Camden house rental - The cutest house in town.... great front porch, lots of charm, great location!
The cutest house in town.... great front porch, lots of charm, great location!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Camden House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 3rd floor bonus room. Sleeps 8

Wonderful village home on the best street in town. Attractively furnished. Easy stroll to town shops, restaurants, and harbor. Public Beach is just steps away. Home features many charming details as it was once a ship builder's boarding house. The 1st floor offers a custom kitchen with professional Viking range, slate and butcher block counters, island 'bar' area with stools, attractive dining area with bay window with seating for 8, cozy living room, bath with glass tile shower and laundry. The 1st floor also features a glorious front porch to watch the world go by as well as a private back deck area with BBQ grill and outside table area. 2nd floor features 4 bedrooms all with much charm and character--3 bedrooms have vintage marble sinks and one has a beautiful wall mural. There is also a full bath on the 2nd floor. The 3rd floor finished attic serves as a bonus room with a twin an queen futon for additional guest use. Our home is an excellent location for your visit to the area.

Kate grew up on Bay View Street in Camden and upon returning to start her life here with her husband Alex, knew this was the perfect house for them to begin. With 4 young children now, they have moved out to beach, but keep Bay View Cottage in the family. We love living in the area and feel there is no better place to explore and experience. Alex is full time Real Estate Broker at Camden Real Estate and Kate is a busy mother to four and a Clinical Social Worker. We are accessible and attentive to our renters, we will probably bump into each other in town or out on the water!

Kate Cohen purchased this house in 2001

Bay View Cottage is a special home. It has warm and comfortable feel to it. The porch is a perfect spot for taking in the sounds of the harbor and people watching, as Bay View Street is a popular running/walking route for many. We are just a handful of doors form the only sandy beach in town and a 5 minute walk to downtown Camden and the harbor.

Please read our reviews.... Our home has been lovingly cared for and decorated to make your vacation the best experience possible.

17 Reviews of Property 175630 in Camden, Maine

Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What a great time. My kids had a blast having their own rooms. So much different from a hotel experience. The kitchen is great and served as prime visiting spot.
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

great owner! great property! great town! great weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We were prepared to write a raving review from the moment of our arrival and excitement of seeing this great home! The entire process, from the search, reservation process, communication, arrival, and departure simply could not have been better! The location of this charming home made for an easy walk into the town of Camden, an incredibly quaint, friendly town with great dining options, shopping, and especially fun Christmas activities! But the home itself was the hub of our activity, a welcomed retreat from each day's outings. Our oldest son planned his engagement around this trip, so this will be a memorable place for us for a lifetime. Many thanks to the owners for their help! We certainly hope to return!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your wonderful review. We love that your son's engagement happened in Camden! We hope you return for the wedding!
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful Memories

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The memories are priceless and the house was absolutely perfect - loved the old charm with the comfy updates and all the amenities that you provided to make our visit so totally enjoyable. The family loved the proximity to town, adored the beach, the granddaughters found their 3rd floor space really really special - and all the little side trips to Graffam Bros. for lobster rolls and Owls Head General Store for the winning burger -these two places along with your house will hopefully bring us all back again. but really really I have to say, you provided for us as guests in a way that far exceeded our expectations. We have stayed in many rental homes but none can compare to all the thoughtfulness you put into providing everything to make our visit so exceptional.
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful Memories

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The memories are priceless and the house was absolutely perfect - loved the old charm with the comfy updates and all the amenities that you provided to make our visit so totally enjoyable. The family loved the proximity to town, adored the beach, the granddaughters found their 3rd floor space really really special - and all the little side trips to Graffam Bros. for lobster rolls and Owls Head General Store for the winning burger -these two places along with your house will hopefully bring us all back again. but really really I have to say, you provided for us as guests in a way that far exceeded our expectations. We have stayed in many rental homes but none can compare to all the thoughtfulness you put into providing everything to make our visit so exceptional.
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Arizona
5

LOVE this house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I have rented this house for several summers now and almost consider it a second home. The house is charming and updated with modern conveniences. We love Bay View street and the house's proximity to town as well as the neighborhood beach. Short walk to some great restaurants - Francine, Waterfront, Atlantica, and of course Camden Cone for dessert! One of our favorite "activities" is just hanging out on the front porch. Upon arrival, guests are greeted by a clean house that is stocked with the basics, and then some. The owners are friendly, available, and very accommodating. All emails answered promptly, transactions handled smoothly. We will return!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Illinois
5

A+

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
One of the best vacations decisions I have made was to rent this house in Camden. We were in town to attend my daughter's wedding and wanted a large space with a big kitchen (my husband achieved his dream of cooking on a Viking stove!). The house is full of history and charm and though only steps to town, it is located on a quiet street. I was not expecting the kitchen and bathrooms to be outfitted with every possible necessity as if a large family resided there. All of the linens are top notch.We spent time on the front porch and the back deck and walked to the beach in just minutes. Kate was willing to work with our schedule and so prompt at answering any questions. Often you can be disappointed by accommodations when you travel, but we left this house loving it's open, inviting, cared for feel and grateful we were able to spend time there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sandi,
Thanks so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Kate and Alex
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Bluffton, SC
5

A comfortable, charming "base camp" in a great little town

A comfortable, charming "base camp" in a great little town
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is in a quiet part of town a few blocks from the restaurant and stores. The kitchen is lovely with professional-grade appliances and a little outdoor eating area. Sitting room is a little too cozy, but who comes to Maine to watch TV? Fantastic front porch for snooping on neighborly activites... I mean for coffee. Is also nice to read a book out here.
The owners supply a very informative binder with all of the local "things to do."
The stairs are pretty steep. I would recommend this place with caution to someone who has any mobility problems. Once you get upstairs though, you are greeted with 4 large bedrooms, all with windows and with their own bedside sinks. (Apparently, this house used to serve boarders a very long time ago.) The mural with animals all around it in the 3rd bedroom back is so bemusing that I wanted to take it home. Good crossbreeze and there are also several fans.
On the third floor is a bonus room with a TV and some gameboards. A single bed, too. Careful on these stairs. This is a perfect kid hideaway (probably not smart for kids too young to navigate stairs safely unless you bring a baby gate).
About 10 houses down the street is a fun little beach with a gorgeous view and with a swim platform for those brave enough to actually submerge in the ocean. As for Camden itself, I LOVED it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you taking the time to review our property! We are so happy you not only enjoyed the house but loved our special town. The mural in the bedroom was done by my mom for our daughter when she was born and features the animals of Aldemere farm just down the road, as well as our beloved pets…. We hope to see you again in Camden!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

PERFECT FOR A GETAWAY WITH FRIENDS

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Unfortunately, we are all back to the real world, but are still re-living the great memories of our trip to Maine, and Camden in particular.

Kate, we loved the house, it was the perfect size for 7 "old women". We spent as much time as possible on the front porch each morning and late afternoon. It was so much fun people-watching and visiting with all the walkers. We didn't ever get to the back deck but maybe next time.
All of my friends absolutely fell in love with Maine, and one friend told me last night that she felt the house couldn't have been better.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wonderful!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
"We want to thank you again for your beautiful home, so many great amenities, everything we needed in the kitchen. Our family trip was perfect and your home helped make it so."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fantastic Bay View Street Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175630
+1 207 975-6677
Camden MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Quebec
5

GREAT PLACE TO RELAX

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We were in Camden for 4 nights and we enjoyed our stay , we are a family of 5 with one pet , the house is perfectly located , with a short walk to the center , Nice house very clean !! it was easy to deal with Kate , Thanks again and we hope to return in your house soon !!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1