Key Largo house rental - Shadow Point from the water
Shadow Point from the water
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Key Largo House Rental Photos and Description
2 Houses- total of 6 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Why would anyone want to rent a house on a canal right next to other houses and no real place to swim when you could rent this spectacular place.

Shadow Point' estate, a gated community, offers an exclusive retreat for vacationers desiring an intimate and private setting. This vacation rental is perfect for boaters, kayakers, canoers, divers and fishermen and can comfortably accommodate weddings, family retreats, workshops, and film shoots.This historic one-of-a-kind estate offers a glimpse of Key Largo as it was at the turn of the century. With its original Dade County hard wood floors, sinks in every room and unique pocket slider windows, the two guest houses offer the vacationer a chance to step back in time and experience the charm of days gone by. Located on a gated hammock point, the 2.5 acre estate is filled with lush tropical trees and a 260 degree view of pristine Key Largo Sound. It has its own private beach ready to launch kayaks and paddle-boards or built your own sand castle. The best dive reefs in the country are just a short boat ride away.

HISTORY: Shadow Point was built in 1917 by a ship captain and later bought by Chicago Industrialist, Frank Sweeting, for his fishing friends. After his daughter and son-in-law, Lelia & Marvin Adams, inherited the property, Adams spearheaded the design and construction of the nearby canal that links the bay side with the ocean side of Key Largo. It is now know by the locals as ' Adams Cut'.

Named for the beautiful changing shadows and light that filter through the tropical hardwood hammock, Shadow Point is located on Key Largo Sound, the ocean side of Key Largo, . Today, this estate offers the same relaxed atmosphere and seclusion of an earlier era. The 2.5 acre point is filled with lush tropical trees including Buttonwood, Gumbo Limbo. Lignum Vitae, and Key Lime. With a 260 degree view of pristine Key Largo Sound, Shadow Point is an exclusive retreat for those desiring an intimate and private setting.

ACCOMODATIONS: The main house has four large bedrooms with twin beds in two rooms and 2 king beds in the other two. There are private baths in both bedrooms with king beds.. The large kitchen is user-friendly and perfect for viewing the lovely trees and water while sipping coffee. The dining table can seat fourteen for family gatherings. A large breezy porch with hammock and two daybeds runs the length of the house and offers a panoramic view of the water. The guest cottage has a small kitchen, two bedrooms that each contain twin beds, a living room with a queen pullout couch, and a charming screened porch. Air conditioning, cable TV and wireless Internet add comfort and convenience.The property has 3 docks one of which has electric and water and can take a boat that draws up to 4 feet. This vacation rental is perfect for boaters, divers and fishermen along with being large enough for family retreats, workshops, weddings, and film shoots. We prefer to rent both houses together so you can experience total privacy and seclusion.

ACTIVITIES & ATTRACTIONS: Swimming, sailing, canoeing, and kayaking are available on site. Boat rentals, para sailing, reef diving are nearby. Local attractions include Theater of the Sea, a marine mammal park, 5 miles south; Swim with the Dolphins, 3 miles south; and the Key Largo Community Park, with swimming pools, tennis courts, and a fitness trail. Shopping and restaurants are only minutes away. We have had numerous weddings at Shadow Point. Please call for information.

Other Activities: kayaking, canoeing, tubing, boating,paddle boarding

Keywords: wedding property, estate, secluded, private

Beach front, swimming, snorkeling, paddle boarding

family groups,Historic,

workshops,

sun, fishing, 3 docks,

Kayaking,

We accept only personal checks made out to Shadow Point LLC sent to 3800 Wood Ave., Miami, Fl. 33133 . Please make sure you talk to us personally before sending any money.

More Details
Hide Details

This property has been in the family for almost 100 years.

Marlee or Dylan Matheson purchased this house in 1917

This property has been in my family for 100 years. It was one of the first houses built on Key Largo and located in an incredible secluded hammock that instantly takes travelers away from the hustle and bustle of life. I am the 5th generation of owners and I have decided to share this wonderful place.

Like stepping back in time to the lazy days of the 1920's

39 Reviews of Property 336813 in Key Largo, Florida

Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
average rating of 5.0 based on 39 reviews
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
5

Amazing!!! Pre-summer vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The pictures of this house were beautiful online and we could tell that this would be a nice place to vacation. When we arrived and toured the house and the grounds a feeling of serenity came over us and we felt completely one with nature. The grounds were well kept and beautifully landscaped. We had a 27 foot boat that fit perfectly on the dock. The property even has a mini beach for the kids to play. The house has a large kitchen and was well equipped with any and all cooking supplies. We even used their waffle maker for breakfast a few times. The beds were comfortable and there was a constant breeze flowing threw the house with the windows open and a/C off. We used the a/c at night to sleep. The house has so much character and a nostalgic keys look and feel . We are so lucky to have come across this treasured property and can't wait until we return!
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
5

Awesome Private Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful family reunion. Beautiful private, island like, retreat. The kayaking was awesome. The water was clear and warm. Not a swimming area; however, lots of fun.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
5

Amazing Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This was not our first trip to the Keys but it was our first time at Shadow Point. We cannot say enough about this property. By far, one of the best vacations ever! There were 12 of us total (all adults but this is a great place for kids too) and it turned out to be the perfect place to celebrate my husband's 40th (which we kept a surprise)! We snorkeled, fished and just relaxed on the beach the entire time. Shopping and great restaurants are very close and convenient but the 2 full kitchens made it very easy to cook most of the time. The large dining room table accomodated all of us and made dinners much more fun. Marlee was very easy to work with and there wasn't anything the place did not have for us. We look forward to many more vacations at Shadow Point in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for choosing Shadow Point. We love to share this gem with others so they can create their own memories!
Marlee
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
Wheat Ridge, CO USA
5

Great for larger Family get togethers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
16 person family vacation, the kids 9-15 loved the beach and the docks for swimming, the kayaks were used by all. the large dining room was great for all to sit, eat and talk. Kitchen was large enough for several people to work at the same time. The historic ambiance was enjoyed by all. Close to shopping and plenty of shade trees, gorgeous location.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Many thanks - So glad your family enjoyed their vacation. Please come visit us again. You are always welcome. Marlee
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
Miami Beach
5

Classic Keys Elegance

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I've been going down to Shadow Point for almost a decade. The expansive property is charming and full of history and life. There is plenty of space for everyone to eat, sleep and play comfortable and opportunities for activity abound. Swim, snorkel, fish, read, grill, cook or just lay in the sun or chat on the porch, enjoying the sea breeze. The In addition, recent upgrades to both the inside of the houses and the garden/foliage have only added to the impressive nature of this place. Still, the property retains its classic Keys elegance; you'll truly fall in love with its charm.

My wife and I were recently married at Shadow Point and it was the best decision we could have made. There is very little required to turn such a magical place into your dream wedding location. Needless to say we would highly recommend Shadow Point for a vacation, family gathering or other special event.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
What can you say about a vacation for 13 people (five grandchildren age 3-8)my wife and me and our three children's families when everything went really well. Shadow Point was wonderful--the large screened porch was the gathering point for adults as they emerged in the morning with their coffees and gradually got prepared for the day. Weather cooperated so much time was spent by children enjoying the small beach and the adults not being fearful of any problems. Kayaks were used by dads and their children and sunning, sitting and reading were much enjoyed activities by adults. The grounds are spectacular with beautiful landscaping right up to the water. The house is equipped with everything that anyone could possibly need; the beds were comfortable and we never ran out of hot water. A day in Key West for some; a day in the Everglades for everyone, and individual excusions to Anne's Beach and other places were perfect. The bottom line is that the house with its charm and comfortableness was the center point that made everyone happy. We hope to be able to return again. A really grand place for a large famility to enjoy! And thank you Marlee for making sure that we didn't worry about a thing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
5

Fabulous Family Vacation Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
What can you say about a vacation for 13 people (five grandchildren age 3-8)my wife and me and our three children's families when everything went really well. Shadow Point was wonderful--the large screened porch was the gathering point for adults as they emerged in the morning with their coffees and gradually got prepared for the day. Weather cooperated so much time was spent by children enjoying the small beach and the adults not being fearful of any problems. Kayaks were used by dads and their children and sunning, sitting and reading were much enjoyed activities by adults. The grounds are spectacular with beautiful landscaping right up to the water. The house is equipped with everything that anyone could possibly need; the beds were comfortable and we never ran out of hot water. A day in Key West for some; a day in the Everglades for everyone, and individual excusions to Anne's Beach and other places were perfect. The bottom line is that the house with its charm and comfortableness was the center point that made everyone happy. We hope to be able to return again. A really grand place for a large famility to enjoy! And thank you Marlee for making sure that we didn't worry about a thing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the kudos! I am so pleased that Shadow Point is enjoyed by all! We look forward to your next stay.
Marlee
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
NYC
5

A Magical Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We were married here in November of 2008 and returned for a week's stay in January 2011. It is a wonderful place and a true Keys experience.

We could not be happier with Shadow Point and hope to visit for many years to come. Marlee is very helpful and accommodating. We are so lucky she and her family take such great care of this property.

Shadow Point is a very special peninsula to visit with friends and family and enjoy the beauty of Key Largo. A few groceries on hand and you and yours are set for kayaking, fishing, hammocking on the porch, grilling out and living the good life.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your wedding at Shadow Point and that you have returned to this wonderful place. We have had many weddings since yours and it seems that all couples that get married here have experienced a true magical event. Thank you!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Wonderful Retreat Beth Coconut Grove, Fl Review Submitted: August 19, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010 Shadow Point was the perfect family escape for my husband's 50th. The house is charming and wonderfully comfortable, but the real surprise is out the back door. Beautiful views and complete privacy on Key Largo Sound. Everything inside and out was extemely well maintained. Marlee made sure we had everything we needed and quickly responded to any questions we had. The dock (had new railing bumpers, no need for fenders) was perfect for our 30' boat. It's a quick cruise to either the ocean or bay. If you want to experience old Key Largo in comfort and serenity, you will love Shadow Point. We look forward to returning. Thank you, Marlee!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Waterfront 2 Beach Home -Perfect for Families and Weddings
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336813vb
+ 772-7089599
Key Largo Upper Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Jupiter, Fl
Review Submitted: August 20, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
8 women gathered for several days at Shadow Point. The property was so fabulous, the views stunning and the home charming. We never expected or imagined this place could be so special, but it is. The uniqueness of this home is in its historic charm and artistic expressions seen throughout. The home and property are very well-maintained and it was refreshing to see the preservation of an "old florida" home. Great spot to get away from it all and relax. The owner was very easy to work with. Highly recommended!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1