Arch Cape house rental - Deck at sunset - Do you like watching the sun set? We do, especially from Rancho del Mar's deck!
Deck at sunset - Do you like watching the sun set? We do, especially from Rancho del Mar's deck!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Arch Cape House Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 2.5 Bath, ocean view home, sleeps 11-12, family-friendly, meticulously furnished and maintained, loaded with conveniences

From the moment you walk through the front door of this premier home, you’ll be wowed by impressive ocean views framed by floor-to-ceiling windows! A bright, airy design provides ample space for enjoying one another’s company as well as quiet retreat. The indoor living area flows through French doors to the spacious, ocean-facing deck, ideal for outdoor dining and enjoying beautiful sunsets.

Recently renovated, this single-story 4-bedroom, 2.5-bathroom home provides the ultimate in family-friendly convenience and comfort. In-floor heat warms your toes, an outdoor hot/cold shower provides easy cleanup after a day at the beach, the covered barbecue area ensures the chef stays dry, and dimmer-switched custom lighting creates a relaxed ambiance throughout.

Rancho del Mar sleeps 11 to 12 guests. The master bedroom features a pillow-topped king-sized bed and stunning ocean views, while the very private second master suite has a queen-sized bed with minibar and half bath. The youngest guests will love their own nautical-themed retreat—a playroom with foldout futon, flat-screen TV and DVD player, and adjoining bunk room with dual twin bunk beds. Individually switched reading lights at each bunk encourage nighttime reading. A cozy fourth guest room features a twin-over-double bunk bed and desk work station (if you must).

The exceptionally well-supplied kitchen, with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, delights even the most gourmet chefs. Enjoy unhurried meals and lively conversation around the spacious custom-built dining table. The dining and kitchen areas open to a tastefully decorated living room highlighted by a stacked stone fireplace and custom-milled fir mantel. Build a crackling fire, then sink into the comfortable wraparound sofa while losing yourself in a novel or watching your favorite movie or sports channel on the cable-equipped flat-screen HD television and Blu-ray DVD player. You can also stream music or connect to the Bose surround sound system with your own device.

Just 90 seconds away, a secluded coastline beckons you to explore tide pools teeming with sea creatures, visit the caves and waterfall at Hug Point, and walk through the arch at low tide. A convenient red wagon totes boogie boards, sand toys, and chairs by day and marshmallow sticks for s’mores and stargazing by a roaring bonfire after dark. When you are ready to venture further, nearby Cannon Beach offers a plethora of swanky restaurants, fine art galleries, shops, and the famed Haystack Rock. For adventure seekers, Ecola and Oswald West State Parks, Short Sands Beach, horseback riding, crabbing, clam digging, and fishing are all close by.

You are sure to become one of the many guests who return again and again to experience the good times to be had here at Rancho del Mar.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of five, children ages 9, 11, and 15. As an active family, we especially enjoy the opportunities for outdoor recreation that the Oregon Coast offers. Our children enjoy playing in the creek that flows into the ocean in front of our home, searching for crabs and other critters in the tide pools at either end of the Arch Cape beach, surfing and boogie-boarding, and hiking nearby.

We live only 90 minutes east, in Portland, and are also avid skiers in the winter.

Danna Kittell purchased this house in 2003

Arch Cape is a quiet 'suburb' of Cannon Beach. Public parking here is challenging, so the beach is often secluded. This quiet, yet centrally located beach appealed to us. Due to the outcroppings at either end of the beach, there is more protection from the wind and weather than some other coastal options.

Our home is west of Highway 101, and just the 4th house off the ocean. Visitors are always impressed by the outstanding view of the ocean from the family room and master bedroom.

We all enjoy putting together a puzzle or nestling up in front of a cozy fire. Surfing, boogie-boarding, and building sandcastles are other favorite activities.

65 Reviews of Property 173493 in Arch Cape, Oregon

Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
average rating of 4.9322033 based on 65 reviews
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
Seattle, WA
5

Wonderful house for a 70th birthday weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I spent a long weekend at Rancho del Mar with my family at the end of February.

What we liked:

* The house itself is beautiful. The owners did a major renovation a few years ago, as detailed in a coffee table book with before-and-after photos. Everything from the heated floor to the fireplace, the sound-system, the kitchen, etc. was done with craftsmanship and love. And to top it off the house has a great ocean-esque decor: the water pitcher has crabs on it, the light fixtures are sand-plated, the bottle opener is sandle-shaped, and so on.

* The location was convenient. It's a 2 minute walk down to Arch Cape's beach. About a 10 minute drive north to Cannon Beach. And about 30 minutes south to Tillamook. A good spot to explore the area.

* It's a ranch-style house, all 1 floor. We had my 100-year-old grandmother (!!) with us so it was a good fit.

* We worked with Danna at the property management company to set up the rental and she was great. Everything worked out smoothly.

Worth knowing:

* The house is located next to Highway 101. It's the first house on the right when you turn off the highway. If you're a very light sleeper, this could be an issue, especially in 2 of the 4 bedrooms that are located closer to the street.

* Although the house is ranch, most of the rooms have 1 step leading into them.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
Portland, OR
5

Annual Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Everything described and more: Personalized welcome and basket. Extremely well stocked kitchen and beautifully appointed bedrooms. Bunkroom and "kids lounge" gave kids an area away from comfortable large open 'great room' with a view. A can't say enough good things about the professionalism of the mgmt. group. My family wants to go back next year and plans to take another famil with them. Great addition to the VRBO group.
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
5

r

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
great
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
Strathmore AB, AB
5

Beautiful Family Friendly Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Absolutely beautiful place to stay. This home has been renovated from top to bottom with a wonderful coastal vibe. The owners went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We are a family with young children and we absolutely felt at home. So nice not having to worry about toys,highchairs, playpens....they had everything we needed and then some. We would definetly reccomend this home.
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
Tigard, OR
5

Wonderful Beach Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our entire family enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing beach getaway at this family-friendly home. This home is very well maintained and has so many great amenities. Thank you, Danna and Geoff!
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
Scottsdale, AZ
5

Great design and close to the ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is a great family house. We live on a golf course so being right on highway 101 was noisy to us, but the house has a great sound system and Pandora covered up the noise well. The property manager could not have been nicer or more accommodating.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
Tigard, OR
5

Delightful Family Friendly Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our entire extended family of 12 enjoyed 5 wonderful days at this lovely home right after Christmas. It was the perfect way to enjoy time together during the holidays. Our grandkids LOVE all the toys, movies, cartoons, and sand toy options. The adults enjoyed down time, lots of football and we all enjoyed wonderful meals together around the expansive table. We appreciate the owners' great care and attention to details and we look forward to another vacation there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
5

Wow! Perfect house in a perfect setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Upon arriving at this beautiful home we found it to be very clean and provided everything, and more, than we had expected. All the beds were very comfortable. Kitchen was amazingly stocked with daily used items and utensils. We are excited about finding this home and will definitely be back soon.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
Portland, OR
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This home fit a large family great! We especially liked the outdoor hot shower to get all the sand off the kids prior to coming into the house. View and deck were lovely. We would definitely come again.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Luxurious Family-Friendly Home, Amazing Ocean Views, Steps to the sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173493vbi
+1 503 297-4090
Arch Cape Coastal Oregon
St Pete, FL
5

Our Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a long time dream of ours to have all of our family with kids and grandkids begin family vacations. This was such a great start to this new tradition. We really enjoyed our stay and the home was very nice for the most part. There is a bit of a difficulty if you have 3 sets of adults though with the third and fourth room really set up for kids and not too comfortable for adults...But if you are two families with kids it is perfect!! And the chairs in dining room are cloth and made for some anxious times trying to keep them clean with smaller kids present. That being said...This home was the most well stocked home we've ever rented or visited that our friends have rented, especially the kitchen. They thought of every detail and this was very nice! We loved our stay and would come back again if we didn't have 3 sets of adults or if they switched out the 3rd bedroom to just a queen bed. Oh, by the way, the master bedroom does not have it's own bathroom...it is shared with the the house and other bedrooms across the hallway. This was not clear to us when we rented though we managed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: With each inquiry I email a floor plan to give potential guests a sense of the layout and arrangement of beds. The pink bedroom has a twin over double bunk bed (with the double mattress being a new pillow-top), and we often have groups with a 3rd couple use this bed. There are 2 1/2 bathrooms, with only the 1/2 bathroom being en suite. Again this can easily be seen on our floor plan. As for the white dining room chairs, I have found that using an old towel as a cover (which we supply) can help protect them if there is concern, but they are easily laundered too. I have never lost a single one to stains after 4 seasons of heavy use! We do supply our home just as if we lived there and love to share it with our guests. Your satisfaction is my number one priority. If you have any questions after looking at the floor plan and photos, please do not hesitate to ask!
Helpful votes: 3/3