Austin house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps up to 8 adults, 2 children

This dramatic limestone and steel architectural landmark is quietly nestled on 17 acres just 30 miles from downtown Austin. 3BR home sleeps up to 10 in 1 king, 3 queen + 2 bunk beds. Perfect for weddings, parties, family gatherings, and corporate retreats. Year-round indoor/outdoor living perfected in Texas ranches includes long walks, relaxing in “the world’s largest screened-in porch,” or swimming in the outdoor pool. Indoors, adjacent to the large gourmet stainless-steel kitchen is the sunny, loft-like living/dining room with an elm dining/conference table (seats ten), and a leather living room ensemble seating seven in front of a massive limestone inglenook fireplace.

A dirt road leads past large live oaks and pastures to this unique, award-winning house. Located near Interstate 35 and Mopac and all the venues of Austin and San Antonio. Shop at San Marcos outlets, explore charming small town attractions, dine at famous BBQ or gourmet restaurants, or visit nearby vineyard.

41 Reviews of Property 171686 in Austin, Texas

Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
average rating of 4.756098 based on 41 reviews
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
Austin, Texas
5

wedding at the plant

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
This was my husband and I's first choice when deciding on a venue for our wedding. We both have a love for architecture and design and this contemporary home with the outdoor space in the hill country was the perfect setting for what we envisioned. We both love the outdoors and that is where we spend much of our time, so it made sense to get married outside at sunset with an outdoor party following. I will admit that I was concerned about the distance from Austin, because a majority of our guests were coming from not only out of town, but out of state, plus we wanted people to enjoy themselves and not have to worry about drinking and driving. Therefore we chartered buses, and as far as we heard they worked out flawlessly. This was my biggest concern, but all the feedback was positive. Many of our friends and family had funny stories from their bus trips that made the entire experience more memorable. The owners were wonderful to work with, very accommodating to any special requests we made and they were a pleasure to work with. The property was in perfect condition and it was seamless for our rental company, catering company and band to load in and out. Our guests all raved about the location and will not soon forget the event. It is such a unique venue that your event will definitely be memorable. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone for not only events but a fun getaway. It made our wedding so special and unique and we would not change a thing. We look forward to using this venue again and again for romantic getaways to our future anniversary parties. The owners were excellent to work with and the venue was a spectacular locale.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Stephanie & Michael
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/16
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
5

Fantastic Getaway for Spring Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I were looking for a getaway with our 5 children for Spring Break. We wanted someplace with land so the kids could play outside and explore their surroundings. I wanted a beautiful house with modern amenities, my husband wanted a gourmet kitchen to do a lot of cooking/baking, and my mother-in-law wanted a quiet relaxing place to read. We found it all in this house. Our children had 17 acres to explore and they saw buzzards, donkeys, and even a fox. The owners provided everything you could possibly need, linens, towels, paper towels ... We were even greeted with a nice bottle of wine upon our arrival. The kitchen is gorgeous and we were provided with everything you could possibly imagine and more to cook a gourmet meal. The huge fireplace in the living room provided the perfect spot for my mother-in-law to unwind and read her books. She loved having the fire at night and our children had so much fun going outside and finding extra firewood. (the owners did provide plenty of firewood)
The screened in porch is huge and provided endless hours of fun, we made S'mores every night in the fire-pit while the adults rocked in the rocking chairs while talking and drinking wine.
We highly would recommend this house to family and friends and look forward to returning in the summer months when the kids can swim in the pool.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We always strive to make every guest stay as good as this one!
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
5

Celebration despite the weather!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family stayed at The Plant, enjoying the locale as well as the verve of the space! The younger kids loved the natural items, and exploring the up and down stairs. The adults loved being able to sit at a big table for meals. Everyone slept well.

When our evening celebration had to move into The Plant due to threatening weather, it was obviously a much easier place to host a big gathering than our yard! All of our guests loved the architecture, and the openness!
There was room for the caterers, the musicians, and ample useable areas for our guests.
We had an unforgettable gathering- and we are certain we will be hosting another party there!

Many thanks to the very helpful owners! Martha and Jamie Kinscherff
Owner's Response: We're delighted it went so well!
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
Austin
4

Staying at the The Plant

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Pros: There is something really special about this place. We just had my wife's birthday party there with some friends and everyone thought it what so awesome. It has interesting architectural history, personality, scenery, solitude, and the biggest screen-in porch area you have ever seen. It’s adult and child friendly along with a covered pool area that makes sitting by the pool less miserable in the Texas summers. The layout allows for a variety of events or just a good-ole get away for the family. The owners were very nice and accommodating. The property was clean with everything working properly. I would completely recommend this property.
Cons: Bed mattresses; strange neighbor.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
Houston
5

Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I spent a great week at The Plant in July. This is the third year we have done so. As always, the stay was great. Each time we go, things get a bit better. Anyone looking for a quiet getaway would have a fabulous time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
Austin, Texas
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family met at The Plant for some time together around the the 4th. I can't say enough about the space. The design is amazing. You can sit on the porch in our Texas 100 degree days and not break a sweat. There is a lovely breeze blowing at all times. We all make use of the pool and everyone could sprawl out because the place is so spacious. We cooked everyday and the kitchen is perfect for turning out meals for a group. Large commercial stove, sub zero refrigerator plenty of stainless counter space. We dined in a few times in and out on the porch a couple of times.The wildlife was amazing, donkey, sheep, birds, lizards.....just a very peaceful, place. Special place, do not hesitate to book it. The Plant is a gem.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
5

All We Hoped for and More Revised Rating

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
After reading my posted review, I feel compelled to revise my rating to five star. The reason I first gave it four is because if you don't like getting your shoes dirty, or if you prefer to move unimpeded room to room without leaving the warmth of the space, this may not be the place for you. You have to love the feel of nature and the ambiance of a rural setting. My wife said "this is my kind of camping". It is luxurious camping for the city dweller that can't do without his comforts. The fifth star is deserved to match the title of my review and my own personal experience. Thanks again.
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
4

All We Hoped for and More

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My daughter wanted a place to spend her final night as a single lady with her immediate family, mom, dad, sister, brother-in-law and grandmother. The house is close to the Mandola Estates/Duchman winery, venue for her wedding the next day. The house is as described in the listing, stunning architecture. Having architects and interior designers in the family, renting this location was an easy decision. We enjoyed the roaring blaze in the fireplace as we shared stories that final night before the wedding. The living/bedroom areas are spacious and well appointed. The kitchen is generously stocked with all necessities. The sleeping quarters rival or surpass many downtown hotels. We had a gift opening after the wedding for immediate family and they raved about the house and talked about planning a future reunion there. A disabled family member was able to scoot around the enormous wrap around porch in his motorized wheelchair. We loved sitting in rocking chairs around the fire pit retelling stories of the wedding. Kids tossed a football in the huge yard. We only wished it had been warmer to use the Olympic size pool. The place is quiet, secluded and picturesque and we saw abundant wildlife. It is close to many surrounding attractions and country stores. We all commented we could spend endless days there. Lastly, the owners provided great service in making the rental process fast and easy and making our stay an occasion we will never forget. Thank you so much.
Owner's Response: This is exactly the kind of experience we owners always strive for. It is so wonderful when other people really "get" this place and feel such a sense of appreciation. We measure our success in part by counting our repeat visitors, and depending on the season we offer them special discounts when we can. Please return!
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
United States
5

PERFECT location for our wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We happened upon this venue while looking at homeaway.com for a place for our family while they were in town for our wedding, and were enchanted. It's off the beaten path, out in the country all on it's own, and was PERFECT for our entire wedding! It provided a great place for the smaller intimate wedding we wanted. The land provided the perfect backdrop, so we had minimal decorating to do. We rented the venue for the entire weekend, so I was able to stay out there with my girls the night before. I can't think of anything negative to say about this place! We will definitely be back in the future!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: There are three of us co-owners of The Plant, and it sure makes our day/month/year whenever other people tell us that they love it almost as much as we do!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171686
+1 5126896777
Austin Austin area
Houston
5

Fantastic Week of Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My wife and I enjoyed a second stay at the Plant this summer. We would be hard pressed to find anything negative to say about the property or our stay. We had a wonderful time. We are already looking forward to a return visit next year.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway