Family Vacation group of 12
Due to an unexpected knee/leg surgery, 1 member in our party ended up being on a walker. I called 1 week prior to see if the home had a recliner, steps to enter the home, main floor full bath & parking close to the house etc. I was told there was only 1 step, a full bath and a recliner was in the home. During the initial walk thru with the caretaker, my impression was good. We were then informed the recliner was broken. The main floor bath was not user friendly for a walker. This was very upsetting for the person being homebound for the week! We were also told the ice maker in the kitchen refrigerator was broken. During our first evening we also discovered the dvd player would not play any of our movies, the dishwasher & the freezer leak. Several lights did not work or had burnt out light bulbs. The basement tub would not hold water for a bath. The livingroom furniture was VERY worn, dated & VERY uncomfortable. We were hoping to eat our dinners on the screened patio but the tables and chairs were very greasey (from the grill) and dirty (had not been cleaned good in a long time). We looked for a bucket to use for cleaning ourselves but never located one. The kitchen was not stocked well enough for large meals. We only had one large cook pot. We had to wash the 5 kitchen towels each night and the 2 potholders were very soiled and greasey. Most dishes we washed "before" use. The entire home needs a major cleaning. (lights, ceiling fans, baseboards behind beds, windows, kitchen appliances, etc...) For the amount of money we were charged, the home needed way too many repairs and cleaning. The firepit was located so far down the hill, we never used it. A nightmare to safely walk to and carry food in the dark. As an FYI, the photos of the steps to the dock were deceiving. There were 100 wood, uneven steps from the deck of the home to the dock. The 19 year old in our family was even wore out climbing them after boating and my 76 year old parents only made the climb to go boating once. The positive things about the Catfish Cove was the large gas grill, the ice maker on the deck, the second refrigerator in the basement, the electric griddle, parking, and the large upstairs bedroom. The new caretaker was very nice, but we felt like it was not fair to complain to her for things that have been ignored much longer than she has been employed. We enjoyed the lake & may return to Lake Barkley, but we will not be staying at Catfish Cove.
Owner's Response: This is a rental home that is booked throughout the summer and many weekends during the off season. Due to it's high use, things do break! However, as soon as we are made aware of any problem - it is resolved. We have replaced the recliner with a large chair, installed a new refridgerator, and fixed the leaks. We installed a steel railing along the steps down to the lake last year to make the walk easier. Our own family uses the home and we have 3 year-olds thru 70 year-olds who can walk up/down to the dock/house without difficulty. We typically get compliments on our kitchen and hear that it is better stocked than most people's kitchens at homes. We have large pots, pans, blender, coffee maker, electric griddle, waffle maker, 3 gallon ice tea maker, dishwasher, and two fridges/freezers. We are consistently cleaning/renovating in order to make a perfect vacation house to ensure our guests have a great stay.
Helpful votes: 6/6
Did you find this review helpful?