Prospect Harbor house rental - View from the rocks
View from the rocks
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Prospect Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 bath/shower, sleeps 6, living room, kitchen/dining, office/study

Perfect and charming three-bedroom just completely rebuilt in knotty pine interior and shingled cottage exterior. New appliances, jotul propane stove, washer and dryer. On 5+ private and well-wooded acres with 293 +/- feet of gorgeous smooth, flat ledge water front on Grand Marsh Bay. This is what everyone dreams of finding when they think of the coast of Maine.

Two tandem kayaks and four mountain/hybrid bikes come with the rental property. Enjoy the natural beauty and wildlife of Corea Heath-Grand Marsh protected areas. Paddle to the salt marsh and explore its winding channel. Count great blue herons. Watch bald eagles and osprey flying overhead. Spot a seal at high-tide. Swim off the rocks by the house, at two nearby [rare] sand beaches, or warmer, freshwater at Jone's Pond picnic area. Bike the loop-road through nearby Acadia National Park's Schoodic portion. Explore Downeast Maine's historic towns and villages.

Enjoy summer-fall concerts, art exhibits, and performances.

Visit Acadia National Park - Schoodic Peninsula: The only section of Acadia located on the mainland, the park comprises a loop that begins in Winter Harbor following the coast ending at Birch Harbor. Just inside Acadia's boundaries is a picnic area with tables and grills. Picnic surrounded by wild roses, explore the rocks along the shore, watch sailboats tack across the waters while you eat. - Bike to Schoodic Point. Biking in Maine is great, but this small stretch of road is extraordinary. The Schoodic Section of Acadia has a one-way loop road that hugs the coast through the Park. - Hike to the top of Schoodic Head. Numerous trails lead to extraordinary views from Schoodic's 400 ft summit. In addition, to a 360-degree survey of Downeast Maine this small peak overlooking the Atlantic exposes visitors to a sub-alpine ecological zone. Dwarf vegetation and low-bush blueberry hug the thin, rocky soil. Cross the tidal land-bridge to Little Moose Island.

Daytrip in Rustic Downeast Maine. : Drive along the forty-mile Acadia Scenic Byway. Explore winter Harbor and the grand Victorian 'cottages' of Grindstone Neck. Or, cruise the last stretch of coastal Route 1 in the United States. Pass through the quiet coastal towns of Stueben, Jonesport, and Machias. Enjoy endless views and rolling blueberry barrens. Some say, Helen's in Machias makes the best blueberry pies in the USA. Take an inland route home passing through historic Cherryfield and other small towns. Visit nearby Bartlett Maine Estate Winery for a tasting. - There are at least five bikes included with the property any given time, often more. They are high quality mountain and hybrid bikes including Gary Fisher, Cannondale, Marin, Schwinn, and others. The bikes are suitable for teens through adults. Helmets are available for use. We also have a bike trailer for two toddlers - please bring helmets. Be sure to bring your own bike rack - the bikes can be taken to Acadia park and other great riding locations.

Drive or Take the Ferry to Mt. Desert Island.: A passenger ferry connects Winter Harbor and Bar Harbor on Mt. Desert Island. The Island Explorer bus service shuttles passengers free-of-charge to numerous destinations throughout Acadia National Park and across the Island. This service also operate between Winter Harbor-Birch Harbor-Prospect Harbor on the Schoodic Peninsula. - The town of Bar Harbor has great energy. It offers a large number of independent shops and restaurants. The dining holds its own with any major city. It is a commercial, yet charming town with an active daytime crowd and equally active nightlife. Curiosities like the Whale Museum make Bar Harbor an excellent place to visit. - Drive to the top of Cadillac Mountain in Acadia Nation Park and see the entire region. - Two Ocean Kayak sit-on-top boats may be used in the Bay or taken to another beautiful paddling spot. Life jackets for adults and one child's life jacket are available for use. Light weight paddles are included. Roof rack NOT provided.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 171077 in Prospect Harbor, Maine

Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
average rating of 4.909091 based on 14 reviews
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
5

Didn't want to leave !

Didn't want to leave !
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Perfectly situated amongst beautiful forest and water, great ledge rock to sit or sunbathe on. Tandem kayaking on calm water, great screened porch to relax on and enjoy a daily cocktail hour after visiting nearby Acadia Nat'l park on the Schoodic Peninsula, wild and beautiful without the crowds of Mt Desert Is. Close to Campobello Island, highly recommended and visiting the surrounding small towns, great fresh seafood for dinner and a quick trip into Bangor. very comfortable house with gas stove for a couple of chilly mornings. My kind of vacation and definitely a keeper!!
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
5

Charming Peaceful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This property is for the family that wants to be close enough to the action yet could return back to a very peaceful setting. This home was breath taking. The inside was an open concept all natural knotty pine. We could not get radio, TV and limited cell towers, but the owner had hundreds of movies and many games to keep the family occupied. Everything was clean and well stocked. My suggestion to future renters is to listen to Isak's list of suggestions. He gave us the best places to purchase seafood, and site see. A vacation that is well worth repeating.
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
5

July 4th Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Had a great time in Maine. This place was as relaxing as it looked in the pictures. Far enough away from the busy streets of Bar Harbor but close enough to take a ride and vist. We brought are dog and loved the walks we would take around the quite roads that surrounded the house. Also got a weeks pass and went to both parts of Acadia National Park (Absolutly A Must See!) Place was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of bikes,kayaks and DVD's to keep you busy. Never rented anything before but would recommend this for sure. If you want to get away this is the place!
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
5

Wonderful Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our fourth visit to Maine since 2004. We found the Grand Marsh Bay property to be everything we expected and more. It was well equipped, spacious, and we especially appreciated the location as it was somewhat removed from the busy tourist scene. The recent addition of the screened in porch overlooking the bay was certainly a plus. We enjoyed the use of the kayaks on several occasions and there were numerous bikes available for our use. During our stay, we observed many species of birds, a doe and her two young fawns, and a bear ambling across the road as we were headed back to the property one evening. This location allowed us to make day trips to Bar Harbor and Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula (a favorite), and to Campobello Island where we toured Roosevelt International Park. The owners were easy to work with and provided detailed directions and excellent information. We would definitely stay at Grand Marsh Bay again.
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
4

Awesome for biking.....WITH BIKES!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The 23 mile loop around The Schoodic section of Acadia is wonderful and mainly because the cabin comes with excellent bikes (if you can't find an allen wrench to size the seat they will lend you one at the gas station). We are big bikers and it really made the trip. The kayaking is a bit more challenging because of the tides, but are fine for the inlet. Don't assume it will be cold....it was 97 on our last day!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Reynoldsburg, OH
5

A Great Getaway Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This property was well equipped to meet our vacation needs. We enjoy a place that is restful and away from the noise and bustle of more commercial areas, and, at the same time, is still accessible to stores and services. The Schoodic area is delightful and is a welcome difference from the Bar Harbor area. The availabilities of good bikes and kayaks at the property was especially inviting, though we did not use them, due to cooler weather and our desire to go places to hike. We were impressed with the large library of videos; the kitchen was well equipped. We even had our first experience of cooking live lobsters obtained from the Lobster pound in nearby Corea. The deck was very inviting. We lunched outside some of the days and took in the quiet and beauty of the woods and the bay. Most of our days were spent exploring Schoodic and its picturesque villages, Downeast and Acadia Park. The location of the property was an excellent place to start our adventures. It was good to come back after dark and to be "welcomed" by the lights outside, so we could find our way in to the house.

We especially recommend this property for couples who seek a quiet getaway. For us, the property met our expectations for a very enjoyable getaway. Contact with the Owners was very helpful to answer a few questions on the day of our arrival
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Philly Suburbs, Pa
5

Perfect Getaway For Nature Lovers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Thanks for the opportunity to rent your property. The weather was perfect, nice and cool at night and comfortable during the day; no need for air conditining at this house. Great house, very comfortable, and well kept. We enjoyed the use of the bikes and kayaks, Grand Marsh Bay is beautiful and very peaceful. Plenty to do with Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park nearby; whale watching, dining, kayaking, hiking, and shopping.We highly recommend this property. Wish we lived closer as I would definately rent again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

We took full advantage of the location

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I think we took full advantage of the location from swimming at the beach (cold but doable) to hiking at Acadia to a day trip to Lubec and Campobello. We also ate plenty of lobster. At four dollars a pound how couldn't you? You have a great place in a nice, quiet spot.
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

White caps on sheltered bay

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We really enjoyed staying at the cottage. I never expected staying on such a sheltered bay to be so nice. We had gorgeous weather nearly every day, some dramatic wind that made white caps in the bay, and one day some fog, which is always essential to a stay in Maine. We saw deer, a fox, and many eagles.
business
Charming waterfront Cape on 5 acres - Protected habitat - Bikes and Kayaks Incl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171077
215 925-3435
Prospect Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Enjoyed using the kayaks on Grand Marsh Bay

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The house was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! What a peaceful place to be for a week in July! Thank you for allowing us to share in the beauty of your home. Although we never went biking, my husband and son enjoyed using the kayaks on Grand Marsh Bay.