Candler farmhouse rental - O'Kelley's Farmhouse
O'Kelley's Farmhouse
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Candler Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 1 Bedroom + Loft + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-8)

O'KELLEY'S IS READY FOR CHRISTMAS!!!

O'KELLEY'S FARMHOUSE IS AN EXCEPTIONAL LOCATION TO GATHER AND ENJOY THE COMPANY OF FAMILY & WONDROUS BEAUTY OF THE SMOKY MOUNTAINS. WE ARE LOCATED JUST AT THE FOOT OF MOUNT PISGAH & THE BLUE RIDGE PARKWAY. A SHORT 20 MINUTE DRIVE TO DOWNTOWN ASHEVILLE.

A memory making vacation is awaiting you nestled in the heart of the upper hominy valley where you will find an antique retreat at the O’Kelley farm house. Renovated in 2008, the farm house is over 100 years old. Situated on 16 acres,the home is adorned with memorabilia from the O’Kelley family along with interesting novelties and antique accents.

Our home is located just moments from the Blue Ridge Parkway and only 20 minutes from Downtown Asheville, where you can find just about anything to do that your heart desires. Or, you can simply enjoy the farm for its own unique charm. May we suggest passing your time by: rocking on the porch, sitting under the outdoor pavilion watching wildlife and listening to the nearby creeks, or just enjoying the magnificent view of Mount Pisgah. Walking trails are also located nearby.

To add to the unique charm of the home, we have updated the bedding, but kept the original iron beds and many other pieces of the history that have made this home so special. We have tried to renovate in a way that adds modern conveniences with old time charm. The home, complete with a large kitchen and a spacious dining room that will seat up to 10 people, is a perfect place for an old fashioned family gathering.

This old farm house is so dear to our family. We hope that you and your family will come here and spend time making memories of your own. Call or email us today to plan your old fashioned family vacation.

NOTICE! We rent to families and responsible adults only. No house parties and No Pets! No Exceptions!

Keywords: 100 Year Old Farm House

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 171097 in Candler, North Carolina

Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 22 reviews
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
5

A Beautiful Farmhouse in the Country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This place is fantastic. We had a wonderful time staying at the farmhouse. Everything you would need on a trip is available, down to small details. For example, one set of house keys you are given has grocery store discount tags with it. The house is beautifully appointed with antiques and keepsakes. The scenery from the land is beautiful with tall trees and mountain views. There are goats and horses to watch as well. The ride to downtown Asheville is about 20 minutes but well worth it. I hope we get to stay at the house again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
5

central ohio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Awesome stay ,great hosts, as advertised. This is a must experience for antique and nostalgia lovers.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
5

The kids LOVED it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Let me preface my review by saying that the mountains, nature, anything remotely rustic are just not my cup of tea. I am a city girl at heart, born and raised in the city, its all I've ever known, its where I'm comfortable, and anything remotely removed from that is COMPLETELY out of my comfort zone and not high on my list. With that I say, BOOK O'KELLEY'S FARMHOUSE!

My husband and I specifically chose to go to North Carolina, to the mountains, to nature, because I don't want my children's life experiences limited by my own likes and dislikes. They'd only seen mountains in pictures before now.

The surrounding area is quite lovely - We had no idea that the county we were in was the 7th in the nation for apple production! Our kids loved getting to pick apples at the same place we went for our annual pumpkin patch visit. I also found the most lovely small vineyard which made the best wine I have ever had in my life! And of course there's the Biltmore, Biltmore Village, and Grove Park Inn, all within 20 minutes or so of the farmhouse. Plenty to do :)

But every time we left the farmhouse, our kids (4, 3, and 2) just kept asking to go back to the farmhouse. They LOVED it! The meadow/field out back was a dream come true for them. We have a sizable back yard at home, but for some reason, they much preferred O'Kelley's :) And the house - Delights and squeals for literally hours that with the layout of the bottom floor, they could literally run in circles. And they loved the loft! (We live in a one-story, so the stairs were a novelty to them)

The farmhouse comes equipped with pretty much anything you'd need, we really didn't eat out the whole time we were there, we enjoyed the grill and the lanai several nights. I personally loved the layout of the house too. Living in a world of open floor plans, I really kind of liked having the kitchen as a separate room all to myself when I was cooking, didn't have nearly as many 'little people under foot' incidences as I normally do. And the dining room reminded me of my Grandma's, which I loved :)

When O'Kelley's says they are nestled at the foot of Mt. Pisgah, they really mean it. We took the GPS directions to Looking Glass Falls, which put us going out and around to the front of the mountain and up. Then we went up to Graveyard Fields. When we were done, the GPS took us down the back side of the mountain, and lo and behold, dumped us right in O'Kelley's driveway :)

All in all, we loved O'Kelley's - We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
Sims, NC
4

Family reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I LOVED this house. So much country charm and yard for the kids to play, plus close to blue ridge and wonderful waterfalls and trails. The only down side was the grass was just cut and it rained so every time someone came through the house grass came with them, plus there was something wrong with the coffee pot, so you may want to bring your own. Other than that they had more that what we could ask for. Wonderful people to deal with and a wonderful vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
Colorado Springs, CO
5

A Serene Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My mother, cousin, and I stayed at O'Kelley's Farmhouse for a three-day visit to Asheville. We could not have been happier with our choice! Though we did touristy things during the day, we loved escaping to the Farmhouse for our evenings. Having three grocery stores just 7 miles away--and on the way back to our "home"--made it easy to pick up fixings for dinner each night (and breakfasts too). We enjoyed cooking and eating together (and saving the money from eating out). Perhaps our favorite thing was sitting on the porch in the evenings and into the night. We were delighted to NOT be confronted by mosquitoes or any other bugs. We sipped wine and watched the fireflies. We even got to hear the sound of rain falling on the tin roof on our final evening. The pygmy goats were an added plus--so cute and friendly!

We found Julie and Dan to be pleasant and informative hosts. We highly recommend this place for a serene and peaceful getaway for small groups.

The upstairs can be a bit warm (the AC doesn't quite keep it cool like it does the downstairs), but once the sun goes down it cools off reasonably and there are fans available for use. It's very kind of the owners to provide long distance service as it's true that cell service does not reach this farmhouse retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
Nixa, MO, USA
5

Thanksgiving vacationers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
What a charming place to stay! We loved how quaint and homey the farmhouse felt. Everything we needed was there and the tree swing out front was a BIG hit! Got to enjoy sitting on the front porch rocking chairs and resting in peace.
We also liked going up the winding road to the top of Mt. Pisgah and hiking the trails there. The views from on top were just beautiful!!
It was a pretty little place and we enjoyed our stay there very much. Julie was very helpful and friendly too:)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
florida
5

Ed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We were very pleased with the place and the owners of this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
Cary, NC
5

Great hideaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
If you are looking for something rustic with charm then this is it! We thoroughly enjoyed our girl's weekend at the farmhouse and found the loft to be perfect for our late night girl talk and laughing. Quick access to the Blue Ridge Parkway made for an easy leisurely drive. Owner was very friendly and attentive to our needs. Looking forward to our next stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
Leeds Alabama
5

Visual delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Such a neat place, exactly as advertised and more, kind of like staying in a museum and going back in time, so many things to look at.
Really enjoyed the house and the property and relaxing after a day of exploring in the area. Practically everything you could think of is furnished, thank you for sharing this gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring is Springing at O'Kelley's Farmhouse!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171097vbi
(828) 337-3361
Candler Asheville Area
Suwanee, GA
5

A great place with Character

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We just visited the Farmhouse and definitely enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a unique place with character and all the comforts of home then this is a great place to stay.

We are an outdoor, active, hiking family. We spend our days hiking and our evenings dining. We found the location to be within reason to everything as we ventured out to many areas (Pisgah Forrest, Grandfather Mountain, Craggy Gardens, etc.) and then went into Asheville each night to try the different eateries. If your looking for places within walking or a 5 minute drive, this isn't the location for you as Asheville and it's surrounding area will be a solid 20 minutes away. We drove it each night so its not that big of a deal.

The farmhouse has fantastic decors with a lot of antiques; very unique including the creaky floors and beds to go with it. There was not a single thing missing from linens to small appliances. There's a grill and nice patio area in back if you want to relax and cook out. We ate breakfast out there several mornings and enjoyed the view of the mountains and the horses.

The owner stopped by and chatted with us several times and made us feel right at home. Any small issues we had were taken care of very promptly. The wifi is a bit quirky but I eventually figured it out. That's about the only small negative we had.

Great visit! If you bring the kids, make sure they enjoy the swing out front.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3