Blowing Rock house rental - View from back yard toward house
View from back yard toward house
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Blowing Rock House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 12

Ski to Sea is a beautiful family home at an elevation of 4,500 feet on Appalachian Ski Mountain in Blowing Rock. The main level consists of a comfortable living room with cable TV and DVD, gas log stone fireplace, dining area with large windows to view mountains, fully-equipped kitchen, master suite with queen bed, cable TV, private bath with large shower, and doors to the large wrap-around deck with the beautiful, covered hot tub with views of surrounding mountains and ski slope below, and 2nd bedroom with king bed and full bathroom (shower/tub). Upstairs there is a large bedroom with king bed, cable TV, baby crib, and windows to view the mountains, another bedroom with 2 double beds, and a full bathroom (shower) between them.. The yard is large and relatively flat with a playground for kids and benches to sit and gaze at the views. There is paved parking that will accommodate 4 cars. Conveniently located between Boone and Blowing Rock, close to High Country attractions… a perfect mountain vacation home.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 176456 in Blowing Rock, North Carolina

A Blowing Rock Property
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Bella Vista, AR
5

arkansas girl

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I recently spent the weekend at Ski to Sea and had an enjoyable time.
The property was clean and well maintained.
Great Great View looking over the Ski Resort.
House was like a home...very comfortable.
I plan to visit again in the fall and would recommend this home to all my friends.
Great Shopping on the Parkway!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Camden, SC
5

Rosie

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time. The view was beautiful. Nice flat lot to let grandaughter walk around. Four nice bedrooms and 3 baths. Would definitely stay here again. Good description and accurate photos. Owner very helpful. Lots to do in Blowing Rock. Great shops and restaurants. Many sites to visit nearby, Grandfather Mtn, Linville Falls and Caverns, Moses Cone, Tweetsie for the young. Great place to visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

WONDERFUL HOUSE! GREAT WEEKEND!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a place! What a house! & What a good time!

Your lovely home was the perfect location for our weekend family retreat. It had everything we needed---a well-equipped kitchen for those who love to cook, comfortable places for those who love to read and nap, a good TV for the sports fans in our group, and a place for the children to play. This time away was just what we needed to relax and reconnect! The weekend allowed me to recharge my batteries for my hectic life back home!

We enjoyed the spectacular views and sat out on the deck at night just talking and stargazing. Everyone enjoyed the hot tub, too!

Thanks for calling to check on us and answer questions. Everything was ready for our arrival and we appreciated the late checkout time so we could extend out visit until late Sunday afternoon.

It was a great visit and we so appreciate you making your home available. We will definitely be back!

The Stewart Family
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

WONDERFUL HOUSE! GREAT WEEKEND!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a place! What a house! & What a good time!

Your house was the perfect location for our family's weekend retreat. It had everything we needed---a well-equipped kitchen for those who love to cook, very comfortable for those who like to read and nap, a good TV for the sports fans, a play area for the children. We enjoyed sitting on the deck at night just stargazing. And everyone enjoyed the hot tub!

This time away at your lovely home has allowed me to recharge my batteries for my hectic life back home. Just what we all needed to rest and reconnect.

We appreciate your call to check on us and answer questions. Everything was ready for our arrival and it was nice to be able to have a late checkout and extend our visit just a bit.

Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us! We will definitely be back.

The Stewart Family
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a place! What a house! & What a good time! Your home was the perfect location for our family's weekend retreat. Your lovely house has allowed me to recharge the batteries for my hectic life back home.

The views are spectacular and we all enjoyed some relaxing time together. The house was well-equipped for those who love to cook and very comfortable for those who like to read and nap. Also had a great TV for the sports fans in our group. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck and stargazing at night. And everyone enjoyed the hot tub outside.

Thanks for sharing your home with us. It was exactly what we needed. We will definitely be back.

The Stewarts
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Another wonderful trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us again! We had a wonderful weekend trip and our entire family enjoyed our time together. We made our annual trip to Tweetsie Railroad---the grandchildren always look forward to that and no matter how many times we take that railroad ride, it is always exciting! We had fun in the little town of Blowing Rock and got in some shopping at the Shoppes on the Parkway!

We love what you have done with the house since our last visit! The blue carpet looks very nice and everything looks so fresh and clean. We did miss the "red bedroom", but sometimes change is good, too. As always, we enjoyed the hot tub out on the deck since the evenings still get a little cool.

We appreciated your calling to check on us and see if everything was in order. It is always good to talk with you and see if there are any new restaurants in the area or any changes between our visits.

Our family always enjoys our trips and we so appreciate you opening your home to us. We hated to leave, but we will be back for our fall trip in about 6 months.

Wendy
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Lexington, KY
1

FILTHY - RENTER BEWARE

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had great plans for spending a long Easter weekend in the mountains with our family. The pictures and reviews were positive, so we were very excited about a relaxing few days. When we arrived, we couldn't get into the house because the owners sent the wrong keys. They rectified that within a couple of hours, but when we finally entered the home, we encountered filth. The kitchen had remnant dust all over from a recent paint job post-fire. There was an obvious layer of dirt and mold on the kitchen counters. When we went to put food in the fridge, there was caked on food and dirt. The downstairs bathrooms were also disgusting - urine on one toilet, hair and dirt on another, soap scum and dirt in both shower/tub stalls. I immediately went out and bought $30 worth of cleaning supplies and spent the next 3.5 hours cleaning. I cleaned out the fridge and despite scrubbing couldn't get off some caked-on food. I had to use scrubbing bubbles AND soft scrub to remove the dirt, soap scum, and mold from the bathrooms. When we told the owners, she blamed the fact that it's expensive to have good cleaners come. She asked us what compensation we wanted, and we said $200 (less than one night’s stay). She said she needed to “talk to someone about it.” When she called the next day, she said her accountant “wasn’t willing to upset his books” to give us the refund. She offered us a free night the night before we’re supposed to leave, which we told her was impossible with our schedules, or a free night during “our next stay” – as if we’d give them any more of our money after this experience. It’s a real shame, because the home is great for families and has beautiful views. But when you pay money to rent a home, you expect a level of cleanliness. It just wasn't there.
Owner's Response: We have rented our home for 20 years and never had any problems or complaints. Many of our renters come back summer after summer and think of our home as their "home away from home." Others come back for 2 weekends each year---spring and fall--and have done so for many years.

In January there was some smoke damage from our furnace---no fire. We had the entire interior of the house painted, new carpet installed, new blinds installed, new or cleaned draperies hung and all bedspreads cleaned. The house was professionally cleaned just prior to these renters' arrival. We have used the same housekeeper for a year and never had any complaints about her service.

The keys were sent in advance, but they had difficulty with them. I responded within 30 minutes of their sending an email about difficulty with the keys. In all fairness, the keys may not worked easily since they were new keys. They had gone out for lunch, but before they could return from having lunch, the house had been opened and other keys left for their use. I encouraged them to let me know immediately if they had any other problems.

I did not hear from them again, but they notified my mother much later the afternoon of their arrival that the house was not clean and they had spent 3 hours cleaning 2 bathrooms. They did not notify us that there were any problems upon arrival so that we could send the housekeeper back to re-clean if needed. Since no one else had been in the house between the housekeeper's visit and their arrival, it is difficult to understand how the house could have been in such poor condition. When asking for details of the problems once we were notified, we were told there was dust on the top of the refrigerator, dust on one knife on the dining room table which was set up with 8 place settings, a small spot in the freezer, and a drop of urine on a toilet seat. There was no mention of any of this other extensive list of complaints we are just now reading about in this review.

The families stayed for the entire length of their planned trip. On the day prior to departure, they demanded reimbursement of $200. Even at that time there was no mention of this extensive list of other complaints. It is unfortunate that we were not notified immediately of any problems so they could be corrected, if actually existing, and we could know the truth of this situation. It simply does not add up. One wonders--if we had provided $200 would this review have been posted?
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Great location and family-friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Blowing Rock is a great home-base location to see the attractions near Grandfather Mountain and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The kids (ages 2 - 7) LOVED the nearby Tweetsie Railroad. This property has a very nice backyard, deck with rocking chairs, hot tub, and fire ring. We did not use the air conditioning at all since there was a nice mountain breeze most of the time. A very relaxing week! The owners were readily available with any questions or issues we had. We would definitely try to rent this home again in the future if we return to the Boone / Blowing Rock area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Burlington, NC
5

Great weekend in the mountains!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The Priest home in Blowing Rock was perfect for our large family to stay together to celebrate our son's graduation from App State. The home was very clean and comfortable and the owner's provided excellent customer service. It was everything they advertised it to be. The view of the mountains was spectacular. We will definitely rent again and would recommend it to other travelers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
A Blowing Rock Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176456
+1 9104854050
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Tallahassee, FL, USA
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
My family and I really enjoyed our visit to the Blowing Rock area and the home added to that. The location is close to Blowing Rock and Boone...close enough to enjoy all the towns activities, yet far enough away to get spectacular mountain views. It was also very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. The house was well stocked with kitchen items and linens...it was nice to have the washer and dryer. We used the cable, DVD player & wireless internet. A nice extra was the covered hot tub, which we used almost nightly...we even got in when it was raining one night! The beds and furniture were comfy. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4