Moneta townhome rental - Bernard's Landing Townhome From The Water
Bernard's Landing Townhome From The Water
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Moneta Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome - 4 Bedrooms - 3 full bathrooms - (Sleeps 6)

Moneta, Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia... Roanoke is 45 minutes; Lynchburg is 60 minutes. The Townhome features Four Bedrooms, Three Baths, and Sleeps Six.

Bernard's Landing Resort is the premier vacation destination at Smith Mountain Lake. It has seventy-four acres on a peninsula between the Roanoke and Blackwater River channels. Surrounded by water on three sides, it is beautifully landscaped and maintained. It is truly a place that begs time to enjoy.

The accommodations on-site consist of the Peninsula Townhomes (considered to be the top accommodations), Patio homes, and Condominiums. The amenities are second to none, and are: three swimming pools (two outdoor & one indoor poool & spa) a kiddies pool, a hot tub, ladies and mens saunas, a fitness center, and six well-maintained tennis courts. Also on-site is an award-winning waterfront gourmet restaurant, and waterfront Tiki bar lounge, a marina, a sandy beach, boat ramp, and boat docks.

Our waterfront Townhome is located on a beautiful large cove with direct access to the Roanoke main channel. It is centrally located, with the clubhouse, pool, hot tub, saunas, weight and exercise room, and tennis courts just across the road. The restaurant, Tiki bar, and marina are only a short walk away.

The entry level has a master bedroom with a queen bed, TV plus a DVD player, a twin bedroom, and a full bath with tub and shower. The full kitchen has a microwave, toaster oven, four-slice toaster, and blender as extras. The dining room and living room, with woodburning fireplace, overlook the lake, and are beautifully furnished plus a 40 inch HDTV and DVD/VCR combination.

There is a covered, wrap-around deck with a chaise lounge, a glider, patio table and chairs, and a picnic table for outdoor dining. The view from the deck across four miles of open water to the mountains that plunge into the lake is breathtaking. Sunrise over the mountain is spectacular, and is not to be missed. The moon coming up behind the mountain, and reflecting off the water can be the beginning of a night to remember!

There is a loft bedroom with a queen bed, a large dressing/closet, and a private full bath. The ground-level has another master bedroom with a queen bed, TV and DVD, a full bath, and a wet bar and game table. There is a full covered deck just outside the sliding glass doors with a patio table with chairs, a gas grill, a charcole grill, and a porch swing. Right in front of the Townhome is a floating dock for you to tie up your boat and PWC’s. The washer and dryer are also on this level.

For your relaxation and enjoyment, we have a selection of VCRs and DVDs (both old and new) and an assortment of card and board games. Our unit provides all linens, towels, and paper products. The only thing you will need to bring is your food, if you want to use the full-size kitchen.

If you prefer to dine out, there is a world-class gourmet restaurant overlooking the marina a short walk away. The cozy Tiki bar, open year round, offers entertainment during the summer, and a snack bar is located at one of the pools. There is a boat ramp on the property. Boat slips for your boat are located in front of the Townhome.

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 174777 In Moneta, Virginia

Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 28 reviews
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Charleston, WV
5

One of the best we have found on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This townhouse came with everything (and more) advertised on the site. We have been vacationing on the lake for 22 years and have found Bernard's Landing as the place we keep coming back to visit. This unit was very close to all the amenities of the Bernard's Landing. It provided the perfect spot for photography from the deck, was clean, roomy and most of all had the best customer service we have ever experienced at SML! We loved walking across the street to the tennis courts too. Bernard's Landing has something for everyone all within a safe, well maintained, park like setting. We hope to be back next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Reidsville, NC
5

Wedding rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I rented Henry's townhouse because my daughter was getting married at Bernard's Landing. I wanted something close to the wedding ceremony and reception, and something my brothers and sister all from out of state would enjoy. This Townhouse filled the bill and then some on both counts. I very much wanted my family ( some of whom can be very picky) to have a pleasant experience, and boy did they ever. The renovation and updating that Henry did is beautiful, the bedrooms are spacious, the deck is large and comfortable, and the view is to die for, the best on the lake. I especially enjoyed sitting on the deck at night and watching the boats glide by in the darkness with only a few blinking lights on. All through the weekend I kept getting compliments from my family on what a good job I had done in finding this place. Exactly what I had hoped to here. For the wedding, it could not have been more convenient. Directly across the street from the clubhouse, perfect.Thank you Henry for providing such a wonderful place for everyone to come and enjoy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Cary, NC
5

Fresh interior!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our third year staying a week at this property, and we were very pleased with the fresh interior decorating! New carpet (all three levels), new dining table and chairs, new living room furniture, and the large flat screen TV is now mounted above the fireplace, which creates more space and a better foot traffic pattern through the living room, and new mattresses on the beds. The rear open deck floorboards and handrailing have also been replaced. Unfortunately Mother Nature did not smile on us and it rained for most of our stay, which made us more appreciative of the club house right across the street where we made use of the outdoor, and especially the indoor pool and hot tub, and the work out equipment. We walked to the onsite Bruno's Gastro Pub for brews and live music on two different nights. We enjoyed a cook out on the rear open deck by using the supplied gas grill, and topped off the great time with homemade ice cream. The view from the deck is still one of the best at the lake (even if you mostly get to watch the clouds play hide and seek with Smith Mountain). We brought two kayaks and used them several times, even in the light rain. Our pontoon boat tied up nicely at the courtesy dock right in front of the unit, where we swam and hung out, all within close distance of the rear deck. We always make a stop by boat at Portside Bar and Grill in the "S" turns, where this year we lucked upon a live band playing while drinking our (several) buckets of Coronas, and eating our cheesburgers, Cubans, peel 'n eat shrimp, chocolate covered Key lime pie on a stick, and even a "doughnut burger". Another place we really enjoyed eating at was Jake's Place just North of the bridge. Their neon sign is pretty cool too. By land, we also ate at The Blackwater Cafe on Scruggs Road (which is always good food), which you pass on the way to Bernard's Landing. Of course, we had to stop at the bridge (Bridgewater Plaza) for gift shopping, miniature golf above the water, and some great pizza and suds at the Pizza Pub. We did make several trips to the Westlake area for supplies and groceries (very nice Kroger), which is pretty convenient when staying here. As always, the owner (Henry) was easy to work with, very friendly, and timely on all communications. We highly recommend staying here, and can't wait until we come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
2

A vacation is a precious thing to waste

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The unit is nothing like the internet presents. It is worn out, dated interiors, out dated audio and video and nearly non existent cleaning. We arrived to find a filthy and incredibly small kitchen. The fridge still had food debris, dirt and hair in it from the previous renters. Appalling!!! The accumulation of grease, dust, dirt and stench led us to believe that it has been quite some time since the unit was properly cleaned. Definitely explains the ant problem. In summary, we were uncomfortable with the cleanliness of this rental. We also felt taken advantage of. The rental price was way to high for a unit that is lacking modern update and appropriate regular cleaning.
Owner's Response: When I received the complaint, I immediately contacted the guest to set up a personal meeting, at her convenience, to address the problem. I was willing to do whatever it took to satisfy her. If I could not resolve the problem to her satisfaction, I was prepared to make a full refund of the money. My offer of the meeting was declined. In doing so, she prevented me from taking any further remedial action. When I was informed of the ant problem, I immediately called the exterminator. Problem corrected. In checking my availability dates, I found that her departure weekend was not rented, and informed her that, instead of an 11:00 AM Saturday departure, she could have a Sunday departure at her leisure. This in effect gave her two extra days. What more could I have done? You be the judge.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Bristow, VA
5

Great place to stay !!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband, two sons (13 & 17),one of their buddies, and I stayed this past weekend. We had a great time.The townhouse is well maintained and stocked with all you will need just like it is advertised. The boys fished, swam in the lake and in the pool, played basketball and just had a memorable time. My husband and I were able to relax, enjoy the view and have a nice dining experience at The Landing.

We love SML and have been several times over the past few years and this was our best experience.
What everyone has said about Henry, the owner, is true. He is a very good host who genuinely seems to want his guests to have the best experience. This has been an excellent find and I highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
5

The Four Ladies

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this location at Bernard's Landing in Moneta, VA.
The Landing Restaurant was our favorite place for dinner, even on a slow Monday evening. We had the BEST steak ever!! And the "sides" were great too.
This four-bedroom condo is WELL KEPT, clean, and the view is absolutely breathtaking!
Two bedrooms are on the same level (main floor) and those two share a large bathroom which we liked. Another bedroom is upstairs in the loft area (with bath), and the other one is downstairs in a quiet place (with bath), and with a great view of the lake. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a great get-away! The owner is so nice to talk with and he'll go above and beyond to please his renters.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Perfect

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
What a wonderful time we had in this beautiful
home! As soon as I learned that my son and his
fiance had chosen Bernard's for their wedding I
went online and found Mr. Thaxton's listing. One of
the first reviews included how perfect it was for
those with Bernard's as a wedding venue. It was
everything we hoped it would be. We stayed the
entire week after the wedding. The accommodations
were lovely and spacious and the view is breath-
taking! Mr. Thaxton goes above and beyond to
make sure his guests enjoy their stay. I would
highly recommend this wonderful place to anyone!
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wonderful

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Henry was very easy to deal with from the first communication. He was super accomodating in helping to determine if my handicapped father could access the property, including offering special help if needed (which we did not need:). It was great to dock our pontoon boat right in front of the condo at the guest dock, the launch ramp is very nice, and the trailer storage area is convenient. The view from the unit, especially the covered decks, is awesome-one of the best on the lake. We and our guests really enjoyed the property, including the outdoor pool right across the street at the clubhouse. There was a wedding celebration at the clubhouse the first night of our stay, and we got to enjoy their small but impressive fireworks display. We also enjoyed kayaking around Bernard's Landing from the dock. We had breakfast, most lunches, and several dinners at the condo while enjoying the lake and Smith Mountain view. It was nice to not have to worry about bringing your own linens, towels, and paper products. The washer and dryer also came in handy. We highly recommend staying here, and can't wait to return. Thanks Henry!
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Waterford, VA
5

Perfect Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Thank you for letting us use your lovely home as our home base for our son's wedding at Bernard's Landing. It was the most convenient of all the accomodations at the resort as it is right across from the clubhouse (reception site) and has spectacular lake front views out the back. We were able to park our car and never use it during our stay as the wonderful Landing Restaurant was close by and the marina where we rented our boat was there also. We were able to dock it right outside our townhouse! Thank you for providing all the little amenities that made the stay easier (linens, paper products, soap). We will most definitely be back :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Bernard's Landing Resort Waterfront Townhome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174777
(434) 660-7046
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Waterford, VA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Thank you Mr.Thaxton for a wonderful home base for our son's wedding at Bernard's Landing! The location is spectacular-right across from the clubhouse/reception area. With lake views that were incredible. We could park our car and never use it again! Your home is lovely with all the extras for making trips less stressful. You were so helpful and gracious with information about SML and Bernard's. We rented a boat from the Marina right next to our complex and docked it right behind our unit. The food at the Landing Restaurant was fabulous and the fireworks for Memorial day were breathtaking. Most importantly, our son had a memorable wedding day--perfect setting, weather. Will most definitely return!