Angel Fire house rental - Back of the house in the winter
Back of the house in the winter
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps13
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Angel Fire House Rental Photos and Description
House - 4 Bedrooms + Bunk Area - 2.5 Baths - (Sleeps 11-13)

Located in Angel Fire, New Mexico, 'Mountain Serenity' is a beautiful luxury mountain home ideal to rent for family vacations. It is a wilderness playground for elk and deer with a large backyard and a forest of trees behind it. The house sleeps up to 13 people with 4 bedrooms and a kids room. It's located just 5 minutes from the ski resort and is close to the golf course. Perfect for families, adults can entertain themselves on the main floor while the children have fun on the bottom gameroom floor that has a TV, DVD player, air hockey table, kids room and large amount of games and toys for the kiddos.

One of the best features of the house is the view from the back deck. There is an expansive view of a greenbelt where all you see are trees, sky and wildlife. The house sleeps up to 13 and has the following configuration: 1 br with King bed, 2 br with Queen beds, 1 br with full-size bed, and a kids room with 1 set of bunks and an elevated twin bed, and a sleeper sofa in the gameroom

It has satellite TV with many family/sports/movies and local channels. Both TVs have DVD players. The stereo has cassette, CD and a connector for an iPod. The house has high speed Internet and wireless DSL. Gameroom has an air hockey table.

It has a huge, family-size dining room that seats 8 and a kitchen table that seats 4.

The house is close to the ski lift, about a 5 min drive.

We have hiking trails adjacent to the house which are great for family walks. Our yard is a nice size to play around - in the summer, it's fun for the kids to explore nature. In the winter, our driveway is perfect for sledriding and the yard perfect for snowmen and snowball fights.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 175635 in Angel Fire, New Mexico

Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
5

Fantastic location, Amazing Home, and Wonderful Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My daughter and I joined friends for a 3-day weekend stay at Mountain Serenity. This was our third trip to Angel Fire and first stay in this home. Our family has rented other homes, but Mountain Serenity tops our experiences!

Of particular note, other homes we've rented felt a bit stifling due to "rules", but Mountain Serenity's subtlety in framing the expectations makes it feel so comfortable and relaxing. The home feels like home; it is in impeccable condition and it's clear to me the owners take great pride in making the stay comfortable.

The kitchen is, by far, the best-stocked you will find at a property. This makes cooking a snap and is more enjoyable.

The location is fantastic- really great to make a quick run to the store when needed, plus it's just a short zip across the street to the ski area.

The kids had a BLAST hanging out with each other in the basement. The set-up there is incredibly spacious and has so much to offer them by way of activity after a day out on the mountain.

The outdoor fire pit was also one of the highlights of the trip.

The view from the livingroom/kitchen is fantastic. Peaceful and beautiful. Though we were there with snow on the ground, I imagine it to be even better for hiking and exploring in the summer.

I have raved to friends and family about how awesome this property is... couldn't let it pass without writing this review. Thanks for making our getaway such an overwhelming success with this beautiful home to come back to each night!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
NEBRASKA
4

Nice house, but dont forget anything

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This house was great for my extended family and family. We had singles, married couples and 5 kids, 5 and under. We had plenty of room. The kitchen was nice and spacious for us all and the kids had a great time sledding on the sleds in the garage. Since there are 2 sets of stairs and we had two 10-16months old, a baby gate for each set of stairs would have been a great addition to help keep them on the main floor. The playroom downstairs- games, animals and such kept the 3 older ones entertained a lot.
The biggest problem my little family had, was forgetting our overnight bag on the bed upstairs in an effort to clean, load, and get everyone out of the house. As soon as we realized it was missing we called the property manager and the housekeepers had brought it to her already. She said she would mail it to us and she did. We paid for the postage costs. We were grateful to get our bag back with several items our 3 little ones needed, but the saddest part to discover was someone had stolen our money. This person had to dig in the bag to find the envelope with the $640 cash in it. It was disappointing to realize how depraved man can be, and to think someone would willingly go through another person's belongings. We know it was in our bag as my husband had put it in, behind a book, in the bag that morning. We called the property manager the day the mailman dropped off the package and informed her of the loss. She said we should have had her insure it. I debated when asking her to send it, to even mention the money. Now I wish I had. My dad rented the house and talked with the owner. They offered to give us a $600 credit. The problem is we are much closer to Colorado, and we will probably not have another reason to go back to the Angel Fire area. It was a one time family event. It would have been nice to have been given a refund for that amount. Not sure the difference in a refund or credit for them, unless they were hoping we would not take them up on it; which would be a sad way to do business. We did file a police report and were pleasantly surprised that the officer, over our case, went and interviewed the ones in contact with our bag. It is obvious one of them took it, but with it being cash, there is no way to trace it and no way to know which person. The Angel Fire PD is very thorough and took us seriously, unlike the others we had talked to about the issue. So, learn from us having our Christmas money stolen and DONT leave anything behind!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I’ve had over 300 families as guests in our home in the 7 years that I have owned the house and yes, things are left behind from time to time. Everything that has been left at the house is returned to the guests if requested. Not once has a situation like this happened previously.

I have a high degree of trust in my property manager whom I’ve done business with for several years. One of the reasons I hired her and continue to work with her is because she has one main housekeeper who she has worked with for many years and whom she trusts. That being said, I know them well and they are ethical people.
In this type of situation, it’s difficult to prove what the truth is. My property manager and housekeeper have both offered to take lie detector tests as long as the family does as well. To date, they have not been taken up on their offer. As an owner, I was faced with a situation where there is no evidence to reach a conclusion. So I tried to compensate the family in some way and I offered to credit them $600 on a future visit.

My advice to travelers to avoid situations like this is to avoid carrying large sums of cash (ATMs are easily accessible and most stores/restaurants accept credit cards) and to buy travel insurance.
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
Plano, TX
5

Excellent Rental Property. Perfect for families.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This property is the the best maintained property I have ever rented. The property was amazingly clean and had all amenities imaginable. The kitchen is extremely large and has everything you would need to cook during your stay. The kids have an amazing "cove" to play and sleep it. It is stocked with puzzles, games and stuffed animals. My children instantly felt at home. The outdoor space is simply ideal. I would highly recommend this property and look forward to returning next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
TX
5

Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a beautiful property that provides most everything you would need. Was exactly what we expected from descriptions. Was very clean. Would absolutely recommend to anyone interested in a getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
Fort Worth, TX
5

Wonderful Mountain Retreat!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our first time to the New Mexico Mountains and there were 3 families with small boys ranging from 4 to 7. We drove up from the DFW area where we left it at 100+ and the weather in Angel Fire never crept above 80. IT WAS AMAZING! We opened all of the windows in the morning and the bedroom windows at night to let the cool breeze (50 degrees at night) come through. We hiked every morning and at first we used the walking sticks that the owners had at the house, but we soon found our own, and had fun carving them by the camp fire every evening. The fire pit was used DAILY, and we cooked hotdogs and smores every day it seems. The kitchen comes fully stocked so you only need to bring groceries, and there is a Lowes grocery store only minutes away that has everything you need so that made it easy. We only ate out once at Angel Fired Pizza one night, so we mainly just enjoyed relaxing at the house. The separate dining room was perfect for the adults to enjoy their meal and the kids could sit on the bar stools or smaller kitchen table so they could have their fun too. We saw deer and elk, which was AMAZING! The house also has a small familiy of chipmonks that like to run around outside which was a lot of fun for the kids (and adults) as I hadn't really seen one up close before. We would highly reccomend it - plenty of room for 3-4 families. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
Austin,TX
5

A beautiful mountain rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Mountain Serenity was a perfect rental for our group. We rented the house for spring break. We had 3 families with 6 adults and 6 kids ranging from 8 months to 7 yrs old. The house is located on a beautiful piece of property.

The bedrooms were perfect and each couple had their own bedroom. The kids loved having the downstairs to themselves. Bunk beds were great for the 3 kids and the other 2 had the bedroom. The games and the air hockey table were great for the kids too.

The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to cook. We loved having the dining room table and the kitchen table. We could all sit down to eat and had plenty of space. We didn't need to buy anything which was so nice.

The outside was great. There was a little igloo out back that the kids played in. When we got there it was snowing and so the kids loved playing in the snow and sledding outside. On the last day we got lucky enough to use the fire pit and made smores. That was a highlight for the kids.

I would recommend this house to anyone. Cheryl was amazing to work with. Thank you for a great house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
5

Spacious and Cozy Mountain View Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Mountain Serenity was a fantastic home! The home was spacious and compfortable for all of us. We traveled to Angel Fire for Spring Break with 3 families so a total of 6 adults and 6 children. The adults spread among the bed room and the children loved the downstairs. One was a baby so she stayed in a crib in the master bedroom closet since it was dark and the size of a room! The children loved having the downstairs to themselves, and us adults loved that the children had the downstairs too! We all weren't on top of each other. The huge dining room provided for great family dinners and the kitchen was well stocked. I was even surprised there were soaps, trash bags and detergent. The owners had thought of everthing. We arrived just in time for a huge snowstorm and took full advantage of the huge yard playing in the snow. We even found sleds in the garage and the kids sled down the front hill over and over. The house is located very conveniently across the street from the slopes, so it was a very quick and easy drive every day. There is a small but very well stocked and nice grocery store with everything we needed at the base of the turnoff to the house. It had a great selection of wines and I was surprised to find speciality items like organic cereals, specality cheeses and fresh fruits and veggies! The owners of the house were fantastic, making our stay extra enjoyable. The process was smooth booking, checking in, stay and post visit! They even let us check in 3 hours early for our convenience since they didn't have another guest there. We couldn't have asked for more and can't wait to go back!!! If you have extra days that you aren't skiiing I'd highly recommend a day trip to Taos and a visit to the Rio Grand Gorge. A highlight of our trip in addition to the snow, house and skiing.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
Normangee, Texas
5

Texas grandparents family gift

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our entire family, ranging in age from 18 months to 68 years, spent a glorious week at Mountain Serenity. The home was perfect in every way. Upon arrival we were amazed at the natural beauty of the home nestled in the trees with the beautiful snow. Our welcoming committee consisted of a group of Elk on the road and a group of deer standing about 30 feet from the front door in the yard supervising our unloading of luggage and supplies. The home was warm, welcoming and supplied with every possible aminity including the tea kettle for Papa's hot tea. The downstairs was perfect for children with toys and games as well as a large screen TV. The upstairs was perfect for the adults and the main level with enormous windows, a valley vista and large fireplace were perfect for enjoying coffee and hot chocolate and watching the wild life. We enjoyed elk, deer, fox and even a flock of wild turkeys. Cooking was a pleasure in the kitchen which included every imaginable appliance and utensil. The outdoors was wonderful as the smaller grandchildren utilized the driveway as a sledding run and the fire pit was perfect for warming up. The beauty of the home and area was incredible and we spent one of the most relaxing and wonderful weeks ever there. We highly recommend the experience to others. Thank you for a wonderful time. Best regards.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
Kansas City
5

Mountain Serenity is a must!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented this home for a week long Thanksgiving family reunion. I cannot express enough our overall enjoyment and satisfaction of this beautiful home. We had (12) people in the home and never once felt crowded. The home is lovely and has anything that might be needed in the kitchen and beyond! I brought alot of items from home and it wasn't necessary. Kitchen was fully equipped with everything needed to prepare a huge Thanksgiving meal.

The location of the home is perfect. Views are magnificent. Behind the house is a wonerful greenbelt and hiking trails. Trails range from easy to more difficult and offer something for every energy level.

We especially enjoyed building a fire in the pit located in the front of the home. Our time in front of the fire invited several deer to our site each night. The deer allowed us to feed them by hand (natural food only of course!) We also spotted several bobcats. It was a great experience!

We consider Angel Fire a piece of paradise and the Mountain Serenity home was the icing on the cake. I would recommend this home 100% to anyone interested!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Luxury Home, Spectacular Views, Sleeps 13. Minutes to Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175635
(214) 663-6143
Angel Fire New Mexico
5

Perfect mountain stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a wonderful experience staying at this home. It looked beautiful online and was even more impressive in person! The amenities were all top-notch - from the cleanliness to the easy-to-access wifi. Cheryl was great to deal with.
A couple of location details that we didn't fully realize before our stay: It has a very private location, which we really enjoyed; we felt like we were all alone on a mountain. While it's a short drive from the town, it is a trek up the mountain; it's not realistic to walk into the main part of town from here.
Overall, I highly recommend this home!