Vieques Island house rental - Casa Mamey is nestled into the privacy of the hillside overlooking the Atlantic beyond.
Casa Mamey is nestled into the privacy of the hillside overlooking the Atlantic beyond.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Vieques Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms - 3 full Baths - Sleeps 6 - 7 -- Spacious -- Fully Equipped

Casa Mamey is a beautiful, comfortable, fully equipped home situated on a lovely hillside directly above the ocean. Atlantic views and cool tropical breezes abound here making this a most tranquil setting. Yet, Casa Mamey is surprisingly close to everything Vieques has to offer!

Casa Mamey boasts three large bedrooms and three full baths – two en suite. A fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances makes “home cooking” a pleasant option – and offers enormous savings over restaurants for families or groups travelling on a budget. A gas grill is “at the ready’ for the fresh catch of the day and there is plenty of room for both indoor and outdoor dining! Folding doors separate the main living area and the large covered terrace allowing for seamless indoor/outdoor living. Small terraces off the downstairs bedrooms let in the tropical breezes and allow glimpses of the Atlantic and the wild horses roaming the hillside.

You need not over pack. As Vieques becomes ever more popular, some restaurants have begun requiring reservations but dress on the island remains very casual. Fancy clothes and jewelry are better left at home! Casa Mamey includes a full sized washer and dryer, which make travelling light even easier! And the house is fully stocked with luxurious linens and towels -- including beach towels!!!

Most people come to Vieques to leave the stress of their day-to-day world behind, and Casa Mamey makes it easy.While cell phone service for most carriers is excellent , the same does not apply to either internet or TV reception. There are DVD’s, books, games, and puzzles in the house if you need diversion. Or just contemplate the view…..

Bastimento (Purple) Beach is a 15-minute walk or a 5-minute ride from Casa Mamey. As you travel down the hill, there are breathtaking views to El Yunque rainforest in the West and to Culebra Island in the East. Once there, Bastimento Beach offers 100 yards of natural coral breakwater for wading and shallow child friendly swimming. To the west, there is a treasure trove of sea glass; to the east there is 16,000 acres of Fish and Wildlife Refuge coastline that is completely inaccessible to vehicular traffic of any kind. On land that was occupied by the U.S. Navy, you can walk nearly 10 miles of entirely uninhabited coastline until your reach land's end where the Atlantic meets the Caribbean.

For the more active and adventurous snorkel enthusiasts, a coral reef only 45 yards offshore teems with red snapper, yellow fin tuna, conch, angelfish, and an extraordinary variety of oceanic life. Kayakers, knock yourselves out reassured that no matter how much exploring you do... the trade winds will gently drift you back home. Sunsets from Bastimento Beach are not to be missed especially during the Spring and Summer when you can watch the sun set directly over the Big island of Puerto Rico.

Everything you need for a beach adventure –including beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, basic snorkeling gear, and sand toys –are waiting for you at Casa Mamey!

Ask any visitor why they came to Vieques and they will probably tell you “ the beaches”. But ask people who have been here for a while – or forever – which is the best beach, and you will hear many different opinions. Starting with the Western end of Island, Punta Arenas is the farthest, and one of the prettiest, with great views of the Big Island. The Rompeolas (breakwater), is great for serious fishing and spectacular sunsets, and is also out that way. The most accessible swimming beaches are in the Sun Bay Balneario. It is just east of Esperanza on the south side of the island and has 3 very different beach experiences (one of which is Media Luna, the best toddler beach on earth)! The Fish and Wildlife Refuge has beautiful, clearly delineated beaches off the main road but feel free to explore off the beaten path for more deserted beaches.

Other precious experiences are feeding wild horses, losing yourself on long walks through tropical hills, and weekend nights listening to blistering hot 'regeton' music at the NASA and dancing. The vast Parques Nacionales area also has our world famous bioluminescent bay. We recommend going on moonless nights with the BioBay Conservation group's pontoon boat and biologists, or another organized group on the Malencon( boardwalk) in Esperanza.

To see where we are, go to

http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=18.153498,-65.425049&z=19&t=h&hl=en

ZOOM OUT from white roof in center of the satellite image.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 176445 in Vieques Island, Puerto Rico

An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Louisville, Tn
5

Casa Mamey

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Casa Mamey is a lovely home with spectacular views. We had everything we needed. There were a
couple of issues in the beginning, but the house manager, who was fabulous, took care of those
issues right away.
The house itself is very nice. It was nice having a full bathroom with each bedroom. The house was
clean and well kept. Overall, a great place to stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Massachusetts
2

Not recommended

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Property manager did not communicate ahead of time regarding pickup at ferry. He complained about the luggage we had and did not assist in getting it down the driveway to the house. The grounds were littered with beer cans. Lights did not work. The front door was in disrepair and difficult to lock. Stove and washing machine were dirty. Screens were replaced with plastic (great for circulation) in some cases.
There are many affordable rentals on Vieques that surpass this property and certainly more gracious property managers. I recommend you avoid this property.
Most disturbing is the fact the property owners have not responded to two emails since our stay one month ago.
Owner's Response: Based on past reviews, we have done an excellent job of providing a clean and comfortable home away from home for a majority of our guests. In this case, we clearly fell short but the complaints did not fall on deaf ears. Upon receiving feedback from this client, we immediately took steps to make the necessary repairs. Such repairs would have been done during his stay had he brought them to the attention of the house manager rather than waiting til the vacation was over. Our goal is to always exceed the expectations of our guests --reviews such as this just make us try all that much harder.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Boston
4

Comfortable House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We enjoyed our stay, though some of the description is a bit over the top in my opinion. The house was very clean and comfortable, with nice towels and linens, and a nice kitchen. The property manager, who lives next door, was just great - very welcoming and helpful. He had many good suggestions of restaurants, snorkeling locations, biobay tours, etc., and was very responsive when something came up (for example, the password to the wireless internet didn't work).

I felt the description in this listing gave an inaccurate impression regarding the view and the fruit available on the property. The view from the house and porch is a nice wedge-shaped view of the Atlantic with some houses in the foreground. It's lovely to sit on the porch and look across the rural hillsides with a neighbor's horse or a wild horse in the distance. However, you cannot see El Yunque, the mainland or St. Thomas from the house. If you continue walking up the road from the house, there are more sweeping views. The other disconnect was the description of the fruit trees on the property. We didn't see any fruit other than some berries. I wrote to the booking agent after our stay and she said there are fruit trees but you need to go through some underbrush to find them, and some were damaged in the hurricane last summer. She gave a thoughtful response to my comments, which I appreciated, and seems to really want people to love the property as much as she does.

I would recommend this house for a family or group that needs/wants three bedrooms and three baths, and wants to be in a rural setting but still close to town. Having the property manager close by made us feel safe and well taken care of. Don't miss the biobay tour. We did a small group kayak trip with Bieques Eco Tours just 2 nights after the full moon. It was amazing - hard to capture in words or photos - and we stayed out on the bay to watch the moon rise. It felt like a once in a lifetime experience.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Caribbean Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What an amazingly beautiful place. And what a workout it is to get to the top of the driveway!

The house is beautiful and equipped with snorkeling equipment, very nice lounge chairs for the beach, and gorgeous views of the Atlantic, Puerto Rico, and St. Thomas. Walking through the grounds, I found grapefruit, starfruit, and mangos ripe for the picking.

Sheets and towels were soft, clean, and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with a coffee maker, smoothie maker, microwave, etc. and there was a grill out on the upstairs deck for fresh grilled fish we bought at the market in town.

Definitely going back!!
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I couldn't ask for more from my stay at Casa Mamey from Christmas to New Years. The house is situated atop a hill, offering breathtaking views of the ocean. It's also a perfect distance between Isabel and Esperanza, Vieques' two major towns.

The casa itself is everything you could want from a vacation house - high ceilings, beautiful tiles, terraces, and an airy flow. It begs for the company of small group, as there is space to escape in privacy, as well as areas large enough to comfortable hang out.

If you make it to the fish market, you'll find that Casa Mamey is a joy for cooking. Its kitchen is large and stocked, appliances are in top-notch shape, and the barbeque is convenient. Feast on the large dining table for a meal nobody will forget.

Lastly, the owner offered impeccable customer service. She helped us organize car and bike rentals, provided a bevvy of information about the island, and was totally on call to make our stay the best possible.

Can't wait to return to Casa Mamey!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Very comfy, great value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This is a great house, very comfortable, clean and quiet. Awesome to have A/C in all the bedrooms. We stayed for 3 nights with 5 adults and one child. We had plenty of room, and it's nice that each bedroom has its own bath. While it's not super close to the beach, it does have a great ocean view and a nice deck to hang out on. And we spent our time driving around Vieques anyway, stopping at beaches along the way. It was a great value, I would recommend it.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Woodcliff Lake, NJ
5

Perfect Set-up for a Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
What a wonderful house! At first, I was sceptical about being on an island but not on the beach. Boy was I wrong!!! This wonderful house keeps water views front and center no matter where you are in the house. Fold back and patio doors open up wide to let the sea breezes cool the interior.
Each of the three bedrooms has its own bath which is perfect! (The bedrooms are all air-conditioned, but none of us ever felt the need for it) The living , dining area and kitchen occupy one large space which opens onto the terrace for a perfect interior/exterior blend. Great kitchen with everything you need -- including a lobster pot!!! We chose to grill on the terrace almost every night.
For breakfast, we picked bananas, grapefruit, berries.... My daughter declared the smoothies we concocted "the best ever!"
Great sheets, towels, beach towels, beach chairs and even snorkeling equipment. The owners seemed to have thought of everything!
The location was near perfect. We picked up fresh fish in Isabel in the morning , went to a different beach everyday, and had cocktails overlooking the water in Esperanza before heading back for our nightly bbq. Everything was close and easy.
We have already booked for next year. I can't imagine going anywhere else. We have found our vacation home away from home!



We are already planning our trip back. We have found our family vacation home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
An Oasis of Tranquility with Atlantic Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176445
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
New Hope, Minnesota
5

Just Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
“ The accommodations were perfect and the view was great! I have to say, your property managers were absolutely great. They were there when we arrived and provided a wealth of information about the local area. They assured us they would be available to help for anything. We did have to call on them when we managed to get our car keys wet and got stranded on Green beach. They came out and picked us up! It was very comforting to know that they were around. …” Keith, New Hope, Minnesota
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 18/20