Lake Nantahala house rental - Dine by the sparkling lake
Dine by the sparkling lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Lake Nantahala House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, one game room with click couch , 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6 - 8

Come to this beautiful, romantic mountain retreat right on crystal clear Nanatahala Lake. You will find yourself high in the treetops, watching the pines sway in the wind and the lake below sparkle with sun.

This is a perfect romantic get-a-way. Wake in the morning to the sun coming over the mountains shining across the lake. In fall, reds and yellows against the dark green on the mountainsides or right outside the window engulf you with the wonder of fall. In summer, be engulfed by Appalachian lushness. Sometimes the Smokey Mountain mist creates shining wonders before your eyes. Cook your favorite gourmet meals in our kitchen in full view of the lake or grill outside on the spacious deck. Basking in the dappled sun on the deck is always wonderful.

At night, build a fire and sink into comfort with a glass of wine or your favorite tea while moonlight plays on the mountains across the lake. Try some candlelight while soaking in our oval tub. Or simply sink into the private spa on the lower deck and watch the stars.

Take a swim in the clear waters below. Use our canoe or two kayaks or launch your own boat nearby and tie up at our dock. Spend evenings on the dock, gazing at the stars.

Activities Close at Hand: Stroll down our scenic, peaceful neighborhood lane, take a loop hike through the woods on primitive roads or take the nearby hikes on the Appalachian Trail to Wayha, Wesser or Siler Balds. Watch the birds, try your luck in the nearby award-winning trout stream or right off the dock, explore one of the many bike routes or visit the famous Nantahala Outdoor Center for rafting, kayaking, biking and delicious food.

Challenge the kids to air hockey, pool or ping pong or try one of the many family games. Or canoe around the bend to find a secluded secret waterfall at the end of a challenging rustic trail.

Day Trips: Smokey Mountain National Park invites you just an hour away, or you can visit the famous Biltmore House in Asheville. Take a scenic ride on the historic railway or try panning for gems. Do you like music? Viist Dolly Parton's village or attend free Friday night concerts at John Campbell Folk School and local bluegrass jammers nearby. On the other hand, just sitting on the deck in the tree tops gazing at the lake might be just the peace and solitude you need.

More Details
Hide Details

We are now retired community college school teachers who live in Madison, Wisconsin and spend lovely vacations at The Romantic Lake Retreat. We've set the price so that other couples could easily afford it and enjoy the magic moments that easy living in the midst of nature can provide.

Marilyn Carien purchased this house in 2007

We fell in love with this woodsy magic property in 2005. We chose it partly because of the giant white pines swaying in the breeze and strove to preserve every possible one of them as we designed an built the house together. We have often sought places like this while camping and now can relax in the luxury of a home with many windows . .. right next to a clean, sparkling lake.

PEACE and tranquillity, beauty, a massage chair with music and gorgeous view, plenty of nearby adventures for visitors. From every room, you can wake to a gorgeous sunrise over the lake.

27 Reviews of Property 172135 in Lake Nantahala, North Carolina

Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 27 reviews
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Canton, North Carolina
5

Guestbook Comment

We spent a week of our daughter's spring break in this house. We have been going to Lake Nantahala since we were both children (at least 25 year...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
We spent a week of our daughter's spring break in this house. We have been going to Lake Nantahala since we were both children (at least 25 years). This house is wonderful. It is neat, clean, up-to-date and has a wonderful open floor plan with many, many fantastic amenities. We took our own boat and could tie it up at the private dock. It was one of the best vacations we have had in a while and this house truly contributed to that. We are certain to stay again many, many more times in the future - we plan to every year now. Thanks Marilyn for sharing your awesome lake house with us.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The house was beautiful, simple, and uncomplicated - much like our trip.
The amenities were cozy and Marilyn had very thoughtfully and thoroughly left a little guidebook to make our trip even easier.
We loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Orlando, FL
2

Beautiful view, but it ends there!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Spectacular view of the lake; extremely quiet and peaceful! Minimal boat traffic makes for great swimming and canoeing. There was plenty of room for my family of four, including a 2 and 5 year old. Pool table downstairs was great for the rainy days. The directions were very precise and the tips were great. We had one issue on arrival and she responded within the day. Compared to the other rentals in the area, this place has a great price tag on it. But with that great price tag, comes downfalls. It was very difficult to cook in the kitchen. The pots and pans were so scratched on the bottoms we really didn't want to put food in them. Minimal bowls and utensils made it very difficult to cook meals for a family. The kitchen garbage can lid had mold on it. The bed in the upstairs bedroom was awful! The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and the frame was made of particle board, which was falling apart on one side and held up with cinder blocks underneath. The drawers in the upstairs dresser are broke so they fall out easily. I put towels down in the drawers because they were so dirty inside. The door to the upstairs patio is broke and does not close properly. It was difficult not having window treatments on the downstairs bedrooms. When trying to put young ones to sleep at a decent hour, it is difficult when you can't make the room a bit darker. The accordian wall helped a bit. The spa is right outside the two downstairs bedrooms and there are slider doors so if someone is sleeping in the rooms, it is difficult to use the spa.The one night we went to use the spa, we couldn't because the electric outlet and plug looked as if it had an electric fire in it. We never did get a response about this issue. It was a bit odd that in one bedroom downstairs it was covered with a fabric material and behind that was the insulation covered with heavy plastic. It was great to be directly on the water. We knew the walk down would be steep, but we assumed it would have a proper walkway. There was one small area that had a railing and a few steps, but other than that it was a very small dirt path. The life jackets had mold on them. There was water in the bottom of the container and it seemed as if the life jackets were put back in wet, which may have been the reason for the mold. Although I am sure this was done by previous renters, I feel that this should have checked by the people maintaining the home. Although the price was great, I would not stay again.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Very beautiful place with a great view. However, would have been nice to have had some curtains on at least the bedroom windows-no privacy from the outside world or roommates. Fireplace was clogged and smoke continuously rolled back into the room. The flue was opened so no excuse there-just needed cleaning. Only 1 tv in the whole house- we went during college football bowl games. Downstairs had no heat except space heaters and one of those quit working. Very, very cold and that's where the tv was. It was so cold downstairs the teenagers did not even want to play pool. Awful!!! Jacuzzi was a joke-like a balloon filled with water and temperature never got above 94 degrees. Only room for 2 also. Dishes were in the pantry and bugs were on them- they had to be washed first. Also, owners or other renters condiments, etc. were everywhere in the pantry. Very disorganized, nasty, and crowded. We had to move everything to one side of pantry so we could have room for our stuff. The house was freezing when we got to it- would have been nice to had it warmed beforehand. It snowed when we went to give an idea how cold we were. I would not recommend staying here in the winter months but the summer would be ideal. Spring and fall would be nice too as long as it's not cold outside. Disappointing stay especially when you want to have a great getaway from home.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
4

Picturesque and Quaint

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Exactly what we needed! The house itself is deceiving (in a good way) as you drive up. The description provided is accurate though it was not quite as clean as I had expected and the furniture help a bit of odor from it's age and use. We prepared an entire Thanksgiving meal with minor difficulties that were probably more user related than anything. Regardless of the cobwebs, whole in the wall, odd smell, minor exterior upkeep needed and exterior lights not working THIS IS AN AMAZING LOCATION. It's a dream from the final 1/2 mile decent to the front door and once inside you can't get down to the beach fast enough. The sparkly beach sand and mountain view are something you will never forget. I love that the house is simple. I didn't really mind the little quirks. The beauty all around was a gift to behold. If you choose to stay here you'll know what I'm talking about but don't pass up the waterfalls. They are a must see. This location is both romantic and family friendly. It was even teenager approved. I hope we have an opportunity to return.
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Knoxville
5

Fantastic Mountain Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My boyfriend and I had a terrific weekend on Lake Nantahala. Marilyn's house was cozy, spotless, and exactly as described. We loved sitting by the fireplace in the evenings and waking up to gorgeous views of the lake. The hot tub feels like it's in a tree house, and taking the canoe out was so relaxing. Marilyn's communications were clear and addressed all of our needs, and then some. I would highly recommend this house to anyone who wants to escape to a peaceful haven for a few days. We're already figuring out when we can return. Thank you, Marilyn!
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
5

Great time true isolation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My Husband and I stay 3 days and 2 nights in this home. It was absolute amazing and was the best part of our vacation. We spend several days in Myrtle Beach and Hatters Island in NC. My only regret was that we did not spend the majority of our vacation at this wonderful home. The pictures do not do this home justice. It is very nice and clean and the location in next to none. We enjoyed every aspect of the home and location that we could. We took the advise of the owner and got food prior to driving up to the home. As it is around a 30 minute drive up a winding road to the home. We enjoyed the canoe every day were there. The canoe trip to the water fall was absolutely amazing and totally breath taking. From the time we arrived we were absolutely taken back by the pretty beauty and isolation of the location. We enjoyed long canoe rides around lake, siting on the dock at night watching the sun go down and the bats fly around, jumping and swimming around the dock, and sitting in hot tub until late into the night. Thank you for a wonderful end to our two week vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
5

Didn't Want to Leave

Didn't Want to Leave
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The lake was inviting, the views were amazing, and the house was clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed for the week. The location is perfect for nearby zip-lining and white water rafting, so is the Bartram Trail and Wayah Bald. We enjoyed all of these activities, but even more so our lazy, soulful days on the Lake. We swam, kayaked, canoed, and spent a great deal of time on the dock and in the clear, cool, glorious water. We made a number of canoe/kayak treks to the rope swing and the waterfall trail, both accessible only from the water. We purchased our groceries in Andrews on the way up to the house and ate most of our meals on the deck. The kitchen had all the necessities and everything was as described. We had a wonderful week getting away from it all and enjoying one another. We didn't want to leave. Thank you Marilyn for sharing your home with us.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Gretna, LA
4

Great loc.on quiet lake, near white water rafting.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. THe owner was very prompt with her replies to my questions and the home was clean and not cluttered. Entry level living space provided all the access my elderly mother needed: bedroom, full size bath with walk-in shower, kitchen, dining room, living area, fireplace, wall of windows to view the lake. The lower level was all about fun for my young daughters who enjoyed the full size Ping-Pong, air hockey, pool table. The gated community provided an appreciated but unnecessary extra feeling of safety. We managed to paddle the canoe to the large secluded waterfall across the lake. A real treat! We would definitely stay here again but next time we will stay longer and take a nearby white water rafting trip and zip line adventure.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Lake Retreat -- Beautiful Summer Openings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172135
+1 608 669-4902
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Utmost, SC
5

Truly a romantic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is our second stay here and this time was better than the first. Charming and quiet, we enjoyed our time together, the views, and all the many activities within easy driving distance. The house had everything ready and waiting. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1