Brooklyn house rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Brooklyn House Rental Photos and Description
Separate bedroom, living room, private bath and kitchenette

This is a unique private house loaded with charming old details. The apartment has one separate bedroom, living room, private bath and kitchenette all renovated with modern amenities. Quality linens and towels, satellite television, wireless Internet are provided. Please check our other homeaway listing #9022622.

The guest house is owner-occupied. We are available to resolve any problems. The immediate neighborhood is quiet, safe, mixed residential and artist lofts. Situated within artists communities of Park Slope, Gowanus and Carroll Garden. Music venues, galleries, restaurants, pubs, boutiques, stores, all services within 5-10 minute walk. Five minute walk to 'F', 'R' and 'G' subway trains. About 15-20 minute subway ride to Wall Street area, and 30-40 minutes to Mid-Town Manhattan.

Park Slope is an old beautiful neighborhood with rows of brownstone houses, tree lined streets and provides full-range retail services on both 7th Avenue and 5th Avenue. Beautiful neighborhoods of Carroll Gardens and Brooklyn Heights are also nearby. No smoking or pets.

Policies:

No smoking .

No pets (sorry, some guests are allergic.)

Consumption of food and/or alcohol that you bring in is permitted. One suite has a stove and oven. Both offer coffee maker, microwave, and small refrigerator.

Transportation: The closest subway stop is 2 blocks away at 4th avenue and 9th Street, where you can take 'F', 'R', or 'G'. That means 24 hour easy access to anywhere in Manhattan.

Local Attractions: We are within easy walking distance to three major 'restaurant rows.' The closest is Park Slope 5th Avenue. It has many excellent restaurants, pubs, gift shops, bars and boutiques. Up further on 7th Avenue there are more restaurants, gift shops, a Barnes and Noble, the Community Book Store, Tea Rooms and every personal service needed in a residential neighborhood.

We are also one stop by subway or a 10 minute walk from the Carroll Gardens Court and Smith Streets. Also in walking distance to Prospect Park, the Brooklyn Botanical Garden, BAM and the Brooklyn Museum.

More Details
Hide Details

The owners are in Finance and Arts both with international experience.

Shahla purchased this house in 2007

The house has a charming atmosphere, staying here will be an unforgettable part of your vacation. We have many returning guests.

each apartment occupies the entire floor and it is completely private.

12 Reviews of Property 172985 in Brooklyn, New York

Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
Richmond VA
5

Serene, comfortable, convenient, and unique!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My large extended family converged in Brooklyn from all over the country for my son's wedding. A number of us stayed at the Celeste House and we had a great time. Shahla was so gracious, warm, and welcoming, and very helpful! She even rushed out when she saw a bunch of us dressed for the wedding and waiting for a car, and took photos of us. The house is beautiful and interesting, with lots of little surprising features. Beds are all super-comfortable. VERY quiet. The neighborhood at first seemed a bit sketchy, but as it turns out it really is not; I didn't feel the slightest bit unsafe walking around, and found lots of interesting places to visit within walking distance. A HUGE tub in the 3rd floor bathroom soothed my pre-wedding jitters, and there are ample linens, pillows, extra blankets and air mattresses and hair dryers, irons, dishes and cookware, lots of magazines and tour guides and a FABULOUS (and funny!) book put together by your hosts about what to see (and avoid) in the neighborhood, including "the worst wine shop in the world". You will not find a better value in Brooklyn. Make sure you notice the skylight. While we were taken up with wedding activities and thus didn't partake of a lot of local dining or nightlife, there is plenty of it, obviously. I would definitely recommend this charming old house for a family (note: the owners live on the first floor so you would have to climb somewhat steep but safe steps to the 2nd floor or 3rd floor).Being able to fix breakfast and late-night snacks was a great plus and budget-saver. We rented both 2nd and 3rd floors so we had TWO kitchenettes (the one on the 3rd is larger, with a gas stove/oven). and 2 bathrooms.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
Portland, OR
5

A wonderful home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I agree with all the other five-star reviews on here. I stayed for close to two weeks while in NY on business and the Celeste Guest House felt like home. Awesome location, close to several subways and some of the most hoppin' (yet leafy green and peaceful) parts of Brooklyn. Stylishly appointed, gives you a sense of having your own pad in BKNY with the comforts of a guest house. And Shahla is a stellar host - totally friendly and helpful but not obtrusive in any way. Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
5

Enjoyed our stay at Celeste Guest House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at Celeste. We had the top floor, with spacious areas, a beautiful bathroom, and interesting historical details. The suite was very clean and comfortable. There is a beautiful garden in the back, which guests can enjoy. We had our vehicle and were able to find parking on the street, and Celeste is near the subway. Shahla is able to recommend area restaurants and other attractions.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
5

Celeste Guest House, a celestial stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
When I asked my daughters what they'd like to me say about our stay at Celeste Guest House, both positive and otherwise, they called out in unison that it was ALL POSITIVE!! We had a great stay there, from the excellent communication before - and after - our trip, to the beautiful rooms, furnishing, location, comfort and overall value of the whole experience. I highly recommend staying at the Celeste Guest House if you're wanting to spread out a bit and relax while feeling like you're a member of the community with easy access to public transportation. Managed by a charming host, you may just want to stay around and talk but your host knows just how to turn your keys over to you and let you be on your own, available for consultation only if you wish/need. I hope we can stay there again someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
Phoenix, AZ
5

Charming place in Brooklyn!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I stayed in the Aqua Room - top floor for almost two weeks this summer. The space is lovely - open, light, and quiet. It also has air conditioning which was a tremendous relief during the heat wave.

After long days working in Manhattan, the guest house was like a wonderful sanctuary. We spent many evenings in the Park Slope area - lots of great restaurants around - feels like the West Village of Brooklyn. The park itself is also nice for long walks.

Shahla is lovely - helpful, kind and respectful.

I highly recommend it - will stay there again when the opportunity arises.

I highly recommend the guest house, and will certainly stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
Netherlands
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Spacious appartment (aqua room). Neat and clean. Very comfortable bed. We stayed for a week and really enjoyed returning to the appartment in the evening after a day walking through Manhattan. At night we went out in Broookyn, which has a lot to offer.
Park Slope is a great neighbourhood to stay with many excellent restaurants along 5th avenue.

Shahla has been a fantastic hostess and provided us with helpfull advice.
We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend the guesthouse.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
My partner and I stayed here for a week, and would definitely stay again. We were in the Aqua apt, on the top floor, and it was a very cosy, clean, and welcoming space. It was also very warm, which was much appreciated given the sub-zero temperatures outside! The bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower fabulous. Location-wise it was good - close to the metro, so very easy to get into Manhattan, and also within walking distance of the shops on 5th and 7th Aves, plus Smith Street if you fancy crossing the canal. Shahla is a fantastic and very friendly host, with loads of useful tips and advice if required; she also left pastries for our arrival, and provisions in the fridge, plus some extra gifts for new year. All in all, we highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
5

Lovely Brooklyn stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This guest house is located in an slightly industrial part of Brooklyn. But once you step inside you are home. This beautiful house is very cozy. The red appartment on the second floor is charming and very clean. Shahla is a wonderful hostess. Note that the parking is more accessible after 5:30pm. Subway F line is just a step away, beautiful Prospect park, Botanical garden and Brooklyn Museum are a must. Enjoy your stay at Celest guest house, we sure did!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
Amsterdam
5

A wonderful and great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
I stayed in this beautiful house for 9 days. The first two days I spent on the second floor which was very comfortable and cosy. The separate living, bedroom and bathroom made me really feel at home. In the kitchenette I could make my own coffee and tea and there was a little oven and fridge.
On the third day Shahla let met move to the third floor because it was empty anyway and this floor was even better for me because it had an actual kitchen with stove in it. The bathroom on this floor even has a great bathtub.
After a long day full of activities I could relax and cook my own dinner watch some tv or just relax in the bathtub.

The neighbourhood, Park Slope, is a very nice with lots of shops and restaurants on 5th and 7 ave. The Celeste house is nearby The F & R trains which go to Manhattan and Coney Island and of course Prospect Park.

Shahla was very kind and helpful to me. I really liked talking to her.

I highly recommended this place and I will sure stay there again whenever I visit NY again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming old House, stylish decor, private apartment-Park Slope/Gowanus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172985
+1 9178175963
Brooklyn New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
5

A Wonderful Experience!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
I stayed here for 8 days while on a business assignment in NYC and Brooklyn. The 3rd floor suite was very clean and spacious yet cozy and I loved the decor. It was the perfect place to come home to after I worked my long hours. The bed was extremely comfortable and I relished in the big tub in the charming bathroom. I made great use of the kitchen and there are restaurants and grocery stores a close walk away. Shahla was kind and very helpful. It was a quick easy walk to the subway when I had to travel to the city and I felt safe walking the neighborhood alone. I look forward to staying again either for work or a fun holiday with my husband next time. I highly recommended this place!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5