Bottom Bay villa rental - View of the pool & sea from the breezy back patio
View of the pool & sea from the breezy back patio
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 14 nights
 

Bottom Bay Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

Hummingbird House is a new villa with ocean views and a private swimming pool just a two-minute walk from Bottom Bay Beach - an out-of-the-way 150 meter strip of breathtaking white sand and coconut trees sandwiched between two sea cliffs. It is arguably the most beautiful beach in Barbados.

Our villa features 3 air-conditioned bedrooms and a nicely equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances. The living room has comfy lounge seating for six with a widescreen LCD HDTV and the master bedroom features an en-suite bathroom and a walk-in closet. The spacious covered back patio is exposed to a refreshing sea breeze and overlooks a private pool with beautiful ocean views.

Bottom Bay is on the southeast coast of Barbados in the parish of St Philip, with most of the island within a 30 minute drive. Much of the sea coast in St. Philip is made up of a series of ragged, scenic coastal cliffs that are punctuated occasionally by idyllic white-sand beaches such as Bottom Bay.

The Bottom Bay Region: Bottom Bay is on the southeast coast of Barbados in the parish of St Philip, a scenic out-of-the-way area in eastern Barbados. As Barbados is only about 21 miles long (North-to-South) by 14 miles wide (East-to-West), nothing on the island is too far away, and most places are within an easy 30-minute drive. Much of the sea coast in St. Philip is made up of a series of scenic, ragged coastal cliffs that are punctuated occasionally by idyllic white-sand beaches such as Bottom Bay (which is in our opinion the most spectacular of these - although we're admittedly a bit biased).

While most of the big hotels and resorts on the island are situated along the west coast, the quieter southeast coast and the east coast offer the breathtaking views and rugged natural scenery that make Barbados an island paradise. In addition to the picturesque Bottom Bay Beach, the world-famous Crane Beach and Sam Lords Castle beachfront are within 10 minutes drive. If you're looking for fine dining nearby, the Crane Resort has two acclaimed restaurants, and the busier south and west coasts are 20-30 minutes drive away. We highly recommend the inexpensive, low-key nightly 'Fish-Fry' at Oistins (on the south coast in Christ Church), home of the Island's biggest fish market.

Getting Around: Bridgetown's harbor and shopping are a 25-30 minute drive away (if you avoid rush hour traffic), and renowned golf courses at the Barbados Golf Club and Sandy Lane Resort (where Tiger Woods was married) are just 15 & 30 minutes away, respectively.

We highly recommend renting a car for getting around the island, but regular buses are also available and taxis can be called as alternatives. Many car rental companies will drop off and pick up cars to our villa, making the experience fairly painless.

More Details
Hide Details

52 Reviews of Property 178571 in Bottom Bay, Barbados

Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
average rating of 4.769231 based on 52 reviews
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
Markham, Ontario, Canada
5

Hummingbird House, Private Paradise In Barbados

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Our wonderful experience started with Jan and John, the couple that manage the property. They had asked for our flight information and were expecting us when we showed up in the driveway. Jan and John made sure that we knew everything about the property, the area and gave us great tips on what to see and do during our stay. Their welcome was the prelude to the warm and friendly hospitality that is prevalent on this island.

The property is very well maintained. Even though there is an indoor dining area, we ate, sat and gathered exclusively at the outdoor dining room table in the covered area by the pool. The kitchen was well stocked and we especially enjoyed the fridge that spit out plenty of crushed ice that made a great base for our ``Hummingbird Rum Punch``. Although there is air conditioning, after the first couple of nights, we acclimatized and just let the ocean breeze that blew through the open windows cool us down.

Stepping outside through the double French doors each morning, we were greeted by the sunrise, a magnificent view of the ocean breaking over the offshore reef in the distance and the sounds of the surf.

We often heard comments from the locals that Bottom Bay was the best beach on the island; and we can attest to that. The cove is picturesque; the sand is beautiful, the water clear blue and the beach extremely clean. The ocean is a little rougher on the south eastern coast but our group enjoyed playing in the surf.

A rental car is a must. While it took a little getting used to driving on the “wrong side” of the road, the drivers are very courteous and make allowances for tourists. You will get lost! But who cares, the island is small and even a series of wrong turns won’t get you too far off track.

So much to do – not enough time. Don’t miss: Oistins Friday night party, the BBQ fish fry near the villa at the Church, St. Lawrence Gap (night life and restaurants). Drive the island. We especially enjoyed our coastal trip around the entire island. The view from the northern cliffs around Cluffs Bay is breathtaking and stopping off at Round House on the east coast for Coconut pie rounded out the day as the sun set on the surfers riding the waves below. Our favorite restaurants were L’Azure at the Crane (it was our anniversary), Pisces in the St Lawrence Gap, Round House and hanging out on Cutters’ patio.

We had a great time and look forward to returning to Hummingbird House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Donna & Gary were Ideal guests. We're glad they had a wonderful anniversary & vacation.
Helpful votes: 29/30
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
Coldwater, Ontario, Canada
5

Great Vacation - Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Four adults rented this house from January 25th to February 1, 2014. It was exactly as advertised. It was what we anticipated - a great view from the back deck, very quiet area, the kitchen had everything we needed (ice maker, blender, coffee maker, kettle, all pots and pans, cutlery, etc.) and the rooms had individually controlled air conditioning. There was even a cooler bag and ice packs for our daily trips for our snacks. We used this house as our base to travel the island, surf and eat fabulous food!
The area was quiet and I went for a walk every morning as the sun came up (around 6:15 a.m.) and the neighbourhood was safe and full of friendly people.
The pool is not heated, so we didn't use it very much, however we sat on the deck the whole vacation and watched the ocean. Very beautiful spot.
The house had wi/fi which was great and full cable service on the television which we used a couple of times.
I would highly recommend this property. It was clean, neat and had everything we needed.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return given the opportunity.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
4

Fantastic Holiday Rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had an amazing time staying in this lovely house with our 2 children (3 & 5 years old) earlier this year. The house is very well equipped and the bedrooms are a great size. We didn't need to use the air con at all as there was a refreshing sea breeze that flowed through the house. The outside space is also lovely, with beautiful views all the way down to the sea, and the kids really enjoyed the pool and the hammock. We hired the barbecue and cooked lots of our own food (great supermarket 10 min drive). A car is essential here and we tended to go out for lunch and then stay home for dinner. The outside eating area is great. Bottom bay is amazing... and though it's not recommended to swim there, there is plenty of fun to be had playing in the waves and just appreciating how beautiful it is.... and more often than not you have the whole beach to yourself! A lot of the better beaches for kids are in the south west corner and it only takes about 20 mins to drive there from this property. We would highly recommend staying here. Jan and John were so helpful and friendly. The whole experience was very relaxed.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
5

La perfection !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
C'était notre première expérience de location de maison ailleurs qu'au Canada/USA et nous n'étions pas partis que nous avons réservé pour l'an prochain !

Habitués à fréquenter des "tout inclus" attendez-vous à un changement qui pour nous fut une expérience incomparable : se lever le matin et entendre les vagues, les oiseaux et les chèvres ! Ouvrir les fenêtres pour enfin respirer l'air frais! Un privilège que les "tout inclus" ne peuvent vous offrir car il faut choisir : air climatisé ou moustiquaires... Ici on a le choix ! Vous aurez le plaisir de préparer de délicieux poissons frais du jour, sur le BBQ, les grandes portes françaises du patio ouvertes jusqu'à l'heure du dodo. Pas de moustiques, pas le moindre !

La plage Bottom bay ainsi que les deux autres toutes proches sont pratiquement désertes, c'est fantastique pour l'intimité mais n'allez pas y nager. Une trempette jusqu'aux cuisses vous convaincra qu'il est mortel d'aller plus loin, aussi bon nageur que vous êtes. La plage est si déserte que vous pourrez suivre les traces de pas de singes tôt le matin !

La maison est exactement telle que vous la voyez sur les photos, c'est impeccable et le Wifi marche mieux qu'ils ne le prétendent. Ne laissez pas la clim fonctionner inutilement, vous serez chargés : après tout, soyez écolo et vous êtes en vacances pour vous sauver du froid ! C'est une question de choix moi je préfère la brise et le ventilateur, le chant des grenouilles et des grillons.

Voici nos conseils pour mieux apprécier votre séjour :

Louez une petite voiture, les rues et les routes sont plutôt étroites. Il y a un bon circuit d'autobus mais mon avis est que j'ai peu de temps de vacances et je ne veux pas attendre tous les jours ! La location à l'aéroport est formidable, on vous apporte la voiture directement en face du point de location et vous la rapportez de la même manière. C'est rapide et facile.

Apportez un GPS avec la mise à jour de l'île.

Apportez un grand sac à lunch thermos repliable

Vous pouvez apporter du Canada des aliments sans vous exposer à des problèmes avec les douanes. Le prix des aliments est assez dispendieux, sauf le poisson, et le choix des aliments est convenable mais pour sauver des sous, j'ai apporté du café, pâtes sèches, riz, couscous, quinoa, gruau, céréales, chips, mélange de noix, beurre d'arachides, confiture. Ça permet de faire moins d'achats. On peut se procurer un permis ($20 US)pour importer des produits non-végé.

Bon séjour!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
4

Fabulous and Relaxing Stay in Barbados

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our party of four and two-year old had a restful stay at Hummingbird house. We toured the entire island during our week stay and kept saying that no where else on the island was as tranquil as the east coast. The west coast was fun for snorkeling, but was a quick drive away and we were greatful to have the quiet time at our little house by the most beautiful beach in Barbados. This was the first time we have stayed at a house rather than a hotel since having our son. What a difference our own pool made during nap times! The house layout was perfect for two couples plus a baby, and it was great to have the pack and play available on site - one less thing to pack. We ended up having most breakfasts and lunches at the house (groceries are VERY expensive - be prepared) and had a few very nice dinners at the beautiful Crane Hotel minutes away from the house. Bottom Bay beach was deserted and we truly enjoyed having a beach all to ourselves. Not being used to Carribbean living --- my only advice --- be sure to close doors and windows at night. We had a tiny visitor who ate bananas off the kitchen counter 2 nights until we figured out what was going on! I highly recommend enjoying your time in Barbados via your own home and this house is a good choice if you're looking to be 'off the beaten path' to have some time to yourselves.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
Calgary Alberta
5

Relaxing and Secluded

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We chose the hummingbird for our honeymoon and really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.. If you are looking for somewhere off the beaten path this is the place to go.. We would recommend a car for staying here so you can tour around. Had a wonderful time lounging by the pool and just relaxing!!
This side of the island is peaceful, although the waters are rough and there isn't many places to eat close, it was exactly what were looking for.. Peace and Quiet!

Thanks again for letting us stay.

Cheers Danielle & Devin
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
5

Long Awaited Honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I chose Hummingbird House for our 7 yr Anniversary because it provided us with the privacy and secluded stay we were looking for. HIgh traffic hotels are not for us. Everything was exactly as pictured including the information about the island, and local beaches. We planned for 6 months for this trip. Even though our flight was delayed due to flight issues, and just the time of getting through customs and renting our car. (Necessary to see the island). John was patiently waiting for us in our villa. The only real complaint I have is that the island is lacking in the St.Philip area and other places with clearly marked street signs. So be prepared to back track and turn around a lot. :) The island of Barbados is truly the most beautiful place we have ever seen. The beaches in Bottom Bay are not good for swimming, but you could stand for hours and just stare. The secluded beach by Harrismith is only accessible by a stair way carved into the cliff. It is breathtaking. The Crane Beach is amazing and a must see, try the Coconut with Rum. Great stuff! Try Oistins Fish Fry on Friday night, Champers Restaurant is fantastic. Surfers Obskewer restaurant in Christ Church. Cutter's Deli in St.Philip has amazing burgers. The Silver Moon 12 person Catamaran is worth every penny. The sea turtles are beautiful. Lunch was top notch. We are already planning a trip back there in 2 years with our whole family. And we hope to be able to retire in Barbados, the people are wonderful and we were able to really see the country for everything it is not just the trendy resorts. I loved that wherever we went, locals were there. Unlike a lot of other resorts where the only people you see are fellow tourists. Thank you for the everlasting memories. Karen & Paul VT,USA
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
Boston, MA area
1

RENTERS BEWARE

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We loved the island of Barbados. But our experience at Hummingbird House was quite disheartening. We chose the hummingbird house for several reasons we found appealing...A/C, 70 channel cable tv, pool, and no smoking. Upon our arrival we met Jan who told us the cable was OUT. Also the whole place REEKED of cigarette smoke. You should also know that ONLY the bedrooms are air conditioned. We were QUITE taken aback when Jan told us NOT to leave the AC on during the day...are you kidding? What were we paying for? It was 89 degrees and humid all week, and the living room and kitchen were unbearable. We received lip service and lame excuses all week about the cable being out. We were really upset as we are rabid NFL fans and were so excited to watch games both Sundays we were there. We were offered NO compensation for this loss.

On Wednesday of our stay the fridge broke, spoiling all of our meats and perishables. We were made to feel as though it was our fault, or we were lying. It was like pulling teeth to try and be compensated. Later in our stay, my fiancees son was in the hammock, as its rusty hooks let go, and he almost broke his skull. The next day, like nice people, we drove around for an hour to FOUR different stores to find hooks. We did, and Andrew spent a half hour thoroughly fixing the hammock. Once again, no thank you and no compensation.

All the beaches within walking distance of the villa are mis-advertised. They are TOTALLY dangerous and UNSWIMMABLE. the surf is gigantic and the riptide is fierce. Neither us, or other tourists there entered the water on our visits to them.

Upon our return home, we were FLABBERGASTED to get an email saying that we were being charged for a broken door and a camping lantern. We have NO idea what they are talking about. Never even SAW or knew of a green lantern, and no idea about the door. To this day we have NEVER received photos OR receipts for the charges they put on us.

I called the caretaker Jan, and all she did was scream at me for twenty minutes. This system is a perfect rouse for owners to scam you out of a security deposit. We don't even know WHO they are, or have any info or phone numbers. Now we know why they only accept payment on Paypal.

The whole neighborhood is mostly rentals including the houses on both sides of Hummingbird House., You would be SMART to look into them, and stay away from this one.
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that the guests were unhappy with their stay, we go out of our way so that guests can feel at home. All of our contact info is in the rental agreement and we welcome contact from our guests at any time.

Unfortunately, prior to their arrival there was a storm that knocked out the cable to most of the development. Despite, repeated calls by our property manager, we were unable to get the cable company to come out during their stay - such is life in Barbados.

We called the guests as soon as we heard about the fridge. The NEXT day, the property manager went with a technician. At that time, the fridge AND freezer were working perfectly and the technician could not find anything malfunctioning. Both the property manager and I asked for receipts from the guests - they refused to give to the property manager and in a later email told me they did not have them. Nonetheless, we offered to compensate them for perishables that were lost.

After checkout, there was found to be damage to the villa. In addition the guests refused to pay the property managers for the BBQ rental. In spite of this, because of the guest's dissatisfaction with the stay, we refunded the security deposit in it's entirety.
Helpful votes: 5/14
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
5

peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
great place to stay. John is so nice. I would hire a driver however. Hard to navigate the roads.
business
Hummingbird House, an elegant, modern ocean view villa in Bottom Bay, Barbados
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178571
+1 617 625-0025
Bottom Bay St. Philip
5

peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
great place to stay. John is so nice. I would hire a driver however. Hard to navigate the roads.