Isla Mujeres house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Isla Mujeres House Rental Photos and Description
Casa Tranquila has 2 QN BR, 2 full BA, full kitchen, LR,DR, sleeps 4

Casa Tranquila is a beautiful oceanfront get-away just waiting for you to come, relax, and enjoy all it has to offer. You can get some R&R inside with the newly renovated interior or relax in a hammock or lounge chair on the upper terrace, accessed from stairs below or directly from the master bedroom, and overlooking the beach and gorgeous, turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. Sunrise over the Caribe is spectacular here. And it's impossible to miss the magnificent views of sunset over Mujeres Bay on the opposite side of the large palapa-covered balcony. Plenty of room here for outside dining as well.

Casa Tranquila is a comfortable 1/2 mile walk to town where there are shops and restaurants. A taxi ride is $1USD from the house to town. The lower level of the house consists of a living room with comfortable leather furniture, a full bath, a fully equipped kitchen, and an oceanfront dining room. The upper level consists of two bedrooms- one is oceanfront, the other roadside, each with a queen bed. The upstairs bathroom is off of the hallway and is all marble with a large bath tub as well as a shower. The beach is on the Caribbean side and is ideal for walking, sunbathing, swimming or snorkeling, especially in summer. Caution should be used swimming in the winter.. Casa Tranquila is directly beside Villa Tranquila and can be rented together to easily accommodate 12 adults or 6 couples which would be ideal for weddings, retreats, conventions or just a large group of family or friends. Casa Tranquila is just a short walk from downtown.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 176064 in Isla Mujeres, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Jackson, WY
5

A Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
Look no further if you're hoping for a vacation in a house with beautiful ocean views, a quiet back drop, quaint decor and visiting iguanas on the back porch. My family, myself and my boyfriend spent a very relaxing week at Casa Tranquila in February of 2008. The 2 bedroom 2 bath house had all the amenities we could have wanted, kitchen, wading pool, a balcony with hammocks over looking the ocean and was walking distance to the bustling main street of Isla Mujeres and the sandy beaches of the island.
The couple in charge of the house and ensuring our stay was a success were on point for our whole vacation. The maid service was thorough and the family in charge of the property was available day or night if we had any questions or problems. They were able to set us up with excursions on the island as well as helping us get a rental golf cart for getting around the tiny island.
Aside from the house being charming and an ideal vacation destination, the town of Isla Mujeres offered beautiful beaches, excellent bars and plenty of culture.
I highly recommend this property to future vacationers. I know I would love to make a second visit.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: If you go to Isla Mujeres and stay at one of our homes it will not be the first and last time! It is addictive and certainly calls for more visits!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Davidsonville, Maryland
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I have found our perfect home, in Isla. We travel there every April, with this being our first time at Casa Tranquila. It's in a perfect location, close enough to the heart of town, for some to walk, or a quick taxi ride away. We love being able to pull our rental car off the street, into the gated car port. The casa has everything you'd want, with a nicely equipped kitchen, two comfortable bedrooms to choose from, plenty of closet space, and the two full bathrooms, was a big plus. The outside porches are beautiful, with a gate to the beach. We enjoyed knowing that the gate can be easily locked, for security. There were also some "new to us" restaurants nearby. We frequented those often, meeting lots of fun people, and dancing, too. :-) We will definitely be back! ... We already booked for 2014. Can't wait! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property. I might add that the owner, and her team are wonderful to work with. They'll check in often, to make sure that everything is to your liking.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Akron OH, USA
3

Not for everyone

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
If you're sunlovers, this property does not have private sunbathing as the palapa covers the entire patio except for right in front of the back bedroom. There were 2 lounge chairs - 1 was broken - and 6 regular chairs - 4 broken beyond use and 1 was cracked. The wading pool was empty and looked like it hadn't been functioning for a while and the beach side shower didn't work either. The metal gate you see on the street side is also located at the back of the house to provide beach access. It made me feel a bit 'imprisoned'. If the weather is bad / windy, sitting under the palapa is impossible due to high winds blowing through, so we hung out in the living room which we found to be dark. Since it's located on a main street that connects downtown to the Colonias, there is a lot of street noise even into the night. The house is now white, as well. I think the owners need to update their photos/amenity listing to be more accurate. Originally booked this house for 2 full weeks but decided on splitting it with a week at a different property. Glad we did because one week was long enough.
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that these guest did not enjoy CASA TRANQUILA. I do agree that the home is not for everyone! I love Casa and stay there as much as possible. Also I have never had a bad review and have MANY repeating guests. As for sun there is plenty of sun on the palapa, beach and in the house itself. I talked to friends on the isla as well as my property managers about the weather. They all said that they were experiencing extremely cold and windy weather. That is very usually for this time of year. Usually the weather is perfect. I also contacted my property managers regarding the broken chair. They sent me a photo of the chair. It has a small chip in it. Hardly broken. The chairs and lounge chairs are checked and replaced regularly, since they are moved to the beach from the palapa regularly. The property managers go through the home between guests and check to make sure everything is in working condition. If something is broken, they take care of it. Also they meet with ALL the guest and make sure everything is fine. They also leave their contact information incase something should go wrong or the guests should need anything. My property managers did check with these guests mid-week to make sure everything was OK. The security gate is a plus to most guests. The beach is open to anyone who would like use it. The back of the house is right on the beach. Most guest are very happy to be able to lock the gate in the evening or if they are away from the house. I myself feel very secure to be able to lock the gate when I go to bed at night. I have many guests that book my home because of the security gate. As for the dark living room, OPEN the curtains. I do, it is light and sunny. In fact the whole house s is very light. About the house being white, The home is right on the ocean. It is exposed to the elements and needs to be painted often. I changed the color from beige to white. I didn't really think that would be a concern if someone were to rent CASA. I would just like to say that I have wonderful property managers that try to make all the guest comfortable and happy. If any of my guests have a problem, please call them. They want to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. As for the weather I have no control. I hope that anyone who reads this review will look at it objectively. I love Isla Mujeres and love Casa Tranquila. I hope that your would too.
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
batavia, ohio
5

Stayed June 12-18

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a great time and was perfect for adults with teenagers. Not to far from town yet far enough away to relax. If we needed anything it was taken care of. The sunrises are out of this world on the Carribean side and then at night you get to see the sunsets over Cancun. Can't ask for better than that. One word of advice--taxis--the going rate is 13 pesos. If you are going from one end of the island to the other of course it is more but we had them trying to charge us 60 pesos for 1/2 mile--don't ask them how much--hand them the pesos then barter if needed. Better yet--if just going to town walk--it's great exercise and you get to see everything--BY THE WAY we did the Whale SHARK tour with Jorge--best ever!!!!!!! Left his card on the table. It's called onislamujeres.com. Thanks again WE LOVE MEXICO!!
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at CASA TRANQUILA and ISLA MUJERES!! I love the island and all it's beautiful. I am so happy that you all went to swim the Whale sharks. I have not do that yet. There is so much to do on such a small island! I think it is truly PARADISE. I hope that you come back and stay at CASA TRANQUILA!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
White House, TN
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
We stayed at Casa Tranquila for the first time in Oct of 2007. My 7 year old loved wading in the pool and collecting shells. The view is absolutely incredible at Casa Tanquila! The location is perfect and the property is in well-maintained. All of our vacation needs were met at Casa Tranquila and the island is so much fun. We also loved riding around the island on the golf cart. My daughter especially loved Dolphin Discovery were she got to swim with the dolphins! Our favorite restaurant was Jax and the ocean view there is beautiful. I highly recommend staying at Casa Tranquila. You will have a great time on the island and the memories will be unforgetable!
Owner's Response: So many that stay at one of our homes return again! We are glad that others enjoy Isla Mujeres as we do!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Stacy, MN USA
5

Best Trip Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
My husband and I stayed with another couple the first week of February 08. Ann was so helpful in assisting us with travel recommendations (hiring a company to take us to the ferry, tips on taking the ferry etc). Upon landing, it took just minutes to be "home."

The house is gorgeous. Each couple had their own bedroom and there are 2 bathrooms. The kitchen is fully functional (refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishes etc). The house had bottled water. It also has a lovely dining room and a family room (filled with games, CDs etc) where we watched the super bowl. We spent a lot of time on the deck and sitting out back at the (very private) beach.

We had requested cold cerveza (beer) and lime in our refrigerator and it was there when we arrived.

Although we did not feel unsafe at any time, the house has bars on the doors and widows. This made us feel very secure when we were in for the night. If you decide to rent a golf cart (which I strongly recommend you do) you can park it in the driveway and it is protected by the locked gates. They also have bicycles at the house that you can use for free.

The house has a journal kept by other guests full of recommendations of what to do and where to go. We followed many of these recommendations. You can easily walk to town/the main beach or flag down a cab for a minimal fee.

They have concierge service (Ziggy and Donna). Ziggy met us right at the dock upon arrival and assisted us when it was time to depart. Ziggy and Donna carried a cell phone and gave us a cell phone to use. Anytime we needed anything or just had a question, we just had to push their pre-programmed number to reach them.

We met Ann and Garrel who were staying at their other place next door. They were very delightful.

I have been to Mexico many times and this by far was my favorite place to stay. We talk all the time about going back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy when our renters are happy. You should never be disappointed going to Isla Mujeres or staying at our home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Minnesota
5

First time in Isla Mujeres

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
I fell in love with the website for Casa Tranquilla which we found in our local newspaper. I e-mailed Anne and we were on our way. We had never been to Isla and had many questions which were answered promptly and honestly.

When we arrived on the island, we were met by a friendly concierge, who put us in a cab and met us at the house. She had a complimentary phone for us to use for the week, gave us a tour, gave us tips, and gave us the keys. Also, there was cervesas waiting in the fridge which I requested before we arrived. Awesome, after a day of traveling!

The home made us feel comfortable immediately. We fell in love. It was very clean, fairly spacious, and the view of the ocean is breathtaking. We felt very safe the entire stay; the security at the house was terrific. The beach had a lot of rocks and seashells, which made swimming not very good. However, after a day in sun, we enjoyed just sitting there, staring and listening to the waves in the evenings. We took for granted that we would get mid-week maid service, but this did not happen. You need to ask the concierge to arrange it.

The location of the house is perfect. It is about a 1/2 hr walk to the downtown area. Everything you need is there; shopping, restaurants, bars, scuba diving, supermarkets, etc. Playa de Norte is beautiful and very quiet during the day. Highlights of our trip was renting a golf cart for two separate days. This enabled us to get around the entire island. Our recommendation would be to rent a golf cart for the whole week. You would save a bunch of money and you wouldn't have the worry of getting it back on time. Casa Tranquilla has a car port that is secure.

We didn't have a bad meal on Isla. Every restaurant had great food and great service. And prices were very reasonable. We even went to the supermarket and picked up a meal to prepare at the Casa. (We really liked to spend time there.)

Our week ended quickly and we had to sadly go back to the rigid cold of Minnesota. We all discussed that there is a great possibility that we would return to Isla Mujeres and Casa Tranquilla would be our first choice to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always a pleasure to get to meet any of our renters. My husband and I get to spend quite a bit of time on Isla Mujeres, so we have gotten to meet several of them. We love it there!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Minnesota - USA
5

Casa Tranquila

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
Our stay at Casa Tranquila was great. The view from the veranda was awesome (we spent a good portion of each day on the veranda) and the accommodations were suitable for our needs. The house is very accessible to the village, excellent beaches, harbor, restaurants, areas of interest and yet very private. We loved zipping around in our rented golf cart exploring the island. The beach area is rocky, but we found it to be a great area to explore and with appropropriate footwear it was a good walking experience. The property is well maintained and the property manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. Overall, our stay on Isla Mujeres was excellent - we had great fun, food, and hours of relaxation. We would recommend it to friends and family! We will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always happy when our renters enjoy our paradise as we do!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Lenoir City, TN Southeast U.S.A.
5

Our restful week at your casa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
Two years in a row at one of your casas! Wow! We once again enjoyed our week on the beautiful island of Isla Mujeres and our very restful stay at your relaxing casa, Casa Tranquila. It was just what the doctor ordered - a whole week of total relaxation! Lounging on the thatch- roofed terrace was so relaxing. We loved having coffee there as we watched the beautiful sunrise, then looking out over the bay in the evening at the unbelievable sunsets. Your lovely casa provided all the comforts of home. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your clean, comfortable home. I will always cherish my memory of swimming with a dolphin while staying there. We went out for dinner each evening and found many local restaurants with delicious food as we rode around on our rented golf cart. What a fun way to travel! We certainly hope to return to one of your very tranquil casas soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Come visit one of our casas on the island and you won't be disappointed! My husband and I try to give all the comforts of home, but still include as much of the Mexican culture as possible.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ocean Front, Peaceful , Charming, Casa Tranquila
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176064
+1 831 621-3749
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Salem OR
5

Wonderful Time for everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We visited in the beginning of March and had a great time. My husband and I brought the kids and my mother for a family vacation. Everyone had fun. We loved the small town feel of the island and the fact it wasn't a giant tourist trap with chain restaurants that you could eat in back home. Town was close enough to walk, or if you were tired the cab rides were cheap. We loved having the house right on the beach and felt very safe the entire trip. Having the kitchen to make breakfast in every morning saved us money for eating out in the great restaurants at night. We tried different places almost every evening and didn't have a bad meal. The property manager had some great recommendations and other nights we just took a chance. At night there are street perfomers in the downtown area and my kids loved the guys who juggled fire.
The house was comfortable with plenty of privacy and wonderful views. Everything was very clean and modern. Having two stories was nice; the kids could be downstairs making noise and we could be upstairs relaxing. The upper deck was a great place for drinking coffee in the morning and watching the waves.
The weather was great and I would recommend this house to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting with a minimal amount of spring break madness. If you are into adventures there are plenty of fishing/diving outfits on the island that you can book with. We took a day trip to the ruins on the mainland and had a great time.
The owners of the house were wonderful. They were staying next door while we were there and when my oldest son needed to see a doctor for an infection, they pointed us to a physician in town. Visiting a doctor in another country can be scary, especially when it is your child, but our doctor at home was impressed with the treatment we received. He assured us he would have treated our son in much the same way.
My husband and I have already booked a return visit for this fall. This time we are leaving the kids and grandma at home!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My husband and I love the island and want our renters to thoroughly enjoy their stays in our homes! We don't get to meet many of our renters, but we were fortunate to get to meet this family and are very glad that the parents are getting to return this fall!
Helpful votes: 4/4