Double Bay villa rental - Bahamas Pura Vida Beachfront Paradise
Bahamas Pura Vida Beachfront Paradise
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Double Bay Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 4

'Bahamas Pura Vida'. Romantic and luxurious beach front home. Spectacular ocean and beach views! Miles of pink sand beaches and azure turquoise water. This incredible tropical paradise is directly on the beach. Fully furnished and equipped for your pleasure and comfort at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Great privacy amidst tropical foliage. Perfect romantic escape! Pura Vida is a first class tropical beachfront villa and beautifully furnished! The best snorkeling is yours in the beautiful reefs right out front of house. Take a ocean kayak out to small islands just off shore. If you enjoy fishing you can fish right from the shore or deep sea fishing and bone fishing services and guides are available nearby. There are great restaurants within 5-10 minutes of Pura Vida. This is an amazing tropical dream that can come true for you! Please click on the 'Reviews' and see what guests say about their visit to Pura Vida. Come enjoy the real tropical island experience!

Bahamas Pura Vida, a tropical paradise: As you enter the private drive to this tropical paradise your senses are captivated by majestic coconut palms and lush, colorful island foliage. This new, luxurious home is located on the incredible Double Bay pink sand beach with pristine turquoise waters. Pamper yourself surrounded in comfort and well appointed quality furnishings. Fully equipped gourmet kitchen. Central A/C. Two suites each with screen porch. Facing the ocean are expansive sliding glass doors which captivate with spectacular views of beach and ocean and open up to the wonderful tropical breezes. There are private gardens and palm groves overlooking beach and ocean where you can lounge or sun or just relax with a tropical drink.

A perfect honeymoon destination or re-kindle the romance in this exotic and private, tropical villa.......

Bahamas Pura Vida!

Relax and Enjoy: Whether you want to enjoy swimming or snorkeling in tropical reefs, kayaking, relaxing in a hammock, walking along the amazing beach that stretches on for miles, fishing or just laying out in the sun, it’s all here right at your doorstep. Located just ten minutes from restaurants and shopping on this laid back and quaint island of Eleuthera. (Eleuthera is the Greek word for “freedom”)

This the the perfect island escape. Incredible beauty and privacy. Relax and enjoy an unforgettable tropical vacation. Go to sleep to to the sound of ocean waves.

Caribbean Dream Vacation Home: Experience the true island lifestyle.

Private tropical dream vacation awaits you at Bahamas Pura Vida.

So many people visit Nassau and Paradise Island and think they have seen the Bahamas. Come to Eleuthera which is only 20 minutes from Nassau but a world away in quaint, laid back island charm.

If you would like to do more than just relax at Pura Vida, please check with us for fishing guides and boat rentals, bicycle rentals and other available activities.

More Details
Hide Details

We have been coming to Eleuthera for 14 years and love the incredible island beauty. It is very romantic and relaxing and we always hate to leave. We hope to spend more time in the future and enjoy making Pura Vida available for others to enjoy!

Steve and Cindy DuBose purchased this villa in 2004

We actually built Pura Vida and chose Double Bay because it has one of the best beaches we have seen anywhere in the Bahamas.

The tropical beauty is unsurpassed! The coconut palms and colorful tropical foliage are incredible and privacy is very special overlooking the pink sand beach with tourquois water!

29 Reviews of Property 176378 in Double Bay, Bahamas

Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
Charlotte, NC
5

Exceptional Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
I have stayed at Pura Vida a couple of times already, and for many reasons. The most obvious is the island of Eleuthera itself. All you have to do is look at pictures of the island to see its natural beauty and appeal. What sets Pura Vida apart is the quality of the home and amenities provided. The house sits overlooking beautiful reefs on the atlantic side of the island. Double Bay is by far my favorite stretch of beach on Eleuthera. Being on the atlantic provides a steady breeze in the summer, while the caribbean side gets much hotter. The small keys a ways out from the beach break water to create one of the few places you can get a nice breeze and calm water rich with coral reefs.

The house itself is unusually well built and maintained for a rental. It was impeccably clean every time I arrived. All of the appliances are top notch, and there's a nice standing BBQ overlooking the beach perfect for grilling the day's catch (there's excellent fishing on the reefs, just check what's in season.) Plus they've got books on local marine life so you know what your catching. There's a nice TV and sound system with lots of channels, although I have a feeling it doesn't get used much in a place with so many better things to do. High-speed internet is a big plus as well. If you get tired of fishing, swimming, kayaking, snorkeling, and laying on the beach you can always tour the island, there's lots of great info and maps they leave for you to help with your exploring. They really make it easy to feel at home and relaxed, the ultimate stress-free vacation.

You can really tell Cindy and Steve love this home, it shows in every aspect. This is not a typical rental house, but I will continue to go back as long as it remains one. Writing this is just making me ache to return! I hope it won't be long.

Clark
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/16
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
Cumming Georgia
5

PERFECT IN EVERY WAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
my husband and daughter and i had the good fortune to spend some time at Pura Vida recently. it was by far the nicest house we've ever rented from VRBO, and we've been using VRBO for years. steve and cindy were lovely to work with, as was the caretaker george. we arrived on a dark and rainy night (after a long delay at the nassau airport) and saw that the house was gorgeous. when we awoke to sunshine, we realized that we were in our own private paradise. the grounds were meticulously kept. the sandy path through the gardens to the ocean had been raked. that is just an example of the extra care and effort that is put forth for the guests. we truly felt like we were at an elegant resort but with the comforts and convenience of home. the bedrooms were beautiful, roomy and comfortable, and the bathrooms modern and high-end. the kitchen was fully equipped with quality appliances that made it fun to cook. following steve and cindy's recommendations, we went to Tippy's Restaurant which was excellent. we also ate at the Beach House, also good, which had a cute boutique attached.
make sure to go to governor's harbour to buy fish and lobster when the fishing boats come in. we also went often to Island Farms for fresh vegetables, homemade bread, and homemade salsa, the best ever. we explored lots of beaches (the island has plenty of public access beaches, often without anyone else there) and there was a bonefish flat about 3 miles from the house that was heaven for my husband. i have already recommended Pura Vida to friends and family and will continue to do so.
our biggest surprise was how much we loved Eleuthera itself. we had no idea what to expect and were delighted with its friendliness, authenticity, and unspoiled beauty.
thank you steve and cindy!
ann
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You have discovered the magic of Eleuthera and Pura Vida. It is a hidden gem. We are glad you came and enjoyed yourselves so much!

Steve and Cindy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
Cullman, AL
5

Paradise . . .

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary @ Pura Vida. Loved it!! Pura Vida is an exceptional property. Every amenity one needs/wants is provided in this beautiful home. We have stayed @ many vactional rentals via VRBO and this house surpasses them all.
The view was simply amazing and the pink sand beach is all your own!

We snorkled @ Double Bay and Ten Bay.
Day trip to Harbour Island . . . lunched at The Blue Bar . . . snacked @ Sip Sip. Very tasty!!
We dined out each evening. All meals were wonderful. We recommend Tippy's, Unique, Mate and Jenny's, Rainbow Inn (fabulous steaks here).

Pura Vida is in the midst of a lovely tropical garden . . . and various biting, flying pests enjoy it as their home! So fyi . . . be sure to bring insect repellent. :)

This will a vacation memory we will forever cherish . . . Thanks Steve and Cindy for allowing us to enjoy your fabulous home. God Bless.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for coming and we are happy you had a great time. Although mosquitos do not seem to come after me sometimes guests will need to use insect repellent but usually mainly at dusk. I guess it is a small price to pay for the wonderful tropical beauty of Eleuthera and Pura Vida!
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

Loved Pura Vida and Eleuthera!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We just returned from a wonderful ten day stay at Pura Vida in Eleuthera. We are seasoned travelers who have stayed in numerous accommodations throughout the Caribbean and have to say that Pura Vida was a delight. Steve and Cindy are a pleasure to deal with and answered all of our questions in a timely and friendly manner. The house itself is well maintained and spotless. It contains everything you need, from beach chairs to electronic appliances to kitchenware, that make your stay as comfortable as possible. The beach in front of the house is beautiful and you can walk for miles without encountering a single soul. Our children enjoyed kayaking to the cays, snorkeling, fishing and just playing in the surf. You can imagine their excitement when dolphins swam by while they were playing in the water. The house is ideally located for exploring the many unique beaches and towns throughout the Eleuthera. We are so glad to have chosen Pura Vida and will no doubt be back in the future!
Owner's Response: We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay at Pura Vida. It is our pleasure to provide a special place to have wondeful island experiences. We are so glad you had a great time. Thanks for sharing and coming to Pura Vida and we welcome your return!

Steve and Cindy
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
Atlanta GA
5

Wonderful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I spent a long time looking for just the right rental home for our trip to Eleuthera and I feel like I hit the jackpot with Pura Vida! It is obvious that Steve and Cindy built this house, decorated and equipped it with great care and thoughtfulness. Everything from the huge wood sliding doors to the kitchenware, linens, light fixtures, etc. was very high-end; and as other reviewers have noted, it was immaculate. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed tomatoes, green peppers, and papayas from the garden. Murray the groundskeeper brought us coconuts and peeled them for us with a machete, and we made Sky Juice (local cocktail) and drank them straight from the coconuts! The view from the house is stunning. There seems to have been some erosion on the beach and there was lots (LOTS) of seaweed on it when we were there, but no matter...it was beautiful. We snorkeled the reefs in front of the house and on the last day there we had a real treat: two dolphins came around and swam around us and some other people from the neighboring rentals for at least an hour. All in all it was a fabulous trip, and If we are lucky enough to come back to Eleuthera I would definitely stay at Pura Vida again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you came and had a great time at Pura Vida. It does not happen often to have a lot of seaweed but occationally does if it has been windy. The good news is the tides will soon wash it away. Thanks for visiting Pura Vida and we welcome you back again!

Steve and Cindy
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
SW Florida
5

Absolutely Outstanding Eleuthera Vacation Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Dear Steve & Cindy:
WOW! What a wonderful place in paradise you have created. You could not have chosen a more perfect location for Pura Vida. It is idyllic. The style and design you chose for the Villa fits right in and you have certainly maximized the space you have created. The open floor plan for kitchen, dining, and relaxing areas certainly enhances the fabulous ocean and beach views. We love the numerous cozy outdoor spaces you have created for viewing and relaxing. Your attention to detail and the myriad of personal touches are apparent everywhere. The kitchen design and culinary wares were far more than we had could ever have hoped for. We loved the double chaise in the secluded and cozy screened area just off the master bedroom overlooking the beach and ocean. Casual strolls and the views along the virtually private beach were the best.
My wife and I have been visiting the Bahamas Out Islands for more than 25 years, our fourth visit to Eleuthera, and we have yet to experience a rental villa as nice as Pura Vida. We found everything we need for a most relaxing and enjoyable vacation and you can be sure we will return. We felt very comfortable and right at home. Thanks for sharing your special place in paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
Baltimore, Maryland
5

A lovely home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful week at Pura Vida. The home itself is extremely comfortable and the view is spectacular. We're already daydreaming about a return trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
Boone, NC
5

Romantic Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My husband and I stayed at Pura Vida to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. It was the most romantic trip of our marriage. We felt at home as soon as we opened the door. The home and gardens were all that was promised and more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a such a special experience at Pura Vida! It certainly touches our hearts and really is what Pura Vida is all about.

Welcome back again sometime!

Steve and Cindy
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
michigan
5

Great house/Great vacation April 2-9 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Just got back from Eluethera and Pura Vida, it was awesome! House is fantastic, makes you feel very comfortable and at home immediately. Owners gave great guidance and it was as easy and stress free as it gets! A true get away,top notch decore and kitchen, in fact the owers added a huge great new gas BBQ while we where there! Beach was great and most days saw only a couple people and this was spring break Never used A/C as perfect breeze of ocean was fantastic.and when it got breezy on Atlantic we went 1 mile to Ten Bay beach on Carribean side for calm warm waters and great shelling. Starfish, Sand Dollars etc.. Waters are beautiful and setting cant be better. Thanks so much for sharing the beautiful home with us we will dream about it until we return next year! Best of the best!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for coming to Pura Vida and we do welcome you back again! I think we should put out a "warning" that Pura Vida and Eleuthera are addictive! Whenever we leave we start thinking about when we can return.

All the best!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beachfront Tropical Villa, Bahamas Pura Vida, Romantic Island Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176378
+1 828 622-3518
Double Bay Eleuthera
Ontario
5

Top Notch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our family of four, two boys aged 8 and 11, had the perfect 10 day January vacation at Pura Vida. The beach and house were better than described. . We had the ocean to ourselves 99% of the time. The villa was beautifully decorated and completely and thoughtfully outfitted. A tropical paradise yet 10 minutes from Island Farms and their great bread and fresh produce and another 5 minutes from Governors Harbour where you can get anything else you could possibly need all without a stop light in sight.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: David

So nice to hear of your great time at Pura Vida and Eleuthera. It is so special that we always can't wait to go back again. We are glad you shared this wonderful laid back island experience together as a family.

All the best!

Steve and Cindy DuBose
Helpful votes: 7/7