Manuel Antonio apartment rental - Our relaxing pool area.
Our relaxing pool area.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Manuel Antonio Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Well appointed one bedroom apt. sleeping 2 and 3. Pool and Laundry

Well-appointed apartment in natural rainforest setting where monkeys can be seen almost everyday on the balcony of the apt. and around the pool area. View of the ocean and a short walk to one of the most spectacular beaches in the world. Located on the central pacific coast of Costa Rica. We can set you up with extraordinary breathtaking tours, ie: river-rafting, canopy zip lines, waterfall repelling, surfing and fishing. It's all here. We have the flora and fauna of paradise.

Nearby National Park: Manuel Antonio National Park is a gem among Costa Rica's nature reserves and one of the most popular tourist destinations in Costa Rica. A lush blanket of tropical green spills headlong onto several hidden and incredibly beautiful, jungle-lined beaches. There are White Faced Monkeys within this magnificent dream-scape. You may catch glimpse of whimsical monkeys, loud and colorful parrots, giant toucans, three-toed sloths, and a whole host of rare plant and animal species that inspire and overwhelm the senses. The birding opportunities are nothing short of fantastic with more than 350 species spotted in the park's small boundaries. Easy walking trails take in sweeping vistas of Costa Rica's dramatic coastline and meander through primary rainforest with over 300 species of trees.

Punta Serrucho in Manuel Antonio National Park

Secluded beaches and unworldly vistas create a special sanctuary to rest the soul. One can sit quietly, shrouded in magnificence.

More about Quepos: Tourism is now the area's leading employer as Quepos evolves from its banana growing roots into a premier holiday destination. After the demise of the Quepoa Indians in the late 1800's, vast banana plantations were developed throughout the region. Bananas were shipped to world markets across the docks that now service the sport-fishing fleet. In the 1980's bananas lost out to heartier African palms and their high quality palm oil. As Quepos diminished in importance as a banana port, it renewed itself as an ecotourism and sport-fishing destination. World travelers are discovering the area, with many visitors purchasing homes and returning each year to enjoy the relaxing village lifestyle and natural beauty of nearby Manuel Antonio.

Some Costa Rica Stats: Country Capital: San Jose

Area: 51,000 square kilometers, 19,652 square miles

Location: Located in the Central American Isthmus, immediately north of Panama, with ports in both the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans and 153 highway miles between them.

Political Environment: Traditional and stable democracy, with elections held every four years. Army abolished in 1949. Stable political and economic environments. Lowest risk rating in Latin America. Business environment and legal framework open to foreign investment. No limitation on foreign control of corporations and ownership of property.

Population: 3.6 million

Density: 183 inhabitants per square mile (70.5 inhabitants per square kilometer)

Major metropolitan center: San Jose (1 Million)

Main Exports: Total goods: $6.6 billion. Electronic components, textiles, bananas, coffee, pineapples, foliage and ornamentals, fish and seafood, sugar, processed foods.

Major revenue generator: Electronic circuits and micro-structur

More Details
Hide Details

I have been living in Costa Rica for twenty years now and I am a wildlife artist and did some rain forest tour guiding for a while. I lived in a remote part of the rain forest for twelve years before building my apartments here at the beach near the national park.

This place is only 8 years old and the location is so perfect because when you are at the beach you usually have quite a walk to get back up the hill to where most of the hotels and rentals are located, but we are situated between the main part of Manuel Antonio with all the restaurants. shopping and the beach. So less walking because you are staying between the two and all the while living on the edge of a jungle with all the monkeys that pass almost daily and stop to visit us here by the pool.

A small quaint operation that makes you feel relaxed and comfortable for an enjoyable vacation.

14 Reviews of Property 173410 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
alberta canada
5

Sounds too good to be true, but its Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
Right from the beginning when the manager was up late waiting for me to the final taxi ride back to the airport we did not have a complaint, but only compliments. The room was clean and well looked after, no bugs and everthing worked including the Ac. If and when we build a pool for ourselves it will be modeled after this one. The size and location and depth was well thought out. Watching monkeys, sloths and birds from in the pool is something we will remember for a long time to come. Its location (once a short steep walk is done) is reallly perfect. A word of warning though there are steep hills in Manuel Antonio and if you dont like exersize a car is a must and quite reasonable (40 + 15 insurance)just up the hill next to the bank and close to a food store. I would go back without any hesitation and dont mind answering any questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Jim. Hope to see you back soon. Chuck
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Minnetonka, Mn.
5

Costa Rica's Best

Costa Rica's Best
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were late getting to the property, but Chuck was there to greet us. Since November is the off season we had loads of peace and quiet in our beautiful room. Swimming (what a pool!) and seeing the monkeys was an everyday occurence. Chuck was so helpful in lining up fun tours and told us the best places to eat. We walked to the beach and took the bus back. Greatest beach around is about a half mile away. Steep climb, but well worth it. This property is unique and well maintained. The pictures on the website are good representations of the value you will find. What a terrific way to get to know this part of Costa Rica.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Where do you live?
5

Loved It

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I spent eight weeks here in January and February 2013. We loved it. In 2012 we spent three months in Cabuya on the Nicoya Peninsula and as much as we enjoyed that, we found the Manuel Antonio area much more pleasant.
The apartment building, El Paseo del Mar, is situated on the same road as the Hotel Mariposa. In fact it is just below the hotel which means that visitors don’t have a long walk to the top of the hill to the main road which runs between Quepos and the Manuel Antonio Park. It also means that a car is not necessary if one isn’t planning on doing a lot of day trips outside the immediate area of Manuel Antonio and Quepos. It is quite convenient for shopping, restaurants, and the bus. Many other places along this road are further down a fairly steep hill which makes for a long walk for those without a car.
There are a lot of restaurants in the area. There are some which are inexpensive and many which are moderately priced. However, one need not spend a fortune to eat out. The only thing lacking was the inexpensive soda that can be found in most parts of Costa Rica. A well-equipped grocery store is about a kilometer away. On Saturday mornings we went to Quepos to get vegetables and fruit at the farmers’ market.
The apartments are about 600 sq ft which is big enough since most of the time we were outdoors. One of the reasons we chose this place was that it had a pool and a nice patio surrounding it. On one side of the building a ridge rises up which is completely forested. The trees give easy access for monkeys. There was never a day that went by that we didn’t see large numbers of monkeys: Howlers, Squirrel and Capuchins. The Squirrel and Capuchins sometimes came to the pool area. We even saw sloths.
The present owner of El Paseo del Mar, Chuck Quinlan, is more than helpful. Whenever we had any problem with the apartment he made sure that it was put right immediately. He also has lots of insight into life in Costa Rica because he has lived there for almost twenty years. His assistant Edith is ready to book any tours that visitors might have. What we really appreciated was the daily maid service.
We highly recommned El Paseo del Mar. With its close proximity to a beautiful beaches and lots of services it is a great place to stay, especially those who are looking for a home away from home. However, even people looking to stay for a night or two will find El Paseo del Mar a great spot.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Perfect Place to Stay in Quepos/Manuel Antonio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
All the reviews of this great place are spot on. The room overlooking the jungle and pool are tastefully furnished by the artist/owner, who first moved to Costa Rica in 1995. He bought the land that the apartment is situated on when there was practically nothing else here. Now there are multi-million dollar houses and hotels surrounding El Paseo del Mar. The apartment has a well furnished kitchen, king-sized bed, beautiful bathroom, and a balcony over the rain forest. You can listen to a symphony of birds or the cacophony of the howler monkeys who visit regularly. The owner is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

I highly recommend a stay here over a hotel.
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Baltimore, MD
5

great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
A lovely place, wonderful manager and great service. Many restaurants around the corner if you don't feel like cooking in the well equipped kitchen. For a few quarters the bus take you to the beautiful beaches or the national park. A car rental is not essential (and very expensive) Everyone is most ind and helpful. A great place to hide from the American winter!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Coldstream. British Columbia, Canada
5

very satisfied

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This is the place to stay in the Manuel Antonio , Quepos area. Chuck and his staff will make your vacation wonderful. We liked not having to rent a car. Bus system is reliable and taxis are cheap. Any tours that you may want to take can be arranged by the staff. We took the extreme tour a waterfall rappelling adventure that you should not miss.Grocery store and many good restaurants are only a short walk.The apartment was excellent with a nice infinity pool and monkeys visiting almost every day. It is an adventure in itself talking to Chuck and his vast experiences in the rain forest.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Montréal Canada
5

Excellent emplacement

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Appartement bien situé, près de la plage et des restaurants. Magnifique piscine avec vue sur la forêt. Tout est impeccable au point de vue propreté. Le complexe est tranquille. Excellent rapport qualité/prix.

Le personnel ainsi que le propriétaire sont très gentils et nous vous conseillons fortement Manuel Antonio.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
chicago, il
5

April 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
I wouldn't say this is the ideal place to stay with a bunch of your girlfriends, as I did. However, the pool was amazing, it was a nice walk to the beach, and the living area was comfortable. There was a flood in our kitchen at one point, and the air conditioning didn't work for one night. If you're accustomed to A/C as I am, then this would be a bother to you! Staff was friendly, until they realized their guests were in Manuel to party and get away from the city. This was NOT okay with them. And...no night swimming! What?! Also, no outside guests. This was a bother since I have friends in the area. Overall, I would still say I had a fantastic vacation. Oh, and the staff was very helpful when my friends got stuck at the airport, and I was all alone for a night!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Our place is small and quaint, and most people who come here , come for the natural beauty of the rainforest and wish to enjoy a quiet restful vacation. This is why we don't allow outside guest and late night pool parties that disturb our quest. So, if your looking to party, stay in the city . We enjoy our monkeys and privacy and hope the the guest who come here feel the same way.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Newark, Delaware
5

Monkeys, Sloths and Huskies...oh my

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our apartment at El Paseo del Mar Apartments was exactly as described. The apartment was definitely well appointed, modern, clean and comfortable. Chuck, the owner, was pleasant and helpful during our stay.

It's all about location and this place certainly was well located to the beach, Manuel Antonio National Park and the town of Quepos. There was a small market just up the road where you could buy just about anything you might need during your stay..

One improvement that I would make in the description, however, is to provide better directions on how to find it. Since it is not located on the main road heading to the park out of Quepos, you have to know that your need to turn right at the sign for the Hotel Parador and then proceed down the small road to find the apartment. It took us about 45 minutes to figure out where it was.

The beach is about a five minute walk-however, it is down a rather steep road which could be a challenge walking back up. I'd recommend driving down instead-you can literally drive up to the beach.

It is true-monkeys will come right to your balcony and do like to hang out near the pool-we have some great photos of a cute Titi literally right next to us. The serenade of the howler monkeys reminds you that you are in a rainforest that is still unsullied by development.

At one of the many restaurants that are close by,Salsipuedes, you can see sloths in the trees right next to your table (great food as well). The Anaconda, the restaurant at Costa Verde, has a great Tapas bar that we enjoyed our last night there.

Oh, and the Husky? His name is Goofy and he likes to sleep in the garage. Give him a pat when you see him.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Luxury pool apt. in rainforest, spectacular beach, monkeys & toucans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173410
+506 8345-3022
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

well satisfied

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We stayed at this property in April of 2010. The apartment was wonderful. The description and photos accurately depicted the property. It was clean and everything was in good shape. I thought it was a great value. We had a full kitchen, living area, bedroom with king bed, bathroom, and balcony. The owner quickly responded to pre-trip questions via email and the on-site personnel were nice. The pool was beautiful and the infinity edge fronted the rainforest. The wireless internet was handy. There were nice touches such as a gel pack in the freezer, an umbrella near the door, and a tour book and a couple of novels in the living area. It was a short drive to Manuel Antonio National Park. This was the first time that we'd used VRBO and I will definitely consider doing it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10