East Brookfield cottage rental - Dawn on Lake Lashaway
Dawn on Lake Lashaway
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

East Brookfield Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 2 - 4

This charming cottage sits directly on Lake Lashaway in East Brookfield, Massachusetts. Enjoy swimming right in your back-yard on hot summer days. A 12' rowboat is provided, you can bring your boat and park it on your private dock right outside your door. Withing walking distance to town and two restaurants, the post office, two beauty salons, and the public library. It is a 1/4 mile walk to the public beach with a lifeguard during the summer season. Many activities are only a few short driving miles from the cottage, including a golf course, a bowling alley, Warren Farm and Sugar House, the Brookfield Apple Orchard, or just take a leisurely drive through our historic surrounding areas. In less than 1/2 hour you could be in famous Old Sturbridge Village or the Brimfield Antique Markets.

It's only 1/2 hour to Worcester, 1 1/2 hours to Boston, 1 1/2 hours to Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun Casinos, and 3 1/2 hours to New York City.

Enjoy the simple pleasures of lake front vacationing with delightful Lake Lashaway right outside your door. This fully furnished, newly renovated cottage is uniques in personality. Whether you're seeking outdoor fun or relaxation, you'll find it here.

Come and enjoy.

a little trivia....: Before European settlers arrived the Brookfield area was home to the Lassawa and Nipmuc Indian Tribes, situated in the Quaboag Plantation (deeded in 1660). Quaboag is a Nipmuc Indian name meaning 'before the pond'. It can be assumed that one of the 'ponds' was indeed Furnace Pond, a pond man made by an Iron Works Company around 1850. Between 1880 and 1890 the pond was enlarged by the Stevens Textile Mill and renamed Lake Lashaway.

The shores of this beautiful lake grace both North Brookfield and East Brookfield. It's an excellent lake for all water sports including swimming, and touts fishing year round. Its waters are fed by the Five Mile River and trophy-size Northern Pike have been caught and recorded.

Lake Lashaway and the surrounding towns offer a deverse historical and cultural richness, yet the area still maintains a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere to please the most ardent nature-lover.

Come...explore...experience.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 178389 in East Brookfield, Massachusetts

Charming Lakefront Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178389
+1 508 867-6439
East Brookfield Central Massachusetts
Silicon Valley
5

Wonderfully cozy cottage on the water

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Very much appreciated all the amenities the owners provided for my stay - in-unit washer/dryer was a nice bonus. Great fishing and very relaxed atmosphere when in town for a family wedding in Princeton, MA.

Excellent location near Worcester, Quabbin Reservoir / Amherst, and lots of charming bits of history to learn about Colonial New England when exploring the nearby towns and Sturbridge Village.

Loved the lush garden, including the gorgeous Sunrises and Sunsets, chipmunks, rabbits and water craft passing by.

If in the area, I'd absolutely stay there again. Thanks to the O'Neils for a wonderful vacation hideaway.
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178389
+1 508 867-6439
East Brookfield Central Massachusetts
Everett
5

Adorable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
First of all the cottage is clean and has every little thing you could possibly need. My husband and I came for a little get away and to do some fishing. The fishing was exceptional and the grounds were very relaxing. Our hosts were two of the nicest people you could meet and were avilable if we needed anything. We will make arrangements to go back next summer for a longer stay and would go sooner if there were days available.
Owner's Response: Thank you, Linda, for your thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and would love to have you back anytime.

Pattie & Peter
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178389
+1 508 867-6439
East Brookfield Central Massachusetts
5

It is so cute!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed here for 3 nights, our main reason for our trip was to go to Brimfield Antique Show. It was so nice to come back to a cozy cottage after walking around and shopping all day. The cottage has all the comforts of home and my husband kept saying, "This place is so cute!" - this is from a guy who doesn't normally say things like this. It is nice because it is quiet, but is centrally located from many attractions. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178389
+1 508 867-6439
East Brookfield Central Massachusetts
Folsom, CA, US
5

Lake Lashaway in the Fall

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
My husband and I chose Pattie and Peter's lovely little cottage as a home base for exploring the gorgeous autumn countryside. The location was perfect for visiting Sturbridge Village, driving the Mohawk Trail (highly recommended), and if you're ambitious (as we were), motoring through the Berkshires. We had phenomenal weather in the third week of October: crisp and sunny but for one day of completely unexpected and beautiful snow! We truly enjoyed the cozy comfort of the cottage, the gorgeous view, and all of the care that was taken so that we would not want for a single thing. Pattie and Peter keep this home-away-from home immaculate and extremely well-maintained. We dined out two nights: once at E. B. Flatts just a mile down the road (very good), and once at the Salem Cross Inn. There we ate in the more casual and less pricey tavern and had a great meal in an amazingly old and charming room with a view of the pasture. There is a Big Y supermarket close by if you choose to use the well-equipped kitchen, and lots of other eateries nearby. We couldn't have had a better time, and hope to return in the not-too-distant-future (my husband is dying to come back in the summer so he can go swimming!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178389
+1 508 867-6439
East Brookfield Central Massachusetts
Worcester, MA
5

Wonderful Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We stayed at this cottage the first week of August 2008. It was lovely and equipped with more than one could possibly need. The towels were big and fluffy. There was a basket of toiletries in the bathroom. They had things you would not expect. Deodorizing spray for the bathroom, bug spray for outside, laundry detergent and softener,wine glasses and lovely dinnerware, extra paper towels, napkins and styrofoam plates, WiFi internet connection, books to read and games to play. They even set up a fire in the outdoor fireplace. The decor is nautical and extremely well done. The gardens are unbelievable. You would think that there was a full time gardener. The owners are especially nice and considerate people. We felt as comfortable in this cottage as we would at home. Bravo!! We would certainly come back and/or recommend it to our family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178389
+1 508 867-6439
East Brookfield Central Massachusetts
Surprise, AZ USA
5

East Brookfield Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We stayed at this cottage for a week in July 2008. We have already recommended it to others. The cottage was spotless and exactly as described. The owners thought of everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. Excellent choice for vacationers flying in becouse all towels and linens are provided. When returning to the area we will be sure to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming Lakefront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178389
+1 508 867-6439
East Brookfield Central Massachusetts
Florida
5

East Brookfield Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We rented this delightful cottage for two weeks in July 2008. The cottage was immaculate and the property was well maintained and nicely landscaped. All amenities listed in the property description were accurate. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. They provided information on attractions, activites and local restaurants and were very accommodating. Orignally from central MA, we were happy to have this pleasant and relaxing location to get together with friends. The main purpose of our vacation was to have a quiet place to enjoy swimming and playing with our family which includes two young grandchildren. This was the ideal spot. Just a short drive away, they could come for the day to enjoy the beach with us or just swim right in front of the cottage. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and likely will stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Linda for your positive feedback on our cottage.

We always do our best to make our quests feel at home and see to as many of their needs as we can.

Please come back soon

Sincerely,

Pattie & Peter
Helpful votes: 5/5