Port Lavaca house rental - The Texas Court House!!!
The Texas Court House!!!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps20
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Port Lavaca House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedroom w/ 2 Master Suites, 3 baths, 2 full kitchens, sleeps 12 +

If you want dolphin watching, birding, swimming, boating, fishing or watching the sun set, we have it!

We are KID and PET FRIENDLY! Our house is located on Caranchua Bay near Port Lavaca, Texas, halfway between Houston and Corpus Christi. The Texas Court House is a luxurious 2 story 5 bdrm home covered in Texas Hill-Country Limestone - a unique design found nowhere on the Texas Coast - with a private 200 ft. lighted pier. It has 2 full kitchens - 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs & 2 full Master Suites upstairs with an oversized tiled shower and large jacuzzi tub in EACH Master Bath. The 3 bedrooms downstairs are good sized with one doubling as a gameroom with foosball and air hockey! There is a big screen TV and DVD player with DVDs plus a game system with games. We have a play set out back and kids toys on site. Bring your Boat. There is no commercial fishing in Caranchua Bay so fishing is GOOD! Port Lavaca is close by with a sandy beach, museums and shopping. Don't forget the Dolphins!

Fishing and Boating: Right out the front door is Caranchua Bay and your own 200 ft. lighted pier with direct access to the water. Caranchua Bay is full of redfish, shark, trout, flounder, pompano, gafftops, whiting, croakers, sheepheads & drum. There is no commercial fishing in the Bay so fishing is GOOD!

Bring your boat! There is a boat launch nearby and you can tie it up to our pier. Also, with your boat, you have easy access to Matagorda Bay, considerd by all to have some of the best fishing on the Texas Coast!

Wildlife and Birding: For the wildlife enthusiast, there is an abundance of wildlife in the area. With a deer feeder out back, you can see deer, raccoon, possum, turkey and other wild animals. Dolphin are seen almost every day from the pier!

For the birding enthusiast, this area is teaming with a large variety of bird species including Black-necked Stilts, Ibis, Rosette Spoonbills, Reddish Egrets, Gull and Tern species, Least Turns, Rails and Snipe, wintering Geese, Sandhill Cranes and White-tailed Hawks. You might even see endangered peregrine falcons, wood storks or brown pelicans.

There is the Aransas Wildlife Refuge nearby with the VERY rare and endangered North American Whooping Crane. There are just over 100 of this bird special alive today and they are right in the area.

The Texas Court House is actually located on a Birding loop of the Great Texas Birding Trail. There are multiple Birding Sites withing a short drive from The Texas Court House.

We speak Spanish. Se habla Espanol. Good for European or British holiday let or holiday rental.

More Details
Hide Details

When renting from us, you are not dealing with an impersonal management company but with the actual owners. This is our dream house. We have equipped it how we like it and LOVE to share it with other people.

Tim & Rosa Raub purchased this house in 2007

We have been all up and down the Texas Coast.There is not another location like Port Alto. It is a tight knit, unincorporated community with about 100 homes. Many are occupied with full time residents who are some of the friendliest people around. They drive golf carts around the roads and wave to everyone they see. Truly an undiscovered gem, Port Alto is on a 3 mile wide bay with fabulous views in all directions. We guarantee you will LOVE The Texas Court House!

The Texas Hill Country limestone make this a unique and luxurious house. The house was dubbed 'The Court House' by the local soon after it was built because of the way it looked. We bought it from the original owners/builders. They were two brothers who made two identical Master Suites for each of them upstairs as well as many other personal touches. The house was a labor of love when it was built and when we continued the upgrades after it was purchased by us.

27 Reviews of Property 176985 in Port Lavaca, Texas

Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
average rating of 4.888889 based on 27 reviews
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
Edna, Texas
5

Texas Court House - Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My siblings and I stayed at this remarkable home from July 18 through July 26. The Texas Court House is more than the owners advertise. It is truly a home away from home. The home was very clean and well furnished. The atmosphere of this retreat fit all of our needs ranging from true fishing experiences to fun with the little ones on the play ground equipment out back. We watched beautiful sunsets and sunrises on the pier. The porpoises came within 20 feet of the pier several times, entertaining all that were present. We launched our boat at a nearby boat ramp and enjoyed the experience of the bay in many ways. We followed several porpoises, watching them majestically play in the water. We found a sand beach just a few miles out in the bay that yielded a playground for the little ones and fishing for the older ones. The house was furnished with everything that one could dream of from games to home entertainment systems. There was more than adequate room to prepare a meal for more than 20 individuals without having to rush or get in each other's way. The beds were comfortable to all. There is a small beach just at the start of the pier, which provided hours of fun and enjoyment for the little ones to collect shells and play in the water. Their were kayaks to be used by the guests, but the wind was a little too strong most of the days for unexperienced kayakers to attempt. We visited with several of the locals and learned when the fish were biting and where to go in the boat. Our entire family created wonderful memories during this stay. To say the least, this is truly a magnificent location to rent, very reasonably priced and strategically located to obtain all of your personal needs. Thank-you for allowing us to rent the Texas Court House. See you next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 14/15
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
Conroe, TX, USA
5

Excellent vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We all had an excellent time at this beautiful vacation home. The home with its beautiful decor was squeaky clean, and came well-equipped with towels, extra blankets, pillows, kitchen utensils, video games, DVDs, fishing rods and even kayaks. Kids and adults had a blast at the private pier. We went fishing, kayaking and got to see the dolphins!! We also want to leave an extra word of thanks to the kind owners and their very trustworthy housekeeper who found the Kindle that we left at the property by mistake, kept it in safe custody until they were able to deliver it in safe hands. What an incredibly fabulous vacation we all had!!! We'd love to come back again!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
Rice, Tx
5

Family of 22 Thanksgiving Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed in your house for Thanksgiving break 2013 with around 22 people. Most of which were teenagers and below. We had so much fun and made so many memories. The house was so nice. Plenty of rooms for all the adults ( kids slept here and there, different place every night). Beds were comfortable. Plenty of tvs and game systems for the kids to play. Kitchen table was huge, may of nights playing games with the kids and meals. Neighbors were friendly. Never found the alligator, guess it was too cold for him too. Not hard to get back into town for shopping and eating. We took the kids down the the canal off 35 and fished all day caught plenty of fish. Will recommend your place to all my friends or anyone that wants to vacation in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
Groves, TX
5

Alan Jackson

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Great property, truly is an oasis on the bay. The owner Tim took great care of us. We look forward to coming back in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
5

A wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The neighborhood is very quiet.. It is in the perfect spot. We celebrated Thanksgiving there with our family.. Lots of fishing and lots of memories. The kids loved it as well. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
5

Best Family Reunion Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family of 14, stayed in this beautiful home from July 21 through July 27. From the time we arrived until the morning we left we were impressed with the fact that this house was equipped with more features and cooking/eating utensils that anyone could wish for. Not to mention the two kitchens, one up and one down made food prep for a large group much easier. Bring your food and clothes that's all you will need. Everyone enjoyed the fishing off the lighted pier, especially the kids, most of the fish were small but caught many different types. We have rented other homes in the past along the gulf and all were nice, but this home is outstanding. We will visit it again. Thanks to Tim and his family for allowing us to visit their home. We will not soon forget our best family reunion ever. Oh, don't forget you will need a fishing license if you are 17 or over.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
San Antonio, TX
5

AWESOME PLACE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is a wonderful, off the beaten path place. Our entire family gathered for our mother's 60th Birthday here. It was absolutely the perfect place for us. We will surely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
Cedar Hill, Mo.
5

Williams family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house is awesome...we had such a great time in Texas, and had the opportunity to stay in this well maintained beautiful home. Fishing off of the pier was a blast.. The kids caught tons of fish, mostly small ones but lots of action...swimming and playing and kayaking in the Bay was fun. The house is well furnished( very comfortable ) with plenty of seating. I would recommend this house to everyone I know. Plenty of room for the 11 of us. Thank you so much for opening up your house to us.
The Williams Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
San Antonio, TX
5

Court House family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a very enjoyable time at the Court House. Everything was as advertised, no surprises. Great fishing off the pier with spectacular sunrises. Definitely would stay here again!! Most of the party are from the Midwest so this coastal retreat was a big hit!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Texas Court House - Waterfront Home w/ Private Pier, Fishing, Boating, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176985
361 633-9678 633-9857
Port Lavaca Texas Gulf Coast
Midland, TX
5

As advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Many thanks to Tim for his vacation rental. We found the house to be all the post says. The house is extremely nice, easy to visit, with all the needed supplies. The seating is very comfortable, the beds were all good, and all the outdoor areas well maintained and suppied. Tim responded promptly to my calls and e-mails, and we had no complaints about the house or the host. Try this place, it may change your attitude.
We did fish with some luck, but lost two big ones to using ultra light tackle. We tried the two local nine hole courses, Hatch Bend, and Palacios and enjoyed both. They are small town courses, simple and inexpensive. A good place to play to relax and easy for true duffers to get around.
Almost all our dining was prepared by us at the house. We did have a local vendor drive up and sell us some very fresh, plump, and tasty shrimp. The oysters at the bait stand in Port Lavaca across from the Lighthouse were great.
I gained four pounds, too much good food and loafing. But it was worth it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1