Coconut Grove house rental - The Mission Awaits.
The Mission Awaits.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Coconut Grove House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, one bath, comfortably sleeps 4 (or 6)

Rarest of the rare. Simple but classic Old Spanish mission style home built with 1927 quality, lovingly (and insanely!) renovated from top-to-bottom. Original features have been maintained whenever possible; hardwood floors, working original cypress wood casement windows, plasterwork, lighting fixtures, etc. Yet the home has been attentively enhanced by the best and brand new: central air, under-the-counter washer/dryer, stainless steel appliances, and much much more. Fully furnished in a comfortable and truly eclectic style, ready for immediate enjoyment. Must be seen and “felt” to be believed. Located in the heart of the historic Shenandoah neighborhood, an area increasingly prized for its architecture and central location as Miami's traffic congestion grows progressively worse. Enjoy your own fenced-in backyard to play, relax. Adjacent to property 173947 (same owners).

15 Reviews of Property 174127 in Coconut Grove, Florida

Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
5

Excellnt Vacation Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I think its difficult to write this review, as neither myself or my wife have a single negative thing to say about our stay. The home is immaculate, Paul and Alan are wonderful hosts, The neighbourhood and the city are excellent. We traveled (for 1 week) with our 18month old daughter and had my wife's parents join us for a few days at the mission. It simply could not have been a better place to stay. We will not even consider looking for somewhere else to stay in Miami. The back (and side) gardens were enjoyed by all, and the home itself has everything you could possibly need right down to cooking supplies, and beach towels.

I would recommend this property to everyone, and I am sure that the other property owned by Paul and Alan is equally as well done, as the pair are wonderful. As hands off as you like, but always happy to have a chat, give advice on where to get a good pizza, or post that important thing you left behind.

The house is close enough to calle ocho and all of the wonderful eats, and galleries that it is walkable, and there is free parking at the house for getting out to the beach. I think the best way to describe our experience is, next time we go to Miami, if both of Paul and Alan's houses are booked, we will change the dates of our trip rather than look for somewhere else!

All three of us (even wee Josephine) full 110% recommend this place as excellent!
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Chicago, USA
5

Warm, Cozy, Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I stayed at this beautiful and unique home in early February, 2013. You can tell right away it is furnished with love. The art, much of it painted by one of the owners, is lovely and adds to a cozy, Floridian feeling. The warmth of the home is also reflected in the subtle lighting ( love the little lamp in the bathroom!) and comfy cushioned couch and chairs.

We relaxed in the back yard which is where we had many of our meals. Alan has built a wonderland of whimsical lighting in the yard which will make you smile.

It is in a real neighborhood with Little Havana just a few blocks away. Little Havana seemed touristy and good Latin food can be gotten in other places. But we did have lunch there once and it was fun. Coconut Grove and Coral Gables are just short drives away with good restaurants and shopping.

The kitchen is stocked better than my own with all the pots, pans, dishes and utensils that you would need. There are excess towels and even special beach ones you can take to South Beach just a 20 minute drive ( without traffic)

We have stayed in over 20 VRBO/Homeaway rentals over the years and this home is right at the top of our list. We stayed 6 nights and did not want to leave....we'll be back!
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
5

Another Mission Accomplished

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
A perfect venue for a family get together. All physical needs are catered for and Paul and Alan are the perfect hosts having looked after my parents until I arrived. They offered a perfect blend of support and privacy. The mission is an amazing home from home and should be in any tourist guide for the area. Pauls' paintings through the house, Alan's lighting displays (every ambience you could wish for) and gardens to explore, all add to this wonderland.
The house is in a quiet street close to everday ammenities and a short drive from most of the attractions of Miami. My elderly parents stayed for one month and were very comfortable, as was I for my ten days. I will certainly return in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Hong Kong, SAR China
5

A Charming Home. Ideal for Families.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The Mission is a very special place. The house and the decor have a lot of personality; the house is ecclectic and it will be a delight for those who appreciate places/things with character and history. The Mission has everything you can possibly imagine to make you feel comfortable and at home (a computer, printer, CDs, movies, games, cleaning supplies, basic ingredients in the kitchen; they have truly thought of everything!). Alan and Paul go out of their way to welcome you and make sure you have a pleasant stay. The house is ideal for a family vacation/reunion. We had lived in Miami, so we were looking for the local experience. The garden was a delight, which is beautifully lit at night (you really cant tell how special it is until you see it!). The house is centrally located and just minutes away from major spots (Downtown, Brickell, Little Havana, Coconut Grove, Soouth Beach and the Gables). The neighborhood certainly celebrates the Latin culture, and the grocery store around the corner has everything you need for less than half the price of a regular supermarket. The house is perfect for small kids/family and they even provide a pack and play. The price/cost of our stay does not compare to the quality of our time at the Mission.

For their attention to detail, their love and care for the house and their guests, it is truly a delight to have been able to stay at Paul and Alan's. We loved our time at the Mission, and we hope we can be back there soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Key West, FL
5

Great Location, Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Paul & Alan are gracious hosts and have put together a great place to stay. The location is excellent with quick, easy access to the sights and places in Miami - Dade. You can be at a nearly unlimited number of restaurants in less than 10 minutes. The neighborhood is eclectic. Some might be a little intimidated but we found it to be agreeable and friendly, especially on evening walks. The "Mission" house is beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The original art is a special and appreciated touch along with the great library. We heartily recommend this lovely property and we will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
St. Louis, MO
5

Felt like home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
We dug The Mission. It seriously feels like you're just going to your own beach/vacation house as everything you might think to put in such a home is provided--full kitchen, towels, bedding, books, miami guidebooks, games, take-out menus, movies, satellite TV, washer/dryer, computer/printer w/ internet, etc. (...but no wireless, though?) Paul and Alan are totally low-key, too, so you don't have to worry about them getting in your way. Plus it's got major character: Paul is a primo painter and has pieces hanging throughout the house. Alan is...well, I'm not sure what you call it, but "he's good with lights!" ...like, ambient lights. The house and backyard has tons of thoughtful lighting to set the mood just right. The hosts definitely won't bother you, though. We just spent a bit more time with them because we had a lot in common and they are very knowledgeable about the area.

This not a beach house, per se, as you can't walk out the door and be on the beach. I would recommend this more for someone looking to explore Miami or simply as a getaway home. The beach is VERY close, but is a drive rather than a walk. We went to the beach three-ish days of our week-long trip + South Beach, Key West, Vizcaya, Children's Museum, Little Havana. We did have two small children (1 yr-old & 2 y-old) at the place which didn't prove too difficult, but we had to keep an eye on them (I say this as the uncle--their parents may have thought otherwise :).

The neighborhood may sketch out some people on first sight, but it is really fine. My bro-in-law ran all through it a couple mornings, and we walked all along Calle Ocho multiple times. And there's a sweet bakery right on the corner (literally about 50 ft. away).

Overall, this was a totally unique and comfortable place that makes for a good jumping off point for anything in/around Miami. We really enjoyed our stay!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the kind words. We have been blessed with truly excellent guests.

Just one "Clarification" for future guests: we do indeed provide wireless Internet access to our high-speed DSL Broadband connection. We will surely try to do a better job in the future of making that known!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Boston, MA
5

Mission Accomplished!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
The Mission felt comfortable immediately and reflected a unique talent for design. The attentive owner's, Paul and Alan have packed the immaculate house with every amenity and want to ensure your stay is pleasurable. The backyard gardens are a magical place to read, have breakfast or dream. The sights are nearby and we enjoyed the Art Deco Tour in Miami beach, the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden in Coral Gables and a festival in Little Havana. This is a special house...you will be captivated with every detail!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Honolulu, HI, USA
5

Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We loved staying in this charming house! Everything we needed or wanted and more from a fast computer to laundry soap and even fun books on historic Miamis was thoughtfully provided. The absolutely de"light"ful courtyard ( terrific job Alan!) was especially appreciated, it was so nice to sit and dine outdoors in the beautiful garden. Thank you Paul and Alan for your warm hospitality and for making my first visit to Miami so enjoyable and memorable!

Me ke aloha,
Linette
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Boston, MA
4

Truly home away from home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
The home was comfortable; it had all the amenities one would need. The location was perfect; it is minutes from downtown Miami, Coconut Grove, Key Biscayne, South Beach and I-95. In addition, there is a local bakery at the end of the block from which we bought fresh baked bread and cuban pastries every morning.

The owners live next door so it was easy to contact them if we had questions.

The only part of our stay that could be improved and can be easily remedied is the quality of the bedding (both mattress and sheet selection). One room has futons and the second bedroom has a very firm mattress. It took a few more stretches in the morning to shake off any stiffness from the night's sleep regardless of which bed was used.

Other than that, enjoy your stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Old Spanish Gem: The House That Love (Re)built
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174127
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
medina, ohio
5

Graduation Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
We've been coming to Miami for four years as our daughter attended U.M., and we've always stayed at local hotels. This year, we decided to make a vacation of it and spent a week in Miami prior to graduation. The house was in close proximity to U.M. and an easy drive to the campus. Lovely, quiet home - relaxing and peaceful. The backyard is phenomenal. Paul and Allan were excellent hosts- suggesting places to visit that we hadn't seen. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5