Gaylord chalet rental - View from Lake
View from Lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps11
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Gaylord Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 13

Relax and enjoy the peaceful, rural atmosphere of this charming lakeside cottage just minutes from Gaylord. Surrounded by nature's gifts you will love the quiet, secluded comfort of this newly remodeled and completely modern chalet.

For the winter sports enthusiast, sledding, snowmobiling and cross country skiing begin just outside the door. Groomed trails will take you north to Mackinac, south to Grayling, east, west and beyond. We have maps to help you plan your route. Downhill and/or XC skiing are also available nearby at Treetops, Boyne, Michiwaye and Schuss Mountain. The local Sportsplex offers swimming, skating and many other activities.

Summertime on-site activities include: hiking, hunting, fishing, swimming on sandy beaches, bird watching and simply relaxing beside lovely Lake Manuka. 300 feet from the front door is the DNR public boat launch. The Gaylord area is famous for its many golf courses. A mini-gallery of original watercolor paintings decorate the inside.

Swimming beach: The lake is 30' from the house. Walk 250' to an excellent beach for kids to swim. Walk another 100' to the DNR public access with a cement boat ramp. Plenty of room for boat trailer storage at the cabin. The activity at this ramp is minimal and is 95% small fishing boats.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 176142 in Gaylord, Michigan

Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
5

Gorgeous Cabin!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Oh my goodness. The cabin was soooo beautiful!! It had a very rustic, woodsy, yet cozy feel. My husband and I stayed there with our 11 month old son during the Camp Meeting at Grace Baptist Church and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything was so wonderful! We will definitely stay there the next time we are in Gaylord. The price was incredible for everything that the cabin has to offer!!! We couldn't have been more pleased! Thank you Randy and Jane!
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
Battle Creek, MI
3

Great location for activities up north

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Working to set up the rental with Randy went very smoothly. He was right on top of any questions I had before we arrived. Once we departed I received my deposit money back very promptly. The pictures are accurate except I would say of the deck. We rented in June and to me it looked like everything had sat out all winter and had not been touched since the snow melted so the deck could have used a GOOD cleaning along with all the furniture. Everything in the house worked like it should and having 2 bathrooms is wonderful with a family. The lake level looks like it went down significantly compared to a picture Randy had sent me which was a surprise but it didn't hinder the use of our kayaks while there. Since the house is nestled in alot of trees be prepared for LOTS of daddy long-leg spiders! We could have lived without those! I would also recommend bringing your own pillows since the ones there are very lumpy or flat. Fans are supplied in all the bedrooms which was great for sleeping. We basically used this house as a "home base" for our activities up north which included: visiting Mackinac Island, kayaking down the Sturgeon River, biking, visiting Torch Lake (everyone should see that lake...its breathtaking!) and visiting Historic Mill Creek in Mackinaw City. Oh, something else to keep in mind....since the guests are responsible for cleaning before departure if they want their full deposit back, you may find that everyone has a different definition of what clean is. I claim to be a "clean freak" so it wasn't as clean as I would have liked. (mostly the floors, fridge, and windows) Just something to be aware of...for some its not a problem I'm sure. Also, there is no cell service and no phone in the cabin which is a bit frusterating. (no ordering take out) Hope this review helps people make an informed decision!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
Zanesville,Oh
5

10-31 11-5 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We went up with a group of people during the first week of November last year and we had a blast. the people were fun to be around but the house was wonderful. very warm and cozy. we enjoyed watching the ducks in the yard and on the lake and also the bit of snow that we got while we were there. many things to do in the area and Randy was more than a great person to rent from. very imformative and propt in his service. there were no complaints from anyone in the group other than they all were wanting to go back during the summer to take full advantage of the lake. i would recomend this house to anyone if they are looking for a nice comfortable place to stay.
MH
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
Onaway Michigan
5

Holy Cross Go + Gather + Grow Youth Group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Wow what a great spot. We spent 2 nights there while attending the Big Ticket Festival and it was an awesome time. Great swimming, the canoe and row boat were fun. Lots of room!!! We loved it and hope to stay there again. June 18 & 19 2009. Thanks for the great time! Oh...Our sponsors only complaint was the coffee pots were broken and it was a challenge for them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
Avon, OH
5

Manuka Lake Chalet 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Took my family (son 13, daughter 11) for a week long stay to celebrate my wife’s 40th birthday. Chalet is very clean / comfortable and well equipped so you would have to be a complete cry baby not to be happy staying here. Meijer’s is about 10 minutes away where you can get all your food and necessities easily enough. Chalet is tucked in a quiet corner of the lake – not much activity to worry about at all but there were a couple guys whipping around on Jet Skis for a while. Water is very shallow in front of chalet but Egg Island is only a 10 minute paddle in the canoe where you can catch Large Mouth, Pike and bazillions of big Blue Gill. Definitely go to Macinac Island, our kids loved it. Had lunch at the Tea Room which was only OK, pricey at $8 for a sandwich. I would recommend eating at one of the many restaurants on main st. Rented our own, private horse drawn carriage from Jack’s Livery and took a two hour tour of the island. Get a tour book when buying your ferry tickets and make sure you know when the last ferry coming back is because yes we missed ours. Luckily got on the Star Line boat that left 30 minutes after the Arnold boat we should have taken. It was all good though. Hartwick Pines is a nice state park to visit and do some hiking. Visit Big Bear Adventures to raft the Sturgeon River for a couple hours float trip. Chalet water is good, not eggy. Dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer are real nice to have and work very well however even on medium heat the dryer can fry synthetics so be careful. Mosquitoes can be downright vicious at times. We take an extended vacation almost every summer and really enjoyed our stay on Manuka Lake. Nice place Randy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
Vermontville, MI
5

Aug 23-08

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This was a perfect vacation getaway. The chalet was very nice, comfortable, and had everything you needed. We enjoyed how quiet it was and not a lot of noise around the lake. Close enough to town that you could run in to do shopping. We enjoyed the nice deck and spent a lot of time reading and just watching the wildlife around the lake. Close enough to surrounding activites if you wanted to do day trips. We spent most of our days just enjoying the cottage and relaxing. Came home very rested!!! A great place to vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
St Clair Shores, MI
5

Spectacular!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Pics from the inside didn't do the house justice. The cottage FAR exceeded all of our expectations. We were 2 families, w/3 kids and could have fit more comfortably. The beach in front of house was disappointing at first, but then after a couple days didn't care we had to walk to the beach. Everything was impecciable as far as clean and maintenance. Would definetely recommend, and actually want to come back next year. I HIGHLY suggest when giving directions though to have EVERYONE get off at the Gaylord exit so they know right were everything is, first night we could not find a grocery store and spent way to much time driving looking for one as ON-Star sent us in the total opposite direction down M32. The kids absolutely loved the week, we went miniature golfing, tubing down the Sturgeon and horseback riding about 10 minutes away from the cottage. We also spent time in the evening fishing and an 8 year old caught a 16"+ Bass, which he thought was the coolest part of the week. My 4 1/2 year old was in his glory on the beach and it was perfect depth for him, he could use his life vest or not if he chose. The lake (which talking with everyone-no one has ever heard of), is the prettiest, and calm lake ever. Perfect for all water sports. The only down side was the viscious mosquitos, we were wearing 3 different layers of repellant and still smacking away. But everything else definetely out weighed that issue. I highly highly recommend this place especially for multiple families. I just hope we can go back next year!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Manuka Lake Chalet--Charming modern cottage on beautiful Manuka Lake, Gaylord
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176142
517 852-9913
Gaylord Northern Michigan
Jenison, Michigan
5

LOVED IT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
The Manuka lake chalet was just what it said it was and more! The lake right in front of the house was great for the kids to search for frogs, minnows and even found a little snake. Down the path to the right was an excellant swimming beach and if you take the canoe or rowboat across the lake there is a private little island with a great beach and swimming area. The kids also fished off the island and caught several bluegills. We had a fire almost every night while the kids searched for critters with a flashlight. I loved the fact that it was very private. Nice and quiet. We took a couple day trips, one to Petoskey and one to Macinaw City . It was about 1 hour to each so that was nice. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great family vacation! Sara H.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10