Bald Head Island house rental - Exterior Front
Exterior Front
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Bald Head Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full en-suite bathrooms, sleeps 8

Welcome to 'Mare Tranquillitatis', our Sea of Tranquility. Formerly known as 'Serenity House', the house has been completely refreshed and updated to provide an upscale yet comfortable vacation environment for you and your family. Enjoy serene tranquility and utmost privacy amidst the live oak and palmetto trees in Bald Head's pristine Maritime Forest, but only a short golf cart ride from the deep-water marina, unspoiled beaches, championship golf, gourmet market and all of this cape island's unique amenities. The home's pastel colors, beaded board wainscoting and hardwood floors are reminiscent of classic seaside cottages, but the new chef's kitchen--featuring stainless appliances, quartz counter tops and sea glass tile--speaks to modern convenience. Guests will enjoy membership privileges at The Shoals Club, an outstanding private beach club located at the tip of Cape Fear. Privileges at The Bald Head Island Club are also available for a nominal additional charge. One 4-person cart included.

The Shoals Club: Temporary membership privileges at The Shoals Club are extended to all Mare Tranquillitatis guests and are included in the rental price. The Shoals Club sits at the tip of Cape Fear, where East and South Beaches meet, and affords panoramic ocean views. It features a large main pool, children's pool and a wooden boardwalk over the dunes to the wide beach. Children's activities are often offered around the pool. Towel service is provided at the pool and beach chairs and umbrellas are provided on the beach. The 10,000 sq. ft. clubhouse has a dining room featuring innovative cuisine made from local ingredients, a fitness center, locker rooms and wraparound porches from which you can watch the sun both rise and set over the ocean. In addition, there is a bar and casual restaurant poolside.

The Bald Head Island Club: Temporary membership privileges at The Bald Head Island Club are available for a nominal additional fee. The Bald Head Island Club’s championship 18-hole golf course wraps 6,855 yards (73.8/137) around freshwater lagoons, through a spectacular maritime forest and across dunes overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Other BHI Club amenities include outstanding formal and casual dining, four hard-surface tennis courts located close enough to the ocean to hear the surf, a 25-meter swimming pool positioned just across a lagoon from the Atlantic Ocean with its own bar and casual eatery, and regulation greenswards providing a picture-perfect venue for the genteel sport of croquet. What’s more, the recent addition of a well-equipped fitness center allows you to stick to your exercise regimen in climate-controlled comfort.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 170892 in Bald Head Island, North Carolina

Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Sherman Oaks, CA
5

Bald Head in the Fall

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
Wow what a great home, and Sharon was so great to work with. We loved our stay and cant wait to return for summer!! The home is 5 stars!! Highly recommended!!

Amy and Philip Yancey
Sherman Oaks, CA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
5

Great vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our family of five stayed at this wonderful home last spring break. We loved the peace and quiet of the maritime forest and the kids had a blast riding bikes all over the island. Location is perfect--very accessible to the market and both sides of the island. The home was just as described and very clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. LOVED our stay at Bald Head Island and hope to be back again many times!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Raleigh, North Carolina
5

Wonderful Home to Enjoy BHI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had an excellent time at this lovely home for our frist family trip to Bald Head Island. The home was above our expectations and was a delight to stay in. We had some rainy weather but 6 adults were comfortable hanging out in the home playing card games and enjoying the screened in porch.

The kitchen had all the aminties needed for any cook. We cooked a fabulous meal every night and really apprecaited sitting around the table.

The house was very clean and well decorated. The owner was very responsive and answered our many questions. The garage was stocked with anything you would need for the beach. We plan on coming back to this very house every year as a new tradition. We are so glad we found the perfect home the first time around.

This house made our trip as perfect as we hoped!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Westerville, Ohio
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What a great rental! Our family spent a wonderful week at Bald Head Island, and this house made us really feel "at home" while being on vacation. I can't say enough nice things about the property - the location is great, the amenenities are top notch, the house is beautifully decorated and the floorplan is ideal for a family such as ours with two teenage girls (a bathroom for everyone!). We would definitely choose this property to rent again, and certainly hope to do so in the future!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Charlotte, North Carolina
5

Very Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This rental was wonderful! This is our third visit to Bald Head Island and this was our best rental yet! The home had all the amenities of home and was very cozy, well decorated, clean and well maintained. We were able to walk to the beach everynight and use the bikes everyday to ride around the island. The owner was wonderful and easy to deal with. Thanks for a quick New Years get away! My family is planning our next visit.
Owner's Response: Thank you Michael for the nice review. We are happy to share our place in BHI paradise. We look forward to your next visit.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
4

Great Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful time at this house. I don't think the pictures reflect how large the space is. We enjoyed everything from the shade of the maritime forest, excellent grill out back, beach toys for the children, the bikes and quick access to all of the amenities the island offers. We have been to the Island many times but never on the week of July 4th and we couldn't have been happier that we made the decision to stay here. Thank you to the owner's for making the rental process seamless and we look forward to returning in the future for more "turtle time".
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
4

Great Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful time at this house. I don't think the pictures reflect how large the space is. We enjoyed everything from the shade of the maritime forest, excellent grill out back, beach toys for the children, the bikes and quick access to all of the amenities the island offers. We have been to the Island many times but never on the week of July 4th and we couldn't have been happier that we made the decision to stay here. Thank you to the owner's for making the rental process seamless and we look forward to returning in the future for more "turtle time".
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Durham,NC
5

A wonderful getaway on Bald Head Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sharon Corbett's home. Sharon was patient with all of our questions given that it was our first trip to the island.

The home is conveniently situated to the marina, Bald Head Island Club, and beach access, and just a little further to the market and the wonderful Shoal's Club. The house is clean, very nicely decorated, and feels very new, with one of the best-stocked kitchens and some of the most comfortable sofas and beds I've ever enjoyed in a rental property. The house is particularly good for a family with two sets of grown children, as it has two bedrooms with queen beds in addition to the king, whereas I find many rentals are 1 K, 1 Q, and then 2 twin beds.

We are already planning our next trip to Bald Head Island and would absolutely stay in this house again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
NORTH CAROLINA
5

GREAT VACATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
BALD HEAD ISLAND IS A BEAUTIFUL GETAWAY AND THIS PROPERTY IS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE...THE HOME IS GREAT FOR FAMILIES, WELL APPOINTED AND COMFORTABLE. THE OWNERS ARE VERY ACCOMMODATING AND HELPFUL TO MAKE YOUR STAY A GREAT EXPERIENCE. OUR FAMILY HAS STAYED HERE SEVERAL TIMES AND WOULD RECOMMEND THIS LOCATION TO ANY OF OUR FRIENDS OR FAMILY.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Close to the beach, golf club, shops and marina. Shoal's Club included!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170892
+1 9735438758
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Summerfield, NC
5

A Wonderful Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Our family had never been to the beaches of North Carolina, always vacationing in SC. With 2 boys ages, 7 and 9, we were a little worried that they wouldn't have enough to do on Bald Head Island. Boy, were we wrong! Once, we boarded the ferry, we knew that this would be a fabulous family vacation. With grins from ear to ear, our boys took advantage of all Bald Head had to offer. From riding bikes, to boogie boarding, to riding in the golf cart, all waiting for you to use at this wonderful house, the boys had a blast! With a temporary membership to the Shoals Club, we enjoyed swimming in the pools (the boys played pool games with other children and counselors), playing volleyball, fishing on the beach, and using the fitness room. The kayak tour we took was perfect, especially at low tide, and the boys had a fantastic time attending a session at the Conservatory Camp. At days end it was so nice to retreat to this lovely home nestled amongst the trees. It was so peaceful and quiet. At the end of the week our boys asked if we could make this trip a family tradition. I think we just might do that! We had a lovely time and Sharon is so great to work with.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3