Nice Home - Very Poor Owner Relations RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK
Submitted: May 7, 2011
Stayed: April 2011
This could have been a great review, but it turned very sour due to owner’s incredulous decision to keep deposit money for unjust charges. It was a great house, but be wary as owners may want to keep your deposit for their own negligence.
Issue: Arrived Saturday afternoon and although owner indicated pool would be attended that morning it had not been attended in some time as we spent probably 1-2 hours skimming and getting all the debris our of the pool. The filter was completely plugged on the unit indicating it had not been serviced. Another issue was that the vacuum, although attached, had a dry-rotted section, so no suction and was useless.
The pool man did finally come mid week (Wednesday and in the afternoon and had to 'shock' the pool, thus we could not swim the rest of the evening. Overall, this would not have been a big issue at all, but to our complete surprise when we received our deposit money back the owners incredulously docked $100 for the broken vacuum and needing someone to come out and 'reshock' the pool even though this was an issue when we arrived. I realize $100 is not much, but it is the principle that we as renters we were inconvenienced by the owner’s lack of pool maintenance, yet then had the audacity to charge us for it.
When the pool service came on Wednesday we told them about the broken hose, but either they did not inform the owner or frankly the owner did not care. When we contacted the owner, never got much of a response. In summary, nice home, but I would advise not to rent as the owner may try to stick fraudulent charges against you and their are plenty of renters out there where you will not have to deal with this type of headache.
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Prior to this to rental. We had repeat guests who enjoyed their two weeks stay and the pool. We received notification from our repeat guests that a small piece of the hose was damaged. This piece was removed and we contacted our service for replacement, the repeat guests checked out. Our house manager inspected the pool and vacuum at that time and although the hose was short all was operational. Later on that day our Kentucky guests checked in. We did not hear from them until the day they were checking out, we received an email stating what a great time they had and planned on writing a favorable review. In addition, they mentioned the pool hose. I believed it was the small piece of the hose that was missing. Later on the same day, we received a call from our house manager, stating that the vacuum was out the pool and the hoses were scattered around the yard as if the children were allowed to play with them and the pool had started to turn green. Our pool service was contacted immediately, he stated the hoses were damaged and the pool was green due to the pump being left on the spa setting and not pool setting. Also the heater was left on and running at 105 degrees. (he shocked the pool and replaced the hoses and returned the settings properly) We have been renting this home for seven years and this is the first time we have kept any portion of a guests security.Our reason for keeping the security was clearly explained to our Kentucky guests and unfortunately they did not agree. In addition, I needed to pay our cleaning service extra for the amount of litter scattered around the yard and the extra labor needed to clean the house. I did not charge back for the extra labor and/or make it an issue. I can say that normally I do not rent for less than 5 nights and I made an exception for our Kentucky guests. I think I will keep to the 5 night rule.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?