Bar Harbor house rental - Super comfortable Queens Down mattresses in each bedroom for a good nights rest
Super comfortable Queens Down mattresses in each bedroom for a good nights rest
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 - 31 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

One reason guests like to come back to our home is the neighborhood, and the neighbors. Need a break from noise and commotion? Our Snow Street Cottage is one long block away from Main Street and about five blocks from the heart of Bar Harbor. You wouldn't know it, though. The neighbors are local doctors, realtors, restaurant owners who are very friendly. The street is quiet and filled with nicely kept homes.

When we stay in Bar Harbor we enjoy waking up early and walking from our home to the shore path, around the corner, which winds around the perimeter of Bar Harbor, past the mansions and the fragrant primrose, to the wharf. The views of the Porcupine Islands are calming and peaceful. On the way back home a number of shops offer fresh pastries and a morning cup of coffee or juice to start our day.

Being so close to town, Acadia, the shore path means that you are in the heart of what makes Bar Harbor so much fun. We used to rent homes ourselves so we've taken care to make sure the beds are very comfortable, the kitchen and bath are modern, and the warm, soft glow of the original wood molding and fixtures are preserved to give you the feel of a comfortable home.

Outside, the grounds are green and colorful with summer flowers and lilies, iris and a different planting in our bathtub planter each season. We're only two blocks from the hospital and the local doctors so care is never far away if you need it. Dogs are welcome too, upon approval. Hope you'll be our guest this year!

More Details
Hide Details

Toni and I and the kids enjoy hiking, kayaking, Family Fun Day at Seur Des Monts in Acadia (in July). We've been vacationing in Bar Harbor every summer since about 1998. We all enjoy the friendships we have formed here, which have lead to visits back to the Island every Thanksgiving as well. When we're not here we enjoy gardening, rollerskating and rollerblading, the beach, and hangin' with the kids.

Herb Hess purchased this house in 2003

Toni and I had been vacationing in Bar Harbor for about 7 years before we decided to be part of this wonderful community. Every few years we would extend our own vacation from one week to two to ... You get the idea.

Now that we have the opportunity to share Bar Harbor with our parents and kids for a good part of the summer, we reluctantly depart but are very happy in knowing that we can share the beauty of this town, island, and National treasure with many others.

Our neighbors are also the proprietors of two local restaurants - Poor Boys and McKays.

Poor Boys has the freshest lobster and stone crab claws you'll find (other than cooking them at home). I also enjoy their blueberry Daquiris (virgin, so my kids can try it too). Be sure to tell Kathleen that Herb and Toni sent you and look for the $1 off coupons in our kitchen drawer.

McKays menu continually changes and is perfect for an American or European taste in a beautifully restored home setting, often with live entertainment and outdoor seating available, too. Say Hi to Brian when you get there.

Life would not be complete without the Farmers Market on Sunday at the YMCA parking lot from 9 to noon. We're particularly taken with the Camembert cheese rounds that we pair up with baguette bread from Hannaford's and Palacio chorizo we bring from our winter home.

We'll take these treats to Compass Harbor (see our map on this listing) for a secluded picnic, dog walk, and restful afternoon.

12 Reviews of Property 173069 in Bar Harbor, Maine

Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lawrence, Kansas
5

Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were absolutely delighted with the charm, comfort and convenience of the home. The owners have given thoughtful attention to small details from comfortable bedding to a fully equipped kitchen. The location was beyond perfect for easy access to a variety of activities. If you love to hike to, we found you could walk from the house to Acadia then up Dorr Mountain. There are many restaurants, museums, boat cruises easily accessed from this site.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Huntsville,Tx USA
5

Great Rental for Staying in Bar Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I would really place this rental in the Very Good category, It is an older renovated home, and as such has a few minor drawbacks. Plumbing has some minor inconveniences and the floors are not totally level, but overall it was a great place to stay. The owner has it very well stocked and had such items as food containers, plastic bags, even non-stick cooking spray in addition to plenty of cookware, dishes, silverware, and salt and pepper and sugar. You can tell that he uses it for his own family, because he truly does have it well stocked for a cooking vacation. The walk was a little hard on us, as we are 77 and 66. By itself it would have been fine, but doing additional walking/hiking was a little hard on old bones and joints. Also, it was a little warmer than we had planned on, so that added to walking discomfort. The closeness to the Shore Path was nice, and had it been a little cooler, the walk to town would have been nice, also. We depended solely on walking and the buses, which worked out very well for us.You do need to do some planning to make the timing work, but it is so much better than having to depend on finding a parking place. The recommended Poor Boys Gourmet and MacKays were both excellent places to eat. We also liked Cafe this Way for Breakfast, the Thirsty Whale, Beal's lobster pound in Southwest Harbor, and Nautica Pub in Birch Harbor on the Schoodic Peninsula. Jordon Pond House also had excellent food, but be sure to make reservations. All our excursions, Island Cruises out of Bass Harbor, Vagabond fishing and lobster hauling out of Southwest Harbor, the Wildwood Stables Carriage ride, and the Schoodic ferry were all great. Be sure to take the Loop Road and see Sand Beach, Thunder Hole(although we did not catch it for the thunder), and Otter Cliffs and Point. The owner was good about answering my questions, but had not been able to update written information from his recent stay, which would have been nice. The description of location and photos of the property are accurate and the cottage is well cleaned. The queen size bed is very comfortable. Overall we had a wonderful time on our first trip to Bar Harbor and would highly recommend this rental for a nice, enjoyable family stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

Great Bar Harbor Cottage in quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Nice cottage and close to everything. Only a couple of blocks away and you are in the center of it all. It was very cozy and everything needed for a week vacation was at the home to include the highchair for our 15 month old which made the travel easier. We also appreciated the ability to bring our dog who was able to enjoy our walks on the carriage trails. It was the first time my wife experienced Bar Harbor and this was a great experience for her. We are definitely looking forward to coming back and would stay here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

Great cottage in a comfortable and quiet location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Nice cottage and close to everything. Only a couple of blocks away and you are in the center of it all. It was very cozy and everything needed for a week vacation was at the home to include the highchair for our 15 month old which made the travel easier. We also appreciated the ability to bring our dog who was able to enjoy our walks on the carriage trails. It was the first time my wife experienced Bar Harbor and this was a great experience for her. We are definitely looking forward to coming back and would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Proctorville, Ohio
5

Girls only week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was the perfect place to stay for us!. We loved walking the shore path to town. It is close to Acadia and we walked many of the trails that are available there. The beds were good, everything was clean, we learned to play some of the games there (loved the Shut the Box game), and having the washer and dryer meant we didn't have to pack too many clothes!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Indiana
5

Superb visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We just returned from our first visit to Bar Harbor, Maine, and could not have been happier with our accommodations. The location was perfect for quick access to dining, shopping, the shore path and Acadia National Park. The cottage was fully furnished and lacked nothing. In addition, it was wonderful to be able to bring our two dogs. We were fortunate to have excellent weather, so our days were spent exploring Mount Desert Island. Thanks, Herb, for the restaurant suggestions...Poor Boy's Gourmet was so good we went twice! We hope to return again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Marietta, GA
5

Quaint cottage in a perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We just returned from a wonderful week's stay in this quaint cottage. The location was absolutely perfect for us. It was right off of the main street, and close enough that we always walked to get dinner or go shopping, never drove. The street was extremely quiet, and the few neighbors we saw were quite friendly. Traveling with a 20-month-old is not always easy, but this house worked out really well... We found no hazards or challenges. (Basement steps can be locked, no tempting breakables or exposed electrical cords, etc.) Everything was just as pictured and described. We found there to be plenty of pans and cooking utensils, making it easy to eat in if we wanted to. We enjoyed walking the shore path (which you can access right around the corner) to the harbor. We also really loved the hiking path down the road about a mile, that leads to a quiet cove. The owner provided a lot of excellent information and recommendations for activities, as well as detailed answers to all of our questions about the rental beforehand. The weather was gorgeous (2nd week of September)... cool, but not cold, and perfect for hiking and exploring Acadia. Highly recommend this rental for a stay in Bar Harbor!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Montreal, QC
4

Nice,quiet and relaxing place.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a lovely time on our vacation. If you are looking for a place to relax and go for nice hikes in Acadia National Park, I would recommend this rental. You should be clear though that the cottage is not in the park, you need to drive or hop on the free bus from Bar Harbour to get to the park. The house was very restful, quiet and conveniently located for a family vacation.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York, NY
5

A Real Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a gem, authentic and charming with the right modern conveniences. Pin-drop quiet and immaculate. Within 2 blocks, we walked the shorepath and hit the farmers' market. Grilled on the gas grill and spent a lot of time hanging out at the breakfast nook being in vacation-mode. Would stay here again and highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Walk to Town, Shore Path, Acadia from Our Bar Harbor Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173069vbi
(856) 979-5612 (New Jersey, USA)
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Doylestown, PA
5

Nice cottage in an excellent location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The cottage is exactly as described. Cozy and very comfortable and clean. Excellent location in Bar Harbor, on a nice, quiet street, but easily within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. Also located one block from the beginning of the shore path. We enjoyed our stay.
Owner's Response: Marsha,
I'm so glad you had the chance to stay with us. You are a 'Bar Harbor' regular so it's nice to hear your thoughts on our home from the perspective of someone who has visited the island every year.
Herb
Helpful votes: 1/1