Big Powderhorn chalet rental - Cozy, fireplace, sauna, deck view of Powderhorn Mt, 1/2 mile to the Ski Lift
Cozy, fireplace, sauna, deck view of Powderhorn Mt, 1/2 mile to the Ski Lift
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Big Powderhorn Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Deluxe chalet w/ 3 bedrooms & loft, 2 full baths, sauna/with shower, sleeps 8

This northern woods ski chalet nestled in the heart of Big Snow Country brings all the comforts of home for the entire family. Celltic Haus is near the base of Big Powderhorn Mountain in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The chalet has 3 bedrooms including a master bedroom with a king bed, 1 queen bedroom, and the third bedroom with twin beds. The 2nd story loft also has twin beds and overlooks the large main floor of the chalet. As you look out the big windows from the living room you can see the front face of Powderhorn Mountain which receives over 200 inches of snow a year. The chalet comes with a fully equipped kitchen and seating for 10 people in the dining area, a game room with bumper pool, darts, and a full size sauna. The ski lifts are about 1/2 mile away, the free shuttle bus can be used, or there is ample parking. Complimentaty lodge locker for skis and equipment.This home rewards you with a relaxing atmosphere after a great day of skiing. Summer in the North Woods is great too.

Ski Big Powderhorn Mountain: Ski and Snowboard the challenging hills of Big Powderhorn for the pure joy of it! This area receives over 200 inches of snow a year, is family friendly and has been a Midwest favorite since 1963. There is Nordic trail access, on-slope dining, entertainment and specialty shops.

-$6 DISCOUNTED ADULT LIFT TICKET at Powderhorn Mt. every day, no coupons, no fuss

- CHILDREN age 9 and under Ski FREE with a paying adult

-33 Long sweeping trails

- 9 Lifts

- 253 Breathtaking acres of skiing terrain

- Kinderschool and adult lessons

- Big Bird learners hill and lift

- 2 Terrain parks, Oxbow and Powderkeg

- Extensive snow making equipment

- Ice Skating and Wagon Rides

- Free shuttle to the hill

-Snowmobile and ATV trails nearby

- Discount packages

Summer in the Upper Peninsula: SUMMER: Although Celtic Haus was originally built for winter sports, many have found it to be a delightful summer retreat also. Summer is beautiful in the UP! There are so many things to do and see in the north woods. Sylvania Wilderness area offers pristine canoeing fishing and camping on several lakes. Sylvania Outfitters can rent any equipment. The Porcupine Mountains with it's 'Lake of the Clouds' on Lake Superior are beautiful with many hiking trails and beautiful beaches. Madelaine Island is a 15 minute ferry ride from Bayfield, WI and is enjoyable as a lunch destination or to see the museum there. There are many golf courses in the area, some extremely well maintained and others have been carved out of the forest. All are challenging. Fishing is available on Lake Superior or several lakes. Most attractions are within 25-50 miles away. Fall 'color' is especially nice. Celtic Haus is a homebase for so many things to do, but also a restful place if that is what you would like.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 173721 in Big Powderhorn, Michigan

Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Marquette, MI
5

Winter Wonderland Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
We just returned today from our weekend stay at Celtic Haus at Big Powderhorn. Our group of 8 really enjoyed the chalet.

It was wonderful having the big open area for hanging out and spending time together. We all enjoyed the sauna, fire place and convenient location to the hill. With fresh snow, this place really does look just like the pictures. It was very clean and well maintained. We were amazed at how quickly the BPLA (Big Powderhorn Lodging Assoc.) staff arrived when we called to request more towels! It was less than 5 minutes!

We also enjoyed cooking pizza's from the Cheese Haus. This is the gift shop next to where you check in. They have a great selection of snacks and souvenirs. Another "must" on your to do list in the Western UP is a sleigh ride. We were thrilled to find out that a nearby farm offers sleigh rides in the evenings. It was a magical experience that we all enjoyed.

Overall, we will certainly return to Big Powderhorn again. We were very happy with our stay at Celtic Haus.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the nice review.
I am so happy someone else enjoys our house as much as we do.
I have tried very hard to include all the amenities and plusses of staying at Celtic Haus, but from your review I see I have missed some.
Again, thank you.
Mary Lou
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Hartland, WI
5

Glorious in Summer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I had a beautiful stay this week at Celtic Haus. I so appreciate the owners thoughtfulness with an extremely well-equipped kitchen. A real colander, good quality pots and pans, good knives and an excellent coffee maker. Thank you! In addition, the beds are very good quality - no sagging mattresses.

Best of all is te general laid back vibe. I love the big window in the great room and all the little clerestory windows - it feels like you are right outside in the woods. There's a lot to do in summer: hiking and mountain biking and Lake Suprtior. But doing nothing at all is pretty great, too. Thank you for shari f your wonderful get away in the north.
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Green Bay, WI
5

Warm and inviting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Our family has been coming to the Celtic Haus for the three of the past four years and it has been a fantastic place for relaxing fun vacation. It was my fault that we did not go one year and I have been paying for every year.

We love this place. It's clean and well located for quick access to skiing and snowmobiling.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Rochelle, IL
5

Summer at Celtic Haus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We loved our stay at Big Powderhorn very much! We called the Celtic Haus home for a week this summer and couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable stay! Centrally located between Ironwood and Bessemer, Michigan there is a lot to do during the summer! We visited Lake Superior (at Black River Harbor) and hiked the trails right there to see the beautiful waterfalls along the Black River itself. On the way out to BRH we stopped to see "Copper Peak" which we hear is North Americas tallest ski flying hill. You can even take a trip to the top of the jump and see Wisconsin, Michigan, Minnesota and Canada!

The Celtic Haus is clean and neat, well equipped and very comfortable! There's room for everyone there! Very spacious for the money! We will be sure to stay again! Thanks to the owners, you are doing a great job!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Woodstock, IL
5

We LOVED the Celtic Haus!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Our family just returned from a 3 night stay at the Celtic Haus...and to say we loved it is an understatement! Our teenage age daughters who are 17 and 16 each brought their best friends along and they all had a blast! 2 of the girls set up "camp" in the loft and made it their home for the duration of the stay...they loved that loft!

Celtic Haus is beautiful...so cozy and inviting. There is plenty of room and then some. Thank you for all the extras...movies, books in the bookshelf, board games in the dresser drawers and everything you could ever need in the kitchen! It truly felt like home when we were there!

We highly recommend it to anyone!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Elkhorn, WI
5

Fun for all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2007
  • Stayed: Feb 2007
Just found your site while I was planning our February, 2008 vacation. Our family of 5 was quite comfortable in the chalet. The kitchen was well equiped so preparing meals was easy. Our kids (4,6, and 11) enjoyed a variety of runs on Big Powderhorn mountain and we were comfortable with our 11 year old taking the convenient shuttle bus down to the hill in the morning. There was plenty of hot water for showers and the kids enjoyed the bumper pool table in the basement. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a family vacation and winter distraction.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! Our family has enjoyed Celtic Haus for many years. When the children were younger we spent every Christmas there. The skiing is wonderful and the holiday crowds don't usually arrive until about the 27th, so there are virtually no lift lines.
Mary Lou
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Milwaukee, Wi
5

Northern Michigans Powderhorn Mountain!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2007
  • Stayed: Jan 2007
We have stayed at the Celtic Haus now several times and keep coming back "home" to it every year! It's a great retreat from the real world. Talk about RELAXING!! We love the ammenities and the charm of the house (haus as they call it). Every year the U.P. gets a ton of snow that makes for a great day of skiing, snowmobiling and snowshoeing. By the way, snowmobile trails are easy to get to from the house. They connect with a bunch of trails including one that goes up to Lake Superior! Talk about fun!!! We got to see "Copper Peak" which is a "ski flying hill" (I call it ski jumping but what do I know). They have rides up to the top where you can see 3 states PLUS CANADA! VERY COOL! Tons of fun things to do from Celtic Haus. Thanks for the great North woods retreat! We'll be back for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We really appreciate your review. We try to make Celtic Haus as "user friendly" as we can.
Happy skiing, boarding, mobiling, shoeing and whatever in the UP!
Mary Lou
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Upper Peninsula Michigan Ski Chalet-$6 off Lift Ticket, kids 9 and under free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173721
Big Powderhorn Upper Peninsula Michigan
Chicago
5

I love the UP!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2007
  • Stayed: Mar 2007
This place was great. All of our family, friends and kids were able to stay in one cabin and ski Big Powderhorn and also Indian Head Mountain just a few minutes away from the cabin. For once this is an accurate listing of what you see is what you get. The booking process was easy and last years snowfall was good. The Celtic Haus is an annual place we like to go to every year for our ski vacation.
Helpful votes: 2/2