Lake Barkley house rental - Rear view- two level screened-in deck.
Rear view- two level screened-in deck.
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps18
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lake Barkley House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 12-18)

Great for kids!! This is a very spacious 6 bedroom home located on a peaceful cove of beautiful Lake Barkley in Cadiz, Kentucky. The home is in a quiet and wooded setting with scenic views and private covered two-slip boat dock on Lake Barkley.

There are two large screened and covered decks for dining or just relaxing with a serene view of the cove without distraction, with a large gas grill on the top deck. Enjoy built-in wooden benches around a fire ring down by the lake.

The top level features 2 bedrooms with 2 full baths: 1 Master Suite with king bed, private deck and Full Bath with Jacuzzi tub, and 1 full bedroom with separate bath. Main floor includes Kitchen, 8 bed 'bunk room', one queen bedroom, Living Room, Dining Room and 1 Full Bath. Lower level offers 2 bedrooms (1 Queen and 1 Full), 1 full bath and a activity room with TV.

Additionally, with kids in mind, there is a small camping cabin outside with 3 bunk beds and sleeps 6. It is fully screened and has electric run to it too.

*PLEASE EMAIL OWNER PRIOR TO CALLING AS THIS IS THE FASTEST WAY TO GET A RESPONSE. IF YOU DO CALL, PLEASE BE RESPECTFUL AND DO NOT CALL TOO EARLY OR TOO LATE AS THIS IS A FAMILY'S HOME*

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 175730 in Lake Barkley, Kentucky

''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Franklin TN
4

Thanksgiving trip

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
House was perfect for my family. Disappointed that fireplace didn't work and downstairs was cold.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
5

Great family getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We hosted a family event and I worked out great. Top notch accommodations. Speculatting on the mystery of the painting above the fireplace is worth a visit.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Belleville, IL
5

Family Affair

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My brother booked this house for a family get-together and we had 4 families comfortably housed. Aging in range from 5 to 75 this house had it all! Many memories were made and we are all planning on a return next year as well. The kitchen was so well stocked I cannot think of a thing we could have needed that it didn't have. The waffle maker became the hit of the weekend, as did the painting in the family room. I would actually love to know the name of the painting to see if I could find replicas of it for Christmas gifts. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Tennessee
5

WONDERFUL MEMORIES MADE HERE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family of...6 adults and 4 children, just returned from spending a fabulous time at Catfish Cove. For the past 36+ years, as our family yearly tradition, we have spent each and every Labor Day week-end vacationing in and around the Lake Barkley area region! This, by far, was the best time we have EVER had. The home met our needs perfectly and we couldn't have wished for anything more. The minute we walked in, we sensed that this house was filled with love...in that it immediately felt like home. Our grandchildren had a wonderful time, trying to decide which 'bunk' bed would be there's! The home was so spacious, that we never felt crowded! We each had our own space and....then some! Everyone one loved the two huge covered porches, and we spent lots of fun time there having our meals, in the evening, at 'Catfish Cove Cafe', as our grandchildren quickly named it! The kitchen was so well stocked, that we felt like we could have prepared any type of meal that our hearts desired. Pat, the new caretaker was so easy to work with and made our checking in so easy. We were also lucky enough to meet Jim, the former caretaker, who was so kind and friendly, and so much fun to talk with! Again...we want to thank the owners, of Catfish Cove, for making this one of our the most memorable and BEST vacations ever. Thank you...for sharing your beautiful home with us. Hopefully, we left behind some of the JOY and LAUGHTER that our family felt, while there, to share with you! We do intend to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Indianapolis, IN
3

Family Vacation group of 12

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Due to an unexpected knee/leg surgery, 1 member in our party ended up being on a walker. I called 1 week prior to see if the home had a recliner, steps to enter the home, main floor full bath & parking close to the house etc. I was told there was only 1 step, a full bath and a recliner was in the home. During the initial walk thru with the caretaker, my impression was good. We were then informed the recliner was broken. The main floor bath was not user friendly for a walker. This was very upsetting for the person being homebound for the week! We were also told the ice maker in the kitchen refrigerator was broken. During our first evening we also discovered the dvd player would not play any of our movies, the dishwasher & the freezer leak. Several lights did not work or had burnt out light bulbs. The basement tub would not hold water for a bath. The livingroom furniture was VERY worn, dated & VERY uncomfortable. We were hoping to eat our dinners on the screened patio but the tables and chairs were very greasey (from the grill) and dirty (had not been cleaned good in a long time). We looked for a bucket to use for cleaning ourselves but never located one. The kitchen was not stocked well enough for large meals. We only had one large cook pot. We had to wash the 5 kitchen towels each night and the 2 potholders were very soiled and greasey. Most dishes we washed "before" use. The entire home needs a major cleaning. (lights, ceiling fans, baseboards behind beds, windows, kitchen appliances, etc...) For the amount of money we were charged, the home needed way too many repairs and cleaning. The firepit was located so far down the hill, we never used it. A nightmare to safely walk to and carry food in the dark. As an FYI, the photos of the steps to the dock were deceiving. There were 100 wood, uneven steps from the deck of the home to the dock. The 19 year old in our family was even wore out climbing them after boating and my 76 year old parents only made the climb to go boating once. The positive things about the Catfish Cove was the large gas grill, the ice maker on the deck, the second refrigerator in the basement, the electric griddle, parking, and the large upstairs bedroom. The new caretaker was very nice, but we felt like it was not fair to complain to her for things that have been ignored much longer than she has been employed. We enjoyed the lake & may return to Lake Barkley, but we will not be staying at Catfish Cove.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: This is a rental home that is booked throughout the summer and many weekends during the off season. Due to it's high use, things do break! However, as soon as we are made aware of any problem - it is resolved. We have replaced the recliner with a large chair, installed a new refridgerator, and fixed the leaks. We installed a steel railing along the steps down to the lake last year to make the walk easier. Our own family uses the home and we have 3 year-olds thru 70 year-olds who can walk up/down to the dock/house without difficulty. We typically get compliments on our kitchen and hear that it is better stocked than most people's kitchens at homes. We have large pots, pans, blender, coffee maker, electric griddle, waffle maker, 3 gallon ice tea maker, dishwasher, and two fridges/freezers. We are consistently cleaning/renovating in order to make a perfect vacation house to ensure our guests have a great stay.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Dyer Indiana
5

Good week by any measure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family loved the place. 10 kids under age 10; 8 adults and never a dull moment. The house and grounds are well maintained. We never made it to the pool at the state park because we never got tired of life at the Cove. It was too hot all week to use the bunk house but there was ample room inside.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
-
5

Perfect vacation house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We rented this house a few weeks ago and it was perfect! The house sits on a very quiet cove. The adults all had their own bedrooms and the kids (all cousins) had a great time in the bunk room. Plenty of space - we had 12 people and never felt crowded at all. Loved the two screened in porches. The ping pong table, separate ice machine and ice tea maker were great additions.We really enjoyed the fire pit area - so nice to have the bench seating out there. Views were great. We rented the pontoon boat one day and enjoyed it very much. Jim is an excellent caretaker. The walk from the house to the dock was a little longer/steeper than we anticipated, but we all had great leg muscles by the end of the week. LOVED that we had access to the pool at the lodge - although we only went there one day - it was a nice break from the lake water! The only drawback was that the lake itself was not as deep as we prefer - the main channel is deep, but the coves all seemed to be fairly shallow (6ft - 8ft).
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Kentucky
5

Fabulous place to stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We had so much fun and this is a fabulous place to stay....especially with kids and a large group! There were three of us families (11 total) staying at Catfish Cove during Labor Day Weekend. Two sets of families came from Central KY and the other family came from MO. It was so easy to coordinate and plan through Nina and Jim for that weekend. It is very clean, nice and the owners have REALLY THOUGHT THINGS THROUGH TO PROVIDE THEIR GUESTS WITH A VERY ENJOYABLE STAY! We loved all of the following: the camping cabins, playground, plenty of tables and chairs for meals, covered boat dock with electric, and the screened in porches (especially the one downstairs). We loved how there was a kitchenette downstairs with an extra refrigerator.....very handy for the overflow of food and drinks that we took. We ate there the whole weekend. There were more kitchen appliances and utensils than we had anticipated and were not listed in our "welcome papers". We brought a griddle and blender but those were already there. Also, there are plenty of pitchers for tea and drinks. The outdoor firepit area was awesome! There is a place to build a fire and there is a small decking of benches to sit around the fire! We truly enjoyed this layout for smores and hot dogs! We had our own boats to store in the covered dock and truly enjoyed boating on the lake. However, swimming off the dock, fishing and relaxing there was just as enjoyable. The scenery surrounding the cabin is beautiful! We weren't ready to leave and the weekend went by way to quick! We want to go back next year!!! Lastly, like another guests had mentioned in his/her review.....the painting in the great room led to some interesting conversations. :-)
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Pittsburgh, PA
5

A Hot Time at Catfish Cove!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
It was a wonderful week, all except the 100+ temperatures! The house was perfect for our ten grandchildren who are between 11 and 3 months. The layout was especially good for a gathering of so many people. We liked that there were two big tables for meals and games. It was a little too warm to eat outside that week but there was plenty of space for doing that as well. Voted "The Favorite Spot" was the porch swing in spite of the heat. The children will be talking about the fun they had every night in the bunk room! And the painting in the family room sparked some interesting discussions and conjectures...In fact we talked about several of the pieces of art on the walls.

We have never used VRBO before but will use nothing else in the coming years. From talking to Nina and getting her advice at the beginning to meeting Jim who manages the property and is always happy to help, this was a very positive experience.

We also had fun antique-ing in Cadiz. We would highly recommend a restaurant there, rated one of Kentucky's 101 best restaurants. I believe it was called "The Hot Diggety." Also, the pool at the lodge was close by and big! We really enjoyed the day we rented Jim's pontoon boat. In the evening we took it out for a look at the sunset and one of my daughters said that was the highlight of the week for her.

Now, who to complain to about the weather?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
''Catfish Cove'' - Lake Barkley, Cadiz
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175730vbi
+ (317) 730-4326
Lake Barkley Kentucky
New Orleans, LA
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Worth the drive from New Orleans! We had a wonderful vacation and ran out of time before we could experience evrything in the area. The house is fantastic! Impeccably maintained and better supllied than my own kitchen including "real" knives and cuisinart appliances. Plenty of room for three families. We each had our own floor. The caretaler, Jim, is a treasure and even has a boat for rent at the house. We are definitely planning on a return vist!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1