Mendocino house rental - Hot tub and deck with panoramic view of the Pacific
Hot tub and deck with panoramic view of the Pacific
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
Two bedroom two bath, sleeps four

Whitewater Cove is a unique and desirable oceanfront vacation property, located on a bluff overlooking beautiful Whitewater Cove in the quaint village of Elk, 15 miles south of Mendocino. Private gated 1/2 acre landscaped lot, fully equipped kitchen with everything needed for the gourmet cook. Full rock wall fireplace for cozy fires, exceptionally clean and comfortable for that perfect coastal getaway vacation. The views are exceptional with unobstructed whitewater views both north and south along the Mendocino coast.

Enjoy the peace and solitude of Elk and escape the crowds of Ft Bragg/Mendocino! Prime whale watching from the deck.

40 Reviews of Property 175748 in Mendocino, California

Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
average rating of 5.0 based on 40 reviews
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
Where do you live?
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Wow! Now we're cooking with peanut oil! First off, we own a vacation rental in the Sierra's in the Stanislaus National forest, which backs up to SPI ( Sierra Pacific Industry) and National Forest property that is totally private from the back of the cabin. We rarely rent other places because we cannot find the kind of privacy in which we are accustomed to with ours. Not so with this property!!! We had an incredible time! The sounds of the ocean, the outdoor shower (which I now have to plan for at our current property as well as any future properties, because he loved it so much), and the fact that we were able to walk away from technology (with the exception that I did have to do a couple of urgent meetings while there) felt so remote and so awesome that we were truly in a different world!!
Thank you! This was the relaxing long weekend that we were in need of, and I'm embarrassed to say that we did sleep through a lot of it, we were able to sleep, which says a lot! We wanted down time, and we got it. We also hiked down the beach from Elk, when whale watching in Fort Bragg (got t see Grey Whales mating..which was awesome at 20 years), and just had a good time by ourselves. We will be back! We have the mountains whenever we want, but having the option of the ocean is amazing!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Very Enjoyable Holiday - Especially for those from the Great White North

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This home is truly amazing and situated right on the coastal cliffs. Flip a stone and its in the ocean. Clean, well laid out and all the amenities needed to enjoy a restful vacation. The little things stand out in this home - binoculars, guide books, spices, coffee, tea, firewood, matches, etc etc.
We were well situated to travel to many varied and interesting venues and activities along the coast - redwood forests, whale watching, botanical gardens, tidal pools, beaches to explore, hiking trails, the list goes on - and we didn't do everything that we could have.
We enjoyed the hot tub on several occasions and enjoyed looking up at the stars.
Quiet, restful, neat, clean, well outfitted, good quality. You won't be disappointed if you go here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Unsurpassed Experience on the Sea!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a wonderful 5 days!!! The property is beautiful and without doubt THE nicest and well-kept of any we have yet experienced through VRBO. The owner's attention to detail and thoughtful set-up for guests is 5-star hotel quality. Everything just seemed brand-new and so clean and bright. The fireplace was ready for us to light and enjoy with the gift of nice wine on the table. We loved having a hot-tub at the ocean's edge. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
Fair Oaks
5

The Honeymooner's!

The Honeymooner's!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
~If you are looking for a little piece of heaven
~ Front row seat of the Pacific
~ Privacy
~ Total comfort
~ Fully equipped kitchen with high end gadgets, everything you need - just like home!
~ Cozy retreat ideal for sharing with your loved one
Then this is the place for you!

The White Water Cove was the PERFECT place for our honeymoon!!

The hot tub was already heated when we arrived; we enjoyed it every morning and at sunset too along with the outdoor shower ~ totally private location.

We loved it so much we are already making reservations next year for our first anniversary!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
Ontario, Canada
5

A wonderful property, the view says it all.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at Elk house for 3 nights and did not want to leave. The house had everything we needed plus more. The views were absolutely amazing especially from the upper bedroom. Could not have asked for anything better! The beds were wonderful. The house was warm and comfortable and the art was amazing! Had a fire every evening and enjoyed the hot tub overlooking the Pacific. It was truly one of the best VRBO homes I have stayed in and I have stayed in many around the world. Only 20 minutes from the charming town of Mendocino with many shops and restaurants.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Heaven on earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
When you open the double gates and drive in, you see lush greenery and my favorite flowers, the hydrangea. You walk onto the deck, and the sound of the ocean immediately relaxes you. The views are breathtaking. The home itself is quite lovely and comfortable. I felt at home pretty quickly. The kitchen is bigger than I thought and very nicely equipped. There is even a mixer should you want to bake something. Also, there are basics like coffee, sugar, salt, pepper and a few spices, even flour. The owners did an amazing job at thinking about little things too, starting with a lovely complimentary local bottle of wine, a welcome note and little things around the home. The home has a few extra touches you'll have to see for yourself... Don't want to give away all the little surprises. I usually have trouble sleeping, but I slept through the night all 5 nights we were there. The bed was comfortable and cozy. The views from the loft were breathtaking. It was such a romantic vacation, my husband and I were actually sad to leave. Normally we are ready to go home from a vacation, but we wanted to move right in! We made some lovely memories. If you are thinking of renting in the area, this is the place. LOVED IT!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
Sherman Oaks, Calif., USA
5

Bliss at Whitewater

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We have rented over 25 homes in Europe and California. Whitewater tops the list in terms of comfort, overall beauty, with endless views of ocean bluffs, sea life and white foamed waves from just about every window, as well as from the deck and hot tub. Complete privacy afforded us the opportunity to be in our own world, with the only sound being that of the waves at high tide. The kitchen was equipped to gourmet standards; we cooked in all seven days of our stay. The bed, linens, towels, etc. we're of the highest standard and comfort. There was endless easy lighting firewood, DVDs, CDs, "dish" TV, etc. Nothing was lacking. Great walks were quite near. It was like having our own world for a week and we look forwards to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
United States
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a place! Gorgeous views, beautiful house, great deck and an amazing location. If you are looking for the perfect place to relax and re cooperate, this is it. If you need something more active than whale watching, gazing at the ocean and comparing sunsets from the deck, there are also some nice wineries, redwoods and parks nearby. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
Napa, CA
5

M+J

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
It exceeded our expectations in all areas, the house, the deck, the views and the charm.
As experienced renters of VRBO, we put this place on top of our list. We cannot wait to
go back. The house is clean, the kitchen well equipped, Ann (the Owner) is so nice and easy to deal with.
We were greeted by dolphins playing in the ocean right below the deck, falcons flying over our heads
and the sound of the waves.
What a place! Thank you for sharing your little piece of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Dramatic, Private Oceanfront Home, Hot Tub Overlooking the Pacific
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175748
Mendocino North Coast California
Encinitas, CA
5

Sensational!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We spent three fabulous days at Whitewater Cove. The place is totally amazing. The location right on the cliff edge could not be more spectacular. But what is equally important is the quality and amenities the house provides. It is spotlessly clean and totally charming. It is casual but elegant all in one breath. The kitchen provides everything a passionate cook could want along with an incredible view. There is a nice selection of plates, tableware and pots and pans. The dining room is better than any restaurant. The view is just breathtaking and we set a beautiful table each night. The fireplace lent a special ambiance and added just that nice touch of warmth on cool nights. The bed and linens were very comfortable. It is wonderful to pull through the gate, close it behind you and become one with the coast and the property. I can recommend all aspects of this vrbo and we are looking forward to returning as soon as our busy life allows! Thank you Kim and Mike for everything you did to make our three days so memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3