Southwest Harbor house rental
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps17
Minimum Stay nights
 

Southwest Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 6.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-17)

"HARBOR WATCH"

Convenient location allows you to walk to village shops and restaurants. Harbor views and close to Acadia National Park. Plenty of room (3000 sq ft) and a large outside deck that overlooks a working/recreational harbor.

Island Shuttle is free to all villages on Mt. Desert Island (including Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park). Plenty of outdoor recreational options including biking, hiking, and carriage rides. The island shuttle will transport bicycles as well.

Large dinning room with harbor view. Master bedroom downstairs four more bedrooms upstairs all with bathrooms ensuite. Perfect for family gathering and reunions. Great for small families to share the house as it is large enough for areas of privacy and common areas for getting together.

This house in on the "quiet" side of Mt. Desert Island with quick access (via public roads or island shuttle) to "lively" side of island.

Keywords: House, View, Large, Home, Big, Comfortable, Acadia, Pet

24 Reviews of Property 172217 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Alexandria, VA
4

Harbor Watch

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Very clean, great location. Lots of amenities. We had eleven people, it would have been uncomfortable having more than 13 or 14 total. Would benefit better outside storage for bikes etc. An additional fridge would be very helpful and almost essential when having such large groups. An AC unit (in addition to an already present heater) would be helpful in the porch since that is the only place for more than 4 people to eat. Would definitely come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Vienna, VA
5

Great week in Harbor Watch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have just returned home to Virginia after a week in Harbor Watch with a total of 12 family members ranging from 2 years old to 84! We had a wonderful time and all slept comfortably. The location of the house on the "quiet side" of the island worked out perfectly for us. Everyone could easily walk to town and we managed to make many trips to the bakery where the two year old picked out favorite cookies. We were able to easily have big family dinners on the closed-in back porch and we could watch the boats and the water changing with the tides while we ate. The hiking and views from Acadia were spectacular and a group of 6 went sea kayacking and loved it even though the weather was a bit cool. We, of course, ate a Jordan Pond to experience the pop overs and we were not disappointed. The two year old and five oldest went on a carriage ride which we would certainly recommend. Another day was spent at Asticou gardens in Northeast Harbor. Very beautiful and easy to walk for the older people and two year old in our group. We had one full day of rain and some of us went to Woodlawn House in Ellsworth which was very interesting, and others went to the College of the Atlantic Dorr Museum where there is a touch pool and many bones and pelts for children to touch. Definitely worth a stop. We found the house very comfortable - the kitchen was very well equipped and the beds and multiple bathrooms worked out great. The IGA grocery store right before town had most of the food supplies we needed. This was our first time up in Maine ane we are so appreciative of having been able to rent Harbor Watch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Atlanta
5

Harbor Watch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved Harbor Watch. The many rooms with their own bathrooms was great. We did think the house was directly on the water, so that was a surprise. Also, we needed more towels. But we loved the wi-fi, large table for meals, location, coziness. The house was clean and well-maintained. We were grateful for the washer and dryer and used them regularly! We ate at every little restaurant in town and loved the little shops. We even took at art class with Jenny. We loved Lulu's Lobster tour, the local kayak company and Allison our guide. Two of us even did the biplane! We LOVED riding our bikes on the carriage roads and ending at the Jordan Pond House for a late lunch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Harbor Watch. Our goal is to make sure that you have the best vacation ever. Please note that all information on the web site and that we send to guests indicates that Harbor Watch has a wonderful harbor view, not that it is water front. We are sorry that some how your communication with others in your party became confused. Also, guests are provided with whatever towels and linens are needed for use at the home. The staff is notified of the number of incoming guests which determines what towels they put out. If, however, guests have special needs, our phone and the caretaker's phone (available 24/7) are provided so that we can promptly direct guests to additional linens in house. We wish to be immediately responsive to your needs.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Fredericksburg,VA
4

Great family week

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great place to stay with a large group. We enjoyed the many bedrooms with attached bathrooms. We had many travelers of different ages and both couples and single folks. Large kitchen and dining area.
Right on Main St with walking distance to food and shopping.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are glad Harbor Watch met the needs of your diverse group. We strive to provide five star service and accommodations. Contact information is provided for ourselves and the caretaker (available 24/7). If there is anything that is within our control that prevents a five star rating, we wish to be made aware so that we can take immediate action. You only have a week or two to spend on beautiful Mt. Desert Island and we want to do everything we can to make it your best vacation ever!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
PA
5

Harbor Watch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Mount Desert Island is a great vacation spot and Harbor Watch in Southwest Harbor is an excellent place to stay. The house is roomy, comfortable and well-maintrained. There is a terrific view of the working harbor from the back deck and the town is small, but with a number of good restaurants and many nearby attractions. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor which is about 30 minutes away on the other side of the island. There are numerous hiking trails on the island, many quite close to SW Harbor. There are scenic view everywhere with lakes, mountains and the rock-bound coast yielding great vistas. We loved the area and the house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Harbor Watch Vacation

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
...we thouroughly enjoyed staying at your Harbor Watch home! We have told all of our sailor friends who annually sail in Down East Race Week out of Northeast Harbor about your home, so you may be getting some more requests!

Thank you for all your tips and advice! We went down memory Lane and rented bikes, rode in the Park to the Jordon Pond House for tea and popovers, sailed for an afternoon on the Friendshiip Sloop, private tour of the Abby Aldridge Gardens, drinks at the Claremont Hotel, bought live lobsters nearby at Beals and cooked them at home [Harbor Watch]. And we topped it off with a 75th birthday dinner at Red Sky... It was all GREAT! Thank you so much and hope to do it again some year soon.
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Rochester NY
5

Great family place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Harbor Watch is roomy, well equipped, clean and very family friendly. We loved sitting on the deck looking toward the harbor. The kids got a kick out of living on the main street of quaint and lively Southwest Harbor. The location is awesome...a stone's throw from hiking, swimming, kayaking, biking....you name it. We appreciate the welcoming and helpful communication of our hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Baltimore, Maryland
5

Wonderful Maine Vacation 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were three families for a total of eleven and we had a wonderful time. Staying at Harbor Watch was like coming home in a different state. Although the listing shows only five bedrooms, there are really six distinct areas that can serve as bedrooms. The kitchen is very well equipped and since we made full course dinners each night, we gave the kitchen a workout. The enclosed back porch easily sits eighteen people and that is where we had meals each night and played games. There are four-five parking spots in the rear of the house and we had full access to the garage to store bikes, etc. We were thrilled to realize that the house was with in walking distant to the "town" of SW Harbor and our favorite place to eat - Beal's pier. (Make sure to take the Vagabond Tours (Masako Co) fishing and lobstering trip. The eleven of us got off of the boat with fifteen lobsters which were steamed right on the pier.) Feel free to get wet and dirty because there is a new washer and dryer in the basement and plenty of clotheslines on which to hang clothes. The only things we could have asked for were a window AC in the front left bedroom to mute the street noise and a blender to make Mudslides. Other than those very minor things, this one a perfect place to stay and enjoy all that Maine has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review! Both the air conditioner and blender have been replaced. New top of the line windows have been installed throughout the house and new insulated siding make the home even quieter and more comfortable than ever.
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lancaster, PA
5

Wonderful Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of four generations and one lively Lab spent a wonderful week at Harbor Watch in July, 2011. Wish we could have stayed longer! There was enough room for all 12 of us and the kitchen was very well appointed, There is enough room for four+ people prepping and cooking in there! Having private bathrooms and the washer and dryer were fantastic! The owners were very attentive and caretakers polite and efficient! We will be back, no doubt about it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harbor Watch: Large Home with Beautiful Harbor View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172217vbi
(251) 961-7440 (Alabama, USA)
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We had a wonderful and memorable time during our vacation in Acadia this past week. Harbor Watch was a special place. It was very comfortable and felt like a home away from home. Everyone enjoyed the wonderful views of the harbor from the deck and bedrooms. The kids also had a great time. I think you should put some more photos of the views and all the rooms in your advertisement in VRBO. The current pictures don't do justice to the place. If we do plan to visit Acadia again, we would love to stay at Harbor Watch for a longer period.
Helpful votes: 2/3