Coconut Grove cottage rental - Barrel Tile & Palm
Barrel Tile & Palm
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Coconut Grove Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, one bath, comfortably sleeps 4

Truly one of a kind. Storied 'Lost Reef Cottage' built in masterful Old Spanish architectural style of the1930's, in private coral rock/ garden setting in Miami's historic Shenandoah neighborhood. Spacious and comfortable retreat from the fast-paced city just outside its walls: green, serene, & refreshing yet centrally located. An excellent 'home base' in every respect, painstakingly restored. Central a/c comfort, soaring beam ceiling, stained glass, Florida coral rock. Wonderful master bedroom with large queen size (IKEA) bed; roomy loft; full, quality kitchen (incl. microwave, dw); clean comfortable bath (shower), NEW washer/ dryer! Great possib. for private historic garden 'compound' with house next door, prop. # 174127. Super place to entertain or kick back, enjoy Satellite TV, or pick up a book from quirky but fun library. Hi-speed Internet provided. For more info, visit our web log (link under 'Further Details' below, or Google 'Lost Reef Cottage.') Thank you

Part of Historic Garden Compound: Immediately adjacent to the house known as 'the Mission', is HomeAway property # 174127 'Old Spanish gem'.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 173947 in Coconut Grove, Florida

Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
5

Lost Reef

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
A wonderful stay at the "Lost Reef" cottage. Paul and Alan couldn't have been nicer. The house is magical, lights, the garden, and everything you need for a restful and creative stay. We liked the close proximity to Miami and to Coconut Grove while still being in a neighborhood. The hosts provided us with lots of information and were eager to help in any way. At the same time, they respected our privacy, too. Everything was immaculate. I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and creative habitat. Our favorite market was Milam's. This is our second home away experience and both have been wonderful!
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
north, carolina
5

The Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I had a great week here. Everything you could want in a beautiful and convenient setting - there were many conveniences and extras I did not anticipate. Right in Little Havana and within walking distance of restaurants and landmarks. The owners are helpful but not intrusive. Thanks Alan and Paul.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Brussels, Belgium
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Whimiscal, magical, enchanted, incredibly well appointed and spotlessly clean... you will want for nothing when staying at Lost Reef Cottage. Staying here is truly an unforgettable experience. Even my very hard to impress teenage children are amazed by this place. I have stayed in many Homeaway.com properties in the U.S. and Europe, but Lost Reef Cottage is my favorite by far. Generally, I believe life is too short to stay in the same place twice, but Lost Reef Cottage is the exception to this rule. It will be very sad to leave this incredible cottage and I will count the days until I can return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Arlington, Texas
5

The only way to stay in Miami!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family and I live in Texas and went to Miami in August to enjoy the beaches, and snorkeling in the Keys. We did not want to stay in a sterile and/or boutique-ish hotel, so we opted for this "home away from home" in Little Havana. The cottage is impeccably decorated, yet comfortable with beautiful wood floors, festive lighting, and stylish furniture. There were three of us staying in the cottage, although it sleeps four. Since we were gone for most of the day/night, the coziness of the cottage was just fine. The bedroom is a nice size, with a nice-sized closet and bathroom/shower. There is a loft (which my teenage boys enjoyed) that easily housed them and their luggage. There is also an open "office" with chairs and icomputer desk. The beds in both the bedroom, and the loft are extremely comfortable and queen size. The neighborhood around the cottage is quiet and the curtains allow for darkened rooms when you want them, especially in the morning! The amenities include a full kitchen (with kitchen table), refrigerator, computer/internet, t.v. (with cable), and a washer and dryer. The cottage is nestled beside a lovely coral garden, with typical Miami flora: palms, flowers, hibiscus, and a quiet fountain for enjoying evening cocktails. Also convenient is a corner grocery that has a counter where you can eat cuban food (I recommend the media noche sandwich). The hosts, Paul and Alan, are warm and welcoming, but then leave you to your privacy, unless you need something. The cottage is a 10 minute drive to Key Biscayne (great beaches!), and Coconut Grove, which is really all you need to visit in Miami, in my opinion. It is also close to the highway (5 minutes) if you want to visit South Beach and shopping on Lincoln Boulevard. I would defnitely stay here again if I return to Miami. The way to see it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to have you all back!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Saint Petersburg, Florida
5

Wonderful cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We wanted to thank you so much for the wonderful time we had while staying in your cottage. It was conveniently located to all of our destinations and was well appointed and comfortable. We immediately felt at home there.

Four of us stayed together and had plenty of room to go about our morning rituals. It was great to have a full kitchen for breakfast in the morning.

It was really a clean, well-lighted place, if you'll pardon the reference to Hemingway.

Georgia and Agnes (poodle and aussie) gave two paws up as well.

We look forward to staying with you again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Durham, U.K.
5

Lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
My husband, seven year old son and I had a very pleasant stay at this extremely well equipped and beautifully decorated cottage. It was a pity we were so jet lagged that we didn't really get the most out of our time here, including use of the garden. We arrived late at night after a delayed trans-atlantic flight and were welcomed by Paul and shown around despite the hour. It was great having a computer with internet access in the study. Location was very good if you have a car.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
NYC
5

Still dreaming of elsewhere

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
My husband and I spent several glorious days and nights in this most magical place. I still don't know how I stumbled upon Paul's amazing website but once I did I was a goner. The house and cottage are even more charming and inviting than any photo can convey. The first time I entered the cottage I started to laugh because it was just so incredibly wonderful. Paul and Alan were perfects hosts and we now think of them as old friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
South Carolina
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
This was our second stay at the Lost Reef Cottage. We wanted a "home" to stay in for our son's graduation from the University of Miami and the cottage was perfect for us. It was easy to get to from the Ft. Lauderdale airport and convenient to the University while we were there. We enjoyed the comforts of the cottage and also the surrounding gardens. It is quiet and peaceful and you won't even know that you are in the city! The owners, Paul and Alan, have thought of everything you might need. We used their grill to cook out one evening and ate in the outside dining area. We loved having the space to spend time with our family as we celebrated the occasion. We barely got in a visit with Paul as he was sick while we were there, and Alan was out of town (we did meet his lovely mother!) , but we felt their welcoming presence and will surely return when our travels bring us back to the Miami area. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Kenosha, WI
5

Paradise in Coconut Grove/Miami

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
From the moment we drove up to the Lost Reef, we were at "home". From the enchanting gardens, to the artsy, homey feel of the cottage, we had found paradise in the midst of chaos. Paul & Alan have made this property into a very clean, over the top in amenities(down to paper towels and a computer) place that we would certainly visit again. It is very quiet and the neighborhood has some great architecture. We highly reccommend the Lost Reef Cottage.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique 'Old Spanish' Cottage in Private Garden Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173947
+1 305 3052995904
Coconut Grove Miami Area
Truro, Cornwall, UK
5

An Unusual Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
A most unexpected place to stay with some quite quirky features. Basically a very good 2-person house which will sleep up to 6 (with a good size bed settee and a futon on a mezzanine floor. It is well hidden behind the owner's main house. There is plenty of space and it is clean and well equipped, including a computer in the study for the use of guests.

The garden is wonderful, it's like being buried in the jungle. There is lots of seating and the whole garden is beautifully illuminated at night which makes it a lovely place to enjoy a glass of wine (or two, or three) in the warm night air. Even the glass topped garden table has lighting hidden in it.

The description of the property is accurate and well detailed in all respects with a very good, navigable "Street View". The owners were very friendly, taking trouble to ensure we had an enjoyable stay; any little problems were quickly resolved.

The property is located in a predominately Spanish/Cuban area so language is a slight problem at the shop/cafe/launderette, which is no more than a minute away, but the shop is amazingly well stocked with everything you could want for self-catering.

A very good place to relax or use as a base for sightseeing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 5/5