Kealakekua Bay house rental - Dolphin Bay House Exterior
Dolphin Bay House Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kealakekua Bay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Dolphin Bay House, a convenient, spacious and gorgeous Hawaiian vacation home has 3 beautiful bedrooms and 3 stunning bathrooms. Next to Dolphin Bay House is the lovely 1 bedroom Dolphin Bay Cottage, which comfortably accommodates 2 guests. The house and the cottage can be rented together or separately. For information about our Dolphin Bay Cottage please visit our VRBO listing #364569. They are centrally located to many of the best island attractions. Best of all they are situated only 300 feet from famed Kealakekua Bay, Manini Beach Park and some of the world's most pristine waters! Come relax, enjoy family and friends, and swim in the crystal clear waters of Kealakekua Bay, practically at your doorstep.

Our home is located in the Hawaiian village of Napo`opo`o. This area of the Big Island, strongly imbued with Hawaiian 'mana' (spirit), has retained the charm, quiet and easy pace of Old Hawaii. It is also a great location for a home base as you tour the beautiful Big Island of Hawaii. An enchanting two minute walk to Kealakekua Bay, which means Pathway to the Gods, is a marine sanctuary that is home to pods of Hawaiian spinner dolphins, turtles and other amazing marine life. The snorkeling is some of the best in the world. Marvel at the dolphins and whales (in season). Admire the graceful green sea turtles and go nose to nose with a rainbow of exotic fish.

Dolphin Bay House is beautifully furnished in tropical style. Enjoy 3 lovely bedrooms with attached baths, in our two story home, where you will awaken refreshed to a chorus of birds and the sound of waves. For additional privacy 2 bedrooms are located on the second floor, and one on the first floor. There is a separate entrance and sitting area/twin bed for the first floor bedroom. Each bedroom has an attached bath with beautifully tiled, walk-in showers and a deep, soaking tub in the master bath. Granite countertops with two sinks in each of the upstairs baths add to the beauty and convenience. Many guests say 'the photos don't do it justice!'

The living room, dining room and lanai catch the tropical breezes, adding to the Hawaiian style relaxation experience. Relax on the lanai and watch as another spectacular Hawaiian sunset plays out before your eyes . . . truly a place to unwind and enjoy life! You will enjoy total privacy and use of the entire home while a guest with us. Plan to make Dolphin Bay House your home away from home. Dolphin Bay House accommodates from 2 - 7 guests in complete comfort.

If you need more room, consider Dolphin Bay Cottage which is on the same property and can be rented with Dolphin Bay House or separately. Dolphin Bay Cottage comfortably accommodates 1-2 guests (plus small child). This lovely cottage has everything you need: 1 bedroom, 1 full bath and a full kitchen. It is nestled next to Dolphin Bay House in our quiet, friendly neighborhood and is surrounded by beautiful tropical landscaping. The decor is casual tropical style with bamboo floors and beautiful wood trim. A comfy queen bed with memory foam topper awaits you. The fully equipped kitchen has a full size fridge, dishwasher and four burner stove with oven-everything you need for cooking in paradise. All linens, beach towels, cable TV and wireless internet included. The cottage has it's own driveway and entrance. A very clean and pleasant place to while away the days.

For information about our Dolphin Bay Cottage please visit our VRBO listing #364569.

Hawaii ID W40947748-01

Keywords: 3 Bed/3 Bath, Beautiful Home, great location, cottage next door also available

More Details
Hide Details

We are pleased to share Dolphin Bay House and Dolphin Bay Cottage with you as we think you will enjoy the fabulous weather, beauty and this very special neighborhood as much as we do.

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

After many years of enjoying the Kealakekua Bay area we were fortunate to find Dolphin Bay House and Cottage. We feel this corner of the world is truly paradise. This is a dream come true for us.

Hopping out of bed to take a sunrise walk to the beach- it is exhilarating. And then there are the sunset walks to cap off the day. Of course being able to easily snorkel anytime is also pretty fantastic!

28 Reviews of Property 35438 in Kealakekua Bay, Hawaii

Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
average rating of 4.909091 based on 28 reviews
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Eugene, Oregon
5

Lovely House in a Quiet Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Four of us had a great week at Dolphin Bay House. The house is gorgeous, with lots of wood, excellent amenities, and a nice quiet location (well, except for the rooster next door, who was obviously not on vacation time!). Short walk to a lovely park and beautiful bay. Very nice. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
4

Great House; Questionable Neighbors

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We just spent nine days at Dolphin Bay house, coming from Tucson. The house itself is beautiful with gorgeous hardwood floors and furniture. The beds were very comfortable, which is a major plus since several hours of morning snorkeling or body-surfing usually translated into afternoon naps. Ceiling fans were a must since the humidity and daytime temps in the low 80s required some cooling for us desert dwellers. The gorgeous second floor decks off the two master bedrooms and the kitchen were the nicest features because they expanded the living space while still providing some privacy. The master bathrooms were something right out of Sunset Magazine. Really nice.

The landscaping and yard maintenance are exquisite with tropical foliage, orchids, grass, and really unique pahoehoe pavers to the front door. The open air outdoor shower in the backyard was really nicely designed for privacy.

The downstairs room(s) are nicely furnished without having a kitchen so its a good place to park in-laws, teens, or another couple. It has its own bathroom, a nice queen bed and a twin bed. It also has some ant residents that need to be addressed but we're guessing that's the price of paradise.

The kitchen is really well equipped and functional so that you aren't forced to eat in restaurants by default. The biggest issue with the kitchen were the sugar ants which seemed to find every molecule of carbohydrate that was left on the granite counters or glass cooktop. Sugar ants don't bite but they are unnerving because you can't seem to get rid of them, even in the dishwasher they seem to thrive.

The neighborhood is 1/2 block from Manini Beach Park on Kealakekua Bay which makes for a nice place to stroll. Nice houses abound with a smattering of local digs interspersed. The house directly to the south is a large lot owned by a local. He keeps chickens and his rooster sounds off every morning at 4 AM so its part of the native ambience. Dogs in the yard would frolic and sometimes skirmish. At 3:30 AM, the Owner would open his noisy, rolling chain link gate on the way to work. If you're a light sleeper, this could be an issue.

The house is just a couple of miles from City of Refuge State Park and the "Two Step" snorkeling reef which is adjacent to the park. Best snorkeling on the Big Island and it's for free!

Overall, it's a keeper. Really worth the cost.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review, and for the many compliments of Dolphin Bay House. We really appreciate knowing about our guests experience as we strive to make our home as pleasant as possible for each guest's Hawaiian vacation experience. A few years ago when we completely remodeled Dolphin Bay House we added the many lanais that you enjoyed, so we are happy to know that they were a big plus for you. We enjoy those bathrooms too and we had lots of fun designing and installing them. My husband built the outdoor shower a few years ago and since then, when we are there, we hardly ever use the indoor showers. Nothing better than showering outdoors in perfect weather surrounded by tropical foliage. BTW, we love our yard too and have a fabulous groundskeeper.

As to the ants, you are correct, it is "sometimes the price of paradise". They have been taken care of (so to speak). The challenge in Hawaii is that the ants come and go with no pattern or forewarning that we can discern. So we treat them "as needed", while also being mindful of the environment because we want to protect our guests and the bay.

Like you, we very much enjoy the spacious and well-equipped kitchen, it is a pleasure to prepare tropical edible delights while enjoying views of the water and lush landscape. Without ants would be better though, we agree, and again they are no longer there.

We were distressed to know about the morning noises you experienced, and very glad you let us know about it. There are several fisherman who live in the neighborhood. They do leave very early to get in a good day of fishing, some noise will occur from that. We are friends with our neighbors and plan to speak to them about the rooster.

Again, thank you for your thorough review, we appreciate your upbeat bottom line.

Aloha and best to you for 2014,
Martha Blane
Owner
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Reston, VA
4

Exceeds expectations....charming seaside home located in a wonderful part of Kona

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The home is extremely well appointed for a beach residence. We didn't need anything for the kitchen and felt we were at a more upscale residence than we initially expected.It is bright, airy and tastefully decorated, and must have only recently been updated. The external shower, to wash the sand off from the beach, was a surprising joy to spend time in...it is set in a beautiful garden with orchids and beautiful plants.

The mornings are the best time here...you can hear the waves crashing on the beach, while taking in fantastic views of lush, greenery...all the while enjoying a good cup of Kona coffee! Our family enjoyed a wonderful reunion, coming in from NY, Philippines and Hong Kong and spent a truly magical week. I would recommend this home without hesitation.

Pros:
*Clean, efficient and tasteful decor; great bathrooms!
*Well appointed in kitchen and for snorkelling activities (just check for sizes)
*2 minutes away from Manini beach on foot - a somewhat secret beach that is private but with public access (the locals were impressed that we were staying there, and it was often cited among local people we met as their favorite spot in Kona!)
*Great vantage point for snorkelling....snorkelling off Manini is great, even for young kids (7 and 10)...and Captain Cook Monument is only 30 minutes via kayak from Manini beach ...Two Step, off City of Refuge in Honanau is a 5 minute car ride
*Cottage, for an additional fee, is also charming. We used it for relatives who were not staying the entire time.
*The current property manager, Krista, is excellent. She provided great recos and we felt we could count on her if we needed anything (and we barely did).

Cons:
*It is hard to think of too many negatives...the only thing to mention is that for those intending to spend most of the day in the house, it may be a tad warm (there is no A/C); this is not an issue at night or in the morning. If we really needed it, we could have inquired about an additional fan, but did not get that far since we were out most of the day. The downstairs garden sitting area is signficantly cooler, when home during the middle of the day.
* The room on the ground level, is not linked to an internal staircase...just an external one. Not an issue for most, so am just pointing that out. In that ground level room, there are also a few steps that go from the bathroom to the bedroom. Not an issue for most since it is well lit.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your great review. It lets our potential guests know just what a special place Dolphin Bay House & Cottage is. We are so glad you were able to have a wonderful family reunion and that nothing went wanting. Please come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Butte, MT
5

Wow - what a great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was a wonderful spot for our family. The home is lovely and is probably furnished with kitchen appliances and necessaries better than any we've stayed in before. Additionally, they have snorkeling equipment, boogie boards and even portable coolers free to use for the day outings one typically makes in Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for you wonderful review of Dolphin Bay House vacation rental. We are so glad you made use of all that was available, and we keep the house well-equipped as the owners use this as their own home for part of the year. Glad we helped you to feel welcome and well-accommodated. Please come visit again soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
seattle
5

Hawaii getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The house is beautifully constructed and well maintained. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in. You can walk to the park and beach, although it was rocky and the waves were high so swimming was a challenge. A long drive to the nearest store so stock up before you arrive. But the wonderful night sounds and the morning birds made it worthwhile.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Family Vacation

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Loved our time here. The snorkeling was awesome and the beautiful with everything we needed. Saw many places and had the perfect time here. Hope to come again soon.
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Family Vacation

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful place with us. It feels so comfortable and is truly a piece of paradise. The snorkeling and bay are wonderful, we got to see the turtles and a whole lot of fish. Thanks again.
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From Poland

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay here. What a perfect place for a family vacation. Mahalo from San Francisco and Krakow Poland.
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Kamloops BC
5

Dolphin Bay House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Beautiful home and bay to explore. The snorkeling off Manini Beach was fantastic. After exploring the Island, this was a great place to just relax and enjoy the surroundings. Fresh tropical fruit from the garden was a real treat for us Canadians.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Paradise Found! Beautiful Home, Best Location, 300Ft To Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p35438vbi
(808) 936-8600 (Hawaii, 3 hrs behind West Coast)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Germany

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Thank you so much for renting your tastefully decorated, huge home. We really relaxed and enjoyed the Dolphin Bay House. Especially the kitchen and the bathrooms are extraordinary. But most of all the atmosphere was so inviting and calm. When we are back in Germany, we will often think about this week on Big Island, this garden full of plants and flowers. The many fish at Manini Beach were amazing. Our four teenagers learned how to surf and our 9 year old watched turtles and made friends with the Hawaiian boys. With German greeting, Auf Wiedershehen. Hope to see you again.