Windham house rental - The fall colors are spectacular!
The fall colors are spectacular!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Windham House Rental Photos and Description
Hot Tub ; 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths: Sleeps 8-10 (max)

The Hill-n-Hollow, a Catskill Mountain retreat house is a warm and cozy home for couples or a large family sleeping up to 10 in comfortable beds. A wood pellet stove provides a warm evening ambiance on cold winter evenings while the days are filled with spectacular views and the wild nature of the Catskill Mountains including deer, turkey, foxes, rabbits, ?

An Outdoor HOT TUB was recently added which provides a splendid 'after-ski' experience - under the stars or the falling snow!

Standard Weekend rate (6-10 PAX) - 3 nights is $1,000. 2 nights (min. stay is $400 p/night = $800 plus tax)

Holiday weekend rates are $1,200 for 3 Nights, plus tax and $250 damage deposit. We normally do not accept less then the 3 nights for Holiday weekends, but if the calendar shows availability a week or so before, we are willing to negotiate the price.

Ski Resorts: The Hill-n-Hollow Guest House is located on Travis Hill Road in Preston Hollow over-looking the Great Northern Catskill Mountains. The slopes of Ski Windham are visible from 1 mile up the road behind the house. The hamlet of Preston Hollow borders the Catskill Creek. It is 15 miles to the Slopes - about 20 minutes to Windham. Hunter Mountain is a few miles (15 minutes) further. The surrounding hamlets are full of antique shops for browsing, and collecting. This is a house that offers solitude as well as a base for family activities in the mountains and surrounding farming communities.

The calendar on this web-site is kept up to date, so do check it for availability. Cross country skiing is available at the Huck Preserve in nearby Rensselaerville.

Accommodations and Rates: We offer rooms by the weekend (min. 2 nights), (lower rates for mid-week (3 nights min.), the week and the month.

For urgent answers you can my cell phone: 415-734-1242, (but there is limited cell coverage in our area so I might not be able to reply immediately to cell phone messages.)

Last Minute Deals are always an option. Less then 2 weeks out, we reduce our rates to fill the rooms so if you want a deal, check our availability on this site.

More Details
Hide Details

The property was purchased in 2000 as a vacation property. I grew up in upstate New York, but now live in California, and travel frequently to New York on business. The property is maintained by local friends.

Dennis Pitts purchased this house in 2000

We choose this property for it's spectacular view, and the charm of the surrounding hamlets, and easy access to the ski resorts of the Catskills, and the surrounding sites of Cooperstown, Saratoga, and Tanglewood, each about 1hr. 15. min. drive. A new Hot Tub under the stars, overlooking this fabulous view is a memorable experience.

Wow, is how we, and our friends felt about the house and the view. Most people have this same reaction. The area is quiet, safe, and yet accessible. We love watching the weather move up and down the valley, and no two sunsets are ever the same. An added benefit is that we have very few bugs, even on a warm evening. The hillside is dry and there are no places for mosquitoes to nest.

14 Reviews of Property 174521 in Windham, New York

Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
average rating of 4.285714 based on 14 reviews
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
Albany NY
5

Exceeded Our Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
We rented the house for the New Year's Eve weekend. Our original plan was to go skiing during the day but the house seemed so cozy and welcoming that we ended up staying in enjoying the gorgeous veiw in front of a fire. I was really impressed by the hospitality of the owner. He greeted us with two bottles of wine when we first came, and was always available to accomodate our needs. We also enjoyed the fact that the house is located in a very quiet and beautiful area.

I would recommed this property to anyone and for any occasion. You are almost guaranteed to have a wonderful time and meet great people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
Jersey City, New Jersey
4

AMAZING VIEW!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Cozy, eclectic property with lots of charm, a hodge-podge of antique furniture, knick-knacks and art. We were enamored with it all. It was like everyone's grandmas' house all in one!

This property was clean and well stocked with every thing we needed to have a great weekend. The view was amazing and we couldn't stop looking at it.

The two bedrooms upstairs were small but adequate with an adjoined bathroom. The living room and dining had a pellet stove which was nice and warm. There was also a small room on the the main floor with a pull-out sofa and a tv. The tv did not work but that was not an issue for us because we didn't come up there to sit around and watch tv. But there is a DVD player so you can bring DVDs to watch. There's also a full bathroom.

The lower level has two queen beds, bathroom with a shower and laundry room. There's also a futon in the bedroom area.

The kitchen was nicely stocked with pots, pans, silverware and other appliances. The refrigerator had an ice maker which was great for our drinks!

Outside we used the hot tub and it was freezing cold out and snowing but nice and warm in the tub. A very enjoyable experience.

We had a few questions about things when we got there and throughout the weekend and Dennis and his team quickly responded to everything and it was great! Don't hesitate to email him or call and leave a message. (Contrary to what other reviewers said he was quick to respond!)

Also, keep in mind the price of the rental. It's modestly priced and is priced accordingly.

We had a wonderful time and would love to return!

Our deposit was fully refunded with no issues.
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
4

Great house!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The house was perfect for us - we were 6 people and had plenty of room. The layout of the house is perfect for hanging out, and has beautiful unobstructed views of the mountains. It's close to skiing or great for just hanging around and making use of the hot tub.

The street is a steep hill but both the street and the driveway were plowed daily - just something to note.

We will definitely be coming back!
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
NYC
2

Great view, horrible service.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Let me start off by saying that the house itself is beautiful and the view is breath-taking. However, upon arriving at the house, we noticed that the central air conditioner unit was barely working. We had it on for several hours on 60 degrees (the max) and it barely made a difference. The house was still very hot, so we shut it off and opened windows/doors. The screen door leading from the living room onto the deck was completely off the track and no matter how many times I tried fixing it, it would get stuck and fall off again. The house was pretty clean, and the furniture had a very retro feel to it. No televisions in the house apart from one little one that I don't think worked. The bedrooms are really small (there's no master bedroom), but I didn't come here to sleep. The deck, pool, hot-tub area is absolutely amazing. Love the great views of the mountains.

Now to explain the main reasons why I gave this house only two stars. Early in the evening on my second night, around 7:30 pm, the power in the house went out. This means we weren't able to use the jacuzzi, stereo system, appliances, or turn on any of the deck lights at all. We were pretty much in the dark. We tried calling the owner and property managers on their cell phones, but no answer. We even left voicemails, and no one ever got back to us. Luckily, we were leaving the next morning. I feel like we lost a whole night from our vacation, and felt like I should be compensated in some way. You would think the owner would do something to make it right? Nope. Instead he kept $75 from my deposit because the cleaning crew found a few cigarette butts in the driveway. Wow.

Overall a horrible customer service experience. I would avoid this rental in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
5

More than we expected. Amazing views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rented this home for a wknd getaway with family. We expected a nice view BUT we were blown away @ what an AMAZING view the house has. From the pool(which the kids and adults were able to enjoy) to the jacuzzi, everything was more than we could've asked for. If relaxation is what your looking for then this is your place. You won't regret it.
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
4

Amazing View - A Lovely Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The photos don't do the view justice. We were in awe! We celebrated my husband's 35th birthday with friends and our young children. We found the house clean and well-sized for our group, and the pool was perfect for the little ones (and to cool off in the summer heat). There were deer, bunnies, and a sweet little nest of chicks being fed by their momma. I give the house four stars only because the house itself and some of the furnishing could use some updating and repairs (the sliding glass door didn't slide very easily). But we found that the the price was affordable for the place and would happily go back in the future. Also, the owner was very responsive with email and accommodating with a request for a late check out.
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
5

Kicked off our summer in the best way possible

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Me, my girlfriend, and 8 of our friends went to spend an amazing long weekend at this house in the beginning of Summer 2012. The view is the first thing you notice, it is one of the most spectacular I have ever seen, and then it only gets better from there. A huge property to explore, miles of some of the most scenic country road to drive on for miles in any direction, and relaxing in the pool or hot tub while basking in that glorious view. There is nothing like it. Then there's the house. It is a nice sized, very well appointed house. It has all the basic amenities and then some. I guarantee a very comfortable stay for your whole party. The entire house was very clean and in great shape. Nothing felt as if it had to be cleaned or washed upon arrival. The kitchen has many thing that are helpful in cooking and it was great to have a working grill. Cookouts every night. There is also plenty of space to throw little parties without bothering the neighbors at all. It was one of the greatest weekends of my life, and I wont just chalk that up to the fact that I'm young. Everything the owner had promised, proved to be true, except for the running water, which worked better then he had told me. My group never had any trouble taking hot showers. I highly recommend a stay at this house and I think me and my friends are going to be staying there again this summer.
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
5

Definitely recommended!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
7 of us rented this place for the weekend to ski at Windham mountain (< 30 minutes away).

Pros: AMAZING views, nice & clean interior, newly upgraded deck & hottub. Great phone & wi-fi reception
Cons: Not much grocery shops / restaurants around (seemingly). No cable TV.

All in all, definitely would go back.
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
5

Wonderful hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a lovely place to stay. Everything was as expected, and the pool provided a great way to cool off during the hot day. The view is SPECTACULAR. We had little incentive to leave the house.
business
Catskills, Windham Ski Area, Green County Festivals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174521
+1 4157341242
Windham Catskills
5

Spectacular Summer Getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
10 of my friends and I came to this GORGEOUS house for a summer weekend getaway to celebrate a 30th birthday and we couldn't have asked for a better location! The view was extraordinary, the pool was clean and refreshing, and the hot tub was perfect for relaxing once the sun dipped down. There was ample room for all 10 of us to sleep comfortably and the kitchen was stocked with pots, pans, utensils, and anything and everything we needed to prepare all of our meals. The layout of the house is unique and beautiful with contemporary art and a very homey feel. We appreciated the views from the oversized decks and the entire middle floor interior. On top of all this, the owners were extremely accommodating, pleasant, and an absolute pleasure to work with. We can't wait to come back and have already decided to make it a yearly tradition! Thank you Dennis and Jim for an unforgettable weekend!