Sylva cabin rental - October at The Little Cove
October at The Little Cove
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Sylva Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 4-6

Are you looking for a mountain getaway that offers privacy and tranquility, but is still close to all the action in the Smokies? Come stay a while at the Little Cove Cabin and find what you've been looking for!

Tucked away in a little cove in the woods, you can relax on the large front porch and watch the abundant wildlife around you or swing in the hammock in the front yard while listening to the babbling brook near by. Wild turkeys, raccoons, rabbits, foxes, coyotes, and even an occasional catamount and black bear have all been seen here!

Hike through the acres of woods that surround the cabin, or fish for rainbow and speckled trout in the bold creek just down the road. In the evenings, you can roast marshmallows at the fire pit where you can sometimes hear an old Barred Owl hooting in the trees nearby. Take a long stroll up the East Fork creek where 100+ year old farm houses, grazing horses and cattle, and rustic old barns and silos whisper the stories from a bye gone era.

Newly renovated, this romantic little A-Frame log cabin has all the modern comforts of home while maintaining the rustic nostalgia of a cozy little cabin in the woods! The cabin has a queen-sized bed in the downstairs bedroom and a second queen-sized bed in the loft bedroom. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living area that helps to accommodate up to 6 people. A fully equipped kitchen and separate laundry room have everything you will need for your stay. The cabin also has wireless internet access throughout and a flat screen HDTV with Directv programming. Outside, there is a Weber gas grill, dining and picnic tables and plenty of seating for enjoying meals outside. Also, our newly installed 6 person hot tub is perfect for a relaxing soak after a long day of fun in the mountains.

Conveniently located only 10 minutes from the charming town of historic Dillsboro and 15 minutes from Sylva, Franklin, and Western Carolina University. The towns of Cherokee and Waynesville are just a 30 minute or less drive away.

If your looking for a cozy place to relax, decompress, and get back to nature, you will find everything you're looking for in the Little Cove!

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I live and work in Sylva and are busy parents to our 4 small children. My husband works for the phone company and I am a potter that enjoys playing in the mud all day. We feel very blessed to be able to live and raise our children in these beautiful mountains.

Kimberly Gray purchased this cabin in 2007

This property has been in my family for over 200 years. Growing up in Maryland, I have many fond childhood memories of my family's regular visits to the mountains and staying in the Little Cove. Playing in the woods and catching crawdads in the creek with my brother were some of my favorite things to do.

Originally built in the 1970's, the aging Little Cove cabin was in need of some TLC. As a result, a few years ago, my husband and I began a 2 year 'rebuild'. The result was a brand new home with the nostalgic charm of an old mountain A-Frame cabin. We are proud of the hard-work and love we've poured into this cabin and hope that many families will now make special memories of their own in the Little Cove.

22 Reviews of Property 177454 in Sylva, North Carolina

SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
5

A Perfect Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We spent Thanksgiving holiday at Little Cove Cabin and cooked our Thanksgiving dinner there. The cabin is so cute, cozy and had absolutely everything we needed. We even had a little snow! It was the perfect place to spend our holiday and get away from the hustle and bustle. Oh, I did make one online purchase on Black Friday using the cabin's WiFi. LOL Thanks to Kimberly (owner) for a wonderful stay.
Cindy/Susan/Abby from Greensboro NC & Laurens SC
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
Mims, Florida
5

Beautiful. Peaceful. Rustic.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved our stay here. Every time we come to N.C. we want to stay and staying in a neat little log cabin like this increases that feeling. I would definitely stay here again. Everything was provided and then some. It was clean. We loved the sound of the stream outside and enjoyed fires in the fire pit at night. The only 2 things that I would note are the steep driveway and the bed seemed to be on a slant. Thank you for a great stay.
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
5

You Have To Stay Here!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
If a lovely, comfortable, clean, mountain cabin - with a mountain stream running along side, is your cup of tea - you have to stay here! Kimberly and Josh Gray are wonderful hosts, who don't intrude but are there, if needed. The area is lovely with beautiful scenery, and neat towns to visit. The road to the cabin is a bit challenging, but these are the mountains.
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
5

Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We enjoyed our stay at this cute, cozy cabin. Very clean and private. We love the area and will be back.
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
5

A great get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Love it!!!! Very relaxing and the down stairs bedroom is great for sleeping in ( very cozy).If you want to wake up to the sunlight , the upstairs bedroom is great. The cabin is bigger than it looks. Very roomy with everything you need. Or daily visits from Daisy were great.Our 7 nights turned into 9 and we would have liked to stay longer. Great time for me and my husband..
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
5

Little Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Peaceful, tranquil, secluded and yet close to about any kind of mountain adventure one could want. Cabin is spotless, well cared for, everything in proper working order. (Looks just like the pictures) My husband and I found it to lack nothing that we might need for our 2 week stay. It was the perfect size for us 2 retired folks, but would be great for 4 to 6 people. (We didn't use the upstairs at all) The owners were so friendly and the entire rental process went smoothly and without any surprises. I would highly recommend this cabin and would have rated it even more stars if they had been available!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
Cleveland
5

Absolutely Amazing Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was a wonderful cabin! Everything was very clean & well organized. You can tell there is much time & care by the owners to make sure it has that "wow" factor when you arrive. It was nice having detergent, soap, paper goods, spices, etc left for our use. The location is perfect. You have plenty of privacy & it's about a 15-20 minute drive to town.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
5

Perfect! - Secluded, beautiful, peaceful, & clean

Perfect! - Secluded, beautiful, peaceful, & clean
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We loved our five-night stay here! It was beautiful fall weather. The cabin was perfect. Tastefully but simply decorated, immaculately clean, and well-stocked with important things like towels, dishes, kitchen items, a few DVDs, a couple of puzzles, and local tourism information. We appreciated all those last extras even more as the first day it rained all day. It was a comfortable place to be and just relax during the rainy weather. The next few days we got around the area and did some scenic drives, hiking, and visiting. We took the advice to visit the Dillard House. It is a little pricier now than mentioned in the information at the cabin - $22 a person - but for all-you-can-eat and brining home leftovers, that's a good price! It's quite the experience and we do recommend you try it at least once. If you want to visit the Smokies, try this out and stay away from the commercialism of some of the other places!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
Florida
5

Peace and lightning bugs!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We spent such a relaxing week here. The setting is beautiful, and the cabin is a little gem. Close to everything, yet tucked away into the greenest forest. Every night we watched the lightning bugs wake up and move into the forest. We spent time at Sliding rock, Deep creek, tubing and hiking and Cataloochee to see the elk.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SECLUDED A-FRAME LOG CABIN IN THE WOODS! -WIFI, HOT TUB, CREEK, VIEWS, FIRE PIT!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p177454
+1 8285869452
Sylva Bryson City Area
5

Another successful escape from stress!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This little cabin is irresistible - you can't just make one visit! From the moment you drive up that road, you can actually feel yourself start to relax. It's so secluded and quiet, and yet knowing that the owners are just minutes away if you have a question or need something is invaluable. My husband and I slept in late, then read books we don't have time for back home, and had real conversations with each other while sitting on that glorious sun-filled deck! We took several mini-day trips out to surrounding communities, and made some new friends along the way.
Another important tip - if you're picky about cleanliness when you travel, Little Cove Cabin is the place to go. You always feel like you're the first guest to stay there - even though the guest book tells you otherwise. The owners obviously put a lot of work into making this cabin seem like a home away from home, and all that effort has paid off handsomely!
Helpful votes: 0/1