Golden house rental - Living Area
Living Area
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Golden House Rental Photos and Description
Duplex - 2 Bedrooms + 2 Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 6-7)

This beautiful home overlooks charming downtown Golden. Nestled at the base of the foothills west of Denver, Golden offers fine dining, shopping, and an endless number of outdoor activities. Golden is laced with walking and biking trails, allowing you to explore the foothills of Colorado or take a leisurely stroll along the beautiful Clear Creek River to watch the kayakers play in the tumbling waters.

Ready for refreshment? Grab a tube and float down the river to the Coors Brewery where an exciting tour and cold brew await. Golden boasts ten museums, numerous restaurants, and even an alpine slide and water park. If the snow is falling a short drive up the mountain will put you in the best ski country in the West. If you're feeling lucky, gambling in historic Central City is only minutes away.

Need a big city fix? Downtown Denver is fifteen minutes away, and offers everything you could ever need.

We have 2 additional vacation rentals in Golden as well so if this property is showing booked please send and email to enquire on our other properties.

More Details
Hide Details

Casey & Tamara have owned the property since 2007 and have been managing the duplex style home ever since. The Charming Townhouse has been a vacation rental since the purchase of the property and in late 2009 they also turned the second unit (the Comfy Cottage)into a vacation rental as well. Casey and Tamara take great pride in their rentals and hope that our renters feel the passion that we have for the property.

Tamara Meeks purchased this house in 2006

We have always loved Golden and when we decided to purchase a rental property here location was very important to us. We wanted a house that was within walking distance to downtown Golden but located in a quiet family friendly neighborhood.

17 Reviews of Property 175795 in Golden, Colorado

$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
average rating of 4.352941 based on 17 reviews
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
5

Felt like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband, two year old daughter and myself stayed in this property for a week and loved it! We used to live in Golden, actually only a couple of blocks away, and found the location and feel of the place just perfect for us. There was plenty of room for us and our stuff. My daughter loved the bathtub with feet and the owner even supplied some toys for her. Parking was easy, the place was very clean and well-kept, and the view of the foothills was great. We had some confusion getting into the lockbox with the key in it upon our arrival date. We attempted to contact Tamara, but when we couldn't get ahold of her after a couple of hours we tried the emergency contact number she gave us, which was her husband, and he cleared things up for us right away. She later stopped by just to check and make sure we got in okay. They were both very pleasant, and we knew if we had any issues we would have been comfortable contacting them again. Otherwise they left us alone to our vacation, which made the place feel like our own apartment for a week. The only recommendations I would make to the owners would be to get a door for the shower. The curtain is small and doesn't extend all the way on both sides of the small shower, and I felt like I was getting water all over the floor outside the shower, which over time will damage the floor. Also we tried to grill out one night and the propane tank was stuck shut. There are not any tools in the house to try and pry it open, maybe leave a wrench and screw driver in the kitchen for future renters. We were also pleasantly surprised with all of the kitchen amenities. There was plenty to use to cook and eat with, also came with a full spice rack, sugar, and coffee. Our stay at this house was fantastic, and we highly recommend it to others, especially small families. We will most definitely be contacting these owners and renting this place again for future vacations.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I checked the grill and have fixed the propane issue. Thank you also for bringing it to my attention that there are no tools. I have replaced the missing tools and the shower curtain for future guests. I am so happy to hear that you and your family had a great trip.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
5

Great Location/Easy Management

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We arrived and found the house to be clean and well appointed. We were traveling to visit our daughter what attends college in Colorado. No itinerary, just some family time together. Enjoyed the large screen TV as the Winter Olympics were in full swing!! Usually don't watch much TV during holidays, but the Olympics are, well, the Olympics. Not the fanciest place we've stayed but for the price we were very comfortable. The unit is well off the street and very quite for sleeping. Suited our chilled out weekend needs very nicely. Just a quick jot up the street to downtown Golden. Definitely a walkable distance in warmer weather.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
4

We love Golden!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I traveled to golden to explore the area, were there several days and loved the house and Golden.

I found the unit to be quite clean. The sheets were a bit wrinkled, but for the price we weren’t looking to stay someplace with starched sheets! I particularly enjoyed soaking in the large claw foot bathtub, a feature you don’t find in many places anymore.

I found the kitchen to be stocked full of cooking gadgets. I had everything I needed to prepare our meals. There was even a blender for our cocktails!

We enjoyed our stay, and overall, found it to be a great little “mountain retreat”!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
1

Very negative experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I had a very negative experience.
Owner issues:
1 - I am local & was interested in staying for a month, so requested to see it before renting. I was told I could see it on Mon., but then owner did not return my phone calls until Tues. I was out of town, so my boyfriend agreed to go look at it for me. She was an hour late & only showed after he called. She said she had forgotten.
2 -A week into my stay, the owner called 3 times within a 1/2 hour leaving increasingly disturbing messages about my dog barking. She said the neighbors complained & she had been outside for 2 hours listening to him. I had not been gone for 2 hours so that was not factual. Further, I work from home & he rarely barks. She also said she had gone inside. I am not clear why she would enter if her complaint was about barking. Other reviews indicated she did the same thing, so be forewarned she will enter at will. While inside she adjusted my thermostat from 70 to 63.
4 - After I left, I received 2 phone calls accusing me of changing the lock box & threatening to file an incident report with VRBO. I responded that I had not changed it. She said her records indicated I was using one of two codes neither of which was the code she had actually given me. She never apologized.
Unit issues:
1 - The unit is not clean. The kitchen drawers are grimy inside & the molding and vents are thick with dust. The sofas are stained & there is a taped up broken window. The main issue was the sheets. When I pulled back the sheets on the 1st night, they looked dirty but I made an assumption that they were clean, just stained. Bad assumption. The next day I washed them & they came clean. I won't put in the review what they were stained with, but you get the idea.
2 - The bed was sagging horribly in the middle. If two people sleep in it, you roll towards each other.
3 - The shower is extremely small & low. If you are over 5' 6", you will be standing over the shower head. That may be preferable to having the water shoot directly in your face which you cannot escape b/c the shower is so small.
4 - There is no chest of drawers to unpack or a luggage rack. When I asked about this, I was told it was not that type of rental. Even hotels have chests in them.
5 - The unit is poorly stocked, for example only 5 forks an no lamp in the living room.
6 - If you have a pet, read the lease. Your pet must be constrained to the non-carpeted areas when you leave. That is only the kitchen which TINY.
Owner's Response: We regret to have to respond in a public manner to the above complaint, but want to address the issues made in this review. We value our guests’ perspectives and do everything in our power to ensure that their stay is enjoyable. We make every effort to accommodate special requests, and in fact did so in allowing a large dog to stay on the property with the assurance that it would not create a disturbance to other tenants on the property. After receiving barking complaints from the other tenant and witnessing the barking ourselves during routine maintenance of the other unit we were left with no option but to bring the issue to the attention of the guest. The issue was not well received by this individual.
Each rental is professionally cleaned after each visit, and any issues that are brought to our attention are immediately addressed to the satisfaction of our guests. Unfortunately this guest never contacted us during her stay to highlight these perceived issues and instead chose to write this negative review. Since this rental both beds have been replaced with new beds and the rental has been deep cleaned again. The sheets were inspected and found to be stained with Bleach, and have been replaced.
Again, we respect the perspective of our guests and work diligently to use all feedback to improve the property. We have decided to re-commit to our long standing restriction on large dogs on the property as the effort required us to re-habilitate the property after their visit which was prohibitively expensive.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
5

nice spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great little spot near downtown Golden, walkable to downtown, mountains and Denver easily accessible - no problems and sure beats a hotel for a relaxing stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
Norman,Oklahoma/USA
5

Fun in Golden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a great experience! This was our first time to use VRBO and we loved it. The owners could not have been more accommodating. We would definitely rent this again. It is small, not many frills but we really enjoyed the yard and grill. Golden is a wonderful community. So much to see and do and this location is perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
Boynton Beach, FL, USA
2

Golden

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We rented this property for the last week in June. It was our 6th VRBO rental and the first disappointment. My main complaint is the place wasn't clean. The owner mentioned she was having problems with the cleaning person who works for her, but that is not an excuse for the way the house was. It was quite evident that it has been a while before the place has been given a good cleaning. The refrigerator had a drawer that had some kind of stuff stuck to it. When I went under the sink looking for a drainboard...it was covered with what looked like mouse or some insect or creature droppings. I didn't feel comfortable cooking there. There are a lot of cosmetic repairs needed and the carpet is badly stained in the dining area. One of the windows in the living room had a crack that was taped up.

On the positive side, the view was great from the yard (good from inside too ... but would have been better with clean windows). The a/c and plumbing worked well and it was in a good location. It was quiet except when the other apartment in the duplex was occupied....when they used their shower, it sounded like it was in the same apartment. I had no complaints about the furniture. The bedrooms were small with limited storage place, but we worked around it. While we didn't find it walkable to downtown...it would be if you are a walker. We drove in and had no problems finding parking.

The welcome basket mentioned under amenities did not exist....not a deal breaker, but that should be removed from the website. We paid a significant amount for both a pet and a cleaning fee. I felt that it was a lot considering the place wasn't clean. Usually a pet fee is charged because a deeper cleaning is required to remove any pet hairs in case future renters have allergies. I have a little dog that barely sheds. I did email the owner about these issues and about being charged the fees, but she never responded. The apartment isn't that large and for the fees involved, it should have been sparkling clean! I have never minded paying the fees for other rentals because I like being greeted by a nice clean place to stay.

I wouldn't stay there again.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review of our rental. While it is not always easy to receive negative feedback on one of our rentals, that feedback enables us to evaluate and modify our transition work flows between rentals and plan for future updates. We pride ourselves on maintaining clean, comfortable, and safe properties for our guests.

We always ask our guests to call us at any time during their stay should they feel something needs to be repaired, or a problem needs resolution. Unfortunately, sending an e-mail after the experience doesn not allow us the opportunity to rectify the situation.

Thank you again for your feedback, each item that you mentioned has been resolved.

Tamara Meeks
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
Colorado
5

Event Coordinator

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This home is a wonderful location and setting for small events. The property has a lovely yard, full kitchen, and plenty of indoor space to accommodate events, while the hosts can enjoy remaining on the property like it is their home. The owner is extremely helful and supportive in creating an environment that is comfortable and appropriate for the occasion, while assisting with the setup to ensure the events success. I recommend this home for guests hosting a small event, enjoying the surroundings of Colorado, or just spending some time in a lovely home and environment.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
Kearney, Nebraska
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Renting this lovely house was a wonderful experience. Great location. Great accommodations. It was nice just to hang out with for the weekend while we did some sight seeing in Colorado.This was so much better than a hotel. We will definately do this again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
$100/nt - Charming Townhome in downtown Golden, Mtn. Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175795
+1 720 220-9143
Golden Denver Area
United States
5

Lovely upper level duplex, close to downtown

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Very nice place. Views are heavenly, but then so are the stairs here. Many but parking behind duplex is very easy.. every detail there is well attended to. Rented it for my sister and my brother for they were visiting for a family reunion. Close to everything as well. REally convenient for visitors wanting a mountain/front range xperience close to the big city. I think so much nicer than staying in Denver. Being able to walk to most of the historic parts of Golden is fun.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1