Phoenicia house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay nights
 

Phoenicia House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

Prized by movie scouts or location hunter,Perfect compromise between wildlife & culture! Romantic, charming, but comfortable house, 3 bedroom (sleeps 8) 1 bathroom, 5/6 person hot tub, fireplace, all amenities (dishwasher, washer/dryer, satellite TV with more than 180 channels, DVD player, WIFI and more).

River across the street and stream in the back of the property where you can sit and relax. The incredible advantage of this place is not only the fact that it's really adorable & restful but also its amazing location.

Surrounded by the mountains (Hunter, Belleayre) and forest (the back of the property is a national forest!) just walk across the bridge to be right in the center of the Town of Phoenicia, its great variety of restaurants (especially Sweet Sue and its well renowned phenomenal pancakes, people from all over the world come for them!), shops, and NYC buses that bring you there in two hours! Perfect for couples with/without children, family/friend reunion, weddings (we hosted quite a few because of its color!) and celebration.. the snow is a real show right now!

check what reviewer of 'the Examiner'said about us there:

http://www.examiner.com/article/ain-t-that-america-phoenicia-ny-its-little-pink-house-festival-of-the-voice

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

check our personal web site

Maria purchased this house in 2003

Location! Location! Location... and so much charm!

Louis, my husband and I just loved the artsy community, the proximity from New York City ( 2hours only) the accessibility for our friends who do not have a car ( yep!we can take a direct bus from Port Authority and be in front of the door , or almost two hours later!) and the fact that the property is private, secluded but 5mn walking distance from the center of the village of Phoenicia.

Nature is just outstanding all around.. a true harbor of peace , calm and joy!

by the way, on the Google map, you might see a little rail road in front of the house: it has been abandoned since 1945! but , by the bridge, in the Summer a little train that goes through the mountains ( kids love it!) stops there.. once again, not in front of the house at all!

be our guests! we love sharing this house !

Peace, recollection and overwhelming nature and beauty...

Louis and I are both Opera singers, we travel a lot, for professional reasons, New York City is where we need to be most of the time, and having the opportunity to disconnect is a true blessing.

We ' charge the battery' up here! even for one night only, the break is so obvious that it seems like a whole week of vacation!

we love the fantastic choice of restaurants, galleries,cultural life but the perfect mix with nature, hiking etc.. and we just have to jump in a car to get all that.. no plane, no security checking, no luggage, no dramatic expenses...

10 Reviews of Property 171239 in Phoenicia, New York

Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
Queens, NY
5

Peaceful Retreat for a couple with a dog

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We spent a week at the house in January and had a great time. The furnishings are comfortable and it was very clean. I have dust allergies and this is important for me. We were able to bring our little dog with us which was really wonderful as she is part of our family. The small town of Phoenicia has everything you need (grocery store, souvenir shop, deli, pharmacy, good coffee, restaurants) and is in 15-20 min walking distance from the house so you could visit without a car if you take the bus from Manhattan (although I wouldn't want to walk that far in January in the cold). Since we had a car we were able to drive around the mountains and would particularly recommend visiting the towns of Margaretville and Woodstock both of which are about 15 min away. We spent most of the week reading by the cozy fireplace and watching the snow fall. We spent a few evenings in the hot tub under the stars which was really magical. Our favorite meal was definitely the pizza from Brios - and I'm from Brooklyn and know good pizza. We had chicken alfredo pizza and truffle mushroom pizza. The large kitchen lends itself to cooking at home and we saved a lot of money this way since we didn't have to eat out for all our meals. The backyard has a firepit and if it wasn't so snowy, we definitely would have been out there roasting marshmallows. The owners, Maria and Louis, were responsive by email (there is no cell phone reception) and we had no problems or issues during our stay. There is a voip internet landline phone in the house that we were welcome to use for free. The call quality on the landline was great. The WIFI had a strong signal both upstairs and on the main floor. There is also cable TV. We really didn't want to leave, it was such a nice retreat. I would highly recommend this spot for anyone looking for a quiet place to relax.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
Brooklyn, Ny
4

Great family home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had such a lovely time with our family and friends at this home. Very cozy, yet big enough for a big thanksgving dinner and prep. The hot tub was the selling point for sure. There is a side appartment that is rented out that we didnt realize, but the tennant was super sweet( and barely saw him) the owners were very sweet as well. It was walking distance from town but still feels remote and quiet. A great spot for a family for sure.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
Haastrecht, Netherlands
5

A winner. We recommend this home to you.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
In July/August 2011, my wife and I spend 4 weeks in this Phoenicia home. The owners, Maria and Louis, made us feel very welcome from the start. When we arrived early sunday evening, there were some lights left on so we could
find our way around easily.
The home is everything promised. Spacious diningroom, well equipped kitchen, cozy livingroom and nice bedrooms on the first floor.
The home was easy to find, just some 300 meters from the entrance to the village of Phoenicia, taking the first exit on the road leading from Kingston (exit 29 I87).
To our (we live in Western Europe) standards, outside temperatures where high during our stay (90's). Inside the house, we could always maintain pleasant temperatures. The airconditioner installed didn't even have to work all
day or that hard.
Phoenicia Main street is at walking distance. We found some nice stores and restaurants. The village supermarket offers enough for getting some last minute essentials. Boiceville supermarket (some 10 miles out, direction Kingston,
offers everything you might need as for groceries.
During our stay, we made several trips in the (wide) area around Phoenicia, using mainly the perfectly maintained (2 lane) County roads.
Vast areas of upstate New York can be reached by car in an hour or two. New York city is only 2,5 hour drive.
An alternative to get there is drive part of the way, and take the train (Metro Nord for instance) directly to Manhattan Grand Central station. Which we did.
Directly behind the backyard of the house, the Catskill wilderness stretches out. Several hiking trails are marked there.
With a choice from moderate to more difficult to walk. Be sure to plan your hikes carefully, minding the weather. A stray thunderstorm could catch up with you, and you'll need a least some 4 to 5 hours to complete a roundtrip hike.
I found a very nice golfcourse some 45 minutes away by car at Accord. Friendly reception (make reservation in advance by phone or internet); spectaculair views, forgiving fairways.
At the end of our stay, we had the opportunity to enjoy the Phoenicia 2011 Festival of the Voice. A four day event, of which our hosts are founders and directors. Great choice of performers, a must-see if you're in the area early August!
We really enjoyed our stay. It's a great place, with all the comfort you need, to explore the Catskills and the area around it. We recommend it !
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
New York, NY
5

An amazing weekend in Phoenicia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Just spent an amazing weekend with a group of friends. Couldn't have picked a better place. The folks who own this home leave you wanting for nothing.

Between the hot tub, the great kitchen, and the warm fire, it's the perfect spot to enjoy a weekend in the Catskills. The Esopus is literally in front of the house if you're looking to go fishing or tubing, and there are great hiking trails nearby.

Another bonus is that our friends who took the bus in had a ten minute walk (if that) to the front door -- it's ideally situated if you're without a car.

Highly recommend to anybody headed to Phoenicia. Our group had such a great stay that by Sunday evening everybody was planning another trip back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
Manhattan
5

More than expected.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is the first time my wife and I booked a house own privately for our vacation and after staying at this great property, we are now convinced that this is the best way to proceed when you have a family and want to go away without spending too much...
Everything that was promised was over delivered and the house was actually much more pleasant that we expected. Location is perfect as we were in a private and calm spot but yet walking distance from the village .
weather was not the best all the time but it did not matter much as the house has so much character we enjoyed our rest and escape.
Owners are just delightful, caring and made us feel like we were home or visiting some family ... great hospitality even if we only met them once. we loved the " key" system! very convenient as we had some friends joining us , they could access the house even if we were not yet there, clever.
We will certainly go back.. a place and people that make you feel like it is your own "home"2 hours away from NYC.. totally worth it ! highly recommended by my wife, my two teenager sons and myself.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
brooklyn ny
5

Great escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
I stayed here with 4 others for a "girls weekend" trip in November 08. This was a great place to escape from our hectic city lives. It provided a perfect setting to relax and experience peace, quiet and nature. We enjoyed catching up with each other while hiking, cooking, eating, drinking and sitting in the hot tub. The house is clean, spacious and very well-equipped, containing plenty of pretty much everything we needed. Owner is very attentive and a great host. Would definitely return/recommend to a friend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
NY, NY
4

Slice of country life

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
This is a great place for a relaxing family vacation.
The kitchen is well equipped and the hot tub was a big hit with the kids. The back yard was great for our little dog as well. The weather was a real bummer but we had plenty of space to read, play games, and cook!
The little farm stand down the road had amazing pies and fresh veggies. If you just want to unwind from the city- this is a good choice.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
New York, NY
5

Cozy and secluded

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
My friends and I (total of 7 people) stayed for a quick weekend getaway and this was the perfect place! The house was very clean and cozy. We all felt right at home. The owners are very nice and accommodating. The amenities are great. . .especially the hot tub! I definitely recommend staying here. It's affordable, the view is great, the house is warm. . .what more could you ask for??
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
Sparta, New Jersey
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We spent a lovely ski week-end at this home, and really enjoyed ourselves. We took advantage of the hot-tub every evening, sipping wine (from plastic cups!) while gazing at the stars, which were amazing due to the lack of light pollution. We then dried ourselves in front of the gas fireplace, which was a little tricky to light, but well worth the effort. We tried Sweet Sue's, based on the home-owner's recommendation, and loved it! We ate breakfast there twice, and we recommend it to anyone either staying in the area, or just passing through. Great food; delicious menu! The town of Phoenicia is very quaint, yet it has everything you need...a small grocery store, two ATM's, a liquor store, Sweet Sue's for breakfast (they are now open for dinner, which we tried...we liked their breakfast better!), an Italian restaurant w/ awesome brick-oven pizza, a bar & grill, a seafood restaurant, and it looked like some neat shops, all on main street. We skied at nearby Belleayre, about a 15-minute drive due west on Route 28, where the conditions were incredible. It didn't hurt that we received almost a foot of snow while we were there! There's also a Nordic Ski Center at Belleayre, but we haven't been there, yet. The next day we skied at Plattekill, tucked away in the farm-land, a 30-minute drive, half of which was on back-roads. Plattekill feels very rustic, and their terrain caters to the more advanced skier. The runs on which they blow snow were fun and challenging; the others were technical and had 'thin cover', even after the big snowstorm of the day before. They were still fun, but my skies needed some TLC afterward. Over all, the home has a great location for winter sports, and is right across the street from the Esopus for summer enjoyment. The town of Phoenicia is barely a 2-minute drive, and would be a lovely walk, weather permitting. The home itself was very welcoming and cozy. We'd definitely go back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Voted Most Romantic Cottage in the Area!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171239vb
(845)688-5759
Phoenicia Catskills
Sparta, New Jersey
5

Guestbook Comment

We spent a lovely ski week-end at this home, and really enjoyed ourselves. We took advantage of the hot-tub every evening, sipping wine (from plasti...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We spent a lovely ski week-end at this home, and really enjoyed ourselves. We took advantage of the hot-tub every evening, sipping wine (from plastic cups!) while gazing at the stars, which were amazing due to the lack of light pollution. We then dried ourselves in front of the gas fireplace, which was a little tricky to light, but well worth the effort. We tried Sweet Sue's, based on the home-owner's recommendation, and loved it! We ate breakfast there twice, and we recommend it to anyone either staying in the area, or just passing through. Great food; delicious menu! The town of Phoenicia is very quaint, yet it has everything you need...a small grocery store, two ATM's, a liquor store, Sweet Sue's for breakfast (they are now open for dinner, which we tried...we liked their breakfast better!), an Italian restaurant w/ awesome brick-oven pizza, a bar & grill, a seafood restaurant, and it looked like some neat shops, all on main street. We skied at nearby Belleayre, about a 15-minute drive due west on Route 28, where the conditions were incredible. It didn't hurt that we received almost a foot of snow while we were there! There's also a Nordic Ski Center at Belleayre, but we haven't been there, yet. The next day we skied at Plattekill, tucked away in the farm-land, a 30-minute drive, half of which was on back-roads. Plattekill feels very rustic, and their terrain caters to the more advanced skier. The runs on which they blow snow were fun and challenging; the others were technical and had 'thin cover', even after the big snowstorm of the day before. They were still fun, but my skies needed some TLC afterward.
Over all, the home has a great location for winter sports, and is right across the street from the Esopus for summer enjoyment. The town of Phoenicia is barely a 2-minute drive, and would be a lovely walk, weather permitting. The home itself was very welcoming and cozy. We'd definitely go back!
Helpful votes: 6/6