Very negative experience
I had a very negative experience.
1 - I am local & was interested in staying for a month, so requested to see it before renting. I was told I could see it on Mon., but then owner did not return my phone calls until Tues. I was out of town, so my boyfriend agreed to go look at it for me. She was an hour late & only showed after he called. She said she had forgotten.
2 -A week into my stay, the owner called 3 times within a 1/2 hour leaving increasingly disturbing messages about my dog barking. She said the neighbors complained & she had been outside for 2 hours listening to him. I had not been gone for 2 hours so that was not factual. Further, I work from home & he rarely barks. She also said she had gone inside. I am not clear why she would enter if her complaint was about barking. Other reviews indicated she did the same thing, so be forewarned she will enter at will. While inside she adjusted my thermostat from 70 to 63.
4 - After I left, I received 2 phone calls accusing me of changing the lock box & threatening to file an incident report with VRBO. I responded that I had not changed it. She said her records indicated I was using one of two codes neither of which was the code she had actually given me. She never apologized.
1 - The unit is not clean. The kitchen drawers are grimy inside & the molding and vents are thick with dust. The sofas are stained & there is a taped up broken window. The main issue was the sheets. When I pulled back the sheets on the 1st night, they looked dirty but I made an assumption that they were clean, just stained. Bad assumption. The next day I washed them & they came clean. I won't put in the review what they were stained with, but you get the idea.
2 - The bed was sagging horribly in the middle. If two people sleep in it, you roll towards each other.
3 - The shower is extremely small & low. If you are over 5' 6", you will be standing over the shower head. That may be preferable to having the water shoot directly in your face which you cannot escape b/c the shower is so small.
4 - There is no chest of drawers to unpack or a luggage rack. When I asked about this, I was told it was not that type of rental. Even hotels have chests in them.
5 - The unit is poorly stocked, for example only 5 forks an no lamp in the living room.
6 - If you have a pet, read the lease. Your pet must be constrained to the non-carpeted areas when you leave. That is only the kitchen which TINY.
Owner's Response: We regret to have to respond in a public manner to the above complaint, but want to address the issues made in this review. We value our guests’ perspectives and do everything in our power to ensure that their stay is enjoyable. We make every effort to accommodate special requests, and in fact did so in allowing a large dog to stay on the property with the assurance that it would not create a disturbance to other tenants on the property. After receiving barking complaints from the other tenant and witnessing the barking ourselves during routine maintenance of the other unit we were left with no option but to bring the issue to the attention of the guest. The issue was not well received by this individual.
Each rental is professionally cleaned after each visit, and any issues that are brought to our attention are immediately addressed to the satisfaction of our guests. Unfortunately this guest never contacted us during her stay to highlight these perceived issues and instead chose to write this negative review. Since this rental both beds have been replaced with new beds and the rental has been deep cleaned again. The sheets were inspected and found to be stained with Bleach, and have been replaced.
Again, we respect the perspective of our guests and work diligently to use all feedback to improve the property. We have decided to re-commit to our long standing restriction on large dogs on the property as the effort required us to re-habilitate the property after their visit which was prohibitively expensive.
Helpful votes: 4/4
Did you find this review helpful?