Poipu house rental - The front exterior of the Beach House
The front exterior of the Beach House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
 

Poipu House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps up to 6

The Beach House is an oceanfront home, located on the beautiful sunny south shore of Kaua'i. It is literally 30 feet from the water’s edge. Watch the sun set every evening on the horizon, illuminating the clouds and the sky into brilliant patterns and hues. The sea turtles swim constantly at water’s edge, and the surfers perform defiant maneuvers on the blue breaking waves beyond.

The Beach House is an oceanfront home, located on the beautiful sunny south shore of Kaua'i. It is literally 30 feet from the water’s edge. Watch the sun set every evening on the horizon, illuminating the clouds and the sky into brilliant patterns and hues. The sea turtles swim constantly at water’s edge, and the surfers perform defiant maneuvers on the blue breaking waves beyond.

Our romance with the Hawaiian Islands began during our first vacation to the Big Island of Hawai'i in 1976. Since then my wife and I have visited many, many times. As our kids were growing up we would stay at my parent's time share on the Big Island for a month each summer. That never seemed to be enough for me and I was determined to purchase a home in Hawai'i and somehow eventually live there. My wife enjoyed our vacations, but was not so sure about purchasing a home in Hawai'i until we visited Kaua'i for the first time in 2001. After walking in the front door for the first time of what would soon be our Beach House in Kaua'i, she said 'Tom, if you buy this house for me I could live in Hawai'i.' Although I thought at first that she was joking, through quite a series of miracles we were able to purchase the property. Since then we have attempted to make Kaua'i more and more our home. We live at our Poipu Beach House part of the time each year, and spend the remainder at our home in Capistrano Beach, California, where Deena is a teacher. I am a helicopter pilot, and often spend my time off at our Kaua'i home making repairs, doing routine maintenance, and renovating. I completed an extensive remodel of the property during the first half of 2008. Our kids are now grown, and we have more time to now enjoy the romantic and relaxing Hawaiian lifestyle and culture together. I am a water person, so I couldn't be happier with the ocean in my back yard, and the constant sound of the Hawaiian surf splashing on the seawall. My wife loves to walk to Spouting Horn, the Botanical Gardens, shopping, restaurants, and the many beaches that are close by. Our pets are the sea turtles that live in the water in front of our home.

Tom Stirling purchased this house in 2001

.....TO VIEW THE LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY ON THE MAP, CLICK SATELLITE OR HYBRID VIEW.....

26 Reviews of Property 174098 in Poipu, Hawaii

The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Sometimes you just luck out and strike gold. We certainly did when we came across Tom and his beautiful beach house on Turtle Bay. From the moment we first arrived and found Tom waiting for us and immediately saw a whale breach in the ocean directly behind him, things just got better. We had planned this trip with our two grown children who flew in from the east coast with friends to meet us in Kauai after our earlier visits to the big island and Oahu. This was our first time in Kauai and we were looking forward to our first vacation with both kids in several years. Tom's beach house proved not only the perfect setting for experiencing the beauty of the island, it was the ideal location for relaxing, touring the island, finding good restaurants, farmers markets and everything else you would want to experience about Kauai. The only negative to report is our stay there was only 9 days long and much too short. All else exceeded our expectations. You can read about the location of this house and it's convenience and beauty, the trade winds, the sounds of the surf, the shows put on by the whales, the sea turtles, the amazing sights you'll see snorkeling, the convenient beach and it's all real. But when you actually experience this amazing place you'll find just how real all of that is. The best part of our whole experience was getting to know Tom. Tom takes meticulous care of his home and makes you feel like you're a guest he is sharing his home with you. The three bedrooms and three bathrooms are private and comfortable, the kitchen is modern and the ocean is in view from everywhere in the house. There are even mirrors on the back wall of the kitchen which reflect the ocean. The house was spotlessly clean and every knife in the kitchen was razor sharp. But mostly we enjoyed our visits with Tom and left for home knowing we had a new friend on Kauai. We will be back, Tom...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
5

Great Home, Great Landlord

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had the privilege to stay in Tom's home for six weeks. The house is lovely, not too large...but more than ample room. The location is perfect, a private lane on water's edge, walk to the shopping center, walk to restaurants. Tom is a terrific host! There if you need anything, but not overbearing. He has become a good friend! If you value peace, privacy and want to experience the serenity of the ocean at your door, this is the pace for you! Mahalo, Tom.
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
Alberta
5

Most Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented this property for a long awaited family vacation. It was perfect! Location was easy to find, the house had everything you could want. Very well appointed & stocked. We went no where else to snorkel, the reef was amazing and our family had so much enjoyment watching the turtles in front of the property. A great deck with lots of space to eat and BBQ on. Each couple had their own space. Great parking for 2 vehicles and the outside shower was such a bonus! Enabled us to wash the day's sand off before heading inside. Location is easy to find and depart to anywhere on the island from. Not a long trip from the airport and not too far to Costco either. We were so very fortunate to get such great assistance from the owner (Tom). He was most helpful and attentive. We would certainly consider renting this property in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
5

The perfect house to experience Kauai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family had the great pleasure of staying in Tom's house for a week in July 2013. We only wish it could have been longer. We had very high expectations for the house from the pictures and description yet the house and its location exceeded our expectations. This is the perfect house and location for a stay in Kauai. The house is only 25 feet from the ocean and we went to sleep each night to the sound of the crashing waves. Each morning we were greeted by sea turtles only feet from the bulkhead. We were mesmerized by them. One afternoon, we counted 12 sea turtles. The house has three bedrooms, three bathrooms, a full kitchen which we used everyday, an outdoor grill, large common areas, and a convenient washer/dryer. We never turned the large screen TV on. The house is stocked with all linens and towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. As Tom told us, the house has everything you need except food. The bay in front of the house is probably the best snorkeling spot on the South Coast yet it is only accessible from a small beach just two houses away which keeps the bay private. The adjoining coast outside the Beach House Restaurant is a great surfing spot and we watched surfers from the lanai until dusk every night. The week's at Tom's house is without a doubt our favorite vacation together as a family. This is not a rental house but Tom's home which he graciously rents to others while he stays in a nearby studio apartment. It is obvious that this is a house that is cared for and it was a pleasure to spend a week here. We plan to return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Picture Perfect are the words to surmise both this home and its location. We ended our Hawaiian vacation by visiting Tom's home in Kauai. Tom's home provided the perfect place for us to rest, relax and enjoy the beauty of Kauai. The location of the home allowed us quick access to Old Koloa town as well as access to restaurants, food markets, botanical gardens, beaches, snorkeling and surfing -- some of which were a few minutes walk.
We were pleasantly surprised to find Tom's home carefully outfitted to suit our very particular needs: from the linens to the kitchen appliances to his top of the line BBQ (of which we made full use).
Each evening, we looked forward to watching the turtles dance in the waters in the backyard, angel fishes gliding around and crabs scurrying about the rocks. After the spectacular sunsets, we relished being lulled to sleep each night by the incoming tide and the fresh ocean air in the most comfortable beds we have found on the road. [The proximity of the home to the ocean detailed in the pictures are accurate along with the depiction of the interior of the home.]
To top the vacation off, we were also fortunate to have Tom as our helicopter pilot for our tour of the lush landscape of Kauai - a memory that we will always cherish.

This home away from home beckons for a return visit - one of which we intend to fulfill.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
Seattle, WA
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We love Kauai, and had always stayed at the Hyatt. But for those longer trips, we just get sick of being stuck in a hotel, eating out all the time, so many people... So off we searched for a house. And came upon this one. From the inquiry through our departure, Tom was a pleasure to work with! The house is AMAZING. It's everything we'd hoped for and wanted on our vacation. The privacy of the huge back yard, the great kitchen that looks out through the floor-ceiling view of the ocean, the space to just relax and enjoy - I can't think of one thing I didn't like!
Every day we woke up to the sound of the ocean, enjoyed breakfast on the lanai watching whales frolicking off in the distance. We barely left the house- many of our plans were canned when we realized all we wanted to do was enjoy the quiet beauty this home offered us. Reading in the yard, swimming with the honu, watching the waves crash on the rocks, the sunset... We've never become so relaxed so quickly on a trip before! It's like the house was made for us... (right, Tom??! ;-D )
Tom was great - he made us feel welcome, we had great conversation, and he even picked a few coconuts for us that he expertly macheted. Nothing like fresh coconut water! He was available for anything we needed, and was fun to chat with to boot!
Suffice to say, we cried like babies when we had to leave. Tom almost had to pry our hands off the door... We are so glad Tom shared his home with us; it gave us a vacation we'll always remember. We hope to stay here whenever we find ourselves back on Kauai!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
Sandusky, Ohio
5

The Beach House in Poipu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The view from this house was outstanding! We enjoyed watching the goergeous sunsets from the back yard. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves was very relaxing. The house was extremely clean, well maintained and comfortable. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner of the property. It was evident he cared deeply about his house. He even took the time to cut down a coconut from his tree for us to enjoy for breakfast. The fresh fruit basket in the kitchen was also a pleasant suprise.
We would definately recommend this property to other people vacationing in the area. Poipu is a beautiful town with a lot to do. We had dinner at The Dolphin restaurant. The food was fantastic.
We're looking forward to staying at this house during our next vacation to Kauai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
United States
5

Amazing home and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved staying in Tom's extremely clean and beautiful home. It was great to have a large kitchen to cook in and sleeping to the sound of the waves was amazing. We had visitors in the ocean in the backyard each day, including numerous sea turtles and manta rays. Tom was professional and helpful. We definitely recommend staying here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
5

Perfect Kauai Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
It is hard to find words to express what a great vacation home this is. Tom is a caring and responsive proprietor and a gracious host. The house itself is immaculately kept, perfectly located, and uniquely conducive to a relaxing vacation. The sound of the surf, the ocean views, the turtles that stay just in front of the property, the proximity to necessary amenities and restaurants, and the overall package of the house and its openness and connection to the outdoors all combine to make an unforgettable vacation experience. Thank you, Tom, for sharing your home with us. We will refer folks your way and will be sorely disappointed if we don't make it back to stay soon. All of our personal best.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Beach House-Kauai's Best Ocean Front Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174098
+ (808) 755-5115
Poipu Kauai
5

Absolute heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our stay at the Beach House on Kauai was absolutely perfect--the house is sparkling clean, and the location could not be better. We snorkeled with the turtles that come every afternoon to the reef right off the patio--it was a highlight of our trip! The best Poipu beaches were close by, and the proximity to fantastic restaurants (the Beach House restaurant for a classic Kauai dinner and sunset, Josselin's for the most amazing tapas, Merriman's for brilliant fresh fish) made this a great vacation home.
Tom is a charming host, and takes great pride in this gorgeous home. He ensured we had everything we needed to enjoy not only the house, but the nearby beaches and restaurants. We truly felt treated like family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2