Nantucket Town house rental - Welcome to our home. Flowers abound--especially in July.
Welcome to our home. Flowers abound--especially in July.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Nantucket Town House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, sleeps 4, plus queen sofa bed for guests

This has been our family vacation home for over 20 summers, and now you, too, can enjoy the special place that is Nantucket. The house is a salt box, set on a large lot with a pond in the back yard. It's located 1.5 miles from town and 2 miles from Surfside Beach. It is fully equipped for cooking at home (gas grill on the deck, Cuisinart, microwave, lobster pot, etc in the open kitchen area), but you may end up sampling the numerous restaurants on the island. Or maybe you will take a lobster picnic to one of the beaches, all of which are open to the public on Nantucket, and many of which are accessible from the bike paths that criss-cross the island. If you stay at home, make yourself comfortable on the wrap-around deck, play the piano in the living room, use your computer (wireless internet works throughout) or the DVD player. The full basement has a washer and dryer. Beach towels, beach chairs, and all linens are there for your use. Haven't you always wanted to come here?

Golf and Tennis and Lecture Series: There are several private and public places to play golf or tennis on Nantucket. Some are available to the public, and some require being invited. Miacomet Golf Course and Nantucket Tennis and Swim Club (both open to the public) are our favorites. Equipment can be rented or your own. You can walk the golf course, which offers 18 holes of links-type sandy play. The views are stunning from many holes.

If you've had enough fun in the sun, you'll be amazed at the variety of lecture topics and famous people who come to speak on Nantucket. On almost any day during the summer months, you can find interesting programs, including musical and theatrical performances. And the venues are interesting, too: old churches and meeting houses, restored homes from centuries ago.

Water Activities: Nantucket's beaches are justifiably renowned. First, they are available to everyone--no beach is restricted on Nantucket. Second, the whole island is a beach--360 degrees of sand around you. And third, they are some of the prettiest dunes in the world. Think of a beach photo with rosa ragosas and blowing grasses and maybe a dune fence, and it was probably taken on Nantucket, especially if it has a harbor or ferry boat or lighthouse in the background. That's why you'll see families having portrait photos taken so often on the beaches.

If you leave the beach for the water, you can fish (blue fish and swordfish are famous here), wind surf, kayak, sail (laser to 12 meter), water ski, or go whale watching. Or you can take the kids to the beach play areas at Children's Beach or Jetties Beach, and laze away the hours at a calm Nantucket Sound beach. Your teens will prefer the waves and snack bar at Surfside Beach on the Atlantic side of the island, where the action is hipper.

Culture, History, and Food: It is hard to over-state what Nantucket has to offer. The Whaling Museum, show-casing artifacts and educational displays about the island's whaling history is among the finest in the world. Scrimshaw and Melville artifacts are second to none. The Atheneum (library) hosted Frederick Douglas (Black Abolitionist) in one of his first speeches, and that's where Maria Mitchell (first female astronomer) worked. You can see the offices of the shipping company that owned the Boston Tea--before it was dumped into the Bay during a famous party.... Lucretia Mott, feminist who promoted women's suffrage, and Benjamin Franklin's mother, were born and lived here.

The restaurants are so numerous it would take more than a full summer to sample them all, and the quality is exceedingly high. Most take reservations. The only real problem is deciding which ones you'll go to! When you want to stay home, there are several wonderful seafood stores where you can purchase fresh fish and lobster.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 176060 in Nantucket Town, Massachusetts

Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
business
Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176060
Nantucket Town Nantucket
5

ONCE AGAIN DELIGHTED!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I and our two teenage sons (18 and 15) very recently spent another delightful week on Nantucket. This is the third summer that we have rented this particular home. I had written a review in the past, but felt compelled to write once again. There are truly no words to describe Nantucket and the sense of peace, contentment and sheer joy that being there brings. Too many things to mention, but to talk about a few...the glorious night sky, the most beautiful beaches, the bull frogs lulling you to sleep at night, the fireflies and numerous birds in the thickets on the property, the ocean breeze, the family of rabbits on the property, the amazing gardens, gorgeous architecture and sense of history...were all thoroughly enjoyed by us. There are great bike trails, great restaurants and shops, and a very fun place to visit is Cisco Brewery/Nantucket Vineyards/Triple Eight Distillery. We can only hope to have the opportunity to return to such an enchanted Island!
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176060
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Charming, quiet, and convenient accurately describe this beautiful cottage property! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here over Thanksgiving of 2011, while visiting my sisters and their families. The only glitch I experienced was in getting connected to the Wi-Fi. Otherwise, I was very satisfied with my stay and the level of communication with Nancy before and after my visit. The highlight of this property for me was stopping to admire the stars from the back deck every evening. I know that Nantucket is one of THE best places in the northeastern US to view the night sky, and the view from here was nothing short of incredible! Thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're very glad you enjoyed the starry sky. Because we are on the outskirts of town, away from most of the lights, I think it's particularly spectacular. The Milky Way is often so broad and bright just overhead; sometimes when we come home we don't go right in the house, but head for the chairs on the back deck, let our eyes adjust from the car lights, lean back, and wonder at it all. I'm so sorry about the wireless glitch; you were good to let us know, so we could take care of the problem. We're happy you were able to spend Thanksgiving with your family, and in such a quintessential New England setting!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176060
Nantucket Town Nantucket
5

Perfect for family with 2 kids

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
"We had a lovely time. The set-up was perfect for us: two boys in the twin bedroom and us in the queen. We never used the inside shower! The kitchen was equipped perfectly for all our cooking--even LOBSTER night! We were so grateful to have a home that wasn't too expensive and met all of our needs."
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hearing from guests like you reminds us of why even after all these years, our annual family vacation at our Nantucket home is one of the highlights of the year. Where else do you get to shower under the stars, but still sleep in your queen bed (with a new mattress last year!)? Where else can you go down to the docks to buy lobsters, put the big lobster pot on to boil, and then use those fun claw crackers and little forks to eat your absolute fill, all while out on the deck overlooking the pond and watching the sun set? Quintessentially Nantucket!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176060
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Marshfield, MA
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful time staying here and it was perfect for my husband and 2 kids. It was clean, neat and had everything you needed, plus a great yard for the kids. We were able to bike to town and yet felt away from it all. It also was very quiet which we liked. We would definitely come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Your review reminds me of the time I had both kids almost ready for bed when we spotted a huge turtle making its way from the pond in the back yard through the side yard and towards the front of the house. They of course had to get in pj's and go outside to cheer Mr. Turtle on his very slow way! They were so delighted, and gleefully danced around the yard in the twilight. And just this past year, these same grown-up kids brought a badminton set, put it in the front yard, and had several nights of vigorous play after dinner. All in all, we agree that the yard adds something immeasurable to our Nantucket home. You were great guests, and we hope you come back, too.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176060
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Brookline, MA
5

Nantucket Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I've stayed at this house twice with friends and we loved it! It offers all of the charm and convenience advertised. We were able to walk to town (cab rides are inexpensive too). We enjoyed grilling and hanging out on the deck which overlooks a pond and if you’re lucky like us you’ll spot a family of ducks and hear a bullfrog. The house is clean and well kept in a quiet neighborhood. The owners are very nice to work with and the house has all of the amenities we needed. I hope to return again and would highly recommend this home for your next stay on Nantucket!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you, as we did, have fallen in love with Nantucket! Your choice to come in early summer and to take in the Fagawi sailboat races is a wise one, and we want to make sure you know about the other draws at other times: the Wine Festival, the Film Festival, July 4th spectacular, Boston Pops weekend, Family Sandcastle Contest, the comet shower in August, Christmas Stroll.... About grilling and eating on the deck: we are here now, and we've done that for the past two nights. It was such fun and easy to do-- fresh produce from Bartlett Farm and fresh fish from Sayle's Seafood. We hope you found the spice cabinet and the grilling tools useful, and saw that there is an extra gas tank so the fun never has to stop! We genuinely want our guests to have a good time, so being helpful (whether about restaurants, how to get to the island, what to bring, etc.) is easy.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176060
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Eden, NY
4

Wonderful Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We have strong family ties to Nantucket, and since losing a wonderful family member who had resided on the Island, decided to make a return trip. The home is in a perfect location, very central to beaches and the historic town. It is in a very quiet location, with a bordering pond and wonderful wildlife. We have stayed at the home for a week in July the past two summers and have only taken our bikes across on the ferry. We have been able to easily grocery shop, head to the beaches, spend some awesome time in town and tour around easily by bike. The home has all you need for a beach vacation, and the owner is very responsive to questions of any nature.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We were so glad to hear from you. Having families return summer after summer is one of our goals: it´s nice for you-- the familiarity with the house and location, and it´s nice for us--knowing that you are having the vacation you want. We are great bicycle fans, too. Being near the bike paths, both north-south and east-west, encourages that for sure. And as you mention, I´m only too happy to share our knowledge of the island with our visitors.
business
Charming AND Convenient, Quiet AND Close to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p176060
Nantucket Town Nantucket
Venice, FL
5

A wonderful home located on the perfect Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
The quiet beauty and peace of the Island are very settling to the soul. We loved your home and enjoyed all of its conveniences. We can now look forward to our next visit guaranteed by the pennies we left at Brant Point! This home is very comfortable and has all of the conveniences you would hope for. It is in a quiet setting, centrally located, close to town and close to all of the wonderful beaches of Nantucket. The owners were very easy to work with and the home is well maintained by conscientious caretakers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Glenn, for your kind words. We enjoy sharing our home with travelers like you, who clearly treasure the unique aspects of Nantucket and who want to stay in a place that has a warm and relaxing atmosphere. We try hard to make it the kind of place we ourselves feel comfortable, and we get to do that each year when our family gathers for our own Nantucket vacation. Seeing it from that perspective I think gives us insight into what needs to be done to update and keep fresh all aspects of what tenants want. We hope those pennies you threw from the ferry boat on your departure will, indeed, bring you back!
Helpful votes: 1/1