Cat Island house rental - Your own private Tiki hut!
Your own private Tiki hut!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Cat Island House Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, sleeps 2 {1 Queen }

A lovely Romantic Bungalow, completed in 2006, located 20 steps from a beautiful, Pristine white sand beach. Enjoy your cocktails under your private Tiki Hut, while watching the most stunning sunsets you could imagine. The house is situated beachfront on 1 acre of land. Very calm Turquoise water, crescent shaped gradual beach. On the Leeward side of Cat Island. Enjoy sunning and swimming in calm warm waters. Kayak or Bonefish in adjacent Alligator creek. Rental includes 2 Kayaks and 2 Bicycles. 4 Ceiling fans, Satellite LCD TV, Satellite Internet {$25. weekly surcharge}, A/C, RO drinking water system. There are only 6 other private homes on the beach, about 3/4 mile long, [only 2 are visible from the house, and some almost never occupied !!] and a small [ 6 or 7 unit ] eco-type resort, about a 1/2 mile away. Usually the only footsteps on the beach you see are yours. Check out the video made by a guest and posted on you-tube, Cat Island 2009. Scroll down to below for Links.

There is also a partially completed 2 story garage right next to the cottage.Construction only occurs when the owners are on the property. There will be NO construction during your visit.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 175621 in Cat Island, Bahamas

Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Agawam, Mass
5

Sea Star

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
This is a wonderful property. It is clean and comfortable. The beach is beautiful. It is located near a couple of restaurants that are within walking distance, although we would suggest getting a car, there are many things to see. We enjoyed everything from kayaking and bonefishing in nearby alligator creek, to sightseeing around the island. The property caretaker, Trevor, checked on us several times and made sure we were O.K. The inhabitants of Cat Island are the nicest people you will ever meet. We will be back here many times. The owners kept in touch with us in the weeks before we left, and could not have tried harder to make sure things went smoothly, we will be forever grateful. Rick & Patti
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 23/23
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Cedar Creek Texas
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We were looking for quiet seclusion and we found it! The pics shown here are accurate and it only looks better in person! If you want house keeping, restaurants and lots of touristy stuff to entertain you then this may not be the place. If you don't mind cooking and cleaning up after yourselves then you will love it here! We lost track of days and time and didn't care one bit! Spend time at Yardies just down the road, the people are fabulous and friendly. Rent a car if you like, and travel from one end of the island to the other. Just remember to stay to the left, which is easy after a little practice. Things are expensive here, most everything is imported. We brought some of our favorite frozen meats, which really helped cut the cost of meals. Utensils, spices, pots and pans are already at the house. Boxie and Pumpkin (dogs) will be by to say hello, we shared some rib bones and snacks with them. They are very sweet. There are binders under the table next to the tv. Lots of good info and island history in them, make sure you browse through them when you get there as it will answer many questions you may have. There is plenty to do on this island if you are interested in renting a car and adventuring out everyday. There are bicycles and kayaks at the house for you to use. We just wanted to sit under the tiki hut and watch the water, drink some beers and bbq. And that is exactly what we did. The weather was perfect, sunny most days and 70-80 degrees. We will be coming back to Cat Island and renting this house from Donna again soon! What you see and read about this house is what you get, it will not disappoint! The owner Donna and caretaker Trevor will answer all your questions and take care of all your needs. Please go, enjoy, relax, have fun and let the tide wash away all your cares!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Chemainus BC Canada
5

Sea Star Cottage & Cat Island images

Sea Star Cottage & Cat Island images
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Adding to my review from Jan/Feb 2009 I have this video...my images from this little slice of paradise. The photos don't capture the magic of this destination, but they provide a great starting point! Enjoy :)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Enfield, Connecticut
5

Absolutely Amazing Stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I spent 2 glorious weeks for our honeymoon at the Sea Star. It was the absolute perfect location for rest and relaxation. Everything that Donna has advertised is exactly what the house looks like, what's included, the views, and the beach. I want to start off by saying that Donna is the most gracious hostess ever. She answered all of my millions of questions (we had booked a year in advance so it was a long year for her I'm sure...LOL) with promptness and grace. If you are thinking of renting her cottage, you don't have to worry about a thing! Donna will set your mind at ease in an instant AND no quesiton is too dumb...trust me!

The house itself is just perfect for 2 people. Had all the amentities we needed. The house is very open and airy and CLEAN! The living room, eating area, and kitchen are all nicely laid out. There's a flat screen TV (I think we turned it on twice), movies to watch, and books to read. The kitchen is fully stocked with all you would need. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom (right off the bedroom) was a good size.

Out the slider of the bedroom, is the walkway to the tiki hut (about 6 steps) and then to the most amazing beach. The white sand and aqua blue water are incredible. We had 2 weeks of perfect weather! It rained twice and not all day either so we were out there every single day. That tiki hut is absolutely perfect! We spent MOST of our time under there...the sun is VERY hot and we were only able to be out in it for a short time then get under the tiki hut to cool off or go swimming. We were mostly alone. There was NO ONE around except some workers working on a house down the way but they were gone by 2pm and some of the local kids would go swimming down the way. Honestly, it's like you had the whole beach to yourself!

The island itself is VERY simple. There are a few grocery/liquor stores but dont think you'll find any shopping areas or golf courses or nightlife. Theres is none. Everyone on the island is incredibly friendly and we did rent a car twice to tour the island. You can still see the effects of Irene everywhere although I'm surprised how well it bounced back. Trevor was "manager" of the property and he was extremely helpful! You MUST visit Yardie down the street, her conch salad is wonderful and she's a lovely lady!

If you are looking for nothing but peace, quiet, tranquility, and absolute relaxation, this is the cottage (for 2) to go to. You won't regret one second of your trip!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Boston Ma
5

A week in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I spent 7 glorious days at Sea Star Cottage. The property was just as described. Clean and well maintained. All the people that we encountered (very few) were friendly and more than willing to answer any questions. The beach was gorgeous we never saw another person on it the entire week. I would definately recommend this spot to anyone who enjoys seclusion and doing their own thing. Very relaxing. Thank you Donna and Peter for sharing your piece of heaven with us.

Debbie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed our little slice of heaven.
Cheers,
Peter and Donna
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Fairfax
5

Perfect house for two

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
If you’re looking to rent a home for two people on Cat Island, then Sea Star is the perfect place. It sits directly on a beautiful white sandy beach, and the sea is all sand, no reef or coral. The photos on the Homeaway.com site depict the home and sea exactly as they are. Sea Star has a great Tiki Hut where you can view the most incredible sunsets, all within a couple of steps from the house. The home also has satellite TV with tons of channels and internet, which was a necessity for my husband. We enjoyed using the bikes & the kayaks, and the rafts were great for floating around in the gorgeous water. We thought Sea Star was in an excellent location. Only 10 minutes from Arthur’s Town where there are convenience stores and a couple of restaurants, and just a short ride north is Orange Creek with a grocery store and 2 miles up the road from there is Shanna’s Cove where you can have a nice lunch and/or dinner. We actually ended up preparing our dinners at home because the fisherman come into the pier just a short walk from Sea Star and we were able to buy fresh red snapper and lobster tails that we were able to prepare on Sea Star’s gas grill. We loved our first trip to Cat Island and look forward to returning with family and friends in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Calgary, Canada
5

Most Amazing Anniversary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Thank you so much for the use of your wonderful place. It was the
perfect getaway for our anniversary.
The place was spotless and the location was to die for!!!
We rented a car on Tues. and Wed. and covered the island from tip to heel. Lunch at the Greenwood,and Breakfast the next day at Shanna's Cove. Gabby was wonderful and pointed us in the direction of the 40min. hike to Man 'O War beach at the North end of the island. Wow, one of the most amazing secluded beaches. then again, so was the beach we were on, the deserted one around the corner, Fernandez Bay, Greenwood, and Shanna's Cove... too many to recall and none of them busy. We saw six people on Fernandez Bay and called it the crowded beach.
The cottage was very comfortable and the array of spices made my
home-made dinners a thrill to concoct.
Trevor was excellent and attending his service on Sunday (Our actual
anniversary) was so special and touching. His wife Cheryl prepared a lovely
lunch for both of us which we took over to our deserted beach on the
kayaks. Dined at Sammy T's for our Anniversary. (Very nice but pricey. only ones in the restaurant)
Boxie and Wetzel were a treat to have around and were not bothersome
at all. They are both so gentle. We tried to bike to the
Bluff road to the Atlantic and Boxie stayed with us till Trevor's
house then gave up. we gave up shortly after Too hot and humid. We tried kayaking the creek on Monday but went in the afternoon at low tide and got stuck on the sandbars and it took several hours to "walk" the kayaks back out and we never made it to the Palms. On Friday, though, we went to Shelly Beach (Lots of treasures) then went in the second entrance to the creek and had much more success! Saw 4 sea turtles darting around us. Amazing!!! and herons too!

On one of my snorkeling adventures on the deserted beach I saw 2 Giant stingrays go flapping past me about 2 feet away. Took my breath away.

Our only complaint was the neighbors who had their music going seemingly 24-7 but we were able to find multiple distractions for peace elsewhere.

Last year we loved Eleuthera but doubted we'd go back and were
thinking the same would be true of Cat. The experience was so
wonderful that we really want to come back.

Thank you again for your incredible help and hospitality. By the way locals
speak of you, you're obviously very kind and respectful to to the island life.

Hopefully We'll be talking to you next year.

Many Blessings
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
Virginia
5

A slice of beach heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
I actually thought that maybe I died on the plane ride over, and that this was heaven! Beautiful beach, beautiful water, beautiful, adequately furnished, spacious house for two people. The tiki hut was great. The people in the community are very friendly. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
NYC
5

Idyllic, cozy, and affordable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Before my husband and I stayed at this lovely cottage, we did not realize that this kind of place still existed: located right on a picture perfect beach for such a great price in a place with virtually no crime.
The cottage itself is very clean and well maintained. It’s stocked with all the supplies you might possibly need. Having bicycles and kayaks provided was such an invaluable convenience! We kayaked through the nearby creek and to the most stunning deserted beaches I’ve ever seen. We rode bikes for fun as well as to get to the store, so we did not really need a car. We rented the car only for three days to tour the island.
People on Cat Island are the most friendly and accommodating. Not once did someone come up to us to harass us like on other Caribbean islands, but once you ask a question or inquire about their help or service – they will be the most helpful. Trevor, the caretaker, is very nice, helpful, and cordial.
We were very impressed with Sea Star Cottage, would absolutely recommend it to a friend and will definitely come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Sea Star Cottage, On Gorgeous Bennett's Harbor Beach, Cat Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175621
603 387-2001
Cat Island Bahamas
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We had an amazing time on Cat Island and in the cottage. It was the perfect size for two people, especially since we were either on the beach or under the tiki hut all day. The caretaker Trevor was a huge help. When he picked us up at the airport, he asked if we needed to go to the store. We were so grateful because we didn't have a car and would have had to make do with the food we brought with us. This was the first vacation we could truly call a vacation because we did absolutely nothing and loved every second of it all. Thank you Peter and Donna for sharing your home.
Helpful votes: 6/6