St. Croix condo rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

St. Croix Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths - great for 2 couples

All the resort amenities without the resort prices! Our top floor (3rd floor) unit provides fabulous views of Buck Island and the city of Christiansted. Kitchen & living room patio doors face east letting the trade wind breezes flow through our unit. An 8' x 26' covered, private balcony extends your outdoor relaxing. Smuggler's Cove restaurant is within 150 ft. from our door. Great food and music - voted St. Croix' best pizza in 2009. Breezes restaurant is within walking distance down the beach - best happy hour on island. Snorkeling in a protected reef bay & swimming pool are available. St. Croix is a relaxing, slower paced island. St. Thomas and St. John both have cruise ships & can be visited either by ferry or seaplane. There is desert-like terrain, rain forest & the Wall at Cane Bay which has some of the best snorkeling & shore diving in the world. Entire unit has fresh paint and new mattresses.Twin beds can be converted to a king upon request.Great for two couples.

Why we chose Colony Cove: Our first visit to St. Croix was in 1999. We bought a one week time share that same year at Chenay Bay. We have returned to the island year after year. After selling a ski-in, ski-out condo in Copper Mountain, CO we traded the mountains and snow for sun and surf! We are very happy with our unit at Colony Cove. Great central location on the island - about 20 minutes to any of the shores (east, west, north or south) and 5 minutes to downtown Christiansted.

Recommend car rental: No private beaches on St. Croix - there are many, many great places to visit, snorkle, and relax all over the island. Chenay Bay, Divi Resort and Casino, The Carambola and Sunset Grille on the west end to name a few. And the restaurants! So many and so good! Wonderful staff at all of them. But of course, resting and relaxing right at Colony Cove is a wonderful option too - you can snorkle, swim or use the pool and not have to drive anywhere.

Our Sundays: Wave's at Cane Bay for brunch 10 am (reservations recommended). A drive through the rain forest to Sunset Grille which also has a brunch and great pina colada's. Music there until 2pm. A quick jaunt to Rhythms at Rainbow Beach. Stateside bands start at 3pm 'til 6pm. Another quick jaunt to Coconuts for local blues musicians and open mike til ?? Next stop is Lost Dog in Fredricksted for great pizza.

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 170824 in St. Croix, Virgin Islands

Colony Cove Resort C303
average rating of 4.695652 based on 26 reviews
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Johnstown PA
5

Colony Cove Resort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
My husband and I stayed in this unit with another couple Nov 28-Dec 5, 2009. The owners even had the twin beds in the second bedroom converted to a king before our stay at our request. The view from the balcony was beautiful.
The condo had plenty of room and was well equipped. Plenty of towels, appliances, dishes, SHARP knives, and a very nice supply of the basics like dishwasher detergent, paper towels, toilet tissue, tissues, laundry detergent, coffee filters, etc. The little "extras" like both a large and small cooler for picnic lunches, plastic glasses that could be taken to the pool area, made this really feel like home.
Many of the units are being refurbished on the outside and I believe the resort's overall appearance will be very nice when completed. While this is not a 5 star resort, we did not pay for that! It was nice and the security was good.
The owners were extremely nice to deal with and we had several contacts both by phone and email with them prior to our stay. They called us the morning after our arrival to see if everything was satisfactory. They will give you many tips regarding what to see and where to eat!
We had been to St Croix 10 years ago and found it much the same. It is a quiet island without alot of nightlife. The beaches are not crowded. The people are friendly and we enjoyed driving around the island. Rent a car to see everyting and enjoy all the beaches and the little restuaurants with island music such as Rythms, at Rainbow Beach. The Pirate Buffet and Mocko Jumbee dancers are a must do at Carambola Beach Resort on Friday nights. Take a sail on the tall ship Roseway if you are there in the winter and of course go snorkeling at Buck Island.
I would recommend staying in this unit! The price and location are great and the owners were delightful! They will do everything possible to ensure you are satisfied!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/18
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
5

Great vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This condo was perfect for my wife and I. The location was great - close to Christiasted, short drive to either Pueblo or Food Town ( I actually walked to both), and an easy drive to Fredricksted, as well. Loved to sit on the expansive porch, enjoying the breeze while looking over the pool and the view of Christiansted harbour and beyond. Of course, the weather couldn't have been better. Because of the location, we were able to get to all points of the island with ease. It all made for a great time for us. We're hoping to be able to return sometime in the not too distant future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Denver, Colorado
5

An ideal choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
After perusing offerings all over St. Croix, I chose Colony Cove for several reasons and was not disappointed. Other reviews say it all: location (right next to the beach with great view from the balcony), nice pool (big enough for my daily laps), landscaping, condo amenities, reasonable price. A grocery store is nearby, and Christiansted is a few minutes away by car. Centrally located, beaches and other sights (Whim Plantation, Botanic Garden) aren't too far away. I would return here in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
seymour indiana
5

Awesome Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Hello,
My wife and myself stayed at this condo just a few days ago.This place rocks.Mark and Debb
Made renting there condo a breeze.The condo was very very clean.Very close to everything very,very safe.the pool is so beautiful and the beach is nice and clean.Breezes is right off to the right of the condo great food ask for Big D or Michael they will make you feel right at home.If you are considering a place to stay this is the place Colony Cove and rent this one !!!!!!!!! Everything is very close by and the water is so pretty.The beds and bathrooms was very clean and the condo staff was super nice and very helpful they know where all the best beaches and places to dine.You have to make a point to go to Cane Bay Beach it will take your breath away.Rent this place you will not be disapointed we are coming back in may or june to stay here.:) Mark and Debb have really outdone themselves with this condo morning coffee on the back deck does not get any better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Iron Mountain Mi.
5

Return Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
In August my Wife and I returned to Mark and Debs's condo at Colony Cove for a second trip. The place was well stocked with everything. All we had to get was food and the store is close. Everything was clean, neat, and well layed out. The balcony at night is quiet and relaxing. The staff is freindly and helpful. We enjoyed the pool and walking along the beach looking for chainny. Smugglers cove has a nice atmosphere and good food. The boardwalk in Christiansted is really nice. There are alot of shops,resturants,and pubs. The people are from all over and are interesting to talk to. We rented a car and did alot of beach hopping and diving with Big Beards. I cannot say enough about St. Croix. I would move there in a heartbeat. Thanks to Mark and Deb for making our trip special and for everything. We will return again!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
fl
1

You pay for what you get, very disappointed !!!!!!!!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I stayed at this condo from 6-8-12 to 6-16-12. When we arrived the listing description was pretty accurate regarding the location and the amenities. The view was just as stated; there were AC units in the bedroom. The unit contained everything you would need while on vacation, pots, dishes, utensils, cooler for the beach, beach equipment such as swimming flippers and goggles, hair dryer, lots of towels, house hold cleaning products, iron, washer and dryer. They even had general seasoning to cook with. However, on my third day as I was removing the blanket off the bed I notice dry blood under the blanket (not on the fitted sheet), dry blood, words can’t express how I felt. I was sleeping in dry blood for three days. I immediately contacted the owner and included a photo and he didn't respond. In his instruction letter he included a VI phone number in which you should call for a “mid week cleaning” however most of us coming from out of town will be roaming or may not be able to make such a call (Metro Phones). I paid a cleaning fee to sleep in dry blood as well as clean the unit myself for eight days. I sent Mark another text about the dry blood on 6-16-12 and still no response. I just have to say his unit is one of the cheaper ones you can rent, however remember what you pay for is what you get. He is just in it for the money, once he gets it he does not care about anything else. Another disappointment is there is no AC in the living room and it was always hot in that room. If you must stay at this condo I would recommend not paying for cleaning up front and change the sheets when you check in. Moreover, check, clean, and change everything when you get there.
Owner's Response: We would like to address this complaint from the guest stay 6/8-6/16/12.
1.) We did not receive a phone call or a text message with photo from this party. We have a land line phone at our residence and cannot receive these type of messages. No message was left on our answering machine.
2.) The telephone in our condo could have been used and/or a call to the front desk - this did not happen.
3.) The cleaning lady we use is at Colony Cove nearly every day of the week. 4.) The condo manager or the front desk was not contacted regarding this complaint.
5.) We were not aware of this complaint until we saw the posted review.
6.) We contacted the Front Desk and the condo manager. The cleaning lady did check our bedding; a red punch or fruit juice stain (not blood) was found on the bedspread and was immediately replaced.
7.) We have always taken care of our guests and treat our condo like our home.

Our other 21 reviews speak for themselves.

Mark & Debb
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Syracuse, NY
4

Great Value and Location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Great location, spacious condo with almost everything you could want. Top floor! Awesome pool and ocean views. Was a little outdated. Hard beds. AC only in bedrooms but huge outdoor living space with screen doors and great breeze. Fans in every room. Nice gated community with security guard and gate to beach. Prob. would not walk in nearby neighborhood but saw others walking to nearby grocery, restaurants. Close to Christiansted and grocery store, subway, mcdonalds. Very clean pool with grill, chairs, tables, umbrellas. Did not spend a lot of time there though, was out exploring island! Rent a car! Average age was prob. 60's. We are in our 30s. No beach chairs in our unit to take to the beaches. That would have been very nice. Full kitchen, cable, WIFI, big living area. Check out Savant, Salud, Rowdy Joes, Kendricks, Sunday brunch at Waves at Cane Bay. Rainbow Beach on Sunday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Florence Wi.
5

Excellent Vacation Destination !!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My Wife and I had the opportunity to stay at Mark and Debbies' condo at Colony Cove in August for a week. The condo was clean and well stocked with towels and cooking utinsils. The grocery store is only about 2 miles away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A car is really needed for getting around, Judi's of Croix was very helpful. We did alot of sightseeing and beach hopping. The Cruzan rum factory is a must. Food on the island was outstanding. We really liked Christiansted and the boardwalk especially the Brew Pub. While there we renewed our Wedding vows after 20 years in front of the condo at sunrise with the help of Gail, one of the permanant residents, and Capt. John of Big Beards tours and diving. Hurricane Irene came through on the last day and we watched the wind, rain and surf at Smugglers cove next door. The trip was really GREAT !!!! Thanks to Mark, Debbie and Capt. Big Beard. We will for sure be going back. AWESOME TIME !!! AWESOME VACATION !!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
Flourtown, PA
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My wife and I stayed in this unit for a week during February of this year. After a very long, cold winter we just wanted somewhere warm, friendly, and up-scale. We got all of that and more. The unit itself is very well cared for, and it is furnished in a way that adds to the feeling of being on the beach in the Caribbean. The unit is on the second floor which gives a clear view across the landscaped inner courtyard and pool to the nearly private beach. The pool area is a gathering place for owners and guests and yet it is never boisterous. the area is large enough that you have the option of solitude or company. There is an artificial reef 50 yards offshore full of tropical fish: it is a great place to snorkel. The town of Christiansted is a 10 minute drive from the unit, and the old town and harbor areas are great places to sight see and for carribean dinning. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Colony Cove Resort C303
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170824
715 589-4619
St. Croix US Virgin Islands
iowa
5

An excellent place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Truly enjoyed our stay here. It was like having our house on vacation with us. Condo is plenty spacious, very clean and well appointed. Everything worked as it should. No disapointments! We did not use the A/C cause the breeze kept it comfortable. The resort was safe and we never had any issues.Very good snorkeling right off beach at condo.Saw stingrays each time we went out. The resort is in a nice location close to Christiansted,grocery stores and fast food(if thats what you want) yet off the main roads enough to be quiet and peaceful. Smugglers cove bar/restaurant next door was great. I highly recommend renting a car. Driving here is not a problem and there is plenty to see off the resort. Take a snorkel trip to Buck Island( do not recommend BigBeard's), watch the sunset from a Fredericksted area beach, eat at Lost Dog Pub(cheesy garlic bread), and Angry Nates(anything), the beach and snorkeling @ Cane Bay, and just walk around Christiansted(neat place) and drive the coastline. Beautiful island, can't wait to go back and would not hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5