from Jack & Beth.

50 Reviews of Property 178974 in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica

Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 50 reviews
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Manchester, MA 01944 USA
5

christmas 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
rI must write and let you know the our family of 6 just returned from a WONDERFUL weeks stay at Casa Barracuda. The grounds and our "home" for the last week was spectatular. Our family enjoyed the pool and the acess to the beach daily. The younger adults were active in many of the activities offered including surf lessons and ATVing. The older adults were thrilled to sit poolside.

Our home had everything you could possibly need from WIFY to beach towels. The hammock was popular and as were the pool "toys". The kitchen was well stocked and was used daily for the preparation of breakfasts and lunches. We did take advantage of the DELICIOUS choices of restaurants in Jaco. They were excellent and a different dining experience was achieved each night.

There was PLENTY of space for everyone to find some quiet time and yet we used the dining room table for board games. Everyone was very happy with their accommodations - the bedrooms very airly and bright. Two large bathrooms,an outside shower, paddle fans to push the AC made the warm tropical days and nights a pleasure.

Now to the meat of this email. This was truly a WONDERFUL experience for the entire family. The beach, pool and the picture perfect weather made this a vacation to remember. Having someone pick you up and return you to the airport in a country you have NEVER been too was great. The local staff made EVERY effort to make sure that we had all that we needed and was around the property daily. The pictures you view are very accurate and the owners were quick to respond to any and all questions.

Now that the return to home has happened my husband is looking for airfare for next year. All six are in agreement that this was by far the most enjoyable vacation we have had. It was DELIGHTFUL to do what you wanted to do, when you wanted to do it. I can honestly say that WE drove the schedule.

In closing, thank you for a wonderful week in paradise. This was our first experience using this site and i would not hesitate to try this again. I would also recommend this property to family and friends--- it was just that special!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Costa Rica
5

Great Location, Excellent Staff, Charming Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I spent this pass Memorial Day Weekend (2013) at Casa Baracuda. Our party consisted of 3 couples and an infant. The house is spacious, in fact we could have easily brought two more adults with us and would have been totally comfortable. The property managers were great, greeting us upon arrival and providing contact information in the event we needed to reach out. The pool features a section with jacuzzi style jets and is cleaned every morning. The house had all the amenities we needed including internet, cable tv, and a well stocked kitchen (pots, pans, dishes, etc.). I highly recommend this property and the value for the price is a rare find for a beachfront location.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family (two children, ages 23 and 22 and Mom and Dad...ages not necessary:-)) enjoyed the property and all its amenities immensely. Beth and Jack were very helpful from day one when we found the house on VRBO. Marielos, the onsite manager was very helpful upon arrival and Erika helped with excursions. The pool was refreshing after a long day of site seeing and/or body surfing. The surf on the beach is pretty rough for swimming and inexperienced surfers, but we managed to enjoy the water. Our activities included ziplining at Los Suenos, 1/2 day inshore fishing, Manuel Antonio and a late afternoon hike to a waterfall. The people and country are beautiful and we would definitely go back! Thank you Jack and Beth!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Colorado Springs Co
5

3 adults and 4 teenagers had a blast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our trip was a success. We went for our kid's spring break week and it was everything both adults and kids wanted. The house was perfect, with air in all rooms, super nice kitchen and everyone had their favorite feature (hammock, grill, upper deck, pool, cable for iPhone to stereo speakers, right on the beach for surfing). The house was as advertised and we were very satisfied. We split our time between hanging out and going to local restaurants and Manuel Antonio (lock your car when parked!) and our favorites: the 10 in one ADR Adventure Tour as well as the intense bungee jumping in Jaco. We would easily go to this house again instead of Hawaii next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
United Kingdom
5

Casa Barracuda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The house is amazing, very clean and espacious. It was very good to be able to have a BBQs and beautiful views all the time. It was also good to be able to use the wi-fi. My family and I absolutely loved it. The owners were very friendly, accessible (very quick replies), honest and easy to deal with. We really appreciated it especially since we did all the bookings overseas.
We were not asked to write a review and we usually don't give one but in this case we thought we definitely should.
We wish we were still there!
Thanks Beth and Jack!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Texas
5

GR8T HOUSE!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Just got back from thanksgiving vacation at the barracuda- my whole family had an awesome time. The house was very clean n spacious. The owners provided excellent tips to make our stay as easy n smooth as possible. They were even available by email at any time. I only wish they would have provided more maid services bec we definately needed it w/ 8 people in the house. We were offered one complimentary, but could have used more. Besides that, we had a great time! !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words, Raju! We're really glad ya'll had a great time.
For future renters: we can usually arrange for maidservice during your stay...just ask.
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
San Diego, CA
5

You MUST stay at this house!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a fantastic time at Casa Barracuda! What a treat it was when we finally drove up to the house (after a few hours on the road). What a beautiful spot. The property was great and the house is super modern and clean and spacious! We needed the space since we were a pretty big group. We used all of the bedrooms and even had our 12 year old camped out in the living room on an air mattress but we never felt crowded. The rooftop patio was perfect for early morning tea and some peace and quiet. I didn't mind sharing the spot with the iguanas who were sunning themselves on the roof. The view from the roof was terrific and the beach was so nice. What a luxury to be able to walk across the backyard and hit the sandy beach. We saw a few surfers each morning but other than that, we literally had the beach to ourselves while we were there. Beth and Jack provided a ton of information to us that was invaluable as we travelled around Costa Rica. Be sure to print all the emailed information before you head on your vacation...it really helped us out a lot. We loved, loved, loved the house and felt like the next time we went to Costa Rica, we could just book the house for a week and stay put! :-)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Mauldin SC
5

Amazing trip....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We had an amazing trip in Costa Rica and your house was perfect for us. The weather was great. We went down to Manual Antinio one day to the national rain forest, I took surf lessons, we went zip lining, deep sea fishing. We had a awesome time. I didn't want to leave. We all talked about buying the house and moving down there :) hehe big dreams. lol

You where wonderful to work with. With all the information and recommendations you gave us it really made a difference in our trip.

Thank you for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Charlotte, NC
5

Wonderful trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Our trip to Costa Rica was wonderful. We really enjoyed our stay at Beth & Jack's house. It was clean, well maintained and in a good location. All of the pictures on the website are accurate. The pool was great and the beach and sunsets were awesome. Beth gave us all the right recommendations on food and overall shopping. If you plan on renting a car, I would recommend a GPS since the roads are not well marked.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Beachfront 3BR Home W/Private Pool on Playa Hermosa 3 miles south of Jaco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178974
+1 614 316-5256
Playa Hermosa Puntarenas
Hilton Head, SC / USA
5

Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Outstanding time....great location....clean and comfortable home....Jaco is a neat surfer/tourist town.

Pictures provided really do describe the location.

Jack and Beth are great to work with ...very helpful

Plan to pass this place on to our friends and will go back again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2