Tybee Island house rental - Coral House
Coral House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
 

Tybee Island House Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 3 BA sleeps 16 (10 in 5 beds; 6 in 3 sofabeds)

Less than 1 block to the beach --- wide white-sand beach.

What is unique about Tybee Island?

. Barrier island due east of historic Savannah

. Just 3-mile diameter, and half that is salt marsh

. Birthplace and home of a C-list actor; chosen home of an

A-list actor; nesting home of loggerhead sea turtles.

. Great dolphin viewing --- virtually guaranteed on the

north end of the island. Dolphin boat tours are always

available, but sitting on the north beach is just as

effective. We once watched a band of dolphins frolicking

with a delighted kayaker.

. Impressive pier that extends way, way out into the water.

Each end has a nice covered pavilion.

What is close to Coral House?: . The beach

. Across the street: 5 restaurants

1) McElwhee's Seafood,

2) Mexican

3) Sundae Cafe - a hole-in-the-wall, white-tablecloth, Gourmet

restaurant. Sundaes? Nah. (go figure) But The Sugar Shack has great ones.

4) The Sugar Shack - a decidedly downscale, inexpensive

place that serves a good breakfast, sandwiches, and hand-

dipped ice cream. Indoor or covered outdoor dining.

5) Pizza

The 2 Lighthouses: Two lighthouses less than 3 miles apart but so radically different in character. As you approach Tybee Island, you see the impressive Tybee Light in the distance. Tall, dark, and handsome with a white cumberbund. He was honored a couple of years ago when he got his own US postage stamp. ( In lighthouse circles that is akin to an Oscar.) But then as you cross the Lazaretto bridge onto Tybee Island, you look down to the left and blink. Is that a lighthouse in the water? Indeed it is. That's plucky little Cockspur Lighthouse. Weathered, plain white masonry. Not flashy at all, except ... At every high tide Cockspur stands in the ocean well off-shore. Only at low tide does the stony spur appear that supports the little lighthouse. A firm foundation after all.

Lost in the 40's/50's: So far the quaint shopping district near the pier has pretty much escaped the wrecking ball. Witness Arby's --- Tybee Island's only fast food restaurant. This is pretty much what Arby's looked like when they began in the early 60's. As for shopping, no Sak's here. We're talking beach shopping: T-shirts, souvenirs, Sno-Cones, umbrella drinks, seafood. But remember, for culture and serious shopping, there is colorful, historic Savannah, just 20-25 minutes away. Recommended reading: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, an amusing look at Savannah's high- and low-life (about 2 years on the NY Times nonfiction best seller list).

Coral House is located about mid-beach between south beach (home of the pier and shopping) and north beach ( home of the majestic Tybee Light and the former Ft. Screven, now a museum).

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 174873 in Tybee Island, Georgia

Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Fantastic Girl Scout Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had a group of 12 Girl Scouts staying for a weekend of activities in Savannah and Tybee. This cottage was perfect! So cute, clean, and well furnished. We saved money by cooking meals: easily done with the 3 kitchens and plenty of supplies. This was the BEST location! Just 2 houses down from public beach access for cool night ghost crab hunts! Easy access to everything fun! On Tybee you should visit the Lighthouse and Marine Science Center; in Savannah the JGL House, Savannah Theatre and Pirate House for lunch... all awesome attractions and welcoming to Girl Scouts.The cottage owner was super friendly and easy to work with. This is a nice alternative to a hotel room, and extremely economical too! The girls cant quit talking about how much fun we had!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
ELLENWOOD,GA
5

WONDERFUL CORAL HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We really and truly enjoyed Coral House! The balconies, and the court yard! There was more than enough space for everyone! We cooked dinner every night and the kitchens were well stocked! We took advantage of the bike rental discount and the kids had a ball, touring the island. This is the third time we have rented from Ted and we intend to again! Ted is really sweet and will attend to any need you might have. No complaints:)
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Peachy Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful stay in the penthouse. It was so peaceful. The views out the windows and sliding glass doors were amazing with the trees all around. I felt like I was up in a fancy treehouse. The penthouse was clean, smelled wonderful, and had everything we needed. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The porch was paradise. I loved sitting at night out there listening to the ocean waves, which by the way was just a short walk at the end of the street. Will definitely be back.
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

50th Family Christmas - 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family rented all of Coral House as a 50th Anniversary gift to my parents. The house is the cutest thing ever. There was certainly room for all of us in the 3 units and cooking was a snap with 3 kitchens. It was great to have separation when needed. Coral House is just a short walk to the beach, which was fabulous!! Ted was great to work with and the house was totally ready when we arrived. We got in later than we expected and there were dimmed lights on in all 3 units with music playing from the tv's. I have never felt that welcomed in a hotel and it was certainly appreciated. My favorite place was the private back garden, with 15 people coming in and out, this was my retreat! Thank you Ted for opening your home to us for this special event!!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Hot Coral house is absolutely amazing. We had a big party of 12 go. 6 adults and 6 children. The house was welcoming, warm and my favorite part of the whole place was the back garden. It was an overwhelming experience for my family and Tybee Island people and nearby attractions were amazing. Ted you have a wonderful place we will definately visit again and rent from you again. Your housekeeper is AMAZING as well. The beach is so close and everything was fantastic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
St. Louis, MO
5

Relaxing spring break with the family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Our family of four stayed at the HOT Coral condo in March 2011 over my son's spring break...it was Wonderful!! The condo was great. It was clean and had everything we needed. We have a 6 and 3 year old and it was great for the kids. The proximity to the beach couldn't have been better. A great place to stay for the money!! I loved that you could walk just a few minutes to get anywhere; convenience store, restaurants, grocery store, playground. We hope to come back again soon!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Annandale Virginia
5

Perfect house for an extended family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I rented the HOT Coral House the first week of October 2009 - It was the perfect house for what I needed! We had extended family and family friends that were our guests. Because the house can be divided into three apartments - it fit our needs perfectly! No one was cramped or uncomfortable. I loved the artistic flare of the home! I was also surprised at all of the things that were available in the house - towels, linens, beachware, shampoo... made it so we just had to show up with food and we were set! Ted was wonderful - as he allowed us to show up earlier then the normal check in time.

Regarding the review that mentioned roaches... we saw no roaches in the home - or any other bug for that matter.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
2

Girl Scout Trip

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We rented HOT Coral House for a Girl Scout trip. We had 14 girls and 4 adults, and could not have fit one more in the house. The house was convenient to the beach, which was wonderful. Unfortunately, the house was not clean. The couches were dirty, some of the linens were not clean, there was layers of dust on the window seals, laundry left wet in the washing machine, and the worst was the roaches in the upstairs condo (which was horrible!) We did not find roaches on the downstairs part of the house, however just finding so many each day upstairs had the girls not wanting to stay in the house. Being on such a tight budget, we did not have the funds to go try and get hotel rooms. I belive the owner was unaware of the problem due to a lack of communication from the caretaker of the home. The back yard area was very messy as well. Although the fee to rent the home was very reasonable, I could not recommend this home for another troop.
Owner's Response: I know that roaches give a very bad impression. They had appeared 3 weeks earlier and I had called back our exterminator service 3 weeks in a row to get rid of them. Obviously they were still present when this group arrived. The exterminator applied a fourth "bait" treatment, and thankfully 2 weeks later, they appear to be gone. I am not an absentee owner. I inspected the house before this group arrived. The house was clean, and certainly no unclean linens were on the beds or anywhere else.
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Western South Carolina
5

Women's Retreat at HOT

Women's Retreat at HOT
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Actually, the website does not do it justice, there were far more amenities than listed. All the linens were furnished, which made our load lighter. We were a group of 13 women and had a wonderful time! Couldn't believe 3 kitchens!! This house has a lot of character. We were close to almost everything we needed, a convenience store, The Sugar Shack, we even walked to a garage sale! There was plenty of parking area, as we had a 15 passenger van and pulled a U-Haul trailer. The owner met us as we arrived and told us to call him for anything we needed. Thank you, Ted. It's perfect for a family or a small group such as ours. We enjoyed it very much.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174873
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Beach Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We had a group of twelve of us who went to Tybee for the weekend. The Hot Coral House worked out perfectly for our group. The house had a very homey feeling and was very clean. It also has an excellent location which is walking distance from the beach, restaurants, gas stations, liquor store, and shopping. Ted, who is the owner of the house is extremely nice and willing to work with you and help you out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This was a great bunch of college students who could give tutorials on how to have a great time on Spring Break.
Helpful votes: 5/5