Atenas villa rental - Living room and Breezeway
Living room and Breezeway
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Atenas Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms (sleeps 4)

Set high on a ridge surrounded by a lush tropical reserve, home to parrots, toucans, sloths and monkeys, our custom built Bali style home, located in a gated eco-residential community will be your home away from home! Relax, open the doors and soak in the famous Atenas climate (best in the world according to National Geographic) with beautiful warm days and cool sleeping nights! No A/C needed here!

Enjoy a private swim in your own pool then cook up something in the gourmet kitchen and outdoor charcoal BBQ! Check out the local orchid gardens and coffee fields, or drive to the top of an active volcano, surf Costa Rica's legendary waves (just 30 minutes away with the new highway!!), hike in some of the country's many national parks, soak up private waterfalls and so much more. Perhaps one of its best attributes is it's central location to the rest of the country's magnificent sites!! High speed Wi-Fi is available 24/7 throughout.

What to do !:): Our bilingual property manager can help you plan all kinds of day trips and overnights if you wish to explore as much of this beautiful country as possible. Costa Rica has so much to offer, from trips to nearby cloud forests, checking out its many volcanoes - active or not, hiking breathtaking waterfalls, exploring many of its dense jungles, taking a catamaran to a private island, or even do a little of it's famous deep sea fishing. The wild life will astound you. There are many adrenaline charged activities like white water rafting, zip lines ATV riding, or jet skiing in the open ocean for those who relax by supercharging. For those who wish to relax a little more gently, take a canopy walk, go birding, check out the beautiful wild orchids and bromeliads everywhere, shop in farmer's markets, listen to huge flocks of parrots gather in the town square at dusk, visit a local coffee farm and roasting plant, or get a massage by the pool - happily, we've got that covered too! Or just stay at the villa and disconnect from the fast pace world and rediscover the wonders that the natural world has to offer.

More Details
Hide Details

43 Reviews of Property 172556 in Atenas, Costa Rica

Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
average rating of 4.976744 based on 43 reviews
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Nature Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A beautiful and stunning Bali style property awaits anyone who chooses this wonderful home. The entire house opens up via sliding wood and glass doors allowing breezes to enter from every angle. The house is perched up top a hill in a gated community. We were whisked away to another world so serene we could have stayed there for ever. Leticia the property manager was wonderful and the entire stay couldn't have been more perfect. It does get hot in the sun, but again, with all the doors open we could always find a place to be cool. And the pool was a perfect place too cool off as well. The gardner, Jaime, was wonderful and friendly and the grounds are particularly well taken care of - beautiful work by Jaime and of course the owners who planned this nature's paradise to a tee! We were able to easily get to the Paos volcano and the La Paz waterfalls allowing us to complete our upcoming 5 city documentary on Costa Rica. Thanks Liz! We hope to come back and visit soon! Frank and Sandy (of the youtube/FrankandSandyShow) ......
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Nothing short of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Absolutely loved this place. The only problem - it is so comfortable and relaxing, it is difficult to leave if you want to take day trips. Be prepared to relax and enjoy the comforts of Picaflora- the birds will sing to you all day as you enjoy a dip in the pool or a walk around the grounds enjoying the beautiful gardens, the numerous iguanas, the gorgeous mountainside. Surely you will find a surprise in the magnificent trees out front, perhaps a brilliantly colored toucan or a hidden sloth. Breakfast prepared in the well equipped kitchen and eaten poolside is a treat or a short ride to Kay's. A day at one of several beautiful beaches in within an hours drive. Certainly one of the best gifts I have ever given myself.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Dream come true vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I wanted to come to Costa Rica for so long. This year was the perfect time to celebrate my 50th anniversary. We are both nature lovers and it sure was the right place to be. We were very fortunate to find this gorgeous house on the internet. We appreciated the sliding concept of all walls on each side of the house. It allowed for the cool mountain breeze to flow through the house therefore no need for air conditioning. It was great to enjoy a great Atenas (local) coffee each morning with the sound of many exotic birds. Each morning we would walk to the gate of the house and look up in the gigantic tree to see Toucans, Blue-crowned Motmot, Squirrel Cuckoo, Smooth-billed Ani, just to name a few. The sun during the day was extremely hot but It was nice to have the pool to refresh ourselves in. The view was amazing from every angle, we enjoyed reading a good book whether we were sitting on the outside couch, on the swing or laying down in the hammock. They are so many different spot to relax. My favourite spot was in the garden facing the large flowered cactus where it was often visited by hummingbirds. The kitchen was very well equipped and my husband took advantage of it being such a good cook. We enjoyed a nice candlelight dinner every night. The lights around the house created a wonderful ambience. As much as we enjoyed spending time at the house, we also enjoyed visiting the many areas of Costa Rica such as the Poas volcano, La Paz waterfalls and National Park such as Manuel Antonio and Carara. We have seen Howler monkeys, white face monkeys, sloth, bats, frogs, paca, and the loud but wonderful scarlet macaws near the Pacific Ocean. We stopped on our way back on the bridge that crosses over the Tarcoles River to see the very large crocodiles, we counted over 25 of them. We rented a small SUV to move around. It is a must if you want to visit the many areas. I recommend that you bring or rent a GPS as you may get lost real easy. Car insurance in Costa Rica is extremely expensive (we paid more for 2 weeks worth of insurance that we pay back home for a whole year).
In conclusion we took lots of beautiful pictures and will have unforgettable memories. We have spent 2 weeks at the house and we had plenty of quality time together. This country is so amazing, so we will definitely return some day to continue our exploration of Costa Rica.
Thank you so much to Liz and Judd for sharing there paradise with us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves so much and were able to really embrace the relaxing vibe of our home and embrace the true beauty of Costa Rica. The birds are really fun to watch and meet throughout the day, particularly in the mornings and late afternoons. Next time listen for the Montezuma Oropendula - they are a hoot and sometimes hang out in the Guanacaste tree 20 at a time. Please come back anytime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
Portland, Maine
5

Seriously....Awesome place.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I arrived with friends in Costa Rica, a destination I've wanted to visit for years, early January and enjoyed nothing but glorious weather for 12 days. We stayed here at the house in Atenas for a few days and loved every minute. I am easy to please on vacation and staying atop this little mountain was serene and calm-unlike myself. It was just what I needed-wish it was my weekend home. I hate television in the living space and I loved there was not one here. I spent hours in the hammocks reading books listening to the often times cacophonous shrieks of local birds (especially early in the morning); I loved being woken up by the bleats of the birds and the lizards. We took a walk down the driveway one evening right at dusk after returning from Poas volcano and I stopped by a tree and watched a dozen humming birds flirting from flower to flower, branch to branch. Simply awesome.

The kitchen was obviously set up by Liz (who is an amazing chef I hear!) and we cooked every night we were there. Nice pans and silverware with plenty of serving platters, glassware and dishes. We bought fresh fish and meats from the little village of Atenas at the bottom of the hill and were impressed with the quality of the local foods.
The home was professionally designed and built and has all amenities you would want on vacation including laundry, stereo, pool and outdoor grill. We just played cards, got a little drunk and simply enjoyed the incredible starry nights taking pictures and simply living.
The house keeper and gardener maintain the grounds and home with an obvious diligence and eye for detail. Nice people. We felt very safe and enjoyed the space immensely and I would certainly return-very soon if I could.

I would like to thank Judd and Liz for allowing us to stay in their beautiful home and I wish them all the luck and happiness in life. Thanks so much!
Owner's Response: Hi Daniel,
We are so glad you had such a great time at the house! Come back again anytime ;)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
Fort Worth
5

Amazing Home and Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is an amazing property. Beautiful home and really everything promise by the owner was as they said it would be. You will not be disappointed. It's also in a great location. Heidi the housekeeper cooked a dinner for us and it was really great.
We had a fantastic driver for the week we were there and he was well worth it. His name is Wilson and he speaks English very well. He lives in the area and knows all of Costa Rica well -- as he took us to Manuel Antonio Park and beach as well as up to Fortuna and La Paz water fall and the volcano. He is with Coati Tours www.coatitours.com Tell him Jack/Marianne/Ken/Nancy from Texas said hi.
I'd also recommend Kay's -- just down the hill as you enter town in Atenas right beside the red cross building. American breakfast, free Wi-Fi and books to read. She is really nice.
Great week and again the house (Pica Flora) is everything you described and just beautiful.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for sharing -we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home Jack! Please do
come back anytime ;) great tip about Wilson and coati tours!

pura vida!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Beautiful and Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Beautiful accommodation in the lush hills of the central valley. This house felt private and secure and allowed us to relax peacefully while enjoying all that Costa Rica has to offer. The open and comfortable Bali- inspired design was tastefully decorated, spotless and conducive to splendid relaxation in luxury.
The kitchen was well-stocked with everything we needed for the feasts we prepared for ourselves. We were surprised to find many kitchen utilities you don't normally find in vacation rentals. We made fresh pineapple sorbet with the ice-cream maker from fruit we purchased at a local market. The large indoor dining area is comfortable with floor to ceiling glass walls that give it a spectacular view of the surrounding area.

The outside area was well-maintained and spotted with hammocks and a swinging chair that allowed us leisurely places to curl up with a book. There is also a long, beautiful table that allowed us a place to eat breakfast outside in the sun and to come together for a card game in the evenings. The pool was clean, beautiful and refreshing.
Judd and Liz provide all the information you need to navigate the area and see all the attractions. We were a five minute drive from Atenas with markets and restaurants at hand. We were able to take day trips to local waterfalls, Poas Volcano and coffee farms. We were close to outdoor trek that led us to some great wildlife. We were able to see crocodiles (from a distance) monkeys, toucans and iguanas- just to name a few.
Our trip to Costa Rica was one to remember- and I would definitely recommend this beautiful home as a base for your adventures, and as a beautiful place to relax and unwind.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We are already planning our next trip back to this beautiful paradise. This is by far the most tastefully decorated house I've ever been in. I wanted some of the furniture for my own. If only I can fit that picnic table in my suitcase. We kept saying that you can tell the owners of this house are good cooks because of the vast variety of kitchenware they had. We made smoothies with their blender and BBQ some fish and chorizo from the Atena's market. We actually cooked more meals there than expected because the kitchen was so inviting. The bedrooms reminds me of a Napa spa resort with huge open bathrooms. There are many areas to lounge around indoors or outdoors. One of my friends spent most of his time in the hammocks just reading.

We took a day trip to Poas volcano and followed directions to a local waterfall. We took a tour of Toledo Organic coffee farms which was just a 15 minute drive away. Atenas is a nice little mountain town just 5 minute drive down the mountain with lots of places to stock up on groceries.

Liz and the property manger, Leticia, were prompt in answering questions and provided us with a lot of information and made the whole experience easy. Thank you so much for providing such a beautiful tranquil place for us! We can't wait to return!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
Aylmer, QC
5

The trip of a lifetime!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This place was better than envisioned. We were on our honeymoon of sorts and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a tranquil, beautiful, private oasis. The location is beautiful, the design of the accommodations and d├ęcor are exquisite. The privacy is perfect. We felt confident when we booked it that it was going to be a gorgeous place but we had no idea that it would be as perfect as it was. The pool was great, the master bedroom was fantastic, the main living space/kitchen/dining area are superb and the surrounding natural Costa Rican landscape were bar none. The place is incredibly romantic and the design and layout are exceptionally intimate. Truly a private lover's paradise.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you both enjoyed yourself so much at our home. It's wonderful to hear when guests like yourself experience the house the way it is meant to be. Thank you for sharing Jeremy.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
San Francisco, California
5

Serene and Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of four -- two adults and two boys, ages 10 and 8 -- stayed in this beautiful house for two weeks after touring many of Costa Rica's national parks for the previous two weeks. We were ready for some relaxation and a respite from long jungle treks, and this house was perfect for that. The beautiful furnishings, well-designed space, and all the evident love and care that has gone into the colors, lighting, and other features make the house every bit as spectacular as the photos suggest. It's wonderful to open the walls and let the breezes flow through the rooms.

We were concerned beforehand about the pool being small, but you can swim laps diagonally, and the pool was larger than many pools in lodges where we stayed. Our boys loved being able to go into the water anytime they liked.

We saw the sloth on the property, toucans and other birds. We appreciated the hammocks and one of our boys even slept in a hammock one night for fun. The weather was excellent, even during the rainy season, with cool, quiet nights that made it easy to sleep.

When thunderstorms knocked out the power our first day, we were a little concerned. But other than a few power surges in subsequent days, we never had another outage. The Internet wifi worked well and, except during the power outage, was never offline.

The CD player in the main house didn't work, so we were glad to have an iPhone that we could use in the stereo's iPod dock.

The kitchen could have been better stocked with spices and cooking oil. On the other hand, it was really well-equipped with dishes, utensils and high-quality cooking pots and pans.

We had mixed feelings about there being no television. The silence was golden, but watching Costa Rican soccer would have been fun.

All in the all, we loved the house and miss being in such gorgeous surroundings. We'd love to come back when we return to Costa Rica.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home. That's wonderful that the sloth made an appearance - he/she had been a bit shy lately. anytime you and your family would like to come back we are happy to host your stay.
Pura Vida!
Liz & Judd
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gorgeous Mountain Paradise with Privacy, View and Pool!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172556
Atenas Alajuela Province
5

Kick Your Feet Up*

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Atop of a hill in the local town of Atenas, with the kindest people, away from tourism, equipped with full relaxation!
I quickly began to love my peaceful morning, afternoon and evening walks, surrounded by a beautiful landscape.
And this spacious home was mine for a week! Yes!

Absolutely do not miss a chance to visit Los Churros waterfall, the experience is wonderful and the directions, though may seem intimidating, are very clear and concise. I wish I had more days during my vacation, because I would have visited this waterfall a few more times with a packed cooler of sandwiches, some beer and my sketch book. I could easily spend all day there.

Some days I did not want to leave the house, because I was so comfortable lounging around, experiencing the serene landscape. I tried to mix up my days, so I would have an adventurous day and then a hang out day. I convinced my husband that sometimes it's nice to do nothing. The house is kept so well and it's just nice to hang out there. You have fans everywhere if you want to turn them on, you have outlets in every area of the house, indoor and outdoor. At night you have the option of being away from the bugs, only some nights they would get greedy for light, and the house was designed with screens along every vent so you can close them out whenever you want.

I cannot think of any other way I would like to spend my vacation.
I had the freedom to be in my own private abode and then leave and experience more touristy attractions.

If you're renting a car always make sure to get as much information as you can beforehand.
My experience with renting a car was fine, but I guarantee you if you come equipped with all of your research involving car rentals you will have a speedy check in and check out. For me, I always like to get those things out of the way.

The grocery store was no more than 10 minutes away, maybe less, and it had everything I needed. Note: The Milk cartons looks just like the Cultured Milk, so read those labels, because I accidentally bought two cartons of cultured milk which I had no use for.

There is a plentiful amount of towels in the bathroom, for bathroom use and outdoor use, which was very nice, I did not have to do wash very often, instead I would do one full load. Even though there is a dryer, it was great to be able to wash my clothes and hang them up outside to dry in the fresh air.
I can't wait to go back and spend my time here in Costa Rica.
Helpful votes: 8/8