Smugglers' Notch farmhouse rental - Summer in Vermont!
Summer in Vermont!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps15
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Smugglers' Notch Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9-12)

Our renovated 180 year-old farmhouse is nestled in a small valley that lies under majestic Mt. Mansfield. Surrounded by farmland and knock-your-socks-off mountain views, our home is a place of peace and serenity that overlooks acres of pastures, streams, and woodlands.

Unlike other old farmhouses that have small rooms and confined spaces, our home has an open floor plan with 8 ft. ceilings, creating an atmosphere that is light and airy. Decorated in warm greens and earthy colors, each room has its own charm and character.

Three bedrooms have either queen-size or full beds, and the other two bedrooms have single beds. The master bedroom has a private full bath, while the other bedrooms share a bathroom. Large floor areas can accommodate air mattresses and sleeping bags. The kitchen is fully equipped and ready for the most accomplished cook to prepare gourmet feasts.

Fresh herbs are growing out our back door and fresh eggs and organic vegetables are available for purchase at a local farm just a few steps down the road. Our newest accomplishment is the completion of the Dakini Studio, a renovated family room that now provides a wonderful space with polished wide pine floors for yoga and meditation practice.

For more information about the studio, click on the link at the bottom of this page that says Dakini Studio.

Underhill and the surrounding region have an amazing array of opportunities for everyone’s taste. If you’re an outdoor enthusiast and like your days to be filled with adventure and adrenaline, there’s a whole network of trails right outside our back door for mountain biking, running, and hiking (cross-country skiing and snow-shoeing in the winter).

Or hop on your road bike and ride some of the most beautiful country-side you’ve ever seen! Within a 5-10 minute drive you can access trails to climb Mt. Mansfield, go rock climbing and bouldering at Smuggler’s Notch, swim in local swimming holes, paddle the Lamoille River, or go for a trail ride on horses (and in the winter ski, skate, ride or ice climb at Smuggler’s Notch Ski Resort).

For those looking for more cultural activities, there is no lack of beautiful vistas for the photographer and artist. There are multitudes of antique shops, art galleries, farmer markets, restaurants, theatres, and shops all within a 40 minutes radius that includes the resort town of Stowe and Vermont’s largest city, Burlington.

After your day’s activities, come back home to relax on our shady front porch and sip a cold beverage while watching the local farmer’s dairy cows munch the green grass in the meadow across the street.

On warm spring and early summer evenings, sip cocktails on the side deck and listen to the chirps of crickets and peeper frogs. Watch the mountain turn purple and pink in the sunset’s reflection, even while the full moon begins to rise over the mountain peaks.

If you are a garden enthusiast you’ll want to stroll through our huge vegetable garden and gather the evening’s vegetable dish. Before dinner though, walk out to one of the perennial gardens and cut some flowers to grace your table with a fresh bouquet.

After dinner, if it's still light out, set up a game of volley ball, badminton, or croquet and have a fun family time on our beautiful grounds.

Our home is the perfect place for your Vermont vacation. It is also the perfect setting for celebrations like weddings and graduations. Invite your family, friends and relatives to stay here with you.

There are plenty of businesses in the area that would be happy to help you with catering and other services you might need. Contact us with any questions or concerns you have. We’ll be glad to help!

Keywords: Renovated Farmhouse

More Details
Hide Details

Mike and Lisa Timbers are avid travelers and love to meet new people. We offer our beautiful home to people who appreciate quiet, rural vacations and who enjoy a variety of activities in a laid back setting. Our own interests include gardening, mountain biking, hiking, kayaking, kayak camping, skiing, traveling, cooking, yoga, pilates, and a number of other things!

25 Reviews of Property 178115 in Smugglers' Notch, Vermont

Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 25 reviews
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
5

Wonderful Family Home Close to Smuggs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We have now stayed at Lisa and Mike's farmhouse twice. We have four children and it is a great vacation for us. It is very close to Smuggs and we skiid most days. We also went sledding utilizing the sleds Mike & Lisa provide to renters. We have some great memories in their home and look forward to going back again.

Some great things about the house are:
1) Large yard for the kids to run and play in
2) Wonderful kitchen for making meals at home after a long day skiing
3) Great yoga room (I personally enjoyed this and the kids followed along!)
4) Very clean and well stocked (just replace anything you use)
5) More than enough room for us and the kids

We love this house and highly recommend it! I also think it would be a great house for a girls weekend!
Thanks.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
NJ
5

Ski Trip 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thanks for a great week! The place had everything we needed. What a cool old farmhouse with lots of space. Terrific views! Good location for skiing at Smuggs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
New York, NY
5

Family Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The house is very cozy and charming, with some lovely pieces of furniture and I loved the freestanding tub! The kitchen is great and fully equipped with everything that anyone would need to cook a meal. The owners, Lisa & Mike are great and they were always on hand if we had questions or needed to figure out how something worked. They are very friendly and great hosts.

We were a party of 11, with kids of all ages from 7 to 19, and their grandparents, in addition to their parents, and there was plenty of room for everyone. The yoga studio was a real bonus for my sister in law as she is a yoga teacher.

I would recommend this house to anyone, it has a lot to more to offer besides the usual rental offerings. I would love to come back when it's not so cold too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
York, PA, USA
5

Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We were in Underhill for a family reunion, and were able to stay at this lovely house for the long weekend. It had everything we needed and great sitting porches and views of the mountain. Highly recommend staying here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
Tyler Hill, Pennsylvania
5

Excellent Long Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We were a group of 3 generations and everyone enjoyed themselves. The house is spacious and well equipped. The yoga room was a great place for the kids to "camp". Smuggler's Notch is a 12minute ride, so that made life simple since that was the focus of our trip. 158 Restaurant and Bakery was a delicious place for breakfast. The owners were helpful and easy to deal with. We would certainly recommend this house to others interested in a VT ski rental. (And if you don't ski, but you like to quilt, just google quilt shops and you'll find some not too far away!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
Shelburne, VT
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Some friends and I (seven in total) stayed here for a very long weekend to ski Smuggs and really enjoyed the house. It's got beautiful views of Mt. Mansfield and is only 15 minutes or so to the mountain. The house has everything you could possibly need and is in great condition. Mike was a great host and we hope to be back next year. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
Winchester, VA
5

Beautifully Updated Farmhouse near Smuggler's Notch

Beautifully Updated Farmhouse near Smuggler's Notch
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a great family reunion after a niece's wedding, and found the combination of stunning views and peaceful solitude (aside from our interaction with each other!) tremendous. Highly recommended!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
Boston, MA
5

Great space with a beautiful backdrop

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My friends and I rented this space for the night before the Green Mountain Relay, which started in nearby Jeffersonville (literally 5 minutes away). It was the perfect spot for 12 people to relax in before a crazy weekend of running all the way down to Bennington, VT. Mike and Lisa are great hosts and this was the second time I've stayed in their place. It was clean and comfortable, and everything we needed was available, from towels to coffee to a dishwasher! Mike Timbers was easy to get in touch with and he answered all of my questions and concerns in a timely and professional manner. I plan on doing this relay for as long as I can, and my friends and I plan on returning to this wonderful house as well. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer because we had to get started with running the relay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
Blainville Quebec
4

Wonderful Vermont winter vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We really had a wonderful time in Vermont at Mike and Lisa's home. The house is lovely and comfortable, and the view from the kitchen and living room is breath taking! You almost feel like doing dishes :) . We were 9 people and every one had a place to sleep, and were very comfortable! The Yoga room is perfect for a WII FIT family tournament at night after eating too much! (we had brought a small tv set along). We definitly plan on returning!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks Josee, for the kind words. Wish we could have watched you all in our yoga room. Must have been a sight! Have a great New Year and we'll look forward to hearing from you again!
Lisa
business
Five Bedroom Farmhouse, Mountain Views, Gorgeous Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p178115vb
(802) 899-4191 (Vermont, USA)
Smugglers' Notch Stowe Area
Boston, MA
5

Ski vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We stayed at the house over Christmas break in 2010. We were 5 adults and 5 kids, and this home had plenty of space for all of us. The house was beautiful and very comfortable. Mike and Lisa were great hosts and immediately made us feel at home. The house has all the charm of Vermont, with dairy cows within view and Smuggler's Notch just a short drive away.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Sharon! We enjoyed meeting you too. Glad you had a nice stay at our house. Hope you'll come again!
Lisa