Ogunquit house rental - Relaxing Private Back Deck
Relaxing Private Back Deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 - 84 nights
 

Ogunquit House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms (Comfortable new queen beds), 1 full bath - shower only, sleeps 4.

Rockwood Cottage is perfect for discriminating professional couples that want to be within a short walking distance to Maine's award winning beach (.06 miles). We are within walking distance to casual & fine dining, unique shops and galleries, clubs and the beautiful Marginal Way. Here you will receive the benefits of a quiet vacation getaway. Rockwood sits discreetly within one of Ogunquit's most desirable neighborhoods. Beautifully appointed with all the necessities of home like a page out of a the Pottery Barn catalog. You'll enjoy a large deck with a gas grill for those quiet early evenings at home as well as beautifully landscaped views. On site parking for two vehicles which makes for convenient coming and going. Great Room with dining area, galley kitchen, large master bedroom with direct deck access, spacious second bedroom and on site laundry facilities will make for a very comfortable stay. Short distance to golf, the Ogunquit Playhouse, hiking, Perkins Cove, deep sea fishing, surfing, antiquing, art museums and galleries, day spas, lighthouses and lobsters!

Escape the crowd after a day at the beach!: Enjoy breakfast on your private back yard deck then pack your lunch, chairs and towels and stroll down to the beach to enjoy the soft white sands of Maine's most famous beach. Spend the evenings uncorking your favorite wine, cooking in, taking the trolley to Perkins Cove for mouth watering Maine lobster prepared however you choose to have it served or walk the rocky coast on the famous Marginal Way. You'll find the perfect outcropping of rock to photograph your memories. To add even more to an unforgettable vacation, reserve tickets at the famous Ogunquit Playhouse for award winning musicals, take a sunset cruise from Perkins Cove or simply walk the beach at sunrise or sunset. Golf, hiking and outlet shopping activities are just a short drive.

Cozy Comfort: rest assured that your beds will be comfortable allowing you a good night's sleep with bedding that is 1500 thread count Egyptian cotton!. Our property offers the seclusion of lounging on the deck with a good book and glass of wine or your lap top to let everyone know you're staying in a delightful home away from home. Find e-postcards to send out that perfectly describe this hamlet Ogunquit at www.oginquit.org

The owner is very accommodating so if anything is needed to make your stay more comfortable, I will make every effort within reason to have it available. Our home displays pride of ownership. We hire the area's best cleaning service to guarantee a clean spotless home for our guests. The faces on our guests upon arrival is satisfying for our efforts.

If you're over packed and would like to reasonably rent your beach chairs, coolers and beach towels and more please go to www.ogtbeachnsport.com Tell Stacy & Dina that Tim sent you!

More Details
Hide Details

A native of Maine, the owner Tim grew up in Mid-coast Maine. Rockwood started as a secondary home and through business expansions including Ogunquit, Tim built a new home in 2005 just 3 properties away from Rockwood. Before retiring and moving to Atlanta in 2012, Tim was Chairman of the town's Planning Board and Chairman of the Board for The Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce. Tim introduced many new off season activities for the Chamber's special events including the Bridge to Beach Bedrace, the High Heel dash at Perkins Cove, the Haunted House, Santa's Village and The House of Scrooge, the crowning of the Ogunquit Mardi Gras King and Queen, the hat and mask making party followed by the street parade and was involved with many other Chamber events and community activities.

Tim Pinkham purchased this house in 2001

When shopping for properties in Ogunquit, there were certain prerequisites that needed to be present: an reputable real estate broker, Don Wunder; a property that was within an easy walking distance to the beach (about 12 minutes) and downtown (about 8 minutes). I was not interested in hunting for parking spaces or sitting in traffic during the high season! Other requirements included privacy, a small yard, good neighbors, away from the Route 1 traffic noise and a home that needed my decorating touch and green thumb!

Rockwood is large enough for a vacation home for up to approximately 4 adults and 2 children. Parking is easy and convenient. The home was re-designed and remodeled to make the home useful and attractive. The back deck allows everyone that outside retreat that includes peace and quiet. The size makes it a snap to clean up and keep tidy. The onsite laundry on the garden level is a big help keeping towels and beach wear clean and ready for the next day at the beach. Overall, Rockwood was and still would be my choice for home styles and location.

8 Reviews of Property 178279 in Ogunquit, Maine

Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
Wigan, England
5

Beautiful place by the sea!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Had the most wonderful relaxing week in this Ogunquit home. Great house, very comfortable and stylish, with everything we needed. Tim was the perfect host - respecting our privacy and leaving us alone most of the time, but available at the end of the phone whenever needed. Perfect location - easy walking to beach, restaurants and shops, but far enough away from the crowds to provide perfect peace and tranquility, with the only noise coming from the birds in the trees. So many lovely places to visit nearby as well - we especially enjoyed York harbour and beach, and the Museum of Contemporary American Art just past Perkin's Cove was wonderful. And just being able to go down the hill and walk on Ogunquit beach at sunset was perfect.
All in all, a great holiday destination, and I would highly recommend both this house and the area to anyone thinking of visiting Maine. Wish we were back there now!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
5

Wonderful home to rent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My three kids and I had a wonderful vacation here in Ogunquit. Tim has a beautiful place and within walking distance to the town and beach. We enjoyed the back porch, with grill, and the private yard. am familiar with the towns around Ogunquit, and it is a great town to stay in to visit other towns close by. It is a wonderful home for a vacation on the Maine coast. I will definitely go back to this well kept home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
Westwood, MA
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
"Rockwood" delivered all it said it would. It was professionally groomed, serene and beautiful, but within walking minutes of all the happenings downtown Ogunquit has to offer. You needn't worry about being up the steep Berwick Road because there was a wonderful pathway that totally avoided it. So it was a very pleasant walk to the center of town as well as the main beach. If you are familiar with Ogunquit then you know how magical a place it is, with fine restaurants, shops, theatre and incredible beaches. But It has one downfall - the traffic; but from this location you can walk to everything. I really mean everything!! And, you couldn't ask for a better owner, who had everything well stocked and was so ready to please(even bought a cheese grater just for me). I often start my week with some minor cleaning but none was needed here. The owner does it himself before you arrive so you can be sure it's done thoroughly. Thank you, Tim, for all of your efforts. We plan on returning next year and the year after and.........
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
cortlandt manor, ny
5

Great Location, Nice House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My husband and 18 month old twins just returned from a week here and we had a great time. Distance to town and beach was very important to me with babies so I did not have to load the car every time and this house worked out well for us.
The bedrooms were spacious, one was large enough to fit our two pack and plays nicely.
Tim was very helpful in putting us in contact with a babysitter which helped us out a lot.
The house was clean and the road nice and quiet.
if you watch tv I would recommend bringing dvds, not a lot of channels and no dvd rentals nearby that we could find.
We would rent here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
Lewisville, PA USA
5

Truly everything for a great vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My wife and I returned this past September to grab our final week's vacation of the season, specifically Ogunquit, Maine and our Rockwood Cottage - our second year there. The location is ideal for getting to the beach and downtown shops and restaurants without having to move your car! The setting is peaceful and relaxing, the owner is very accomodating and the home is always spic n span when we arrive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
southwestern New Hampshire
5

Our stay was perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Rockwood is THE place to rent, no question! My young family stayed there for a week in the summer of 2008--with twins who were a few months shy of two, my husband and I were looking for a clean, modern, beautifully appointed rental that our children could also enjoy. Tim met our family, and didn't blink when he saw our little ones (some people would!) Rockwood was perfect for us--the two bedrooms are large enough to set up not one but two pack n' plays (in one room) so that Mama and Papa could have a room to themselves. The kitchen, while a galley, is smartly designed and organized; the dishwasher and washer/dryer are a godsend with little ones eating at least a couple meals a day in-house and days spent getting sandy and sunblocky at the beach. There is a lovely deck overlooking some other beautiful homes, and the location is excellent--close enough to the beach that we actually walked, with both kids and all of our stuff in their Radio Flyer wagon, but far enough away that we felt like we were home, rather than in the midst of the downtown hum-drum (essential for kids who still nap). The wireless access was essential, since our cellphones didn't work too well in the area, and both my husband and I had ongoing business deals pending.

One of the best features of Rockwood is the owner, Tim. He is available, responsive, friendly, and an all-around great person, which you won't always find. He is an honest guy who does not play games--he genuinely wants the folks who stay at Rockwood to feel at home and have a great time, and because he's got a clean, well-kept property, he doesn't need to fool around.

My only reservation about writing a review? Rockwood will become more popular, and it will be harder for my family to secure the weeks we want! Can't recommend it highly enough. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We as landlords always have those (tenants) that we encourage to return because the love and care they give to our properties emulates that of our own. This young growing family is just one of those successful tenants that we crave to return. They discovered the very reasons why we bought this home in the first place! I love this neighborhood so much, plus it is so convenient to the towns amenities (beach, shops and restaurants) that two years ago I built another primary home just three doors down!
Listening to the ocean at night is an added treat!
It is gratifying to read that the extra effort I make to be sure that the traveler's vacation lodging is not in any way a disappointment or concern.
The legand is that the name of our town is Indian for "Beautiful Place by the Sea." Presenting our properties by carrying on that same theme is paramount!
Having been in the sales/service sector my entire career, there is a right way and a wrong way to conduct business. My success is due to knowing the difference!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
5

A wonderful romantic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
After a very rainy summer my husband and I needed some time away from the children and our jobs. This small, beautifully appointed immaculate house feels isolated yet is very well locate, within walking distance to main street and beach. It was the perfect size, comfortable nice furniture, all the appliances, everything we could ask for. I think we will be back next september and perhaps the year after that.
Not a house for young children.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Lobster, Lighthouses and Rockwood Cottage!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178279
+1 207-396-0128
Ogunquit Southern Coast of Maine
Natick, MA
5

Comfortable and elegant

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We loved staying at this cottage. The location is within walking distance to the beach and downtown, very convenient. The bedrooms are decorated beautifully, and one has french doors that open onto the back patio. We loved sitting on the patio which overlooks a private backyard to enjoy the peace and quiet. The owner is great and very accomodating. I definitely recommend this place and would stay there again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9