Gig Harbor cottage rental - Sunrise with Mt. Rainier in the distance
Sunrise with Mt. Rainier in the distance
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Gig Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Beach House - 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 4-6)

Waterfront Beach House (850 square feet with a full kitchen and a huge deck) with magnificent views of Mt. Rainier to the South and the Olympic Mountains to the North. Have a fire on the beach (158 feet of low bank waterfront) and play on the sandy beach. Bring your boat, the crabbing is great! Launch it from the private, concrete boat ramp and tie it up to the buoy. Bring your tennis shoes (we supply racquets and balls) and play tennis on the all-weather court. A croquet set is available to enjoy on the lawn by the beach.

Fox Island Details: Fox Island is accessible by bridge (NOT ferry) from Gig Harbor and Tacoma, WA.

Gig Harbor Details: Gig Harbor, 'the Maritime City,' is still a commercial fishing village. It has restaurants, shops, galleries, and recreation just 10 miles from the Beach House.

Boating Details: There is a boat ramp on the property where you can launch your boat and tie it up to the buoy out front. You can rent boats in Gig Harbor and Tacoma.

Hiking/Walking Details: you can walk the beach a mile in each direction when the tide is out. There are many in-land walking trails nearby.

More Details
Hide Details

The picture is of Sue and Bill in their Kitchen at Christmas time.

Sue is a retired Tennis Pro who now enjoys gardening and sharing her beautiful flower gardens with others. Her gardens were on the Gig Harbor Garden Tour in 2004.

When they lived in Connecticut, Sue ran a successful B&B for many years.

Bill owns a small business and enjoys landscaping the 13 acres behind their house. When he is not doing those activities, he can be found crabbing in front of their house. He loves sharing with guests the many nearby destinations where they can experience the incredible beauty of the Pacific NW.

Sue and Bill Spencer purchased this cottage in 2007

We bought the Beach House next door to the house we live in, because we wanted to protect our view of Mt. Rainier and because we enjoy sharing the view and the beach with others ... particularly new visitors to the Pacific NW. They cannot believe what a beautiful place we live and the abundance of wildlife that surrounds us.

20 Reviews of Property 175368 in Gig Harbor, Washington

enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Seattle, Washington
5

We found our annual meeting place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
The beach house was the perfect place for two friends (one from Seattle, one from Ireland) to meet and catch-up on each other's lives. We took advantage of the bbq and shared a bottle of wine on the very private deck looking at our gorgeous 180 degree view of the Puget Sound. The kitchen is well stocked with all the items you need and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in! Inez and I look forward to re-connecting at the Beach House for many more years! Thank you Bill and Sue for creating and sharing a beautiful place. Jill (Seattle) and Inez (Dublin, Ireland)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thoroughly enjoyed their visit.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
5

Review of The Beach House, Fox Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at the beach house. Bill and Sue we're fantastic hosts, they were very welcoming and had lots of useful information about the local area and interesting places to visit. They also very generously didn't charge us for our first night after our flight from the UK was delayed. The location is beautiful and quiet but within very easy reach of shops and restaurants in Gig Harbor and also the interstate for travelling around. We had lovely weather and were able to soak up the sun on the very private decking and watch the boats go by on the water. There were just a couple of steps down from the decking to the stony beach which was great for a stroll a mile each way and would be good for fishing enthusiasts (there was fishing equipment to borrow). The water looked very inviting but was too cold for swimming unfortunately. Inside, the cottage was very comfortable and fully equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday. The bedroom was very spacious with loads of storage and a huge comfortable bed.
We visited Mt St Helens, Olympic National Park, Seattle and Portland, all within easy reach for a day trip by car.
Would definitely recommend the Beach House to friends and family and hope to come back and visit some of the other wonderful places Washington has to offer. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Washington State
5

Refreshing Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
When I visit, I feel like I've gotten away from everything; I feel at peace. The 180-degree view of the water from the deck and from the large windows inside the beach house are exhilarating and inspiring. Sitting out on the deck listening to the lapping of the water is relaxing; when the tide comes in, I feel like I'm actually out on the water. I love walking along the beach when the tide is out. I bring my own groceries, cook in the kitchen, which is well-stocked with cooking utensils and condiments. The deck has a table and chairs, and I love to eat out there. There is also table and chairs by the window inside so you can eat inside as well while still enjoying the gorgeous view. The owner is friendly and very helpful in answering questions. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative; this is currently my favorite vacationing spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Gainesville, FL USA
5

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We are relocating and leaving the Pacific Northwest so we wanted a memorable final week. Even with the rain we were not disappointed. The house is great, the view is spectacular, the wildlife was a nice surprise and we were close to many attractions. There were plenty of books and movies when the rain came. Even though it was October we had really nice days too. It was a very nice stay and we would return if in the area again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Greenwood Village, CO
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I spent two weeks here and had a fantastic time! The listing was 100% accurate, but I have to say that nothing will prepare you for the breathtaking view! We come to this area every year and this house by far has the best view (not to mention the best outdoor area) of any of the properties we have rented. This house is the perfect place to stay to explore all the nearby towns and cities that are just a short drive away (Seattle, Gig Harbor, etc). Bill and Sue are wonderful hosts, and made sure we had everything we needed. The house itself was spotless and the movie / book selection was a nice surprise. I would definitely recommend this wonderful vacation home to anyone looking to relax.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

Excellent in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband, daughter, grandson and I stayed at The Beach House on Fox Island for 4 nights during the worst weather the area had seen in 40 years and despite this we can only say what a wonderful place to stay. The accommodation was comfortable, clean, and above all peaceful. Bill ensured we knew where to go and what to do during our stay. His knowledge of the area was a great help to us. We had to leave very early on the day of our departure (4.30am) and there was Bill ensuring we were up and ready to go. We cannot recommend Beach House too highly and look forward to visiting again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Seattle area
5

Relaxing Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We stayed here for a weekend, just to escape and re-connect. It was both beautiful and peaceful, just as described. The floor to ceiling windows provided a panoramic view of the ever-changing NW weather in November. Stunning! Thank you Bill and Sue for your hospitality and attention to detail! The book of attractions was very helpful. We are planning our next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Minnesota
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We just returned to MN after staying at the Beach House for a 1week to visit our son and granddaughter. What a amazing week we had. The accommodations are 1st class with everything you would need is available including toys for our granddaughter. Since we arrived at night Bill was there with flashlight in hand to lead the way to the house. Thank you Bill and Sue for your hospitality and for sharing the Beach House. We will be back in April for another relaxing vacation at The Beach House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Austin, TX
5

Amazing Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
What an amazing Beach House!

The property is right on the water with a large beautiful deck overlooking the water. There is an amazing peacefulness there.

I had a few friends and family over and we enjoyed a great afternoon BBQ on the deck.

I had a friend that lives across the way come over by kayak and then we were able go kayaking together and saw some amazing wildlife including otters, seals, and hawks perched up in the trees.

There is a nice downstairs area with full kitchen and dining room table. The upstairs bedroom is romantic and has a very comfortable bed. There is a bench window that you can sit in and read or look out on the water.

The owner (Bill) is very accomodating and provided excellent customer service. I am the Director of Guest Services at Lake Austin Spa Resort in Austin, TX and appreciate great customer service as that is what we strive to provide our guests daily. That is what Bill provided for us along with an amazing place to relax.

Thank you,
Brent
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
enjoy island living on a sandy Puget Sound beach with a view of Mt. Rainier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p175368
253 549-4910
Gig Harbor Puget Sound
Los Angeles
5

Living well is the best revenge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This beach house provides the ultimate in clean, quiet, private, well-appointed accommodation. Photos don't come close to capturing the pristine north-west beachfront sanctuary. The gracious hosts made us feel very welcome and while they were available and responsive, they allowed us our privacy. We travel often and stay in many different types of accommodation. This one is wonderful and we'll definately visit again....the deck is spectacular!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway